Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jaya Hostel & Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 285 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 285 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel! Was there during full moon party and was the perfect atmosphere. Cheapest food and beer we could find in haad rin, and good food too. Free paint for all the parties and the staff was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Feb 2017
7.4

I stayed over the Full Moon period in February. Dorm room and facilities were very basic and not very clean at all. Two toilet/shower rooms for three rooms of 16+ people..! Bar was good; food was always pretty nice and it has a social atmosphere in the evenings. Staff were helpful, friendly and efficient when I dealt with them. Overall, I'd say it's overpriced considering the lack of facilities but it's fine for the Full Moon period as you essentially just need a place to party and crash.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • isobeldaviess
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Feb 2017
8.0

We stayed at Jaya over the Full Moon and it was too expensive for travellers on a budget - although we do acknowledge that most hostels crank up their prices for Full Moon. Overall really helpful staff and excellent food. Our dorm was relatively clean but we were made to stay for 5 days so it eventually got really dirty and the bathroom smelt of damp and sewage. The door to the dorm was broken and was open 24/7. Cheap booze / buckets though and sick location. Ideal hostel for The Full Moon party

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
7.7

Over all it was a fun environment and the owner was great with giving us recommendations. The only thing I didn't like about Jaya is they lock the lockers up at night from 12am to 9am so you can't get any money out if you need it. I had no money or card to use at the ATM one night so I knocked on the door and the lady came out and said she was going to call the cops and that she didn't have a key to the lockers. That was really annoying and other hostels around had 24hour access. Plan ahead.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
10.0

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Cheers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th Dec 2016
7.4

Good hostel and especially good if you want to beer. Beers in the bar are so cheap! 65 baht for a big Chang can't go wrong. Only thing is the rooms were very dirty and rarely cleaned.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
9.4

Really great Hostel, English owner Anthony was a great guy and same with Eddie who works there and is very knowledgeable. Free pool table, cheap drinks and food, and free lockers to store valuables were highlights. Also in perfect location to hit full moon Beach, lazy house (movie chillout bar), and great preparty in Jaya bar. Cheers! Canada.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Dec 2016
10.0

Good hostel, best location for the beach!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Dec 2016
6.0

It's an okay hostel. Stayed in a 12 bed dorm and the first night we had 3 cockroaches in the room/toilet. The Wifi was down because of bad weather before I arrived, so had to steal wifi from the hostel on the other side of the road and the restaurants. It's really noisy outside because the dorms are in the same streets as the Dancing Elephant Hostel. However, it's way cheaper than the dancing elephant. The hostel is not that social (especially not the dorm I stayed in).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
13th Nov 2016
10.0

I literally don't have anything negative to say about this hostel. I stayed four nights around the full moon and it was the best desicion. It was cheaper compared to the other hostels in Haad Rin, the rooms were clean and cool, the atmosphere was great and the staff was amazing and took really good care of us. The hostel organized fun pre parties, but the rooms were in a different building so if you wanted to just chill and sleep you could do that. They also have very cheap food and drinks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.