X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel Reviews

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
2483 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

It would have been nice if the kitchen was bigger so you could actually cook!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, unfortunately we do not advertise a full kitchen facility. However, we do have a microwave, toaster , water kettle and refrigerator available for guests to use anytime.

71%

Reasonable hostel. Very little to see nearby (besides Central Park) and there wasn't much of an aptmosphere. It was clean and reasonably cheap for New York though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our hostel. Our cleaning staff comes in daily to assure our facilities are cleaned.

89%

Nice place to stay for a couple of days and good value for the money.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hostel.

100%

Had an awesome stay!I ve stayed at a few hostels in NYC before and this one is the best by far!full stop!This guy Jose Is the man to see about anything in NYC.Like a personal tour guide!New beds n the whole hostel has just been renovated.Thank u Jose n Jazz on Park!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you had an awesome stay at our hostel and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our new spring-less beds and enjoyed our modern renovations.

77%

Overall experience was awesome! Anytime we had any sort of issue or problem the staff was quick and reasonable to help us out.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you had an amazing stay at our hostel and that our staff was great help.

94%

Such great value for money!! A bit out of town but the subway is very close and easy to navigate. Would stay here again


43%

Male batthrooms on the 5th floor were out of service at the time of our stay, with there being no indication at any poin tin our stay that action was being taken to fix them. This left a total of 3 male toilets in the entire hostel. In addition the all of the stalls in the male showers on the 5th floor were exclusively boiling hot (to the point of schorching skin). We raised this to the start on our first day, however once again no attempt was made to rectify this issue during our stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. We have bathrooms and showers located on each floor and each end of the hallway. Water temperature can also be adjusted with the handle in the shower.

57%

Private dorm for 2 people was a good size, mattress was very hard, window didnt look and room was not cleaned often enough. Showers were hardly ever clean, especially the male ones apparently which were on a floor above so not ideal. People were very noisy all through the night and staff did not stop them have loud conversations in the hall way. Common room is not big enough for the amount of people and not enough things going on so rubbish atmosphere. Rubbish facilities but cheap basic hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize that you did not enjoy the comfort of our new spring-less mattresses. Our cleaning staff comes in daily to assure the cleanliness of our facilities. Bathrooms and showers are located on each floor at each end of the hallway. We also have a common area downstairs for guests to relax. We have staff 24 hours at the front desk to help with any questions or concerns.

51%

Poor facilities, far from downtown manhattan even though the train is near the hostel. Cold room in the winter, noisy from the wind going through the old windows.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. We have public transportation close to our hostel and convenient for guests to travel to near by attractions. There is also central heating in our building and extra blankets may be requested with our front desk staff.

69%

The staff was alright.. The price it's not well specified when you make the purchase! They charge you a non refundable deposit and tons of taxes! Overall it was alright. Good location next to central park and very close to a subway station and buses. The area is good as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any confusion. We charge a 14.75% state tax and an occupancy tax of $3.50 per person per night. The total amount will be calculated upon arrival for check-in and is also stated on our websites. The advanced deposit is deducted from the total amount that is due at arrival, which is also stated non-refundable on our websites.

46%

After staying at a couple hostels in the NYC area for the same rate, I was disappointed to reach the Jazz. The staff was not friendly, inviting or helpful. The electronic room keys opened any room in the hostel, which I discovered by entering the wrong room and then trying the key on other rooms. My sheets were not clean. There is one male restroom on the third floor, and the radiators heating the rooms have no temperature control. It was either hot or freezing.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Our staff may be a bit busy at times but always willing to assure all guests are being helped and welcomed. Our cleaning staff comes in daily to assure all facilities and linens are cleaned. We have showers and bathrooms located on each floor and each end of the hallway with multiple stalls available. We have central heating in our building which adjusts to the cold weather outside.

80%

The location is the best, just a block from the central park ave, three blocks from the metro station. The room was ok, the bed was really nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our new spring-less mattresses and the convenience of our hostel.

80%

Excellent Hostel, strongly recommend ... amazing staff and very help full, at the site the saying you have breackfast " but it does not exists at all "

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our stay at our hostel and that our staff was a great help. Unfortunately we do not include any breakfast at our hostel but there are convenient stores just a few steps away.

77%

Please consider having a switch for the heaters in each room so it can be adjusted according to preference. The showers weren't cleaned enough and I had no place to put my shampoo and soap except the floor which was annoying. Also the shower curtains need to be changed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Adjusting of heat may be requested with front desk staff. Our cleaning staff comes in daily to assure all facilities are cleaned.

83%

상당히 가격대비 좋더라고요. 2월에 갔었는데, 방도 따듯하고 만족스러웠습니다. It's really cool, money pay better than facilitiy. when i was in february 2015, the room was warm

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • wngud_727
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Cold stuff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank your for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Our hostel has central heating that adjusts to the cold outside. Extra blankets may also be requested at the front desk.

74%

It was uncomfortable in many ways: the beds didnt have curtains, there were no desk lamps, if you wanted to charge your phone you had to unplug the lamp or the heater becuse there were only two inputs. I was on the 5th floor and there's no elevator. The showers room was in the 5th floor, but it was super small and it didnt have a place to put your stuff down (only hooks). The 5th floor bathroom was closed during my whole stay and I had to use the toilets on the 3rd floor. Friendly staff. Cheap.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Our rooms are shared dormitory, unfortunately we do not advertise curtains for each of the beds. We have table lamps in every room. We have showers on each floor and each end of the hallway. We are pleased to hear that our staff was friendly and a great help.

77%

room completly hot, terrible.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Our hostel has central heating that adjusts to the cold outside.

89%

I've tried several hostels in NYC before and Jazz on the park is a good one. Rooms and beds are perfect, it's not overpriced like a bunch of other places I would recommend it to everyone who wants a nice place to stay and meet good people. Finally the staffs were really friendly and helpful!.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our hostel and our friendly and welcoming staff.

66%

For what I payed, it was a decent enough place to crash at. Wouldn't recommend for long stays though! Only come here if you're not fussy at all. Best feature was probably the hot showers in the coldest of winter, although they could have used a more thorough cleaning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our warm showers. Our cleaning staff comes in daily to assure the cleanliness of our facility.

(117 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback