X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jardin du Sequoia Reviews

87 Rue Saint Genes, Bordeaux, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
72 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

My boyfriend and I stayed at Jardin du sequoia for the weekend and absolutely loved it. The location is ideal - 5 min walk from the tram station or 15 min walk from the center on which you get to see Bordeaux. The neighbourhood is quiet and peaceful so we slept like two logs. The rooms are clean and wonderfully furnished, the beds are extremely cosy. Michel and his wife are amazingly kind, helpful and good people. The breakfast is delicious. Highly recommendable! We would love to go back!

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

We loved our stay atJardin du Sequoia. It. suited our needs perfectly. . Michele was a fabulous host and always very helpful and obliging. The location was only a little difficult as we arrived late at night. There are no night cafe's and restaurants nearby but they are reached within a 20 - 30 min walk. Michele gave us a history of the area, street and building whiich we really enjoyed. Thanks Michele

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Just a gorgeous place. Much of the building is original and stunning - our room had a chandelier and giant balcony. The two staff (owners?) were both lovely and accommodating. There is a fantastic garden in the back with a kitchen (with tea) and sitting areas, not to mention sequoias. Solid

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

A tranquil location hosted by a lovely couple (Michel and his Chinese wife). They are there if you need them and keep in the background if you don't. Michel's briefing was welcome, with information about where to go and how to get there. It is a little walk out of town, but this has its own charm. The walk / tram ride in shows you different parts of Bordeaux and is quick (tram ride - 5 mins to the Opera House). He was very knowledgable about getting out to Arcachon, including train timetables.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

It was lovely to stay there. We were made very welcome and sensed that nothing would be too much to ask for. I particularly enjoyed the bike ride with our host. I would be happy to return for another w/e at the Jardin du Sequoia.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Michel is a very likeable and welcoming host. Sadly, the description "charming boutique guest house" flatters to deceive. Apart from the vaulted cellar dining room, the house is neglected having the patina of a bygone age and is in need of a thorough clean and redecoration throughout the service areas as was the bedroom we had. At €100 per night one expects soaps in the en-suite, sheets and pillows ironed and a petite dejeuner that truly reflects France!

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Michelle is a very kind man and made sure all of our needs were taken care of. He went out of his way to provide us with directions to the various vineyards we wanted to visit as well as make calls on our behalf. The house is lovely, the garden beautiful and tranquil. Overall a great experience, I wish we had more time to spend there! Highly recommended.


97%

The hosts were so nice and made our stay very enjoyable. A beautiful old house with lot's of history and a lovely garden! The breakfasts were amazing so much choice! A tranquil atmosphere and having a lovely garden to use was an extra. The host kindly let us see his beautiful houseand gave us the history. Their kindess would be hard to match we were even taken to the airport with our bike ,left a bag in his car and he came back with it! Loved it would definitetly go back!

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Michel was the perfect host. He gave us a bike tour around Bordeaux which was excellent. He also gave us excellent tips and must sees. Good location easy 15 min walk from town centre

  • 18th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

I would highly recommend this B


97%

The most helpful couple. We were really impressed by this place.


100%

We had a really really good time. Michel and his wife were great hosts who offered a service way beyond what we expected from a B&B (free bike tour of Bordeaux, tour of the amazing house and garden, and just generally helpful!).


97%

Wow, this was one of the nicest places I have stayed in, from the second we arrived the couple who run it were so kind and friendly, and the house and garden is just beautiful. Our room was on the ground floor with a door to the garden, the room had a huge bed, lovely old furniture and high ceilings, it was wonderful! Usually I look for slightly cheaper accommodation but I think that for the price this place was absolutely worth it and actually very good value! I will go again.

  • 19th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We very much enjoyed our stay. Michel was very welcoming and helpful. The house is beautiful, and an excellent base from which to explore Bordeaux. I highly recommend staying here.

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The host is very welcoming, he gave us an introduction on Bordeaux, and great recommendations for day trips. The house has the perfect garden and the interieur design is out standing. Thank you very much for the stay.

  • 12th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The Jardin de Sequoia is one of the best B&Bs we have ever been to. The host Michel and his wife are welcoming, relaxed and will definitely guarantee a memorable and unique stay (fantastic house, private bike tour through the city, best breakfast location, fantastic paintings,...). Everybody should have the chance to stay there!

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing! We enjoyed every moment of our stay. We were made to feel very welcome, appreciated our bike tour of Bordeaux and the early morning breakfast pack on departure. Our room was spacious, and the private bathroom larger than our whole room in Paris! Thank you for everything Michel! I would recommend Michel's home to anyone visiting the region.


71%

The garden would be nicer if it was cleared out more and the many plants replaced with grass to lie on.

  • 16th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Fantastic place to stay in Bordeaux that I would readily recommend to anyone. The quality of facilities, amenities and service are far beyond the price charged. Michel, the owner, is a great man to have a chat with and has a wealth of valuable knowledge regarding things to see and do in Bordeaux as well as the surrounding region. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, it was a pleasure.


94%

I have never experienced such an excellent staff in a hotel. We felt we were really their guests - not "customers". They were so friendly and helpful 24h/day. Althought the price seemed a bit too high for us at the beginning, it was really worth it - free bottles of water were always available to us, free bike loan, they booked for us wine caves visit, lent us tourist guides, took us for a private guided tour through the city on bike etc. The house has a nice atmosphere and the rooms are clean.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all Bordeaux Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback