X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel Reviews

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
2556 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The bathrooms and shower rooms smell of mold, and are not cleaned on a regular basis. There was always hair in all the showers! They have absolutely no extra towels to give out so you stuck using the same towel for pretty much your entire stay. The location is really good.Right on the corner of 106th and Central Park west. The staff is nice and helpful.

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It was a pretty nice hostel. The only problem I had was that they tried to charge me more when I arrived. He said it was cause of the taxes, but at the end he was just charging me for another room.. So be careful.


91%

The hostel offers a few nice activities, like beerpong and stand up comedy nights. Prince performance was very entertaining.


46%

really poor place to stay. The environment inside is not so good. Feels like this place needs a revamp abd that the people there just don't have really concern to help you when you have questions.


86%

Great location, friendly and very helpful staff. Just one negative is that the showers had a really bad smell probably a blocked drain nothing that can't be fixed. Otherwise no other complaints would have liked to stay longer to enjoy one of their themed nights.


60%

Staff and atmosphere were average, nothing spectacular. While I get that prices in NY are high, the place can definitely use some fresh paint and A LOT better facilities. Unless I overlooked, out of four floors there's only one men's bathroom, which only has four showers and two toilets. And not in that great a condition.


66%

Cleanliness could be improved, such as prices.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

the staffs here are really nice and the activities are really great!


43%

There was no kitchen equipment (no plates, cutlery, glasses, etc.). The showers could use a bench or something to put your stuff on, there was no place to put clothes. A/C didn't work in the room and the window could not be opened either. The mattress was really low quality and uncomfortable.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I recommend this hostel because it is in the city center of Manhatten and it has a good price (for New York). I make a point deduction for the absence of breakfast and hairdryers, because it was stated by hostelworld.


83%

There were no soap dispensers, bar soap or soap of any kind in the showers. Very close to subway, which was convenient on a rainy weekend. Wasn't the most party-oriented hostel. Good for quiet people.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Amazing staff! Very friendly and welcoming. Nice catching up a movie with Joseph.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Booked only one night but wished to have more .. Kristina was so helpful and supportive to find me new place to stay .. Thank you so much


86%

Really enjoyed my stay.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

This place as awesome to stay a few days while visiting NY. Everything was clean, it was safe and you can easily get there using the subway. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Jose and Omar. I loved the fun activities that they offer every night. in the hostel. The room doesn't have the best appearance in the world (of course, it is not a five stars hotel) but is good enough to stay a few days. I was expecting something much worse because of the price and got happily surprised.


51%

Mainly the lack of air conditioning was the big issue. Also the lack of power outlets for phone chargers was annoying. The laundry should also have some detergent dispensers and the cards to get in the rooms should be more reliable.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

No air conditioning can make sleeping a challenge.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

The shower & bathroom facilities were few and far between. The ones available were filthy, there were two cockroaches in one shower room. I reported it to staff who seemed surprised and said they would clean them, I came back two hours later and the cockroaches were gone but everything was still filthy, so much so that I checked out and checked in to another hostel and used their facilities. Good value for money, wifi was okay, bedrooms dirty but manageable, staff uninterested. I wouldn't return

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

My stay here was average, staff can be helpful if you ask but otherwise aren't very engaging. The bathroom was clean enough but it was a European style / shared space / communal bathroom which I'm not a fan of. Most facilities require payment, including the use of computers. Best thing about it was probably the location, its only 2 streets away from the sub and probably about 10mins train to the city centre.


89%

The staff was very helpful, the location was great and the facilities were very clean, the rooms and the bathrooms included.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(91 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback