X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2189 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

I loved the jail house look of the hostel and the overall feel and comfort. I did, however find it cold and dark but as it is an old jail I wasn't suprised. The location not great as not much to do within walking distance. Great hostel, would definately recommend to friends.


83%

Nothing special but really clean and helpful staff


83%

Wonderfully decorated, spacious dorms, a bit far from shops, centre etc. Neighbourhood a bit creepy, especially after dark, but it might be due to quake.


89%

Really cool place, very clean, not too far away from everything but we were driving. A little pricey for a private room, but worth the experience of staying in an old jail.


91%

A great (and clean) hostel with very helpful staff! Brilliant facilities, definitely enjoyed the TV room and dvd collection for a quiet night in. Good location with a few nice bars and restaurants within close by. Hostel is within walking distance of the New World shopping centre (about 20 minutes each way) and the central bus station. It's a really unique place to stay and nice spacious rooms too!

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A great stay when you are looking for something 'out of the ordinary'. There may be ghosts, but still had a great night.

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great stay - very high quality for a backpackers

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel was clean and went with the theme the entire way. The female bathrooms were a little small.

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

best hostel ive stayed in!!!


89%

Very welcoming receptionist - went out of her way to help me with directions and showing me around the jail. Loved reading the history about the place and looking into the preserved cells. Toilets/ showers clean and great water pressure. Excellent kitchen. Cell was comfortable and clean. Hot water bottle was a nice touch.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

This was a brilliant hostel. I was a little worried that it would be purely about the novelty of staying in a converted prison, and the actual facilities would be lacking. But after 4 weeks hosteling around New Zealand, this was probably the best one! It was fun and oddly homely. The hot water bottles were a nice (and personal favourite) touch. The kitchen was well equipped and organised, and the cinema room great. It is a little away from the city, but hey, Tramping is what New Zealand does!


94%

Awesome hostel! Comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, spacious, friendly staff.. overall it's a great place! It's not in an ideal location, but it's a short walk to town. The only thing I would suggest is that you find a way to fix the door of room 31 because I woke up a few times in the middle of the night with the door wide open because it doesn't close properly. I would recommend this hostel to anyone!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for giving our hostel such a great rating! We're glad that overall you enjoyed your time in Jail. We're sorry to hear that you had problems with the dorm door and your feedback has prompted us to give all our doors and locks a check and service. Kind regards The Jailhouse team

94%

The lock on my dorm room was too sticky to work, so nobody ever used it. That was a little annoying, but workable. Best kitchen I stayed at throughout all my travels - large, good amounts of storage, well stocked. A real winner! Great atmosphere and history of the building - felt like a jail in the places it should, and felt like home in the places it should. Good location to train station and other transit

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for giving our hostel such a great rating! We're glad that overall you enjoyed your time in Jail. We're sorry to hear that you had problems with the dorm door and your feedback has prompted us to give all our doors and locks a check and service. Kind regards The Jailhouse team

63%

While the hostel has good facilities its location is not ideal. Its about 25 minutes walk from the city center but there is a bus stop near by. There is not real atmosphere to speak of . The novelty of sleeping in a jail wears of quickly as there is no heating in the rooms. They do provide hotwater bottles.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, and thank you for rating our hostel, We're glad to hear that you found the convenient bus stop just over the road from Jail with the frequent service into the city. We also have bike hire to help guests get around. Our guest rooms have central heating which is currently programmed to come on at intervals. All rooms also have extra duvets as well as the hot water bottles and communal areas are kept toasty warm at all times

94%

A genuine jail experience!


100%

Great from arrival time till departure

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

funny to stay in a prison :-) cheap bike hire (15$ a day), nice kitchen and good cinema room


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Must add I am a member of yha but your hostel is better than a lot of yha hostels I gave stayed in. Awesome place.

  • 14th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

This was my 2nd time staying at the Jail House. We ended up being waylaid on the day of check in & we tried phoning from our mobile to let them know but it would only accept calls from landlines & because we didn't know anyone to use their landline we couldn't ring and say we were going to be late which I felt very rude not doing so.. BUT on our arrival someone kindly let us in and there was a white board on the front counter with a message for us telling us which room we were in & welcoming us


49%

Did not enjoy my stay here. On plus side staff were very helpful but that's about it. Rooms too small, not enough plug sockets, rooms do not lock automatically so only takes one forgetful flatmate to leave your possessions open to whoever. There are lockers but limited room as they're stuffed with blankets. TV room has no door or glass in the window so watching a quiet movie is impossible. Maybe good for a group but not for someone travelling solo. Also almost impossible to find from town center

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are aware with the dorm being a communal area people don't always lock it but each bed has a generous size locker which we encourage guests to use. The blankets are provided for extra comfort but we don't mind at all if this is removed to make space for bags. We realize the need for more sockets and we're currently looking into options that allow us to work with our extra thick concrete walls. We have an enclosed cinema room especially for watching movies

(1397 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback