X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel Reviews

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
2377 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The staff was alright.. The price it's not well specified when you make the purchase! They charge you a non refundable deposit and tons of taxes! Overall it was alright. Good location next to central park and very close to a subway station and buses. The area is good as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any confusion. We charge a 14.75% state tax and an occupancy tax of $3.50 per person per night. The total amount will be calculated upon arrival for check-in and is also stated on our websites. The advanced deposit is deducted from the total amount that is due at arrival, which is also stated non-refundable on our websites.

80%

Excellent Hostel, strongly recommend ... amazing staff and very help full, at the site the saying you have breackfast " but it does not exists at all "

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our stay at our hostel and that our staff was a great help. Unfortunately we do not include any breakfast at our hostel but there are convenient stores just a few steps away.

77%

Please consider having a switch for the heaters in each room so it can be adjusted according to preference. The showers weren't cleaned enough and I had no place to put my shampoo and soap except the floor which was annoying. Also the shower curtains need to be changed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Adjusting of heat may be requested with front desk staff. Our cleaning staff comes in daily to assure all facilities are cleaned.

46%

Cold stuff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank your for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Our hostel has central heating that adjusts to the cold outside. Extra blankets may also be requested at the front desk.

74%

It was uncomfortable in many ways: the beds didnt have curtains, there were no desk lamps, if you wanted to charge your phone you had to unplug the lamp or the heater becuse there were only two inputs. I was on the 5th floor and there's no elevator. The showers room was in the 5th floor, but it was super small and it didnt have a place to put your stuff down (only hooks). The 5th floor bathroom was closed during my whole stay and I had to use the toilets on the 3rd floor. Friendly staff. Cheap.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Our rooms are shared dormitory, unfortunately we do not advertise curtains for each of the beds. We have table lamps in every room. We have showers on each floor and each end of the hallway. We are pleased to hear that our staff was friendly and a great help.

77%

room completly hot, terrible.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Our hostel has central heating that adjusts to the cold outside.

89%

I've tried several hostels in NYC before and Jazz on the park is a good one. Rooms and beds are perfect, it's not overpriced like a bunch of other places I would recommend it to everyone who wants a nice place to stay and meet good people. Finally the staffs were really friendly and helpful!.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our hostel and our friendly and welcoming staff.

66%

For what I payed, it was a decent enough place to crash at. Wouldn't recommend for long stays though! Only come here if you're not fussy at all. Best feature was probably the hot showers in the coldest of winter, although they could have used a more thorough cleaning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our warm showers. Our cleaning staff comes in daily to assure the cleanliness of our facility.

77%

great located hostel in manhattan, just steps from the park and the subway, make your holiday in Ny really easy. bad things, wifi dont get into the room, not elevator (come on we carry heavy backpacks), one of the 3 showers in the girls bathroom was broken and leaking all the time, also not room to get change inside so u do it outside in front of the door. overall is good quality price for enjoying manhattan that it s the point

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. We offer free wifi in our lobby and cafeteria area. Unfortunately we do not advertise an elevator in our building but our staff would gladly assist with the luggage.

57%

I've stayed at many hostels all over the world and this rates as one of the worst for value for money. Firstly, and most importantly there is little to no vibe at all here, which isn't helped by the disinterested and often rude staff. Rooms are literally 30° Celsius round the clock, the male showers aren't hot and the internet (not a huge problem for me) is shocking. If they hired the right people this place would have some potential but I can't see that happening with the focus clearly being on

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Our common area is for guests to socialize and relax. We offer free wifi in our lobby and common area. Our staff is always willing to help with any concerns for questions.

51%

Well we bumped into the staff once when we checked in, the girl was kind of not cool, well I mean the American way when people smile at you and ask how they can help, she was a bit aggressive but still it was fine, maybe because I'm an Arab with Russian passport ;) anyway no free breakfast not even a coffee which is in America is a crime by itself, I suggest you add $20 and get yourself a room full of n Da Vinci hotel on the 56th street and 7th av. closer to downtown

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Our staff is always willing to help everyone with any questions or concerns. Unfortunately we do not advertise any breakfast or drinks included but we do have convenient stores located just a few steps away.

63%

I gave the place another chance. While the friendliness improved, they have gotten rid of the comp breakfast, while not big deal for me, could be for others. My concern was a few of the guests, letting their friends crash in their rooms on the couch. One particular guy, checked out the proceeded to stay for 3 nights hanging out. Just a concern in that it's disconcerting they never check who is staying. On the other hand there was a slight improvement over my previous stay though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. Any concern please let our staff know, they are on duty 24 hours and always willing to help.

77%

The kitchen is not usable. There is nowhere where you can prepare your food. The wifi is not strong enough. It's not available in the rooms and downstairs in the lobby the signal is very weak. Too many people chill in the lobby, there is definitely not enough space. On the pro side: we booked the cheapest room (10 ppl.) and we got a two-persons room, which was awesome. It was very, very, very small, but it was alright.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Unfortunately we do not advertise a full kitchen facility however, we have a microwave and refrigerator available for guests to use. We offer free wifi in our lobby and common area. We also have a basement lounge area which is open for guests to socialize and relax.

77%

A quite decent place to have in Manhattan.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear your enjoyed the comfort of our hostel.

63%

위치는 브로드웨이나 타임스퀘어등에서 지하철으로 20분, 이불상당히얇음, 뜨거운물안나오고 미지근함, 밤에잘때 보일러?기계음같은게수시로들림, 로비의와이파이느림. 이외에는 괜찮은호스텔인듯

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to stay, the staff was really friendly and even guided me and a group of friends into NYC nightlife. On the cons side, I was on a third floor in a mixed room and the boys restroom was aaaaaaalllll the way down to the other corridor, which may be a problem for late night.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that our staff was a great help and that you enjoyed the nightly events. Our bathrooms are located on each end of the hallways of each floor.

77%

Great staff!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that our staff was helpful and welcoming.

74%

No internet access in the room was an incovenience

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. We offer free wifi in our lobby and common area.

100%

I ve been staying at hostels in NYC for 10 years now and there is no reason why anyone shouldn t stay at Jazz on the Park every time!It is literally 50 ft from Central Park,3 blocks from 2 subway lines,2 blocks from great restaurants/bars and right on major bus routes.It is central Manhattan!Not Brooklyn,not Queens and not the Bronx like other hostels are but claim they re in NYC.Jose is the man to see about anything and everything because he is a native New Yorker!His advise is honest and helfu

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoy your stays at our hostel and that our staff was a great help and always welcoming.

77%

This was perfect for what we wanted. Really cheap place so stay in New-York and we were not in the hostel most of the time. However staff didn't really cared about helping people and stuff so for the check in, really don't bother coming before 3 o'clock. Beside that, all good, except toilet not being on the same floor (for example, on first floor you won't have any men washrooms)

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. Our staff may be a bit busy at times but always willing to help with any questions or concerns. Our check-in time is 3pm and check-out time is 11am. If guests arrive early we have a storage room to store your luggage in the meantime. Toilets are available on each end of the hallway on each floor, also available in the common areas.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(116 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback