Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel

  • 36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 2,953 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 2,953 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.2
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel Located at 36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York.
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
USA
New York NY 10025 36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City
73% 2953
40.7984790 -73.9610880
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Aug 2016
6.6

Relatively good facilities in a location that is conveniently located by a subway station - only qualm was the fact that the wifi was a bit spotty and was only limited to the common room/lobby area and not in the rooms. Other than that, it was a decent stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2016
6.6

We were disappointed to find that the kitchen consisted only of a fridge, microwave, and toaster. The cleaning schedule seems to be inconsistent. The luggage room was kept unlocked all day. The location was good - near the 103st subway station and a few blocks from decent restaurants and a Big Bus Tour stop. There was air conditioning. Everyone in the main area kept to themselves on their phones. It was not the greatest experience, and it was expensive (but maybe not by NYC standards).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Aug 2016
6.9

This is the cheapest hostel I found in Manhattan and I pretty much got what I expected. The location was really nice, right next to central park; everything else was mediocre but ok, if you don't intent to spend all day at the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
4.9

Wifi only available in the lobby. Lockers very very small. Limited number of showers. Uncomfortable beds. Staff weren't able to load a printer with paper.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Jul 2016
6.3

The bathrooms are very uncomfortable. Very small showers with no place for your stuff. Also, it has 4 floors and no lift, so climbing to the 3rd floor with all your stuff could be a pain in the ass, as it was for me. Apart from that, the location is really nice if you don't want to be in a crowded area.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2016
8.3

I enjoyed my stay at Jazz on the Park and would definitely stay again in the future!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2016
7.1

The sheets did not seem clean, we exchanged them for new ones. The room was spacious for our family of four.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
2.9

This was the absolute worst place I have ever stayed, in my entire life. The staff were very inhumane towards me, rude, poorly trained in customer care protocols, & one woman was covertly racist. The bathrooms were filthy. There are no elevators. When your room key doesn't work all of the sudden, you will have to lug your bags down several flights of stairs, & more to get a new one, because they will not send one up to you. A park bench would have been a more peaceful & cleanly option.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
3.4

NO WI FI in rooms. Even lounge wifi v. bad. They charge 5$ a piece to store luggage, which i have never seen at any other hostel. Jazz is the dirtiest hostel i have ever stayed at. Bathrooms are so greasy that you come out needing a shower if u step in it! Dark dungeon-like rooms, untrained staff who don't give u any info about a/th as they are busy on their own phones. Only one woman named Katy was good to deal with.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jul 2016
7.4

Location is fine when using the subway but a bit too far to walk anywhere into town. Was good travelling with just 2 of us as we got our own room with 1 bunk bed although it was up 4 flights of stairs with no lift. Also our key card didn't work one night getting back at 1am but luckily staff were at the desk to reset it within 15 mins or so, just had to walk up and down the 4 flights of stairs again... supposedly a common problem. All in all, good value for money, friendly staff and atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.