Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel

  • 36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 3,070 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 3,070 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 5.9
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel Located at 36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York.
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
USA
New York NY 10025 36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City
69% 3070
40.7984790 -73.9610880
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Congo, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
10.0

I was gladly surprised how interesting the whole experience was.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
3.1

Staff not friendly or helpful, very dirty place, very old central heat that no one can control (rooms very hot), bathrooms very dirty.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
6.0

Hostel is near Metro station and bus stops. It is a bit further out than I'd hoped from main tourist attractions, but I definitely didn't feel unsafe. Bus M7 and M10 are within a few steps from the hostel. I did get to go running at Central Park every morning and that was great. i spent most of days out, so I can't comment much on atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2016
4.9

I had to wait 20 min before I checked in because nobody was in the reception. Rooms are tiny, Just 1 bathroom per floor, wifi service is very poor (Only reaches the common spaces) and stopped working one of the days I was there. The power in my room went off for an entire night with what all that means: No light, no phone charging, etc... There are other options in good locations as well that provide good services and newer facilities I'll try to book earlier in the future.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
7.7

It doesn't have wifi in the room and a kitchen. Five floors and no elevators. Just 3 blocks from the subway. I would stay again. Best value of money in manhattan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iran, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
6.0

Unfortunately there wasn't any elevator, kitchen staff in this hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
4.9

The wifi was only available in the Lobby and when we got there it was down so we had to walk to a cafe to do anything. The staff worked extremely slowly and were distracted so check-in/inquiries took much longer than needed. We were unable to sleep because of how loud the others in our room were (moving around, turning on the lights very late at night, conversations in the hallway) which is understandably out of the control of the staff but made our stay restless

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • saucepan
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Nov 2016
5.1

Tried to check in at 3, were told we would have to wait longer even though check in is stated to be 3pm. A fellow guest beside us at the time was rudely dealt with when he politely queried this. Our payment did not add up, when we questioned it we were told 'I don't know' and nothing was done about it Staff live in the hostel, we bumped into them using showers etc 'Kitchen' does not even have knives or forks or any basic utensils Wifi doesn't work Only 1 plug in room Just awful - avoid

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Nov 2016
7.4

Good location, fair price considering the expense of other hostels. Short distance from metro lines and from Central Park. Would definitely stay again. Only complaint would be that there is no wifi in room, and the common room was not particularly lively.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Oct 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel, very friendly and very very very helpful staff. The hostel is very close to a metro station and you can see Central Park from the front door. There are a number of decent shops, bars and restaurants close by. The rooms were comfortable, there was a large social area on the ground floor and decent internet connection. Warm showers, heaps of tourist info in the reception and otherwise pretty much everything you needed. There were also some social events they organised

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.