Hostelworld.com

Jan Palach Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 136 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 136 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
Jan Palach Hostel Located at Isola della Giudecca 186, , Venice.
Jan Palach Hostel
Italy
Venice 30133 Isola della Giudecca 186
69% 136
45.4253381 12.3335051
Jan Palach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Aug 2015
6.9

The wifi connection was shocking didn't even really see the point of having it but I was prepared for this as I had read some reviews. It was great that they had a fully working kitchen with oven and stove top cause it saves a bit of money to cook your own food. Other then that was so okay, nothing special. Was also nice that it was on the seperate island as it was very quiet and nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Aug 2015
6.9

Being away from the main island was not so bad. Venice is spread round so its useful to get a water bus pass anyway. It was also cheaper to eat out on the separate island & had a supermarket nearby. Kitchen was big but not the cleanest. Friendly atmosphere as many groups gathered and cooked/played chess in the evenings. Room was spacious with walk in wardrobe & big en suite. However it was not nice to find dead mosquitoes scattered around the room on arrival even though the windows were closed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Aug 2015
4.3

The showering facilities were ok, could have definitely been cleaner. There was no atmosphere what so ever in this hostel so if you're looking to make friends I'd suggest go elsewhere. Can end up quite expensive to go over to the main island by the ferry. I had no help from the man in reception when I asked where tickets for the ferry were. No recommendations on food, tours or anything. Not helpful at all! The wifi dropped out and you had to log back in constantly also.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

dear customer let us underline few aspects - We clean all bathrooms every day - Our atmosphere is quite, and many guests appreciate it - We are located on an island, and the ferry tickets are public - Our staff helps all guests, giving the information we have and we are sure of. Please note we are not a travel agency. the manager

  • mitchellarend5866
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
6th Aug 2015
6.0

I actually liked that this was on a separate island. It wasn't as hot and it was much more quiet. The Internet was the worst - it may as well not have been available at all. The rooms were nice and clean and each one had a fan in it. The facilities themselves weren't impressive but they did seem clean for the most part.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
1st Aug 2015
9.1

Great location even though it's not on the main island it is easily accessible and away from the hussle and bustle of the centre. Some lovely restaurants close by as well. The hostel was clean and the staff were extremely helpful. The only downside is the odd opening times for reception. Would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2015
9.7

The rooms were very spacious.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Jul 2015
6.0

Wifi was extremely poor. There was a drastic need for air conditioning

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Jul 2015
7.1

great rooms, very clean and comfortable, airconditioning is a major disappointment. We struggled to sleep with no aircon on the mide of venices weather. showers are small

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Jul 2015
6.6

If you want to get home late at night, stay the other side of the water as it took us an hour just to cross the water late at night. The fan they provide in the rooms is very poor, so in the rooms there is hardly any air and you will be sleeping in your own sweat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Jul 2015
4.6

The location was brilliant. A boat from the train station to Giudecca where you can see St Marks from the hostel. However staff, although friendly enough to smile, didn't engage with us in conversation or tell us about Venice at all; they even had a party without telling us. We expected it to be hot but the room was unbearable. Sleep was near impossible with the single small fan. Silverfish in the room & mould in the showers. The hostel didn't ruin Venice, but would advise staying elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.