X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jazz on the Park-Hostel Reviews

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
2156 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

No soap for washing hands! Dirty showers! Even if it said that quiet hours were from 11pm, some people had parties for two nights in a row and nobody paid attention on that! I would never recommend this hostel to a friend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are sorry for any inconvenience you have encountered during your stay. We have staff during the day and night ensuring cleanliness within our showers and bathrooms. If any disturbance of music or noise please alert our front desk staff so that way we ensure you have a enjoyable stay at our hostel.

57%

Room door lock wasn't functioning. I had a room with a very draughty seal around the air conditioning unit - given the snow on the first night I arrived this meant for a very cold time. From previous reviews I saw this had been commented on but not fixed by the maintenance staff - should have been a very easy fix to seal the gap for them but I had to improv with some newspaper. However reasonably clean, free basic breakfast and great location for park. The hostel could be much better though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience you have encountered during your stay here. We have maintenance staff come in everyday to fix any problems within the building. We encourage guests to let our front desk staff know of any concerns or problems they encounter during their stay. Customer service is always a first priority to us and we want to take care of any problems as soon as possible, making sure all guests enjoy their stay.

63%

One of the nights someone entered to some rooms an stole many things. One of my roommates laptop was taken. The men that work in there expend more time hitting the women than solving things. The bathrooms are not in the same floor.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience you have encountered during your stay. We encourage all guests to lock up their valuable items when leaving their room. We also have 24 hour surveillance camera throughout the building ensuring safety to all our guests. All of our staff are very friendly and welcoming ensuring that all our guests have a great stay with us.

91%

We had a great time at Jazz on the park. It has a very confortable atmosphere and everyone treated us nicely.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you had such a great stay with us. Our staff are always friendly and welcoming ensuring that all our guests have a wonderful experience with us.

89%

the comedy club where standup artists comes to test their new jokes is cool ! there was a happy atmosphere and it was fun

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your friendly review, we are glad you enjoyed the free comedy show that we offer every Thursday and Sunday and had such a fun and happy experience at our hostel.

86%

Good and for the area relatively cheap place to stay. Organized activities. Keep in mind that Wifi is not included in the price

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the activities we organize for our guests. We apologize that you did not take advantage of our free WiFi in the lobby. Due to high volume of usage, the connection may be a bit weak at times. However, we do have WiFi that can be purchased and used throughout the building and in the guests rooms.

60%

Pretty Expensive for the tiny double room. Not much as far as communal space either. Bunk bed with rubber mattresses made for a rather loud night.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I stayed with 2 friends for 4 nights, the first days of april. The staff was really nice, the breakfast was good and the room was clean. In terms of location, the hostel is 3 blocks away from 2 subway stations that will take you to the main attractions in the city, so it's really easy to get anywhere. The only things I didn't like were that you have to pay por internet access and that the mattresses weren't that comfortable, but after a long day walking around, we really didn't care.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel is in a good location, good value for money and the staff are generally helpful. As a traveller the atmosphere is lacking; no major common rooms and very "comedy" centred. No discounts provided at reception for tours of the city. The rooms are quite basic, and I found not a lot of other young travellers to meet. Serves its purpose - clean, affordable, good location - but not at active night life.


69%

I had some problems with a roomate who smoked and I tried to change rooms but I couldn't. That pissed me off. Other thing is that you pay for wi-fi but it doesn't work so good in the dorms.


69%

Once of the cheapest options in New York. Located near Central Park, 3 blocks from metro but really far from most attractions. Expect nothing but checking in or out from the staff. Mattresses are horrible. You get what you pay for..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are sorry you did not enjoy the comfort of our new spring-less mattresses. Many guest enjoys the location because we are right next to central park and 3 blocks away from the train station, which is very convenient and a quick ride from most attractions. Customer service is very important to our staff, we always try to ensure a great stay for our guests.

1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(71 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback