X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2193 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The place was really cool and the staff also, but it still needed some improvements on the facilities.

  • 9th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay. Only extra thing we would have liked would be breakfast provided in the morning or at least coffee as I am not a tea drinker.

  • 9th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you so much for taking the time to rate our hostel. We're glad to hear that overall you had a great stay in Jail. Although we don't provide breakfast we have an fantastically equipped commercial style kitchen for guests to prepare meals and we have some lovely cafes only a few minutes walk from Jail. Tea is free and for a small charge freshly made Barista style coffee is available from reception between the hours of 8am-9pm.

89%

It's a great place to stay. Christchurch was destroyed by the earthquake, so this hostel is as good as it gets for location... 30 mins walk from anywhere. Be prepared to bus, rent a bike (in the hostel), or being your walking shoes. The place is super clean, and the Internet is affordable (for NZ).


94%

The place is really nice. Concept is unique and fun!


80%

Really nice place, came back again at the end of our tour of the south island. No free coffee was a little bit grating and the staff member I asked for the us card reader didn't seem to have a clue what I was talking about even though I was directed to him my a sign... a sign god dammit!!!


86%

I liked this place it is great. The only issue was finding a condom under our bed (no it was not ours!) I dont think this is a constant issue so it does not worry me. The kitchen is always a battle in backpackers, because some people need there mums to do there washing up :-)

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Fount the Jailhouse to be very good clean accommodation - staff very helpful. Excellent location and room size.

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The best place to meet people from everywhere!

  • 27th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Interesting hostel with lots of character. Very secure and quiet at night. The only thing that would make it better is if there was a dedicated women's toilet on the ground floor.


94%

Easily the best backpackers I have visited. All I would have liked was a locker to secure bags and other items.

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. It's great to know that you enjoyed you stay in Jail. In the 6 bed dorm, where you were staying we do provide lockers but we are guessing that maybe they were perhaps all occupied. Another option is our coin operated lockers on the ground floor which are just $2. Once again thank you for your valuable comments. The Jailhouse team

86%

I had a fun time staying at Jailhouse. It was very clean and tidy, staff are friendly and helpful. I highly recommend and would definitely stay here again if I ever go back to Christchurch :)


86%

Interesting experience. A bit noisy.


71%

Definitely worth going to just for the experience of spending a night in a converted jail. The staff was very friendly and helpful. That being said it is in a terrible location in respect to the city. It is a 20+ minute walk to the park/gardens and another 20+ to the center of the CBD. I would not recommend Jail house if you want to be near the big attractions or the bars. There are only 2 electrical outlets in the whole building. The jail house is a definitely a unique experience.


94%

Rooms slightly noisy but very good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay in Jail. We're sorry that you encountered some noise problems. We wondered if it was noise from the cell doors or other guests. The doors are very old and can get a bit squeaky sometimes.Your comments have prompted us to service them monthly. We are very strict on our 'no noise after 9pm' policy in our atrium area but occasionally guests don't realize that even small sounds can carry far

100%

Very reasonable,convient ,affrodable,Would love visit to again.and would recommend to anyone. Manjula

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Excellent accommodation with a great theme. Warm comfortable rooms and nice staff. The only negative thing we have to say is that the main hall (and thus rooms) were very echo-y. On the second night we were there there was a group singing in the common area (outside of the quiet area). We could hear this very clearly from inside our room - At 2 am this was not ideal.


80%

There was a lot of noise from others talking/ messing about at around 2.00am which sounded much louder than usual because of the nature of the building. If there are rules about quiet times then they should be enforced especially when staff are staying on site too.

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, and thanks for taking the time to rate our hostel. We're sorry that you encountered some noise problems in the early hours. We are very strict on our 'no noise after 9pm' policy in our atrium area and our Night Wardens do check that guests are following the rule, especially before they themselves go to bed.There is a buzzer on reception to call night staff should there be a problem during the night. Thanks again for your valuable comments. The Jailhouse team

74%

It's very noisy on the night that we stayed. Even after 9pm or till 3am in the morning, there's people checking in, talking outside the main corridor and shouting all 4 letter words outside the building. Just wondering why are there people loitering at the reception at 4.30am, we knew as we were checking out. Because of the above, though fun and unique stay, it's a 1 time stay.

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, and thanks for taking the time to rate our hostel. We're sorry that you encountered some noise problems in the early hours. We are very strict on our 'no noise after 9pm' policy in our atrium area and our Night Wardens do check that guests are following the rule, especially before they themselves go to bed.There is a buzzer on reception to call night staff should there be a problem during the night.

91%

really helpful staff and friendly. big cool and quirky hostel. pool room and cinema were cool! Bit far out but some cool bars surrounding


57%

Its a jail. What was I thinking?

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


(1400 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback