X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2326 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I had a night planned at The Court Theatre, and this was perfectly located as a 5 min walk. Great staff and bed was all I needed.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Staff weren't very knowledgable and not eager to help.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. We're sorry to hear that you encountered a negative experience at Reception. We had a couple of very new staff who had just started and they were on duty at the time you were staying. They were still learning and may have been a little nervous which could have appeared as a little apprehensive. Thank you for your valuable feedback Kind regards The Jailhouse Team

86%

Great hostel and very helpful staff.


74%

It is a little too out of the city center.

  • 16th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. There is a frequent bus service which runs past Jailhouse into the city. It takes 8 minutes and costs only $3.50. We also have bikes for hire at reasonable rates. Post earthquake, our suburb, Addington is fast becoming a happening, exciting place to be with The Court Theatre, Hagley Park, CBS Arena and fantastic cafes and bars and live music venues only a short walk away from the hostel.

77%

We stayed 2 nights. A really nice and axtraordinary hostel. You can drive with the bus in the city or you take a 20 minute walk. Great place to stay in Christchurch.


74%

The rooms are tiny. It was OK having a room as a single but I also shared on one night and two people plus packs left little space. Also, I stayed again after my tour and just as I was being checked in the phone rang and the staff member then ignored me and gave priority to the caller. I was tired after a long period of travel but was left waiting even though she had started to check me in. The caller should have been asked to wait. Very poor. Overall OK place but the sink drains need a clean!

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for rating our hostel.We're really sorry you were kept waiting at check in and appreciate you were tired. Occasionally when there is only one staff member available check in may be interrupted by an incoming phone call and it is our policy to answer all calls. We do try and keep the call as brief as possible and if we know that the call is going to be long we will give the caller an option to hold or call back. The kitchen drains do get clogged with food but are cleaned every day.

89%

It's a place not to be missed - the prison feel remains, and reminded me of years spent working in a secure childrens' home!! Very central, very easy to access from the airport, good parking, lots of bus routes in and out of town. Well done Jailhouse :)


86%

Very big and cool hostel, in an ancient jail, with lots of facilities like TV room, kitchen, living rooms, etc. TV and leisure rooms are separated, rooms are quite quiet. Bed is regularly comfortable. Staff was quite nice, got me a free shuttle for the train station. BTW, location of the hostel is good for taking the train, but regular for visiting downtown. Internet is paid, but you can go to burguer king nearby to get free wifi. As usual in NZ, breakfast not included.


80%

Fun location, well maintained and run hostel.


89%

We are a mature couple and we booked a 'cell' with a double bed in it. We loved the place and the friendly staff with the added bonus that when you view the movie of the night you get provided with popcorn! Both movie and popcorn come free. The only negative is that if you are on the ground floor there are men's toilets but nothing for women, you have to go upstairs. Other than that we'd highly recommend the Jailhouse

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for giving us such a positive review and we're so happy to hear that you had such a great stay in Jail. Our movie nights are proving to be very popular and we're glad that you came along. We do have a unisex toilet/ shower on the ground floor just opposite the kitchen. We're sorry if you didn't find it. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in Jail again soon!

97%

Great place, the staff were really friendly and helpful, they booked a free transfer for.me to the trainstation.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Really cool old jail. Nice showers.

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

“Very unique! Staff was excellent with lots of help!!”


83%

Nice concept. Not much around. Comfy beds


100%

Only stayed 1night but would recommend to anyone vitsiting christchurch

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Best hostel I've been to easily. Not the cheapest but great facilities and unique environment makes it worth every dollar.

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the best accommodation where we have stayed! Staff was so awesome!


83%

Very nice... It's strange to sleep in an old prison but the rooms are big, clean and very nice! I would stay there again :)


91%

The team at the Jailhouse are great, we stay there at least twice a year as the location is ideal to our business and the facilities make it easy. The staff make things work for you and nothing is too much of a problem.


100%

I had a really enjoyable stay here, friendly staff and the old jail has been beautifully converted. Nice and warm too. Highly recommend!


(1478 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback