X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Jazz on the Park-Hostel Reviews

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
2043 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Staff was great, the locaction is quiet and nice

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

No soap for washing hands! Dirty showers! Even if it said that quiet hours were from 11pm, some people had parties for two nights in a row and nobody paid attention on that! I would never recommend this hostel to a friend!


63%

One of the nights someone entered to some rooms an stole many things. One of my roommates laptop was taken. The men that work in there expend more time hitting the women than solving things. The bathrooms are not in the same floor.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a great time at Jazz on the park. It has a very confortable atmosphere and everyone treated us nicely.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

the comedy club where standup artists comes to test their new jokes is cool ! there was a happy atmosphere and it was fun

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Pretty Expensive for the tiny double room. Not much as far as communal space either. Bunk bed with rubber mattresses made for a rather loud night.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I stayed with 2 friends for 4 nights, the first days of april. The staff was really nice, the breakfast was good and the room was clean. In terms of location, the hostel is 3 blocks away from 2 subway stations that will take you to the main attractions in the city, so it's really easy to get anywhere. The only things I didn't like were that you have to pay por internet access and that the mattresses weren't that comfortable, but after a long day walking around, we really didn't care.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel is in a good location, good value for money and the staff are generally helpful. As a traveller the atmosphere is lacking; no major common rooms and very "comedy" centred. No discounts provided at reception for tours of the city. The rooms are quite basic, and I found not a lot of other young travellers to meet. Serves its purpose - clean, affordable, good location - but not at active night life.


69%

I had some problems with a roomate who smoked and I tried to change rooms but I couldn't. That pissed me off. Other thing is that you pay for wi-fi but it doesn't work so good in the dorms.


69%

Once of the cheapest options in New York. Located near Central Park, 3 blocks from metro but really far from most attractions. Expect nothing but checking in or out from the staff. Mattresses are horrible. You get what you pay for..


60%

Heating system is AWFUL, rooms were like a sauna, in cold March. Opening windows didn't help. Rooms need livening up, perhaps some colorful paint. Kitchen is not user-friendly and very limited. Gratuitous TV makes dining area anti-social. Women's showers could be cleaner, graffiti in toilet areas is offensive. Cleaning staff are very nice. I prefer Hostelling International on Amsterdam Ave and 103rd St because it has a better kitchen, more common space, and is cleaner, though more people per rm.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

I dont think me and my friend could find a better place to stay. Pedro, one of the hosts, is really nice, even gave us some tips on what to do in NY. Its just next to Central Park, and its amazing just for that, and it also has a subway station just three blocks away. Its not so cheap, and the wifi isnt included, but thats not a big deal. Breakfast is really good. One thing that bothered me a little is that storage is not locked, so i hope they take care of the stuff. But TOTALLY recomend it.

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

A good price for Manhattan, even if cleanliness could generally be improved. Easy to meet fellow travellers and a decent breakfast is included. Wifi is only available on a paid basis, which was a let-down.


94%

Great place just by north central park. Just a 10min nice walk crossing central park (bus if you re lazy or late.:) to get to the museum mile, the metroplitan and more..and 2 blocks from c and a trains, bringing you in 15/20min to either times square or greenwich village and its jazz clubs.

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Hostel was decent - everything you would want. Shower was cold for me on one day, was hot the next. The common area downtstairs wasn't explained to us by the staff - the kitchen was the only real social area and wasn't great for socialising. Okay place to stay but nothing special. Also getting sick of American hostels charging way more through their 'hotel taxes' than what is advertised on hostel world. Very frustrating.


83%

Always something going on. That makes it easy to meet new people!


100%

really helpful staff and great hostel.Jose at the reception was Extremely helpful

  • 12th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Would definitely stay here again.

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

great place to stay in manhattan. the staff were helpful and friendly and there were a lot o nice people staying at the time!


86%

Very nice staff ! good atmosphere and good vibes!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback