Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jaya Hostel & Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 294 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 294 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Mar 2017
7.1

The hostel is excellentfor whatit is.. A plac to sleep when you wanna party. There is sand everywhere, the place is dirty,

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Mar 2017
5.7

The top bunks are extremely uncomfortable.They are much thinner mattresses on the top and yet you pay the same price. The rooms never got cleaned on our 4 day stay. And when we asked reception if they could change the bottom bunks as people had checked out so we could move beds they said it would be better if we could do it ourselves and never changed them. The staff just sit around all day doing nothing. The showering facilities are run down. Overall very unsatisfying for what you pay for.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.6

Very nice hostel if you want to party. Five minutes walk from the beach. The hostel's restaurant has very good price for the buckets and good food too. The dorm is clean and there are lockers if you need. I had a great time at this place and I recommand it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Feb 2017
6.9

Not the best hostel I've stayed in. The dorms were not really clean, and the beds were not the best. Furthermore, I was sleeping in part two of the hostel which is located in the dancing elephant party street. Subwoofers and a lot of noise till 2am at least. Nice common area though. Would not consider to stay here again even though it was close to the full moon. Would rather have stayed in baan kai in a cleaner hostel with a location further away from the full moon. Taxis are going every night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel! Was there during full moon party and was the perfect atmosphere. Cheapest food and beer we could find in haad rin, and good food too. Free paint for all the parties and the staff was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Feb 2017
7.4

I stayed over the Full Moon period in February. Dorm room and facilities were very basic and not very clean at all. Two toilet/shower rooms for three rooms of 16+ people..! Bar was good; food was always pretty nice and it has a social atmosphere in the evenings. Staff were helpful, friendly and efficient when I dealt with them. Overall, I'd say it's overpriced considering the lack of facilities but it's fine for the Full Moon period as you essentially just need a place to party and crash.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Feb 2017
8.0

Party hostel. Perfect for the full moon party. Dont plan on sleeping.. Literally a brick for a bed. But had a great time for full moon knew everyone in my dorms name and we partied together the whole time. The lobby/restaurant/bar gets super bumpin too so it's good for pregame. Right across from dancing elephant so VERY loud but very fun!! If you want to party stay here

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • isobeldaviess
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Feb 2017
8.0

We stayed at Jaya over the Full Moon and it was too expensive for travellers on a budget - although we do acknowledge that most hostels crank up their prices for Full Moon. Overall really helpful staff and excellent food. Our dorm was relatively clean but we were made to stay for 5 days so it eventually got really dirty and the bathroom smelt of damp and sewage. The door to the dorm was broken and was open 24/7. Cheap booze / buckets though and sick location. Ideal hostel for The Full Moon party

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.6

Had a great stay at Jaya - ideal location not far from anything. The dorms & bathrooms need a bit of modernising - beds are so squeaky and not a lot of shower facilities! The bar area is ace at night - very cheap booze & awesome atmosphere! Staff are super friendly too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
7.7

Over all it was a fun environment and the owner was great with giving us recommendations. The only thing I didn't like about Jaya is they lock the lockers up at night from 12am to 9am so you can't get any money out if you need it. I had no money or card to use at the ATM one night so I knocked on the door and the lady came out and said she was going to call the cops and that she didn't have a key to the lockers. That was really annoying and other hostels around had 24hour access. Plan ahead.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.