X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel Reviews

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
2574 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

It was a great stay. Bathrooms were a little dirty and the doors slamming shut all day and night were annoying but other than that it was great!

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Improve the Men's showers, they in very bad condition. Barely any privacy at all.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologize that you were not able to enjoy our new and improved shower stalls.

71%

is there a kitchen at all? staff could disappear easily

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Unfortunately we do not advertise a kitchen at our facility; however, we do provide a fridge, a microwave and a hot water dispenser available to our guests at anytime. Our front desk agents are available 24 hours and are more than happy to suggest any ideas as well as answer any questions or concerns.

89%

Staff is cheerful and super-helpful, everyone from front desk to maintenance to housekeeping. Furnishings are old, but spotlessly clean. Nice little business center in the lounge area. And you can't beat the price!! Happy camper, will definitely stay there again and also recommend.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your friendly review. Our staff always strives to provide an outstanding customer service experience to our guests. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next stay in the near future!!

57%

Good location close to central park & access to metro station. Staff was helpful and friendly. However: - it was nearly impossible to close doors silently, meaning that you wake up as soon as someone exits or enters the bathroom, toilets, rooms, ... - Airco wasn't working in our room - toilet/bathroom were filty. - The bunkbeds were squeaking. I wouldn't go here again.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff were lovely and made us feel at home. I'd definitely go back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Jazz on the Park. Our staff always strives to provide the best customer service and ensure guest satisfaction. We look forward to your stay with us in the near future.

69%

The bathrooms and shower rooms smell of mold, and are not cleaned on a regular basis. There was always hair in all the showers! They have absolutely no extra towels to give out so you stuck using the same towel for pretty much your entire stay. The location is really good.Right on the corner of 106th and Central Park west. The staff is nice and helpful.

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered through out your stay. Our cleaning staff arrives everyday to ensure that ALL of our facilities are clean and available for our guests. Towels are placed on your bed when you arrive. Extra towels are provided at our front desk.

80%

It was a pretty nice hostel. The only problem I had was that they tried to charge me more when I arrived. He said it was cause of the taxes, but at the end he was just charging me for another room.. So be careful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review.We apologize for any misunderstandings.Taxes are a bit confusing for our travelers here in New York, however, our staff takes time to break down the rates day by day for our guests to have a better comprehension. We charge 14.75% + $3.50 USD per person per night.

91%

The hostel offers a few nice activities, like beerpong and stand up comedy nights. Prince performance was very entertaining.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and conveniences of our facility.

46%

really poor place to stay. The environment inside is not so good. Feels like this place needs a revamp abd that the people there just don't have really concern to help you when you have questions.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your stay with us. Our staff is available 24 hours a day and are more than happy to help as well as answer any questions or concerns. We provide our guests with nightly entertainment from comedy shows, pub crawls, to rooftop lounges and BBQ's.

60%

The staff is ok, but they just do them job . Everyone in the common room was on a laptop , not so much atmosphere but I was there just for one night . The dorm was clean. It is a bit far from the center, but right next to the central park , good neighborhood.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Our staff is open and available 24 hours a day. We strive to provide an outstanding customer service experience ensuring our guests satisfaction. We apologize that you were not able to enjoy or be apart of our nightly events held in the common room area.

86%

Great location, friendly and very helpful staff. Just one negative is that the showers had a really bad smell probably a blocked drain nothing that can't be fixed. Otherwise no other complaints would have liked to stay longer to enjoy one of their themed nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and convenience of our hostel. We apologize you were not able to enjoy our new and improved shower facility.

60%

Staff and atmosphere were average, nothing spectacular. While I get that prices in NY are high, the place can definitely use some fresh paint and A LOT better facilities. Unless I overlooked, out of four floors there's only one men's bathroom, which only has four showers and two toilets. And not in that great a condition.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our staff is available 24 hours a day and are more than happy to help with any questions or concerns. We apologize that you were not able to enjoy of our new and improved facilities. Bathrooms are located on each floor and on each end of the hallway.

66%

Cleanliness could be improved, such as prices.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Our cleaning team arrives everyday to ensure that ALL facilities are clean and available for our guests.

83%

the staffs here are really nice and the activities are really great!


43%

There was no kitchen equipment (no plates, cutlery, glasses, etc.). The showers could use a bench or something to put your stuff on, there was no place to put clothes. A/C didn't work in the room and the window could not be opened either. The mattress was really low quality and uncomfortable.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I recommend this hostel because it is in the city center of Manhatten and it has a good price (for New York). I make a point deduction for the absence of breakfast and hairdryers, because it was stated by hostelworld.


83%

There were no soap dispensers, bar soap or soap of any kind in the showers. Very close to subway, which was convenient on a rainy weekend. Wasn't the most party-oriented hostel. Good for quiet people.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Amazing staff! Very friendly and welcoming. Nice catching up a movie with Joseph.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Booked only one night but wished to have more .. Kristina was so helpful and supportive to find me new place to stay .. Thank you so much


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(87 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback