X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Jazz on the Park-Hostel Reviews

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
2122 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Nothing special about this place. Staff was just nice enough to not be considered rude. Had to come to the front desk for a towel which could have been on the bed or handed to me a check in. The common areas were pretty generic and unexceptional. But overall the place does the job if you just need a place to sleep and shower.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience. Customer service is always important to us. We let our guest know during check in that towels are available upon request at our front desk.

71%

Good location of Central Park, as long as you don't mind getting the subway to places. Horrible beds- rubber mattess that squeaked whenever you moved! Good free breakfast and mixed staff. Overall good cheap New York accommodation but the beds are a disaster

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we apologize that you did not enjoy the comfort of our new spring-less mattresses. We are glad you enjoyed the location, breakfast that we offer and the diversity of our staff.

69%

The Wi-Fi should be free and they should something to cook

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry you did not take advantage of our free WiFi in our lobby. Although we do offer free WiFi in our common areas sometimes the signal may be a bit weak due to high volume of usage. For your convenience we also offer WiFi in the rooms and throughout the building at a small fee. However, we do not advertise a full kitchen, but guest can feel free to use our microwave and toaster at any time and leave any items in our refrigerator.

63%

Quiet neighborhood, friendly staff, basic but spacious rooms. However the walls were super thin and you could hear everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your friendly review, we appreciate you taking the time to leave give us feedback about your stay. We are glad our staff was friendly and welcoming. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered while staying with us.

91%

Thanks, had a great time there!

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you had a great time and enjoyed our facility!

46%

I stayed in this hostel for two reasons: it was located in Manhattan and it was cheaper than the rest of the hostels. Regarding the location: it was far from everything.. yes, it is near to Central Park but there are other hostels located in Queens with better access to Time Square and other attractions. The rooms were clean but the facilities seem old and outdated. You have to pay extra to access Wifi! $5 for 24 hours access, a hostel without free wifi in 2014 is not somewhere where I'd return

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you feedback, our facility has been around for many years, everyday we improve and modernize our hostel to ensure a great stay for guests. If any questions regarding quick directions to a destination feel free to ask our staff, customer service is always a first priority to us. We have free WiFi in our lobby but because of high volume usage the signal may be a bit weak at times. We also have WiFi that can be purchased and used in the rooms and throughout the building.

89%

Staff was great, the locaction is quiet and nice

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your friendly review. We are glad you enjoyed the location and that our staff was welcoming and friendly.

43%

No soap for washing hands! Dirty showers! Even if it said that quiet hours were from 11pm, some people had parties for two nights in a row and nobody paid attention on that! I would never recommend this hostel to a friend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are sorry for any inconvenience you have encountered during your stay. We have staff during the day and night ensuring cleanliness within our showers and bathrooms. If any disturbance of music or noise please alert our front desk staff so that way we ensure you have a enjoyable stay at our hostel.

57%

Room door lock wasn't functioning. I had a room with a very draughty seal around the air conditioning unit - given the snow on the first night I arrived this meant for a very cold time. From previous reviews I saw this had been commented on but not fixed by the maintenance staff - should have been a very easy fix to seal the gap for them but I had to improv with some newspaper. However reasonably clean, free basic breakfast and great location for park. The hostel could be much better though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience you have encountered during your stay here. We have maintenance staff come in everyday to fix any problems within the building. We encourage guests to let our front desk staff know of any concerns or problems they encounter during their stay. Customer service is always a first priority to us and we want to take care of any problems as soon as possible, making sure all guests enjoy their stay.

63%

One of the nights someone entered to some rooms an stole many things. One of my roommates laptop was taken. The men that work in there expend more time hitting the women than solving things. The bathrooms are not in the same floor.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience you have encountered during your stay. We encourage all guests to lock up their valuable items when leaving their room. We also have 24 hour surveillance camera throughout the building ensuring safety to all our guests. All of our staff are very friendly and welcoming ensuring that all our guests have a great stay with us.

91%

We had a great time at Jazz on the park. It has a very confortable atmosphere and everyone treated us nicely.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you had such a great stay with us. Our staff are always friendly and welcoming ensuring that all our guests have a wonderful experience with us.

89%

the comedy club where standup artists comes to test their new jokes is cool ! there was a happy atmosphere and it was fun

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your friendly review, we are glad you enjoyed the free comedy show that we offer every Thursday and Sunday and had such a fun and happy experience at our hostel.

86%

Good and for the area relatively cheap place to stay. Organized activities. Keep in mind that Wifi is not included in the price

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the activities we organize for our guests. We apologize that you did not take advantage of our free WiFi in the lobby. Due to high volume of usage, the connection may be a bit weak at times. However, we do have WiFi that can be purchased and used throughout the building and in the guests rooms.

60%

Pretty Expensive for the tiny double room. Not much as far as communal space either. Bunk bed with rubber mattresses made for a rather loud night.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I stayed with 2 friends for 4 nights, the first days of april. The staff was really nice, the breakfast was good and the room was clean. In terms of location, the hostel is 3 blocks away from 2 subway stations that will take you to the main attractions in the city, so it's really easy to get anywhere. The only things I didn't like were that you have to pay por internet access and that the mattresses weren't that comfortable, but after a long day walking around, we really didn't care.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel is in a good location, good value for money and the staff are generally helpful. As a traveller the atmosphere is lacking; no major common rooms and very "comedy" centred. No discounts provided at reception for tours of the city. The rooms are quite basic, and I found not a lot of other young travellers to meet. Serves its purpose - clean, affordable, good location - but not at active night life.


69%

I had some problems with a roomate who smoked and I tried to change rooms but I couldn't. That pissed me off. Other thing is that you pay for wi-fi but it doesn't work so good in the dorms.


69%

Once of the cheapest options in New York. Located near Central Park, 3 blocks from metro but really far from most attractions. Expect nothing but checking in or out from the staff. Mattresses are horrible. You get what you pay for..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are sorry you did not enjoy the comfort of our new spring-less mattresses. Many guest enjoys the location because we are right next to central park and 3 blocks away from the train station, which is very convenient and a quick ride from most attractions. Customer service is very important to our staff, we always try to ensure a great stay for our guests.

60%

Heating system is AWFUL, rooms were like a sauna, in cold March. Opening windows didn't help. Rooms need livening up, perhaps some colorful paint. Kitchen is not user-friendly and very limited. Gratuitous TV makes dining area anti-social. Women's showers could be cleaner, graffiti in toilet areas is offensive. Cleaning staff are very nice. I prefer Hostelling International on Amsterdam Ave and 103rd St because it has a better kitchen, more common space, and is cleaner, though more people per rm.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience your have encountered during your stay and thank you for your time to leave us a feedback. Temperature of the building can be adjusted upon request to our staff. We have social gathering and different entertainments every night at our lobby. There are also different paintings and art throughout the building and in all rooms. We do not advertise a full kitchen on our website but guest can feel free to use the microwave and toaster any time.

89%

I dont think me and my friend could find a better place to stay. Pedro, one of the hosts, is really nice, even gave us some tips on what to do in NY. Its just next to Central Park, and its amazing just for that, and it also has a subway station just three blocks away. Its not so cheap, and the wifi isnt included, but thats not a big deal. Breakfast is really good. One thing that bothered me a little is that storage is not locked, so i hope they take care of the stuff. But TOTALLY recomend it.

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your friendly review, we are glad that the staff was great help to you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry you did not get a chance to take advantage of our free WiFi offered in the our lobby area, due to high volume of usage the signals may be a bit slow. We also do offer WiFi throughout the building and in the rooms with a small fee. We have 24 hour surveillance cameras throughout the building and always keep our storage room locked and assisted by our staff.

(67 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback