X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2347 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

the fact that it's in an old jailhouse is very cool and the staff is helpful and friendly

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The Jailhouse is an unique experience. All was pleasant except the room was very cold and there was no way to regulate the heat. There were hot water bottles, but they only help when you're in bed..

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your rating and feedback. We're sorry to hear that you were cold in Jail. We are experimenting with our heating at the moment because our overnight temperature has ranged from 4-20 degrees over the last few weeks. We're glad that you found the hot water bottles and we hope you also found the extra duvets provided in each room. Your comments have prompted us to look at our heating programme and increase the times. Thanks again The Jailhouse team

80%

Clean facilities and overall a good experience. However, very cold sleeping dorms.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your rating and feedback. We're sorry to hear that you were cold in Jail. We are experimenting with our heating at the moment because our overnight temperature has ranged from 4-20 degrees over the last few weeks. We realize that in communal areas it can be hard to control window closing and opening too. We hope you found the extra duvets we provide in the dorm lockers and saw the sign about our 'free to hire' hot water bottles.

91%

The hostel is amazing! Comfy bed and friendly crew, I really enjoyed my 2 nights stay :)

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel is very clean, good facilities, helpful staff, good linen and environment to stay in.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great idea for hostel...inmates quite friendly Over use of loo come shower on ground floor ....best to use upstairs ones Airport shuttle v good

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Very friendly staff, nice atmosphere, there's everything you need...actually Jailhouse is one of the interesting attractions in Christchurch when you stay there 200% positive

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Outstanding staff, best equipped hostel kitchen I've seen, cool design. The only downside is it is a bit out of the way of the centre but I reckon it's worth it to stay in a historic prison with everything a hostel should have.


100%

A great stay as always. Staff were friendly and helpful.


86%

Very small rooms with shared bathroom, kitchen and lounge area. Did not mind the size of the room at all though as it was cosy and the rest of the facilities were good. Staff were just average, not overly friendly or warm but definitely not rude. VERY quiet, which was great for a hostel that was fully booked the night we were there. It was a fun experience and a bit different to sleep in an old jail. They've used the space well.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Only stayed here for one night to go to a concert, so didn't spend much time actually there. But it fulfilled its purpose. First experience staying in a hostel, but the people were friendly, comfortable bed, place to charge my phone, walkable to the CBS Canterbury Arena. Would recommend if you need a cheap place to stay.


77%

came home to find someone else in my bunk. took another bed. not sure what the process there is meant to be?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. Our dorm beds are numbered to match with the number on the room key. We also show all guests to their room/beds during reception hours to ensure people get into the right beds. Despite our system of leaving clear instructions on a name board occasionally, late night check in's may mistakenly take the wrong bed or wrong key. We are guessing that this is what may have happened with your bed. Thanks again, the Jailhouse team

89%

I'll be back!


77%

I had a night planned at The Court Theatre, and this was perfectly located as a 5 min walk. Great staff and bed was all I needed.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Staff weren't very knowledgable and not eager to help.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. We're sorry to hear that you encountered a negative experience at Reception. We had a couple of very new staff who had just started and they were on duty at the time you were staying. They were still learning and may have been a little nervous which could have appeared as a little apprehensive. Thank you for your valuable feedback Kind regards The Jailhouse Team

86%

Great hostel and very helpful staff.


1 2 3 4 5 Next » last »
(96 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback