X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2193 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

We were very impressed by how well organized the facility was. We don't know how you would rectify the following problem but we feel we should mention it. The last night we were at the Jailhouse we were suddenly woken up at 3:30 a.m. by someone talking VERY LOUDLY on their cellphone on the stairs, completely oblivious as to the noise he was making and what time it was. Although it is clearly marked that there should be no noise after 9:00p.m. he had completely ignored the rule. Very annoying!

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, and thanks for taking the time to rate our hostel. It's great to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay in Jail. We're sorry that you encountered some noise problems in the early hours. We are very strict on our 'no noise after 9pm' policy in our atrium area and our Night Wardens do check that guests are following the rule, especially before they themselves go to bed.There is a buzzer on reception to call night staff should there be a problem during the night.

89%

Rather noisy in the evenings.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel and we're sorry that you encountered some problems with noise.The acoustics of the building mean that noise does carry easily in the atrium area (where guest rooms are) because of the high ceiling. We have a very strict no noise policy after 9pm in this area, and have signs on the doors and tables to bring everyone's attention to the rule. Occasionally some guests do not adhere to it, perhaps not realizing that even small noises can carry.

91%

Over the moon with this hostel! The staff were friendly and really helpful as well! Especially with what to do in town etc! Warm and welcoming hostel!


91%

Such a great place to stay... Staff were amazing. Would def come back :)


97%

Loved Jailhouse, best place I've stayed in a long time. Everything was brilliant, had great facilities as well, movie room and pool table. Just great!!

  • 22nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It is a good warm clean place to stay!

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Need more blankets, Very noisy

  • 16th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel and we're sorry to hear that you were cold in Jail. All our rooms have central heating, set to be on at intervals. Although the heating isn't on all day long we always ensure our communal areas are toasty warm at all times. We really hope you found the hot water bottles and extra duvets provided in the drawer units of every room. We do make our atrium/ guest room area a strict quiet zone after 9pm but agree that even small noises can carry here.

100%

loved loved loved it!! staff lovely and the history makes it feel great. I would go back again for sure

  • 15th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

It´s quite an experience to stay there! We enjoyed it very much and basically everything is great about this hostel. The only thing to mention: it is really cold in there when it is cold weather. So probably it´s not the best place to stay for people who like it warm and cozy- just a warning though and shouldn´t be a problem in the warmer months of the year.


83%

A stay to remember.


86%

Love staying here but unfortunately on our second night in the hostel there was a group of students from st kevins who made a lot of racket early in the morning and at some other time just after midnight. We ended up having very little sleep. This was very unfortunate and we did mention it on the way out. We ourselves are teachers and have often taken students away so we do understand the level of behaviour required by them.

  • 13th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. We're so sorry to hear about the noise issues you encountered with the group. We are very strict with groups and send out group rules prior to arrival and we go over them again when they check in. We especially make it clear they must adhere to our 'no noise after 9pm policy' in our atrium area. Your comments have prompted us to feed this back to the school principal so these issues can be addressed before we consider inviting them back

94%

Overall a very good hostel. A little far from the CBD.


60%

Had high expectations for this place especially with the amount I paid, which was probably the highest I had ever paid for a hostel and to be honest I felt like I had been ripped off. They mixed up my booking which meant I got the wrong room type and the hostel room was ridiculously cold to the extent I couldn't sleep. I complained to the Manager and she organised some small gestures which was appreciated but to be honest I wouldn't return.

  • 5th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for taking the time to rate us. When you initially sent a request to change your twin bunk room to a twin single we had availability. Following much correspondence with you it was unfortunate that once you decided to go ahead and make the change, the rooms were no longer available. We're sorry to hear that you felt cold and we hope you found our extra duvets and hot water bottles in your room. It was great to see you in Jail again after your tour. The Jailhouse team

86%

The wifi was very unreliable and slow. We could only access it for an hour and not once could I open a web page. We booked a free shuttle to the train station for 7.30am. We were standing out the front at 7.27am and no one turned up. At 7.35 we called to find out what happened and the driver was very rude and said he waited until 7.30am and then left. We then had to wait for a taxi and almost missed our $530 train. We couldn't access our train tickets because wifi didn't work. Stressful.

  • 3rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. We're sorry to hear that you had a problem with the train shuttle. We followed it up with the shuttle company and they confirmed that they waited until just after 7.30am and then had to leave to pick up other passengers. Regarding the wifi, we wonder if you were using it in a guest room? Due to the very thick cell walls the signal doesn't pick up as well as in common areas. Kind regards The Jailhouse team

77%

I was only at the hostel between midnight and 7am so didnt have any interaction with staff, but the hostel provided all I needed for that night.

  • 3rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Loved this hostel. First off, the building's a delight & it's modern and stylish. Second, it's clean, well kitted out with a cinema room & loads of communal space and the bedrooms (my dorm at least) was spacious with comfy beds. The staff I must also say were super-friendly and helpful, which really was the icing on top. Cracking stay & look forward to returning.


74%

nice hostel . and lovely english woman on reception


71%

Think it's a bit disappointing to a) have to pay for Internet use, and b) that you get one hour complimentary Internet on checking in, but that's only once, not per day, so someone who checks in for 10 nights, gets one hour free Internet, and someone who checks in for one night also gets one hour free Internet.. Making it essentially cheaper to check in for one night than more. My opinion, either make it a complimentary hour per night you're there, or no complimentary hours at all.

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. We're sorry to hear that you weren't happy with our complimentary internet voucher. Internet isn't generally available for free in New Zealand and we just thought that we'd make it an extra gesture at check in during the months of June and July. After that extra vouchers are only $3/200mb for an hour or you can buy a 24hr pass for $6.50/ 700mb which we think is pretty reasonable. Kind regards The Jailhouse team

91%

Great place, loved the history of the building. Good facilities, nice common area. Rooms were very clean, comfi beds. Don't like the limit you have on wifi, if you buy a certain time...


100%

Great place! The only thing that annoyed me was having my deposit amount deducted from my $NZ bank account in $US, which resulted in the deposit amount (and hence the overall price) being inflated because of currency conversion costs....

  • 26th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. It's great to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We're sorry about the Hostelworld deposit being in US dollars. The reason for that is that Hostelworld is an internationally used booking site and the most commonly used currency world wide is US dollars. Once again thank you for your valuable comments and we hope to see you in Jail again very soon. The Jailhouse team

(1400 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback