Hostelworld.com

Jembjo’s Knysna Lodge & Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 108 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 108 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.3
Jembjo’s Knysna Lodge & Backpackers Located at 4 Queen Street, Lower Central, Knysna.
Jembjo’s Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
South Africa
Knysna Knysna, Western Cape 6571 4 Queen Street, Lower Central
91% 108
-34.0394936 23.0503034
Jembjo’s Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th May 2016
8.9

All in all it's a nice place to stay. We slept in the 14 bed dorm with seven young male workers from South Africa.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
15th Apr 2016
9.7

Karl and his wife were both very friendly. My favorite is the lovely garden & Fraser the resident dog. Decent breakfast selection and clean facilities. Guest house is only 10 to 15 min walking to almost everywhere in town. Highly recommended Township tour to see local colored African & Rasta community lives. Its definitely eye-opening!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Apr 2016
9.1

Very lovely husband and wife duo. Very helpful and a nice stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Mar 2016
10.0

I have nothing but good stuff to say about this place and the staff. Everything was perfect and then some. Except for a few drunken guest for 20 minutters during the night, which happens. Only thing I regret it forgetting a beer , 2 liters of soda and a wine in the fridge ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2016
8.0

Good and cozy place to be; amazing staff. Suggestion for improvement: The laundry in the hostel was not really available. Nevertheless, there is a laundry right around the corner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2016
9.1

We really enjoyed our stay at Jembo's lodge. The warm welcome and the availabily of our hosts were really appreciable. The lodge is perfectly situated, 5 min walking from the waterfront and restaurants. We had our beakfast outside in the patio, which was really lovely. Mandy and Karl are great hosts and we would definitely recommend their place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jan 2016
10.0

Absolutely amazing place. Just as advertised ' a home from home'. Beautiful house, great location, fab breakfast but most importantly amazing owners. You feel like you have been welcomed into Mandy and Carls home. They are full of information and go out of their way to ensure you have all the info and help you need to enjoy your stay and visit to the area. We felt so happy here, we changed our plans to return 'home' to which we received a reduced rate on our room! I would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • me_chrissy5617
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
27th Dec 2015
8.6

Great hostel with really helpful and welcoming staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • winsanity77
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Dec 2015
9.4

Karl and Mandy were awesome hosts. I was on a motorbike trip through the Western Cape and stopped by here for two nights. I was given in-depth information about Knysna and was recommended some incredible riding routes around, near and far. I'm glad I went with their recommendations! The hostel itself was great, and although fairly basic, nice and clean. The location is stellar, with pretty much everything you need - including the waterfront - well within walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.