X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel Reviews

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
2377 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

When we arrived, we have been welcomed by 3 girls who were talking on the phone! They did not take the time to show us our room. The building is quite big and we lost ourselves. They look like they did not care at all. The room felt like a prison cell and was not at all soundproof. We were hearing people in the toilets. For one night it was okay but I don't recommend it for several nights. It was clean though and very well situated! Plus, breakfast was included and free condoms at the reception

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

If what you're looking for is a basic but clean hostel, then this is a perfect place for you to stay. In a very reachable part of Manhattan via the subway, this hostel offered relatively decent value for money in my opinion. There's wifi, but it didn't reach us in our rooms, and the room we were staying in was a floor away from the mens toilets and shower. This is less than ideal during the night! A good (but not excellent) hostel overall.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. WiFi is a complimentary to our guests in the common areas. Toilets and showers are available on each end of the hallway of each floor.

91%

Excelente experiencia, solo me hizo falta el futbolín que vi en las fotos.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


34%

The hostel is very noisy without kitchen and commonroom. Not enough washrooms and the washrooms are dirty.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have stumbled upon during your stay. We do not advertise a full kitchen facility but we do have a microwave, toaster and refrigerator available for guests to use. We have a common area with comfortable seating and table, also downstairs we have a lounge for guests to socialize and relax. Washrooms are available on each floor and cleaned by staff daily.

63%

The bed and room smelled really weird. The common room looks kinda weird too. But this is NYC. It has been a good one!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. We have cleaning staff that come in daily to assure all rooms and facilities are clean. Our common area is designed for guests to relax after a long day of activities and socialize with other travelers in our hostel.

63%

The dorm was cold at night and we had to do the beds everyday again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Our heat is always on unless requested by guests if rooms get too hot, extra blankets can also be requested at our front desk. Our cleaning staff comes in daily, new sheets and cleaning service may also be requested.

86%

Only stayed here one night and it served it's purpose. Easy to get the Metro downtown. The bathrooms were pretty dirty but otherwise the facilities were fine. Just your standard hostel really. I did get free vodka cocktails upon arriving much later than expected so that was a nice touch!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your simple stay at our hostel. We have daily cleaning staff that assures all facilities are cleaned. As a youth hostel we would like to assure all guests have a great time at our hostel and join the fun events we have every night.

100%

Absolutely LOVED my stay here!! The staff are friendly and super helpful and the hostel is fun and social. I made the best friends with staff and travellers from so many different countries and we went on great organised social events. It's in a great location right next to Central Park and near the subway- what more could you want?! Recommend this hostel to everyone!!

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff assures all guests feel welcomed and has a phenomenal stay at our hostel.

74%

The hostel isn't nearby the main atractions but it has a good price. Every guests I knew were good person. A good oportunity for price x advantages. The breakfast is very basic. The wifi almost never works in the rooms, and sometimes even in the lounge. I was in the first floor, but the bathroom was in thd third.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience. Although most attractions are not near our hostel, we have easy accessible public transportation not too far from us. Our main attraction is Central Park, which is a few steps from our location. We only offer free WiFi to our guests as a compliment in our common areas. Bathrooms are located on each floor at each end of the hallways.

43%

Bunks were flimsy, for a 6'1" 190lb man, they tipped climbing into the top bunk. The heating an old radiator: noisy w/ no control. Key card never worked in the front door. The bathroom set up was very poor...no room for 2 people to brush teeth at the same time and door to the hallway exposed all the showers. The location was the best part and it was relatively clean, but what upset me the most was the staff. They lied to me when I asked if I could switch to bottom bunk. Very frustrating.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize that you did not enjoy the comfort of our newly installed beds. There are bathrooms located on each end of the hallway on each floor, shower stalls each have their own curtain to cover and door is always closed. Bed letters are located on the side of each bed, anyone found in the incorrect bed will be charged a fee, if brought to our staffs attention.

77%

The 2 bed space we had was too small for 2. It's awkward when you don't know the person. Reprinting needed in the room and locker up upgrade. Cafeteria also needs working on. But the girls at reception were the best and the place was clean. A lift wouldn't hurt either.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. Our new installed beds are spacious enough for one person per bed. We are glad that our staff were helpful and welcoming, like all the guests that stay with us; friendly and looking forward to meet new people from all around the world.

71%

Disappointed with they overcharging me really.Oct 15th when i booked i got email to pay $431.55 on arrival & on 28th Oct night i had to pay $ 466.55 by card. I raised this issue on 2nd Nov + then emailed on Nov 10th + on Nov 17th i emailed them my receipt. Still not heard about my $ 34 refund pls. In principle i see that any hidden charges has to be informed to a customer before booking itself isn't? Why would i book then if i had known this as costly?. Never had Breakfast. Nice helpful staff .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. Rates seen online are before taxes and fees, we have a state tax of 14.75% and $3.50 occupancy tax per person per night that is calculated upon check-in. The information is provided online and our staff assures all guests are aware of it. Breakfast unfortunately is not provided in our hostel but there are local stores around us that sell breakfast fairly priced.

89%

Stayed at Jazz at various times while i was in NYC! and i really enjoyed my time there, thats why i always came back to the hostel! The staff is really good and helpfull, seems like José is working 24/7 and he is really doing a great job for the hostel, always nice, talks to everyone and makes sure they have a good time at the hostel. Every night they have an special event that's going on at the hostel! And the event guy (Omar) is really doing a good job! So go to the events! //Robin

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your friendly review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. We have new events every week at our hostel and our staff assures all guests enjoys their stay with us.

74%

Jose and Sabrina were awesome. Mostly clean, most of the time. You get sheets, pillow and blanket - which were clean. There is a subway station close-by - so getting around the city was easy. Some annoying things... Most taps required you to hold the lever down with one hand or the water would stop after 2seconds - this was annoying. There were too few plug points in the 6 bed dorm for everyone to charge their phones at night. Nearest guys bathroom was on a different floor. Ventilation wasn't

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. We are glad that our staff was able to provide a warm, welcoming and clean service. Bathrooms are located on each end of the hallway for each floor and sink handles are made so when they are not in use they can shut off themselves.

60%

All pretty fine, but they were a bit incessant about trying to make us join in hostel events. It's good that they put stuff on, but a bit annoying that they hassle guests as soon as they arrive or whenever they walk by the door. I preferred the HI-NYC hostel a couple blocks over.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. We create events at our hostel every day, so that all the guests can enjoy their time during their stay and also have fun and meet new friends.

80%

Best Halloween decorations ever

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your friendly review, we decorate for every holiday so that all the guests will feel welcoming and the holiday spirit.

43%

I've stayed in hostels all over the world - from Tokyo to LA. This has been the most expensive and most disappointing experience to date. They never pick up the phone. When I went to check out,a sign was posted saying staff would be back in 30 minutes. I waited over an our and missed the train I was planning on taking and no one ever came back. Don't even bother with the bathrooms or taking a shower. There were stains on my pillowcases and bed sheets. Disgusting.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Our front desk may get busy at times while assisting other guests in the hostel. We would also like to thank you for your patience while our staff is assisting guests throughout the building. Our cleaning staff comes in every day to make sure our building and linens are cleaned thoroughly.

34%

The lockers to store the luggage are on the lower level and there is NO elevator. They sent us to the 4th floor!!! How does a Hostel with so many stairs (on your way in to get to reception, to store the luggage and to get to your room) has no elevator; they don't even help you at all (except the only nice blond girl that works there). They split our group of friends into 2 bedrooms and made us switch rooms after the second night. No lost and found available, I know this because my towel got lost

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during you stay. We do not advertise an elevator in our building but our staff is always willing to give a hand with your luggage's. We try our best to put friends together in the same room but since you are booking by the bed it is not always a promise that you will all be in the same room. However, we are always willing to make adjustments for the remaining nights.

63%

I just stayed here one night. Bit pricey, staff are nice. Not much of a part hostel, everyone kinda sticks to themselves. They need to organise walking tours amd more social activities. Location close to subway, but apart from Central Park, far from everything. Okay to crash for a night or two but not any longer

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are glad that our staff was helpful and friendly. Our staff sets up events every night for our guests to enjoy and socialize. There are shows and games every night and on the weekend we bring the guests our to night clubs around New York City. We also have brochures located around our front desk, for walking tours and many more sightseeing activities around the city.

80%

The hostel was more or less what I expected: it was easily reachable, the beds were clean and the shower warm.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed our facility. Our staff comes in every day to make sure our facility is clean and welcoming to our guests.

(116 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback