Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jembjo’s Knysna Lodge & Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 136 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 136 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
Jembjo’s Knysna Lodge & Backpackers Located at 4 Queen Street, Lower Central, Knysna.
Jembjo’s Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
South Africa
Knysna Knysna, Western Cape 6571 4 Queen Street, Lower Central
91% 136
-34.0394936 23.0503034
Jembjo’s Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
6.9

Spotlessly clean but sterile.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
9.7

Would definitely recommend this place. The location was a bit out the way, but overall I was impressed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Nov 2016
9.1

We absolutely loved our stay at Jembjo's Lodge! It was so comfortable and truly felt like a home. Carl helped us out so much with everything, including booking our next hostel, giving us lots of information about Knysna and generally being a lovely guy! Would 100% recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Nov 2016
9.4

The staff were very friendly and approachable, the hostel was clean and well run. The waterfront was a 7 minute walk and supermarkets even less. Comfy and modern.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Oct 2016
9.7

Best hostel yet in South Africa. If your looking for a party forget it, if your looking for a chilled place to recharge and see the beautiful sights Knysa has to offer, look no further. Staff were incredibly friendly, hostel and rooms were extremely clean and well looked after and location was 5-10min from shops, restaurants & waterfront. We hired bikes to see see the heads, but there are other things you can get up to. If I were to come back to Knysa I would definitely come back. Chris & Jodie

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
1st Oct 2016
9.4

Great hostel and very nice staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Sep 2016
8.6

great location, super management, great value. Cigarette Smoke was unfortunately an issue, although not allowed in rooms, & house, it seeped in everywhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • paddy_bee199070
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
17th Sep 2016
8.6

The hostel owners were welcoming and more than happy to help plan trips or give information on local sights to see or activities to do. There is a well equipped kitchen and braai area so cooking for ourselves was easy and eggs are provided as part of the breakfast. The dorms have quite a few beds in for a small space, but it didn't feel cramped and there was a small locker area under the bed. WIFI, as in most places in SA, wasn't amazing. Location was great for walking to the East Head viewpoint

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
9.7

Actually, Jembo's was one of the best hostels in SA, I really enjoyed my 3 days there. The staff is very friendly and helpful, location is Super. If you want to go to Knysna, you have to stay there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
9.7

The staff are very good and nice The hostel is in a good position , near Knsyna's touristy bits Does a free breakfast Defs worth a stay of you're in Knsyna

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.