Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel

  • 36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 2,920 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 2,920 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.3
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel Located at 36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York.
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
USA
New York NY 10025 36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City
73% 2920
40.7984790 -73.9610880
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
2.9

This was the absolute worst place I have ever stayed, in my entire life. The staff were very inhumane towards me, rude, poorly trained in customer care protocols, & one woman was covertly racist. The bathrooms were filthy. There are no elevators. When your room key doesn't work all of the sudden, you will have to lug your bags down several flights of stairs, & more to get a new one, because they will not send one up to you. A park bench would have been a more peaceful & cleanly option.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
3.4

NO WI FI in rooms. Even lounge wifi v. bad. They charge 5$ a piece to store luggage, which i have never seen at any other hostel. Jazz is the dirtiest hostel i have ever stayed at. Bathrooms are so greasy that you come out needing a shower if u step in it! Dark dungeon-like rooms, untrained staff who don't give u any info about a/th as they are busy on their own phones. Only one woman named Katy was good to deal with.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jul 2016
7.4

Location is fine when using the subway but a bit too far to walk anywhere into town. Was good travelling with just 2 of us as we got our own room with 1 bunk bed although it was up 4 flights of stairs with no lift. Also our key card didn't work one night getting back at 1am but luckily staff were at the desk to reset it within 15 mins or so, just had to walk up and down the 4 flights of stairs again... supposedly a common problem. All in all, good value for money, friendly staff and atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jul 2016
3.4

Great location by Central Park! Over all dirty and over priced.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2016
6.6

Great location, perfect for our quick one night stay in New York. Okay hostel...air con was very loud at night and had a hard time sleeping but other than that suited our purposes just fine.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2016
5.7

No wifi in room no kitchen. Sucks. Not even a spoon can be found. only value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jun 2016
3.1

Decent location and friendly reception staff. That's the only positive points I can think of for this hostel. Absolutely filthy, there were cockroaches on the staircase on my final night. In addition, there were industrial sized rat traps outside the back door, which was constantly open. Maids didn't know their place and just walked into rooms without even knocking - I even had to tell one to get out of the male bathroom while I was showering. No breakfast was tacky. AVOID THIS HOSTEL!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
30th Jun 2016
7.4

Stayed for one night and was great value for money for New York . Great little two bed dorms if your a couple or friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jun 2016
9.1

I stayed here for a night last week as we decided to stay another night later in NY. We booked it only because it was very affordable but were very impressed! The staff were lovely and so helpful (much more so than azz on Columbus, staff were no help). On the morning of check out my friend lost his passport, and the staff were so helpful to us. It also has a very social but crazy party vibe to it which is great. Would definetly stay here again! Luke

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2016
5.4

I wasn't expecting much, but it was even worst. Resuming: i arrived 1:40pm and had to wait until almost 2:30pm for someone in the reception; no wi-fi in the rooms; the toilet was reeeally dirty and it DIDN'T LOCK! You have to use it afraid because anytime someone can simply open the door; my room was on the 5th floor, no elevator, and to get there you have even to walk on the roof. I stayed 1 night, ok for me, but wouldnt stay more than that. US35 for Manhatan, location is good, just it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.