Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel

  • 36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 3196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 3196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 5.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
5.7

My roommate and I were awakened by a large crowd of residents at the hotel drunkenly screaming and singing at the top of their lungs at 11 and 12:45. When I went downstairs to ask the front desk staff to do something about the situation, they responded that this was what happens every night and there was nothing they could do about it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
6.6

Overall was an ok stay in New York City. Great neighborhood with cheap food options. The Atmosphere the staff provided was great. Very close to Central Park which was aweomse. The cons to this place are it's Facilities and access to public transportation. The doors in this hostile are all metal doors with weak hinges. You will hear everyone slamming doors entering and exiting their rooms. 103rd station doesn't operate on the weekends. So you will have to use uber/via to get downtown.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Jamaica, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
2.3

It is cheap. There is absolutely nothing 2 go crazy about. Staff, very unprofessional. They'd assign you to a room and bed that's dirty & blame other guests claiming they took wrong bed and never say maybe they made a mistake. 2. There is no lobby. The eating area is small. 3. There is no elevator, like that is soooo ridiculous! People having to climb all the way up to 4th floor with heavy bags... SMH. 4. Bathrooms are so small,smelly& clustered. Rooms r so small, hot,smelly, some a/c dnt work.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
8.6

Has some flaws but overall great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
4.6

poor management

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
6.3

Very average hostel. Heating and basic facilities. No breakfast. Security was so good we were locked out of our room.... something about not having enough key cards for everyone? Need to pay to use baggage storage. Did nothing to make me want to come back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Mar 2017
7.1

Perfect for what we needed - somewhere to sleep each night. However, in terms of facilities and atmosphere these areas were lacking. It might have been the time of year but everyone kept to themselves in the common areas and as far as I was aware there were few things offered by the hostel in terms of group activities. I heard after leaving there was a basement area but the door to it was closed every time I went passed and wasn't well advertised. Rooms were large which helped with luggage.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
5.4

The staff is super friendly and are nice to talk to but have to mark them down for inaction... Someone shat/had diarrhea under the communal men's shower and it was still there 8 hours after it was mentioned to staff... And worse still, it was there in the morning when people actually want to take a shower.... It's not fun to have to run around a building in your underwear to take a shower two floors down... It's a cheap place but that doesn't make it ok to leave dirt laying around, IMO.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
5.7

Location is good. Hostel needs to be renovated. Nasty showers mens on one floor women on other floor so you going up and down steps trying to find bathroom shower if it isnt on your floor, radiator heating system turned off during day and room is cold. No kind of atmosphere, or activities that dont require drinking. Be prepared to carry bags up flight of stairs hopefully you arent on the 5th floor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
10.0

Staff was great as usual,i loved it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.