X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel Reviews

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
2408 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Similar to other patrons. Be ready to be on the 5th floor with no elevator, and walk down to the 1st or 2nd floor for bathrooms/showers. Other than that, it is a good deal for the amount, especially in New York City.


74%

Honestly, I think this hostel has gone downhill since my previous stays. The guy at the counter seems to carry a grudge against me for having complained about things at previous times, and was going to make me move rooms after the first night to accommodate some group, despite me having a prior reservation. Also there's no longer any type breakfast offered downstairs, only free coffee. I only went there to save money, so now, I'll have to spend the extra money to stay at the better places I go.


100%

Excellent hostel


74%

Room: Nice. Simple but really nice. Bathrooms: cold in the mornings. Everything good enough but definitely could be better Staff: some of them looked or act like they didn't like workin on a hostel. Idle. Some of them we're really helpful though. It lacked of a hostel vibe. There wasn't any get together within people. That was not common. Half a block away from central park. Great. 3 blocks away from 2 subway bounds. Even better.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Internet and printer use is minimum 2$. The atmosphere is not very welcoming. But provides the minimum of all you need for a night

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we have computer for guests to use with internet and printing available. We apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay but we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the basic amenities we have to offer at our hostel.

80%

Even though the hallways and bathrooms were cleaned in a daily basis, the room`s floors were always dirty. Also, it would have been helpful to have more mugs and dishes available to have breakfast and dinner in the hostel. The rest was ok. The metro is nearby and there are a lot of shops/supermarkets/restaurants/cafes close to the hostel.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, our cleaning staff comes in daily to assure cleanliness of our facilities, additional cleaning may be requested with our front desk agents. Unfortunately we do not advertise a full kitchen facility but we do have dishes and utensils available for guests to use. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy the convenience of our hostel and attractions near by.

74%

Our heater was on and couldn't be turned it off. It was uncomfortably hot and we were unable to sleep with the temperature. Luckily the staff helped us turn on our air conditioner so we were more comfortable, but to me it was just a big waste of electricity.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. We have central heating in our building that adjusts to the cold outside. Windows may also be opened too cool off the rooms.

80%

Good location, easy to find, easy to get to the city and relaxing in the central park . Subway station is 3 blocks away, quiet area. I would deffinitly recommend it to my friends and not only.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hostel and the convenience of our location.

77%

Please provide "do not disturb" signs for the private rooms.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

It would have been nice if the kitchen was bigger so you could actually cook!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, unfortunately we do not advertise a full kitchen facility. However, we do have a microwave, toaster , water kettle and refrigerator available for guests to use anytime.

71%

Reasonable hostel. Very little to see nearby (besides Central Park) and there wasn't much of an aptmosphere. It was clean and reasonably cheap for New York though.


89%

Nice place to stay for a couple of days and good value for the money.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Had an awesome stay!I ve stayed at a few hostels in NYC before and this one is the best by far!full stop!This guy Jose Is the man to see about anything in NYC.Like a personal tour guide!New beds n the whole hostel has just been renovated.Thank u Jose n Jazz on Park!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you had an awesome stay at our hostel and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our new spring-less beds and enjoyed our modern renovations.

77%

Overall experience was awesome! Anytime we had any sort of issue or problem the staff was quick and reasonable to help us out.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you had an amazing stay at our hostel and that our staff was great help.

43%

Male batthrooms on the 5th floor were out of service at the time of our stay, with there being no indication at any poin tin our stay that action was being taken to fix them. This left a total of 3 male toilets in the entire hostel. In addition the all of the stalls in the male showers on the 5th floor were exclusively boiling hot (to the point of schorching skin). We raised this to the start on our first day, however once again no attempt was made to rectify this issue during our stay.


57%

Private dorm for 2 people was a good size, mattress was very hard, window didnt look and room was not cleaned often enough. Showers were hardly ever clean, especially the male ones apparently which were on a floor above so not ideal. People were very noisy all through the night and staff did not stop them have loud conversations in the hall way. Common room is not big enough for the amount of people and not enough things going on so rubbish atmosphere. Rubbish facilities but cheap basic hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize that you did not enjoy the comfort of our new spring-less mattresses. Our cleaning staff comes in daily to assure the cleanliness of our facilities. Bathrooms and showers are located on each floor at each end of the hallway. We also have a common area downstairs for guests to relax. We have staff 24 hours at the front desk to help with any questions or concerns.

51%

Poor facilities, far from downtown manhattan even though the train is near the hostel. Cold room in the winter, noisy from the wind going through the old windows.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. We have public transportation close to our hostel and convenient for guests to travel to near by attractions. There is also central heating in our building and extra blankets may be requested with our front desk staff.

69%

The staff was alright.. The price it's not well specified when you make the purchase! They charge you a non refundable deposit and tons of taxes! Overall it was alright. Good location next to central park and very close to a subway station and buses. The area is good as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any confusion. We charge a 14.75% state tax and an occupancy tax of $3.50 per person per night. The total amount will be calculated upon arrival for check-in and is also stated on our websites. The advanced deposit is deducted from the total amount that is due at arrival, which is also stated non-refundable on our websites.

46%

After staying at a couple hostels in the NYC area for the same rate, I was disappointed to reach the Jazz. The staff was not friendly, inviting or helpful. The electronic room keys opened any room in the hostel, which I discovered by entering the wrong room and then trying the key on other rooms. My sheets were not clean. There is one male restroom on the third floor, and the radiators heating the rooms have no temperature control. It was either hot or freezing.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The location is the best, just a block from the central park ave, three blocks from the metro station. The room was ok, the bed was really nice.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(125 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback