X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2455 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Great affordable accommodation that is conveniently located.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Lovely environment but still lacking few things. Place was absolutely freezing without proper heating and didn't always feel secure enough. Lovely staff though and amazing breakfast place next door.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, and thank you for your rating. It's great to hear that overall you enjoyed your time in Jail. We do have central heating in all rooms which is programmed to be on in the evenings and mornings for a lengthy period and we also have extra duvets and hot water bottles in every room. The communal lounge is kept toasty warm with a gas heater. For guest security our front door is locked when reception is closed and the building is only accessible with an electronic tag or door code.

100%

Really friendly and helpful staff.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

internet connection and laundry service are too expensive, I don't think that one wi-fi hour is worth 3$.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall a nice hostel. Staff were friendly and the facilities were good. Only complaint is that the bed in the double private room is a bit miserable, it's clearly in need of an update. It sinks into the middle and you can feel every spring. Also worth noting that in winter the only source of heat is a hot water bottle. Did the job and I liked it, but others may feel differently.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel and we're so sorry to hear that you found the bed uncomfortable. We mostly get positive feedback on how super comfortable our beds are so your comment has prompted us to do a check on all our mattresses and replace them if necessary. We do have central heating in all rooms which is programmed to be on in the evenings and mornings for a lengthy period and we also have extra duvets and hot water bottles in every room.

100%

Fantastic stay,really enjoyed the experience Staff were friendly and welcoming and helpful in every way

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

the toilet normally runs out at night, i think they should install a bigger toilets paper facilities, they normally runs with small toilet paper rolls, i think they are very small, i have been there a few times and the toilt paper always runs out at night. after the service is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, and thank you for rating our hostel so highly. It's fantastic that you keep coming back to stay in Jail! We do restock the toilet rolls after check out and also again at around 8-9pm whilst we do our cleanliness checks in the communal areas but sometimes, especially when we are fully booked they can run out quickly. Your comments have prompted us to looking into maybe getting bigger dispensers and in the meantime we will put extra toilet rolls out in all the bathrooms

63%

Not much of a vibe here. Still all pretty jail-like. Nice for a novelty perhaps. Free wifi would be good. Bit of a walk into town.


100%

A must to stay at if your in Christchurch.


89%

Great hostel and so cool that it was a prison! About a 20 min walk to central christchurch on a quiet no through road. The dorms are a good size and due to the thick walls and doors are quiet! It could be a bit cold but the hostel do everything to combat that; hot water bottles and good duvets. There is a good kitchen, cinema room, TV room and pool table. The staff were very helpful. Really recommend this place to explore christchurch from.


91%

The staff were very helpful and there's an awesome atmosphere (especially if you're fascinated by prisons). The showers are pretty good, the beds are good too. The rooms are pretty cold though, but there are extra blankets in the room, so no stress. All together great place.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Arrived really late and was freezing cold. Didn't realise there was hot water bottles/extra blankets as it was dark in the room already - people asleep. No free wifi. Facilities clean, everything worked, good kitchen area and eating area.


89%

It was a little cold in the dorm rooms, however, there was plenty of hot water, excellent shower pressure and the bedding was warm.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice and special place to stay. Clean. Nice kitchen, but can be quite crowded, too small, during dinner time. Staff is kind. Security could be better, when they clean rooms they keep the doors open and leave the bins outside. Anyone could just walk in your room and take your stuff in that time. Food places all around, city centre is quite a walk, but there's a bus stop close to the hostel too.


100%

Its the second time ive stayed there and it won't be our last we will come back soon ty;)

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

very helpful staff; great idea for backpackers' accommodation

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

I stayed here for 3 nights in July in the 10 bed mixed dorm. The facilities were great. There is a tv room with free dvds to watch and also a cinema room, the kitchen is really well equipped and there is a pool table (which is free to use as well). The staff were really friendly and everywhere was very clean and tidy. There are a few nice cafes and bars nearby and it's only a short walk to Hagley Park and the botanic gardens. The building is also much more interesting than your average hostel.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Rooms are very basic (As expected with the setting!) but clean and warm. Very cool place to stay for a couple of nights.


97%

Locked up in Jail, what more could I want! Loved it!


46%

Free wifi is crucial for back packers! Very few bathrooms and they were very small. Staff weren't that helpful and not all that friendly.


(87 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback