X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
2697 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

What a great stay! The hostel is undoubtedly one of the strangest and we spent quite some time exploring it! The rooms are comfortable and the facilities good and really very clean. It is a bit out of town however and a fair walk to the nearest supermarket, but really loved it here.


97%

Great kitchen, absolutely helpful staff, huge amount of "travel inspiration" eg flyers for attractions, accommodations, etc.. And of course the Jailhouse Style - I really liked it a lot!


71%

Unique hostel, little far from the city centre but good for the train station. Pleasant hostel but little going on in the evening.


34%

Unfortunately they do not think it is a priority to update their website to advise that they do NOT have a shuttle to the train, which is actually quite important when it is a deciding factor in choosing to stay there. Not a hit with us, would not stay again.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel and we're so sorry that we're no longer able to offer the free railway shuttle. As soon as the shuttle company advised us they were no longer operating we removed it immediately from our website. We did advertise it heavily with lots of other booking sites we are affiliated with and we admit it has proved a more difficult and lengthy process to remove all trace of it as we don't have full control of third party websites. The Jailhouse Team

83%

Wifi hardly worked, especially in the evening. Found no room numbers upstairs and just one shower. Beautifully silent place! Brilliant idea the tv-room! Enjoyed the private lights the 10dorm, missed them in the 6dorm.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for rating our hostel and we're happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your time in Jail. Sorry to hear about the wifi problem. We hope you reported it to our staff so we could investigate and try and rectify the problem. The room numbers are all places above the doors and we have one shower in the ladies toilet, 3 further ladies showers next door and a unisex shower/toilet on the ground level. Good idea about the lights, we are looking into installing some. Thanks again

94%

Loved this place, never thought it'd be cool to say I've spent 3 nights in jail until now! Friendly helpful staff, dress up is great fun :-)


91%

Enjoyable, novelty experience. Was worried it would feel like a bit of a downer staying in an old jail but the place had lots of natural light, nice common areas and was really nice! Public buses were really close and staff was super nice. Comfy bed too.

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

A great hostel, thoroughly enjoyed our 1 night stay, staff very helpful. Thanks Have already recommended Jail house to others!

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Awesome night stay. Loved it

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

was a one of a kind stay and me and my partner both enjoyed our stay. we def will recommend this to people looking for an awesome attraction to christchurch :) also we forgot our phone chargers in cell 24, is there any chance for them to be sent back and how much would it cost?

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We enjoyed our stay at jailhouse and loved the prison theme. The place was regularly cleaned and the rooms were great, I can't actually say anything bad about it really!


94%

Friendly staff, confortable beds and good atmosphere.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

excellent facilities and cleanliness, cool experience staff not the best I have encountered .... the free shuttle to the railway is no longer availble but still publicised

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to rate us- we're glad you enjoyed your stay overall. We're so sorry we're not able to book the railway shuttle any more. Unfortunately the company we used has recently ceased operation. We did have it heavily advertised in lots of places as it was such a nice, complimentary service for our guests. We honestly thought we had removed all advertising material but your comment prompted us to double check and it was in a room brochure which has now been removed

97%

Extremely comfy beds though our double was smaller than some. Thick walls, no noise at night. Well stocked and very clean kitchen.


86%

Comfy beds, decent showers and a cool setting. Would stay here again.


94%

Awesome stay, great shower, nice and hot!

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall an enjoyable experience. Thank you!

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Really enjoyed my stay. Everything was great and staff very helpful. However 30 minute walk from nearest supermarket, and 40 mins from city centre is not great. On the other hand it is very close to the train station. The area is a bit rundown/dodgey, so if you are staying in christchurch for longer than one night then maybe look elsewhere. Given the distance from most places, I was dissapointed bike hire closed at 6pm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. We're so pleased to hear that overall you had a great stay! Our bikes are available for hire right from 8am- 6pm which we feel is an adequate time period to explore the city/ get groceries etc and they don't have lights so we need to make sure they are safely back before it gets dark. There is a fantastic bus service to/from the city (8 min ride) and the bus stop is just opposite the hostel and walking to city centre is 25 mins walk.

100%

Genius! Loved all the little references to the hostel's former life. Great showers!

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place to stay bu limited wifi provided


(140 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback