X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jazz on the Park-Hostel Reviews

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
2171 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Use an exterminator for the infestation of roaches, especially the ones crawling on the complimentary breakfast. Tell the cleaning crew to actually clean the rooms. They do not replace towels until you ask. They do not clean or vacuum the floors.


60%

The worst bed ever! I won't recommend this place to a friend. The only good thing was the breakfast, even though they serve tang as orange juice. The bunk beds are really old and noisy, thin steel armor. The mattress are really, really bad, seems to have 10 years of intense use, You can fell the bottom. Don't stay here. I had a 4 days reservation and checked out after the first night.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for the discomfort of your stay. We are sorry you did not enjoy the comfort of our new spring-less mattresses. We appreciate you taking the time to give us a feedback, it helps us improve our customer service in the future.

57%

Really friendly and helpful staff, but overall not a particularly nice place to stay. I'm assuming NYC is generally terrible for hostels. Overall the rooms, bathrooms and shower rooms are dirty, we had ants in our room, the room was either freezing or boiling, the showers have nowhere for you to change, breakfast was not very nice, lots of noisy morning work being done and one morning some random workmen burst into our room - not great when you have 2 women changing! Good central park location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are glad our staff was welcoming and helpful. We apologize for any inconvenience. We have staff on duty 24 hours making sure bathrooms and showers are kept clean. Temperature throughout the building can be adjusted upon request with our staff. We have work men coming into our building to improve and modernize our facility ensuring a great stay for all our guests.

51%

In the late night, I met a guy at 103 st. (on my way to jazz on the rock hostel at 106 st.). He walked to me and bumped to me and broke his bottle ,he told me it is $20 liquor, and he wanted me to pay $20.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Nothing special about this place. Staff was just nice enough to not be considered rude. Had to come to the front desk for a towel which could have been on the bed or handed to me a check in. The common areas were pretty generic and unexceptional. But overall the place does the job if you just need a place to sleep and shower.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience. Customer service is always important to us. We let our guest know during check in that towels are available upon request at our front desk.

71%

Good location of Central Park, as long as you don't mind getting the subway to places. Horrible beds- rubber mattess that squeaked whenever you moved! Good free breakfast and mixed staff. Overall good cheap New York accommodation but the beds are a disaster

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we apologize that you did not enjoy the comfort of our new spring-less mattresses. We are glad you enjoyed the location, breakfast that we offer and the diversity of our staff.

69%

The Wi-Fi should be free and they should something to cook

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry you did not take advantage of our free WiFi in our lobby. Although we do offer free WiFi in our common areas sometimes the signal may be a bit weak due to high volume of usage. For your convenience we also offer WiFi in the rooms and throughout the building at a small fee. However, we do not advertise a full kitchen, but guest can feel free to use our microwave and toaster at any time and leave any items in our refrigerator.

63%

Quiet neighborhood, friendly staff, basic but spacious rooms. However the walls were super thin and you could hear everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your friendly review, we appreciate you taking the time to leave give us feedback about your stay. We are glad our staff was friendly and welcoming. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered while staying with us.

91%

Thanks, had a great time there!

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you had a great time and enjoyed our facility!

46%

I stayed in this hostel for two reasons: it was located in Manhattan and it was cheaper than the rest of the hostels. Regarding the location: it was far from everything.. yes, it is near to Central Park but there are other hostels located in Queens with better access to Time Square and other attractions. The rooms were clean but the facilities seem old and outdated. You have to pay extra to access Wifi! $5 for 24 hours access, a hostel without free wifi in 2014 is not somewhere where I'd return

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you feedback, our facility has been around for many years, everyday we improve and modernize our hostel to ensure a great stay for guests. If any questions regarding quick directions to a destination feel free to ask our staff, customer service is always a first priority to us. We have free WiFi in our lobby but because of high volume usage the signal may be a bit weak at times. We also have WiFi that can be purchased and used in the rooms and throughout the building.

89%

Staff was great, the locaction is quiet and nice

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your friendly review. We are glad you enjoyed the location and that our staff was welcoming and friendly.

43%

No soap for washing hands! Dirty showers! Even if it said that quiet hours were from 11pm, some people had parties for two nights in a row and nobody paid attention on that! I would never recommend this hostel to a friend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are sorry for any inconvenience you have encountered during your stay. We have staff during the day and night ensuring cleanliness within our showers and bathrooms. If any disturbance of music or noise please alert our front desk staff so that way we ensure you have a enjoyable stay at our hostel.

57%

Room door lock wasn't functioning. I had a room with a very draughty seal around the air conditioning unit - given the snow on the first night I arrived this meant for a very cold time. From previous reviews I saw this had been commented on but not fixed by the maintenance staff - should have been a very easy fix to seal the gap for them but I had to improv with some newspaper. However reasonably clean, free basic breakfast and great location for park. The hostel could be much better though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience you have encountered during your stay here. We have maintenance staff come in everyday to fix any problems within the building. We encourage guests to let our front desk staff know of any concerns or problems they encounter during their stay. Customer service is always a first priority to us and we want to take care of any problems as soon as possible, making sure all guests enjoy their stay.

63%

One of the nights someone entered to some rooms an stole many things. One of my roommates laptop was taken. The men that work in there expend more time hitting the women than solving things. The bathrooms are not in the same floor.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience you have encountered during your stay. We encourage all guests to lock up their valuable items when leaving their room. We also have 24 hour surveillance camera throughout the building ensuring safety to all our guests. All of our staff are very friendly and welcoming ensuring that all our guests have a great stay with us.

91%

We had a great time at Jazz on the park. It has a very confortable atmosphere and everyone treated us nicely.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you had such a great stay with us. Our staff are always friendly and welcoming ensuring that all our guests have a wonderful experience with us.

89%

the comedy club where standup artists comes to test their new jokes is cool ! there was a happy atmosphere and it was fun

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your friendly review, we are glad you enjoyed the free comedy show that we offer every Thursday and Sunday and had such a fun and happy experience at our hostel.

86%

Good and for the area relatively cheap place to stay. Organized activities. Keep in mind that Wifi is not included in the price

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the activities we organize for our guests. We apologize that you did not take advantage of our free WiFi in the lobby. Due to high volume of usage, the connection may be a bit weak at times. However, we do have WiFi that can be purchased and used throughout the building and in the guests rooms.

60%

Pretty Expensive for the tiny double room. Not much as far as communal space either. Bunk bed with rubber mattresses made for a rather loud night.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I stayed with 2 friends for 4 nights, the first days of april. The staff was really nice, the breakfast was good and the room was clean. In terms of location, the hostel is 3 blocks away from 2 subway stations that will take you to the main attractions in the city, so it's really easy to get anywhere. The only things I didn't like were that you have to pay por internet access and that the mattresses weren't that comfortable, but after a long day walking around, we really didn't care.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(79 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback