X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2471 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

It is a "jail." The rooms are a bit small, but I guess that is countered by the fact that it is a jail.

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

It was very cold in the single room. Need to update internet photo it gives impression of a TV in single room. Poor value for money for an extra $30 you can stay in motel unit which is warm, has kitchette, TV including sky and free unlimited wi fi I realise that what part of what you are paying for is the experience and it is a very cool idea but that doesn't quite make up for the lack of comfort.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

very unique hostel. the only issue some people might have is it's distanced from the city centre, no problem if you have a car. there are plenty of shops, pubs and restaurants nearby the hostel though. definitely something different!


80%

If you have ties to prison, then this is not for you. Prison activists might find this place in distaste for commercializing prison. However, if you're interested in architecture, then Jailhouse is a creative example of how to both re-purpose and preserve a space with historical value. With 2 preserved cells and artifacts on display, Jailhouse shows respect for its past. Yet the facilities are modern and clean. Toilet stalls small, tho. Jail bldg = cold at nite. Overall cool place, nice staff.


80%

Very nice place to stay. Simple as jail.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The Facility is excellent. The only question is why anybody would plan to visit Christchurch in the first place.


86%

Very nice, enjoyable stay!

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

helpful staff, clean beds and bedding good location for airport transfer, $15shuttle. Walk to Hagley park and many restaurants/pubs

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Jailhouse Accommodation staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is very good because everything is accessible from the hostel. There is a movie room and a fully equipped kitchen. The hostel is cleaned daily and kept very clean in the lobby areas. There is cheap access to internet and there is adequate security for your stuff.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Like almost NZ hostels they do not offer Wifi and/ or breakfast. I think adding this as a benefit will be a big plus.


91%

Jailhouse Accommodation is one of the best hostels that I've stay during my time in New Zealand. The building is super safe (it was a Jail after all) and the atmosphere between guests and staff it's really cool. The rooms are really comfortable and tidy, with some extra blankets if you feel chili (: The location is really good as well, since Addington is one of the hypes suburbs in Christchurch, with pubs and cafes all around the area. My time in Chch couldn't be better.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really cool hostel! Big dorm rooms so plenty of space. I love the fact that it's an old jail. There are still a couple of cells set up to have a look at which is interesting.


100%

Was great! Such a unique place. Definitely wouldn't hesitate to stay again!

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really nice place with extremely helpful staff. Close to nice places in Addington.


89%

Really cool hostel, loved the old jail cells and the feel to the place. Was only there one night, the people and staff were very friendly however it is a bit out of the way.


63%

too expensive and very cold although they did offer us more blankets.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice accomodation with a unique atmosphere and very helpful staff. I'll definitively come back!

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Zero atmosphere! Nowhere to sit comfortably and relax. Uncomfortable seating in main 'common area.' Environment not conducive to meeting people and socializing. Lights out at 9pm, way too early! This was by far the most boring hostel I've ever stayed in. Nothing to do, nowhere to hang out. Unfriendly staff members. No music or energy in the place. Just because it looks like a jail doesn't mean it needs to feel like you're staying in one too!

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for rating our hostel and we're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the atmosphere in Jail. We are not a 'party hostel' but do work very hard to create a great vibe for our guests. We play music in the reception/lounge area from 8am-9pm and have lots of movie nights with free popcorn, monthly theme nights and backpacker deals with lots of local bars and cafes within minutes walk of Jail. We do have a quiet zone in the sleeping area after 9pm for inmates who want to go to bed early

97%

A very good surprise! The jail itself is very fun to sneak in each and every part to see how they manage to make a warm hostel out of this story. Helpful and professional staff. Easy to go out eat or drink something. Heaps of space to enjoy a meal in good company (as soon as you respect the quite environment after 10pm). Perfect spot for Christchurch!

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I found the beds warm and comfortable however we booked twin and got bunk beds which was difficult for two middle age women especially the one who got the top bunk. Was very tired so did not query this until it was too late. The rooms were clean though small (to be expected with a cell) . Although the surrounding area is more industrial, we found it close and convenient to all the places we wanted to visit. People were friendly and helpful.

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


(1550 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback