Hostelworld.com

Jalan-Jalan Emas

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 677 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 677 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.0
Jalan-Jalan Emas Located at 8, Jalan Tukang Emas, , Melaka.
Jalan-Jalan Emas
Malaysia
Melaka melaka 75200 8, Jalan Tukang Emas
81% 677
2.1967486 102.2479908
Jalan-Jalan Emas
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Jun 2016
8.9

This is an absolute gem for the price. Location wise it doesnt get much better, and the staff is very helpful. No air con in room, but you get a fan for yourself, but what else do you expect for the price. Facilities are rustic, but the place has got character and it´s easy to meet other travelers. two thumbs up. Just dont expect any luxuries and you´ll be fine!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jun 2016
7.1

You get what you pay for! I personally found it quite an uncomfortable stay. I slept in a single room and it was very basic. It smelt of damp, there was damp on the walls covered by paint and the matress was very thin. I was on the ground floor so I didn't feel comfortable to leave the windows open at night (which didn't help the damp smell). However, it served the purpose for one night and was cheap!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
7.7

This is an interesting old building, the best thing is the location very central to Malacca and just a street across from the wonderful Jonker night market. The facilities are very basic, particularly the bathroom area - but for the price the guesthouse is pretty good. Staff were helpful, room was an ok size and clean, and didn't get too hot despite not having aircon. You have to secure the room door yourself just with a padlock, but with someone usually on frontdesk the place felt mostly safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
6.3

Was relatively clean, only fan is the room but that's fine, and they do say that in the description. Location was good and I liked how they give you you're own locker. Distinct lack of atmosphere and staff just seem like they really can't be bothered most of the time, maybe try smiling once in a while?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st May 2016
7.4

Dinner club is excellent. Bicycle rentals are good. But there are tons of mosquitoes, and the fan rooms can get extremely hot and stuffy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
8.3

Great location in Chinatown next to all the main sights and museums! It's also super close to Jonker Walk, which is a huge night market on weekends. The staff was very helpful and I think I really got a good feel of the city based on their recommendations. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
6.6

The place is beautiful and the stay is value for money. Be careful of the mosquitoes, they can cause quite a bite. No aircond but the room gets relatively cold during nighttime. My only concern is that the staffs working there are rather unfriendly and they have no chill when it comes to check out time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ryanjamiejohn
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st May 2016
8.0

This place was great for one night. Nothing special but super cheap so it's really really worth the money! It was clean and the showers were fine. Staff were nice and really helpful with any questions. Dinner club is a great option to meet other travellers... Food wasn't the best (it does change daily though) but it was definitely an experience which we both enjoyed. Location is great as its right in the heart of the city. For a couple of nights, cheaply, this is perfect. Really recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
9.4

Favorite hostel in Malaysia! I was only gonna stay two nights here but I stayed for 5! Very cheap hostel and its in the heart of town. There's no ac but the fans were just fine. Cheap laundry and bicycle rental. My favorite part was lee's diner club, he takes everyone for dinner to cheap local places every night and it's a great way to try good food (and drinks) and go places you wouldn't have with out him.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2016
7.7

This hostel is located one street over from Jonker street. The 10 room dorm doesn't have air con, but each bed has a fan. Every night there is a family meal. You will be taken to a reasonably priced restaurant, and you will have an opportunity to meet the other people in the hostel. The wifi here works great. The only downside was the staff. They didn't seem to acknowledge you unless you asked them a question, which they always answered. It just felt like I was in their way. Maybe I was.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.