Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jambiani Guesthouse Reviews

Jambiani, Zanzibar, Tanzania

Reviews & Ratings Explained


20 Total Reviews
  • 100%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 100%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The hostel is great, in a ideal location looking the ocean. The staff is really helpful. We really enjoyed the tours organized by Stonefish, a member of the staff. He is very kind and definitely we recommend to spend some time with him (he is a very good cook too)

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

Location great, people were too pushy. If you want to be left alone, some just dont let you

  • 25th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Macedonia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


We were pleased with being so close to the ocean and to the village. All were friendly and made us feel at home. Rama was ery attentive as were those who lived around us. We will definitely return. Thank you Anne and Rama! joanna

  • 2nd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Booking was made for three days, but no room was available.

  • 7th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


security not really good. they took my shoes away, only i asked for it i became back. staff is helpfullbut inly when you ask. you dont have internet, you dont have money change (only stone town). staff was really quiet and boring. breakfast was okay, but without juices or something like that. in jambiani you dont have to do activities, it could be a kind of boring there.


Jambiani was lovely. The guesthouse had lots of character and a chilled out atmosphere. Not too touristy and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was big with fresh fruit, bread and eggs. Right on the beach so brilliant for relaxing.


The Jambiani Guest House was just amazing. Set in a remote fishing village, it was a real authentic Zanzibar experience. I loved it and if I am back in Zanzibar will be sure to stay there again. Lovely breakfst too!

  • 1st Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


The best vacation ever!!! Just stay there and you will see !!! This is a hidden paradise!


We had a great time at Jambiani Guesthouse!! We absolutely loved the place and everybody, particularly stone fish, was very nice!


Great guesthouse with charm and character. We really enjoyed staying there, with the view and helpful staff. Only wish that Rama spoke a bit better english, as that would have helped us a bit (we got mugged on the beach one evening, and needed some information about the police. Did not manage to communicate, even in simple english..). Otherwise very helpful and nice staff. The breakfast was also nice! We will recommend Jambiani to others, and hopefully come back ourselves one day!:)

  • 22nd Dec 2010
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The staff is friendly and can organize any day trips you want at a good rate. We went snorkeling and on a sunset cruise that they organized. They also organized a day trip to the south of the zanzibar for us to swim with the dolphins. It was amazing.. As for Jambiani, its absolutley beautiful and much less developed that Nungwi for those that want to spend a few days in paradise without being disturbed by hundreds of people. The locals are friendly and can cook you anything you want to eat at a number


We were charged the same rate for the room we requested with hot showers and fans, even though neither were available as Zanzibar currently has no electricity. The foreign owner happened to be there at the time of our stay. She was very nice, but allowed locals inside the guesthouse to sell us henna and massages, which I found unacceptable. Dinner is no longer available, and Dudde, who I really looked forward to meeting and having cook for me, no longer works there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Normally we have hot showers but offcourse it was not possible because Zanzibar was without electricity at that time. We had a generator running every evening for the light. It was a very expensive time because we also had to buy the water and the transport of this so therefore the prices was the same. Dude is not there anymore but we have our neighbour Mohammed who makes exellent food ! Anne


Fantastic place to stay in Zanzibar. Jambiani is absolutely beautiful and great for a relaxing time. Also recommended is having dinner with Dude, we did it every night and his cooking just got better and better.


No traffic, just a sound of waves and wind. Environment is very clean. I bet Dudde is the best guy in the island, very friendly, polite ja helpful. In the village you can get to know local people. Really worth of experience.

View all Zanzibar Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback