X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel Reviews

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
2713 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

The location was good, but the rest of the services could be improved upon, especially wi-Fi connection in the rooms and space to put toiletries/clothes in the shower

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered through out your stay. We do not advertise Wi-Fi in our facility however we provide FREE Wi-Fi in our common areas. Each and every one of our bathrooms have hooks where you can hang your clothes on for before or after showering.Housekeeping arrives daily to make sure that ALL facilities are clean and available to our guests. Our front desk team is available 24 hours and strive to provide outstanding services

80%

It was a nice place in the Upper West Side! The rooms are clear, have AC in the rooms. Good point the hostel is closer the Central Park. A bad point, doesn't have breakfast, think it have to this price and this facilities. The staff are helpful. Anther bad thing you paid the second baggage, after you check out! Finally, it was a good hostel in Manhattan.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered through out your stay with us, unfortunately we do not advertise or provide breakfast at our facility. However, a fridge, microwave, and hot water dispenser is available to our guests at anytime. Due to our small storage space the first bag is free and a small fee is charged for any additional luggage as advertised.

43%

Very disappointed with this hostel, was expecting a lot more for the money I paid. There was a mix up with the payment to start and not very good directions to our room. For $65 plus tax our double room was small with thin mattresses. The showers had little privacy as the door opened straight to the corridor and I had to try two before I had hot water. The recently decorated toilets were drip marked doors with poor locks. The only WiFi was in the main lounge, which lacked a kitchen only a microw


74%

Very good price, staff little bit angry, maybe bad mood of them. But very good value for money, good bed, nice facilities... I can recommend


77%

It was a great stay. Bathrooms were a little dirty and the doors slamming shut all day and night were annoying but other than that it was great!


46%

Improve the Men's showers, they in very bad condition. Barely any privacy at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologize that you were not able to enjoy our new and improved shower stalls.

71%

is there a kitchen at all? staff could disappear easily

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Unfortunately we do not advertise a kitchen at our facility; however, we do provide a fridge, a microwave and a hot water dispenser available to our guests at anytime. Our front desk agents are available 24 hours and are more than happy to suggest any ideas as well as answer any questions or concerns.

71%

Great Staff!! The location is not the very best, is in the upper west Central Park. A little far from times square and ground zero, but near Museum of Nature and Harlem. Great relation money and service. Subway after 7pm may be a nightmare because they do not stop here. Has a lot of potential to improve: Kitchen has no cups nor plates available, the basement may be a great lunch/dinner room (nice and big room with no clear use)The common area with sofas and TV needs better decoration.


89%

Staff is cheerful and super-helpful, everyone from front desk to maintenance to housekeeping. Furnishings are old, but spotlessly clean. Nice little business center in the lounge area. And you can't beat the price!! Happy camper, will definitely stay there again and also recommend.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your friendly review. Our staff always strives to provide an outstanding customer service experience to our guests. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next stay in the near future!!

57%

Good location close to central park & access to metro station. Staff was helpful and friendly. However: - it was nearly impossible to close doors silently, meaning that you wake up as soon as someone exits or enters the bathroom, toilets, rooms, ... - Airco wasn't working in our room - toilet/bathroom were filty. - The bunkbeds were squeaking. I wouldn't go here again.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(70 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback