X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
2580 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Awesome stay, great shower, nice and hot!

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall an enjoyable experience. Thank you!

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Really enjoyed my stay. Everything was great and staff very helpful. However 30 minute walk from nearest supermarket, and 40 mins from city centre is not great. On the other hand it is very close to the train station. The area is a bit rundown/dodgey, so if you are staying in christchurch for longer than one night then maybe look elsewhere. Given the distance from most places, I was dissapointed bike hire closed at 6pm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. We're so pleased to hear that overall you had a great stay! Our bikes are available for hire right from 8am- 6pm which we feel is an adequate time period to explore the city/ get groceries etc and they don't have lights so we need to make sure they are safely back before it gets dark. There is a fantastic bus service to/from the city (8 min ride) and the bus stop is just opposite the hostel and walking to city centre is 25 mins walk.

100%

Genius! Loved all the little references to the hostel's former life. Great showers!

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place to stay bu limited wifi provided


91%

Stay in a mixed dorm for 1 night (3 girls). Good location, we feel safe here, the beds are good, the facilities are clean. Maybe a little too expensive for a night in a dorm in a backpacker, but it is a good place (and original!)

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Friendly staff, great atmosphere and very clean. 15 minute walk to the center.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

We have had an Unique stay in jail! It is very nice made. We enjoy our stay!


80%

it was an interesting place to stay with the use of the jailhouse atmosphere/memorabilia. Wonderful showers. Helpful staff. I thought it expensive but wondered if the time of year impacted on that .

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

This place is cool and quirky! The rooms and beds are adequate. The bike hire ($15 for 8 hours) is well worth it, as you are 5-10 minute ride from the city centre. The bathrooms were also nice and clean


77%

Was a good experience although is not close to the train station...it's close if you are not walking with luggage and have a vehicle.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

I had a great stay and would stay here again

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Fantastic! A very well run hostel. Particularly appreciate the quiet zone hours starting from 9pm.


66%

Only issue was not having internet vouchers available for 5GB (as apparently all the vouchers had been printed). I'd drop the voucher system and move to what the YHA in town does - give everybody a password and open up the network. It's a lot easier - - and penny pinching for a few GB here and a few GB there just doesn't cut it in New Zealand now a days :-) LOL!


74%

Good, clean hostel with basic facilities. Clean rooms and clean bathrooms. It was cool to see one of the rooms left in its original jail set up.


97%

Hostel was very clean. Staff friendly and helpful :)


74%

Nice hostel but not much going on if you're traveling alone. Not much of the typical meet and greet and make friends for life going on. Also need more knowledgeable staff on so they can recommend stuff, not just fellow travellers who don't know local hang outs.


94%

Such a cool place to stay! The staff were pretty cool too, very chilled and didn't make any part of it stressful at all and always there for any questions. Loved how the original cells were kept, giving the place an atmosphere.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Pretty strange hostel due to it's unique background! Overall it was an okay stay, you can't really be that comfortable in an old jail! White walls, high ceilings, everything echoes. Bathrooms very average. Next time I'm in Christchurch I would find something closer to the city center and a little more homey! but for the price, it's fine.


80%

Stayed here for my last couple of nights in Christchurch and loved the hostel and history behind it. The kitchen is so well stocked and lots of space for everyone. Cinema room was fantastic. As we found Christchurch a bit depressing it was nice to be able to hang out here and watch movies on the huge projector. Staff are really friendly, onsite coffee shop is a nice addition and walking distance to the centre. Would definitely recommend!


(119 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback