X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2314 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Very nice accomodation with a unique atmosphere and very helpful staff. I'll definitively come back!

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Zero atmosphere! Nowhere to sit comfortably and relax. Uncomfortable seating in main 'common area.' Environment not conducive to meeting people and socializing. Lights out at 9pm, way too early! This was by far the most boring hostel I've ever stayed in. Nothing to do, nowhere to hang out. Unfriendly staff members. No music or energy in the place. Just because it looks like a jail doesn't mean it needs to feel like you're staying in one too!

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for rating our hostel and we're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the atmosphere in Jail. We are not a 'party hostel' but do work very hard to create a great vibe for our guests. We play music in the reception/lounge area from 8am-9pm and have lots of movie nights with free popcorn, monthly theme nights and backpacker deals with lots of local bars and cafes within minutes walk of Jail. We do have a quiet zone in the sleeping area after 9pm for inmates who want to go to bed early

97%

A very good surprise! The jail itself is very fun to sneak in each and every part to see how they manage to make a warm hostel out of this story. Helpful and professional staff. Easy to go out eat or drink something. Heaps of space to enjoy a meal in good company (as soon as you respect the quite environment after 10pm). Perfect spot for Christchurch!

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I found the beds warm and comfortable however we booked twin and got bunk beds which was difficult for two middle age women especially the one who got the top bunk. Was very tired so did not query this until it was too late. The rooms were clean though small (to be expected with a cell) . Although the surrounding area is more industrial, we found it close and convenient to all the places we wanted to visit. People were friendly and helpful.

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

- not the most friendly staff: when i checken in, they'd just leave me and didn't help me - but it's a very original hostel. You can actually get to see a prison room, as how it was a couple of years ago. - rooms are okay. Enough space.


86%

This is everything a hostel should be. A great stay.


80%

Nice location with options for pubs and eating places nearby. Staying in an old jail is quite a bragging right and allows for many puns relating to landing yourself in the slammer for a night and how/why you ended up there. As for the facilities what I saw were clean and more than adequate. Only stayed one evening but was warm and comfortable.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Had an interesting stay at the Jailhouse. Was good to stay somewhere unique. Was a bit noisy...it is an old jail. Simple rooms with good facilities. Toilets weren't that clean but showers were. Bit of a walk from "the city". Glad I was tired and not thinking about ghosts. Cool to see find markings on wall from prisoners.


69%

A double bed in a cell leaves little room for anything else except lying down. Some shelving on the wall(s) would help in stowing stuff. TV only for DVDs is restrictive. Other facilities, kitchen, laundry are OK. The adjacent No 7 bus route is handy. More suitable for much younger people than us two pensioners...

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

A great stay at a lovely hostel. As a single female I felt very safe

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved the television in your room. Bathrooms were very clean as was the kitchen. Unique experience to stay in a jail. Would recommend this place. Only 15-20 mins from the airport.

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Awesome! Very clean, great atmosphere, big and well appointed kitchen, they showed a movie with free popcorn, and there was free tea. Great place to stay on a budget

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good hostel, nice actions with movies and great building. 2 points to get the best hostel in NZ: - ..there should befree WIFI - ..after having checked out there should be a better/safer place for laguagge storage then under the steps..

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for rating our hostel. We are quite limited with storage space but guests are very welcome to leave big backpacks under our main staircase and then we have $2 lockers available on the ground floor if people prefer to lock away valuables. We agree that free WIFI would be great but as internet in NZ is very expensive most large hostels are unable to provide it at present but we are always working towards getting it

86%

I liked very much that they allow guests to use the facilities after checking out (as long as the room is empty). When you're travelling and your next destination requires that you leave a bit later in the day, this kind of flexibility and friendly atmosphere was greatly appreciated. The staff were so welcoming and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The female toilet on 1/F was a bit stinky and the space for each toilet was tiny. The kitchen was pretty big but some of the stoves got problems with ignition. The wifi was pricey. In general it was a well organized business style running hostel.


77%

Jailhouse Accommodation is within the innermost suburbs of Christchurch. The location isn't ideal ~20(+)mins walk into town, supermarkets and related amenities. Short drive to highways which will link you to other beautiful places on South Island. Very close to botanic gardens with scenic access to walk into city, picnics & strolls. Facilities were excellent, best hostel kitchen i've seen & clean. Staff helpful but seemed more interested in their own working-holidays than providing service.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I really enjoyed my stay at the Jailhouse. The staff was super friendly and the accommodations were great. It was a clean hostel with great facilities, even a large selection of movies! I wish I could have stayed there for more than one night but I couldn't have picked a better hostel for my time in Christchurch!

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Bathrooms room for improvement- got a bit wet as there was no shower screens and you got splashing from one cubical to another. We had fairly noisy neighbors, although not sure they realized we could hear them. Loved the labelled food boxes in the kitchen, great idea.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

This is a great hostel. It is really cool to stay in a hostel that still looks like a jail, but with all the facilities you need. It is about a 20 minute walk to the city center though. There is parking if you have a car. People are friendly.


86%

We have stayed at Jailhouse twice - it's very convenient for getting to the train station (free shuttle) and the staff are happy to arrange airport shuttle too (not free) The place is clean and there's a great Mediterranean restaurant just down the road as well as the Coffee Coop which is great for breakfast

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


(119 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback