Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jaya Hostel & Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 304 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 304 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th May 2017
8.3

Stayed at Jaya for the full moon party. Worked out well and had everything you need. Only problem was connecting to wifi in the dorm as it was on and off.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th May 2017
8.0

Jays is THE spot to be if you want to party hard. There is a street party literally outside of dorms. Also, the common area is really large. Staff=awesome. Cleanliness appears to be secondary to partying. We stayed in private (No AC!) so our bathroom/shower was often dirty from patrons using it and our room only had a Fan so it was hot all day and most of night. Here, you are mostly paying for location. If you want to mingle with partiers all day and night, come here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
9th May 2017
8.3

Room had a pet cockroach the size of a small cat in the bathroom which was nice 😕 Overall good hostel if your going to the full moon party as it's really cheap and within walking distance, if your looking for somewhere nice and clean I would try somewhere else. Overall we weren't in the room that much and overall had a good stay (bar the cockroach)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th May 2017
10.0

Best place to stay for full moon party. Biggest, best bar around to drink in. Sell beers cheaper than 711, the owner is a dj and played us a good warm up set for the party. Location is perfect, right next to the beach. Had a great time here, couldn't fault it. Definitely recommend staying here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
6.6

Paid for a 4 person room, showed up and was placed in a 12 person. 1 toilet, 1 shower, both not very clean. Weak wifi and also the safety deposit box's are in the staff lobby which is closed between midnight-6am which is very inconvenient. Overall a poor experience but a few pluses were: -good AC -great location -cheap

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2017
7.1

Great for a short stay over the Full Moon Party. I would suggest a private room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Mar 2017
7.1

The hostel is excellentfor whatit is.. A plac to sleep when you wanna party. There is sand everywhere, the place is dirty,

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
11th Mar 2017
5.7

The top bunks are extremely uncomfortable.They are much thinner mattresses on the top and yet you pay the same price. The rooms never got cleaned on our 4 day stay. And when we asked reception if they could change the bottom bunks as people had checked out so we could move beds they said it would be better if we could do it ourselves and never changed them. The staff just sit around all day doing nothing. The showering facilities are run down. Overall very unsatisfying for what you pay for.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.6

Very nice hostel if you want to party. Five minutes walk from the beach. The hostel's restaurant has very good price for the buckets and good food too. The dorm is clean and there are lockers if you need. I had a great time at this place and I recommand it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Feb 2017
6.9

Not the best hostel I've stayed in. The dorms were not really clean, and the beds were not the best. Furthermore, I was sleeping in part two of the hostel which is located in the dancing elephant party street. Subwoofers and a lot of noise till 2am at least. Nice common area though. Would not consider to stay here again even though it was close to the full moon. Would rather have stayed in baan kai in a cleaner hostel with a location further away from the full moon. Taxis are going every night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.