X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2384 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

wonderful stay at jail house

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Never stayed in a backpackers before where I just wanted to wander around exploring and gazing at the place. Awesome.

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great stay. Very happy.


89%

Very clean and interesting hostel. The atmosphere is great and the kitchen is very large and well equipped. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The common room could use some more chairs/seats though.


71%

Really cool facilities being a converted jail. Staff were nice. Just kinda far from the town.


77%

The place is quite nice and everything, beds are comfy, the location interesting, bathrooms clean but for the price you pay you'd expect free proper internet. A little far by foor from the centre.


80%

Had a really nice stay at this quirky accomidation. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. They had a cinema room with a great variety of films to chose from. Only down side to this accommodation is that it is quite a walk from the centre if the city.


97%

Extremely friendly staff!

  • 10th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

good size kitchen, reasonable toilet/showers and awesome staff

  • 10th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Brilliant backpackers


83%

Bus stop in front of the Hostel takes you directly into the city centre, bars and take aways close to the hostel and only 15 minutes drive to the airport. Great for a stay in CHC.


89%

Everything went smoothly for me, the staff seemed to understand the needs and were friendly and practically helpful. It would be good if there was a local general foods near by so you could easily prepare food in their great facilities. The link with the airport shuttle is great.

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Small kitchen, but excellent proximity to the train station with a free shuttle organized by the hostel. My impression was that most people there were taking the TranzAlpine the next day.


74%

Some of the staff could be nicer. It would not do any harm to put more power points in the rooms.


91%

Loved it!

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

I understand that is used to be a jail and that there is no atmosphere.. But I stayed there for 3 nights which was quite depressing.

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Good: - Very original place to stay. - Looks very nice - Comfortable beds - Pooltable, TV, games, books,... Bad: - Expensive - The women showers were really dirty (the mens were clean) - Atmosphere is not great, you feel like your just a number (oh the irony)


97%

Our stay was amazing loved it and was very quiet, staff were fabulous thank you

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Clean. Lockers provided in room if you have your own lock, because door usually left open by others. Staff keep noise level down by clearing out the main area at 9:30 to the lobby, which is nice (although there is a drinking curfew, which is a bit much). Good information about what to do. Internet is overpriced at $3 per hour (it's free in Re:Start Mall). It's also very far from the city centre, 30 min to walk and 40 mins walk to New World supermarket. I would not stay there again without a car


86%

Lovely hostel. Good instructions on how to get to and into jail. Knowledgeable staff, willing to help, liking their job. Good beds, slept well. Good atomosphere as well. Not a hostel suitable for (hard)partying backpackers and I like that. I stayed here my first night in NZ and when our last night came up we decided to go back to jail because it is a good hostel.

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(1514 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback