NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Jazz on the Park-Hostel Reviews

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained


2130 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Once of the cheapest options in New York. Located near Central Park, 3 blocks from metro but really far from most attractions. Expect nothing but checking in or out from the staff. Mattresses are horrible. You get what you pay for..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are sorry you did not enjoy the comfort of our new spring-less mattresses. Many guest enjoys the location because we are right next to central park and 3 blocks away from the train station, which is very convenient and a quick ride from most attractions. Customer service is very important to our staff, we always try to ensure a great stay for our guests.


Heating system is AWFUL, rooms were like a sauna, in cold March. Opening windows didn't help. Rooms need livening up, perhaps some colorful paint. Kitchen is not user-friendly and very limited. Gratuitous TV makes dining area anti-social. Women's showers could be cleaner, graffiti in toilet areas is offensive. Cleaning staff are very nice. I prefer Hostelling International on Amsterdam Ave and 103rd St because it has a better kitchen, more common space, and is cleaner, though more people per rm.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience your have encountered during your stay and thank you for your time to leave us a feedback. Temperature of the building can be adjusted upon request to our staff. We have social gathering and different entertainments every night at our lobby. There are also different paintings and art throughout the building and in all rooms. We do not advertise a full kitchen on our website but guest can feel free to use the microwave and toaster any time.


I dont think me and my friend could find a better place to stay. Pedro, one of the hosts, is really nice, even gave us some tips on what to do in NY. Its just next to Central Park, and its amazing just for that, and it also has a subway station just three blocks away. Its not so cheap, and the wifi isnt included, but thats not a big deal. Breakfast is really good. One thing that bothered me a little is that storage is not locked, so i hope they take care of the stuff. But TOTALLY recomend it.

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your friendly review, we are glad that the staff was great help to you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry you did not get a chance to take advantage of our free WiFi offered in the our lobby area, due to high volume of usage the signals may be a bit slow. We also do offer WiFi throughout the building and in the rooms with a small fee. We have 24 hour surveillance cameras throughout the building and always keep our storage room locked and assisted by our staff.


A good price for Manhattan, even if cleanliness could generally be improved. Easy to meet fellow travellers and a decent breakfast is included. Wifi is only available on a paid basis, which was a let-down.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we apologize for any inconvenience. We have a great cleaning crew that comes in everyday to ensure a clean atmosphere for our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and the free breakfast that we offer to guests every morning. We offer free WiFi in our lobby area but because of high volume usage the signal may be a bit slow at times. We also offer WiFi throughout the building and in rooms with a small fee.


Great place just by north central park. Just a 10min nice walk crossing central park (bus if you re lazy or late.:) to get to the museum mile, the metroplitan and more..and 2 blocks from c and a trains, bringing you in 15/20min to either times square or greenwich village and its jazz clubs.

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed the environment and location of our hostel.


Hostel was decent - everything you would want. Shower was cold for me on one day, was hot the next. The common area downtstairs wasn't explained to us by the staff - the kitchen was the only real social area and wasn't great for socialising. Okay place to stay but nothing special. Also getting sick of American hostels charging way more through their 'hotel taxes' than what is advertised on hostel world. Very frustrating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. The cafeteria is where all the guests meet before heading out to an event or club that we are offering that night, which allows them to socialize and get to know each other before heading out. The common area downstairs is usually for relaxation and where we also offer free comedy shows every Thursday and Sunday night. The tax percentage is 14.75 and a service fee of $3.50 every night.


Always something going on. That makes it easy to meet new people!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your generous feedback, we always have new events at our hostel for our guests to enjoy. We are glad you enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and had a great time with us.


really helpful staff and great hostel.Jose at the reception was Extremely helpful

  • 12th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your friendly review, we are glad that our staff was a great help to you and that your enjoyed your stay with us. Customer service is always important to us and we want to make sure our guests have a wonderful and welcoming stay.


We had read the reviews so we're prepared for this hostel. The staff in general were uninterested in guests (except the manager who was really helpful). It was noisy and nothing was done to quieten noisy guests late at night. Staff also let a very drunk woman check in after midnight who woke everybody up. Put her in a private room or refuse entry but don't put her in a dorm to disturb others. Breakfast was ok.


Would definitely stay here again.

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(70 results)

View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback