X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2361 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Loved it great location and clean with friendly staff will stay again

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Good place where to stay.


100%

Must stay here if you go to Christchurch! So cool to stay in the jail cells and the place was exceptionally clean when I was there. Minus the comfort a prisoner wouldn't have, it actually felt like being in jail! Great location and friendly staff.


77%

The staff at the reception counter was friendly and helpful. However, met a staff on a Saturday in the kitchen, she was showing this black face, wondered if I was disturbing her cleaning duty.


91%

Value for money was good as a novelty value.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

every time i went to the front desk there was a longer than reasonable rate just to ask a question, there needed to be more staff or a faster tun around time on booking in and showing people around.


83%

Social hostel. Plays movies. Nice novelty.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

excellent accommodation, very convenient and handy location. only few minutes walk to sights n sounds of Christchurch.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cook Islands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Very helpful staff! Really helped me plan the rest of my time in New Zealand!


91%

Really enjoyed the stay. Great place to visit

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Jailhouse backpackers a perfect place for a group gathering and would stay again. As a tax and gst paying bookseller in new zealand find amazon vouchers offensive. Jenny hedley

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Very clean and loved the history and how it is being protected. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay again

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Une atmosphère très originale, un personnel au petits soins, c'est un peu bruyant et le système de chauffage à l'ancienne...


97%

This is a great place to stay, close to the CBD which was the reason for my visit. I certainly felt secure!!!! As I had dinner out, some menus from local eateries at reception would have given me an idea as to the type of food on offer at the different places. Especially important if you have specific dietary requirements.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, and thank you for rating our hostel so highly. It's fantastic to hear that over all you had a great stay with us. We do display a large selection of menus from the cafes, bars and restaurants in the area on our main notice board in reception. We're sorry if you didn't see it. Our friendly Jail Reception Wardens are also always very happy to give recommendations /information on places to eat. Thanks again for your feedback. Hope to see you in Jail again soon!

86%

Great place to stay. Clean and nice. The only thing missing was free wifi!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. Across New Zealand, internet is not generally free at the moment. We're always reviewing it and we're working towards it being viable to offer free internet in the future. We hope that the free hour voucher that we gave you at check in came in useful for checking your emails etc. Thanks again for your valuable feedback, The Jailhouse Team

94%

I had a great stay at the Jailhouse. Couldn't have asked for anywhere better. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Lovely environment but still lacking few things. Place was absolutely freezing without proper heating and didn't always feel secure enough. Lovely staff though and amazing breakfast place next door.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, and thank you for your rating. It's great to hear that overall you enjoyed your time in Jail. We do have central heating in all rooms which is programmed to be on in the evenings and mornings for a lengthy period and we also have extra duvets and hot water bottles in every room. The communal lounge is kept toasty warm with a gas heater. For guest security our front door is locked when reception is closed and the building is only accessible with an electronic tag or door code.

100%

Really friendly and helpful staff.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

internet connection and laundry service are too expensive, I don't think that one wi-fi hour is worth 3$.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall a nice hostel. Staff were friendly and the facilities were good. Only complaint is that the bed in the double private room is a bit miserable, it's clearly in need of an update. It sinks into the middle and you can feel every spring. Also worth noting that in winter the only source of heat is a hot water bottle. Did the job and I liked it, but others may feel differently.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel and we're so sorry to hear that you found the bed uncomfortable. We mostly get positive feedback on how super comfortable our beds are so your comment has prompted us to do a check on all our mattresses and replace them if necessary. We do have central heating in all rooms which is programmed to be on in the evenings and mornings for a lengthy period and we also have extra duvets and hot water bottles in every room.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(101 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback