Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel

  • 36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 2,988 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 2,988 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.2
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel Located at 36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York.
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
USA
New York NY 10025 36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City
72% 2988
40.7984790 -73.9610880
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
6.3

The check in staff looked tired and very grumpy. He did not even try to explain the facilties to us,and he was very sacastic and mean. Others than that, the hostel location was really good. There was no elevetor,so it may be difficult for travellers who have very large bags.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Sep 2016
6.9

I enjoyed my stay here, it's a friendly hostel in a good location right next to Central Park and an easy subway ride away from all the main sights. The staff are friendly and organise regular events such as nights out and pizza evenings, which was a good way to meet other guests. Disadvantages are that the bathrooms were quite dirty at times, and there was no wifi in the bedrooms which was really annoying. But overall good value for money considering the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Sep 2016
7.7

Location-wise, the subway stops are close by (3-4) blocks but the lines aren't quite as frequent and it's hard to know what train stops where. The area is a bit more quiet so I wouldn't be overly comfortable moving around on my own after dark. Hostel Wi-Fi works downstairs in the lobby only, which is ok. Staff was cool, e.g. they organised a joint party night out at a "secret" club. Stayed at a 6-bed mixed dorm, great bathrooms/showers, small-ish towels included (+) and decent hairdryers (+++).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
8.3

I stayed in a 2 dorm mixed room and it was very clean, had AC which was extremely appreciated when I got into New York (37 centigrade). Staff were friendly enough. Location is close by to the A and C metro lines which takes you right to times square or lower manhattan. Separate room keys needed and small lockers are available in room for your important stuff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
7.4

My stay was ok, the bed the bathroom was ok but we didnt have AC in our room. I told the front desk and they said sombody will fix it the next day but nobody did if it wasnt a cool weather in NYC that would be a horrible stay, good thing we could open the two windows so the cool air can flow inside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
6.0

The blankets in our room were surely not clean.. how we noticed the housekeeping is that someone replaced the blankets on the bed. Price is okay, if you compare to the other hostels in Manhattan region. Easy to get the metro (after 10mins walking). You can walk through the park as well but I do not recommend to do that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2016
9.4

Great location!Everything is good! Good stay in NYC!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Aug 2016
6.6

Lack of elevator was not great as it was our last stop before the airport so had very heavy bags

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
3.1

Terrible place to stay, it's dirty it's overpriced and for absolutely no reason I would recommend staying somewhere else. The street be better and cleaner than this place. Staff were also terrible.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Aug 2016
4.9

This is a great hostel if you like to see what the world was like when 56k modems were all the rage 15 years ago. WiFi is only found in the communal area downstairs. You can't cook food there just reheat. NYC is an expensive place; this hostel is expensive and yet it is pretty basic. There's no bar either. Beds vary in comfort and so do pillows - it really is pot luck. You don't get a breakfast and I don't think they really care. Oh. You have to pay to use the computers. It's nr 103 St s

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.