X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jaya Hostel & Guesthouse Reviews

94/34 Moo6 Haadrin, bantai Ko phangan, Koh Phangan, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
198 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Excellent location if you want to party all night long. There are 3 showers for about 60 persons and the toilets downstairs become public at night (lots of people from the street used it because you have a party in the front street). Cleaning was very poor. You have no blankets, only 2 towels... I have to say that hostel's personal tried to solve all problems but the value for money is very poor.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I should not help you about Taxi.

63%

There were not so many bath for the amount of people living there, and they don't clean nothing.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
after change room for only your group still dirty ??? (normally can not the room but you request and we try to do for you) we cleaned everyday but you have to understand when you stay in a dorm its not clean like private room. Thank you.

74%

I was there for full moon party. the hostel has great location, atmosphere was good, staff was really kind and helpful but it was so dirty, the room, toilets, and the showers. nobody was cleaning.


83%

Nice hostel with friendly staff. Cool receptionist came out to the night before full moon party and the full moon party. Enjoyable time here.


74%

It is a nice place if u are at Koh Phangan for the full moon party. It is a good hostel, though the bed were uncomfortable but I really didn't care that much. So if you are there to party this is the place :)

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location and pre full moon party! Staff were lovely and so happy to help! Dorm room was very basic and mattress was ridiculously hard plus no blanket so had to sleep under my towel! Stayed for 5 nights and the cleanliness was awful by the end of the week! Showers and toilets were pretty gross!


86%

The location is good since it is not that far from the beach and is a 5m walk away. However, we had a bad experience when we unintentionally left our tickets in the locker and came back late past 12am in which they close (12am to 7am). We were forced to buy new set of tickets since nobody was there to attend to our needs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We open 09:00 - 24:00 and show on Hostelworld. 2 days after Full Moon Party we open 06:00 am and we put the sign on the door at office. Are you sure you wake up ??? Because fist taxi pick up 06:00 am and our staff (Eddy) at reception for custom can check out and get in the taxi for sure.

80%

cheap for Ko phangan, I saw that most of the backpacker increase the price for full moon but not this one ! I paid 350 each night Close to the beach for the party. Can't say that's a very good dormitory because not enough space in the room at all.... but for the price GOOD


97%

This is a fantastic hostel with amazing staff and a great location. Its right in the middle of haad rin so youre right in the middle of the action for full moon. The beds are nice and comfortable and the ac is always on which is pleasant. Staff are really helpful and the hostel bar provides a good pre party atmosphere. Would definetly stay here again.


57%

By far the worst hostel during my 4 weeks in Thai (tried 6 hostels). Also the most expensive which i understand due to the full moon party but that should be compensated with better conditions. I was in a 4 bed tiny dorm and only after the 4th night the room and toilet were cleaned. The lockers are in an office that closes after 12pm. Although the hostel it's not located that close to the beach and party, it's very hard to rest as there's loud music almost all day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Joao, Did you make compare about the price before make a reservation ? If you think price here expensive why you not make a reservation with cheaper hostel ? But every month I make compare my room price with other hostel near by, I'm sure my room price is not expensive that's why you make a reservation with us. And you said our location not close to party beach, you know more close more loud music !!! One thing you have to understand FULL MOON PARTY period have loud music everywhere :)

66%

The place is nice, but clearly overpriced during Full Moon Party. The beds are hard (sometimes rock - solid) and they did not clean our room in 5 days, and only did so on day 6 when we asked them to (12 people dorm = dirty fast). Trying to squeeze out as much as possible from the party crowd, this place relies on you not caring that much. Internet on fixed computers is 3 times the price compared to mainland (ask for half-price as you are a guest in their hostel). The place is very well situated.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Arne. We cleaned the room EVERY DAY for sure. You right, many people easy to be dirty because everybody went to the beach all the time and come back with sand that's why have sand in the dorm room. We have Free Wi-Fi for customer and computer service 2 Bath per min. If you use long time (like 1 hr) we will give you discount 1 bath per min. Thank you anyway you stay with us long time even you said the room dirty.

74%

Good location, it got a big restaurant to have breakfast, lounche and dinner with a bar to drink something. It is very close to the main beach in haad rim and to the party.

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Good hostel, great atmosphere! Busy busy during the full moon time. Many showers and toilets, usually clean. Good food at their restaurant. Short walk to Haad Rin beach. Free UV paint when it's full moon party! There's a lock in the room's door and you have your own key but it was only locked during the night, guess that depends on if your room mates lock the door or not. You can use the lockers in the lobby though.


83%

Jaya is a great place to stay if you're looking for something close, fun and cheaper for the full moon party! Eddy is an absolute blast, and is extremely helpful when trying to book tours and ferries. Only thing is that the restaurant server would bring wrong items out occasionally and the shower head was a bit wonky. Stayed in 4 bed dorm and I would for sure come back there hands down!! One of the nicest hostels being close to the beach and for price, the atmosphere can't be beat there

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It's a good place to stay for the Full Moon Party. It's in walking distance from the beach and you can easily find new People for the Party, even if you are travelling on your own. But the Dorms with 16 and 20 Beds seemed to be just made for the Full Moon Parties. So don't expect much comfort. They have smaller Dorms, so if you come at non Full moon dates you should might stay there. The Staff is very friendly and the Restaurant has good food.




View all Koh Phangan Hostels

Please give us your feedback