X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Jardin du Sequoia Reviews

87 Rue Saint Genes, Bordeaux, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
66 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

It was lovely to stay there. We were made very welcome and sensed that nothing would be too much to ask for. I particularly enjoyed the bike ride with our host. I would be happy to return for another w/e at the Jardin du Sequoia.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Michel is a very likeable and welcoming host. Sadly, the description "charming boutique guest house" flatters to deceive. Apart from the vaulted cellar dining room, the house is neglected having the patina of a bygone age and is in need of a thorough clean and redecoration throughout the service areas as was the bedroom we had. At €100 per night one expects soaps in the en-suite, sheets and pillows ironed and a petite dejeuner that truly reflects France!

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Michelle is a very kind man and made sure all of our needs were taken care of. He went out of his way to provide us with directions to the various vineyards we wanted to visit as well as make calls on our behalf. The house is lovely, the garden beautiful and tranquil. Overall a great experience, I wish we had more time to spend there! Highly recommended.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

The hosts were so nice and made our stay very enjoyable. A beautiful old house with lot's of history and a lovely garden! The breakfasts were amazing so much choice! A tranquil atmosphere and having a lovely garden to use was an extra. The host kindly let us see his beautiful houseand gave us the history. Their kindess would be hard to match we were even taken to the airport with our bike ,left a bag in his car and he came back with it! Loved it would definitetly go back!

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Michel was the perfect host. He gave us a bike tour around Bordeaux which was excellent. He also gave us excellent tips and must sees. Good location easy 15 min walk from town centre

  • 18th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

I would highly recommend this B


97%

The most helpful couple. We were really impressed by this place.


100%

We had a really really good time. Michel and his wife were great hosts who offered a service way beyond what we expected from a B&B (free bike tour of Bordeaux, tour of the amazing house and garden, and just generally helpful!).


97%

Wow, this was one of the nicest places I have stayed in, from the second we arrived the couple who run it were so kind and friendly, and the house and garden is just beautiful. Our room was on the ground floor with a door to the garden, the room had a huge bed, lovely old furniture and high ceilings, it was wonderful! Usually I look for slightly cheaper accommodation but I think that for the price this place was absolutely worth it and actually very good value! I will go again.

  • 19th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We very much enjoyed our stay. Michel was very welcoming and helpful. The house is beautiful, and an excellent base from which to explore Bordeaux. I highly recommend staying here.

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The host is very welcoming, he gave us an introduction on Bordeaux, and great recommendations for day trips. The house has the perfect garden and the interieur design is out standing. Thank you very much for the stay.

  • 12th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The Jardin de Sequoia is one of the best B&Bs we have ever been to. The host Michel and his wife are welcoming, relaxed and will definitely guarantee a memorable and unique stay (fantastic house, private bike tour through the city, best breakfast location, fantastic paintings,...). Everybody should have the chance to stay there!

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing! We enjoyed every moment of our stay. We were made to feel very welcome, appreciated our bike tour of Bordeaux and the early morning breakfast pack on departure. Our room was spacious, and the private bathroom larger than our whole room in Paris! Thank you for everything Michel! I would recommend Michel's home to anyone visiting the region.


71%

The garden would be nicer if it was cleared out more and the many plants replaced with grass to lie on.

  • 16th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Fantastic place to stay in Bordeaux that I would readily recommend to anyone. The quality of facilities, amenities and service are far beyond the price charged. Michel, the owner, is a great man to have a chat with and has a wealth of valuable knowledge regarding things to see and do in Bordeaux as well as the surrounding region. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, it was a pleasure.


94%

I have never experienced such an excellent staff in a hotel. We felt we were really their guests - not "customers". They were so friendly and helpful 24h/day. Althought the price seemed a bit too high for us at the beginning, it was really worth it - free bottles of water were always available to us, free bike loan, they booked for us wine caves visit, lent us tourist guides, took us for a private guided tour through the city on bike etc. The house has a nice atmosphere and the rooms are clean.


100%

We had a great stay here. Michel was so friendly and took us on a bike tour of bordeax which was great. He also helped us organise a trip to the wine region, st emilion, which was a fantastic day trip. Breakfast provided was simple and great. Clean facilities and all around a great place to stay in bordeaux. Recommended for sure.


100%

Beautiful home, beautiful garden, most gracious and kind host! We were very pleased with every aspect of our stay.

  • 1st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

A good little find for a Bordeaux weekend. Characterful rooms, a good breakfast and helpful hosts that also have bikes to borrow!! About 15min walk from the centre but by no means inconvenient. Recommended.

  • 28th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

We enjoyed our stay at Jardin de Sequoia. Our hosts were extremely friendly and caring. No request was too hard for them and they always went beyond our expectations to help. Their tips on what to see, where to eat and how to go about things in Bordeaux were very useful to us and we are grateful for this.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Bordeaux Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback