X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2399 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

I liked very much that they allow guests to use the facilities after checking out (as long as the room is empty). When you're travelling and your next destination requires that you leave a bit later in the day, this kind of flexibility and friendly atmosphere was greatly appreciated. The staff were so welcoming and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The female toilet on 1/F was a bit stinky and the space for each toilet was tiny. The kitchen was pretty big but some of the stoves got problems with ignition. The wifi was pricey. In general it was a well organized business style running hostel.


77%

Jailhouse Accommodation is within the innermost suburbs of Christchurch. The location isn't ideal ~20(+)mins walk into town, supermarkets and related amenities. Short drive to highways which will link you to other beautiful places on South Island. Very close to botanic gardens with scenic access to walk into city, picnics & strolls. Facilities were excellent, best hostel kitchen i've seen & clean. Staff helpful but seemed more interested in their own working-holidays than providing service.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I really enjoyed my stay at the Jailhouse. The staff was super friendly and the accommodations were great. It was a clean hostel with great facilities, even a large selection of movies! I wish I could have stayed there for more than one night but I couldn't have picked a better hostel for my time in Christchurch!

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Bathrooms room for improvement- got a bit wet as there was no shower screens and you got splashing from one cubical to another. We had fairly noisy neighbors, although not sure they realized we could hear them. Loved the labelled food boxes in the kitchen, great idea.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

This is a great hostel. It is really cool to stay in a hostel that still looks like a jail, but with all the facilities you need. It is about a 20 minute walk to the city center though. There is parking if you have a car. People are friendly.


86%

We have stayed at Jailhouse twice - it's very convenient for getting to the train station (free shuttle) and the staff are happy to arrange airport shuttle too (not free) The place is clean and there's a great Mediterranean restaurant just down the road as well as the Coffee Coop which is great for breakfast

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Booked a double room, had a tiny double bed barely enough room for two people, and a small space either side of the bed to get into it! Not so keen on the security method of leaving room keys out on the desk - whose to say you can't just switch rooms with someone else's key? Room was freezing cold and window shutters wide open on a windy rainy night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. We agree that the rooms are compact but they are all original Jail cells. Our late night arrival system appears to work really well and we haven't yet had any deliberate room switches yet in the 8 years that we have been operating.We're sorry your window was open when you arrived. The Cleaners normally close them after their shift, especially on cold days but your room may have been mistakenly overlooked on that day

69%

I wouldn't stay here again. The concept of the jail is great and fun but son wears off when the staff are uninterested and unhelpful. I booked a twin private bed and the booking was mucked up, we were then asked to move rooms after our first night and they wanted to put us in a tiny room with a double bed, I went on to spend almost an hour an half sorting out a new room and the staff member was really rude through out the whole process. We had to pay for wifi which had a poor connection.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for rating our hostel. We're sorry about the issue with double room that you had booked on the website. I understand that their was some correspondence asking us to change it to a twin. We apologize that it hadn't been changed but we had emailed querying which type of twin and we hadn't yet received a response. We're glad that our staff member was able to resolve it. We're sorry it took a while but she is quite new and still learning our booking system.

97%

Amaaaazing place o stay! So clean and an awesome atmosphere...quiet but not lonely and nice staff. Highly recommended, I would definitely go back there!


77%

the fact that it's in an old jailhouse is very cool and the staff is helpful and friendly

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The Jailhouse is an unique experience. All was pleasant except the room was very cold and there was no way to regulate the heat. There were hot water bottles, but they only help when you're in bed..

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your rating and feedback. We're sorry to hear that you were cold in Jail. We are experimenting with our heating at the moment because our overnight temperature has ranged from 4-20 degrees over the last few weeks. We're glad that you found the hot water bottles and we hope you also found the extra duvets provided in each room. Your comments have prompted us to look at our heating programme and increase the times. Thanks again The Jailhouse team

80%

Clean facilities and overall a good experience. However, very cold sleeping dorms.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your rating and feedback. We're sorry to hear that you were cold in Jail. We are experimenting with our heating at the moment because our overnight temperature has ranged from 4-20 degrees over the last few weeks. We realize that in communal areas it can be hard to control window closing and opening too. We hope you found the extra duvets we provide in the dorm lockers and saw the sign about our 'free to hire' hot water bottles.

91%

The hostel is amazing! Comfy bed and friendly crew, I really enjoyed my 2 nights stay :)

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel is very clean, good facilities, helpful staff, good linen and environment to stay in.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great idea for hostel...inmates quite friendly Over use of loo come shower on ground floor ....best to use upstairs ones Airport shuttle v good

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Very friendly staff, nice atmosphere, there's everything you need...actually Jailhouse is one of the interesting attractions in Christchurch when you stay there 200% positive

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Outstanding staff, best equipped hostel kitchen I've seen, cool design. The only downside is it is a bit out of the way of the centre but I reckon it's worth it to stay in a historic prison with everything a hostel should have.


100%

A great stay as always. Staff were friendly and helpful.


86%

Very small rooms with shared bathroom, kitchen and lounge area. Did not mind the size of the room at all though as it was cosy and the rest of the facilities were good. Staff were just average, not overly friendly or warm but definitely not rude. VERY quiet, which was great for a hostel that was fully booked the night we were there. It was a fun experience and a bit different to sleep in an old jail. They've used the space well.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(1521 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback