Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jikeleza Lodge International Backpackers Hostel Reviews

44 Cuyler Street, Central, Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained


167 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


It's a bit small and dated, but the staff is really excellent and there are large common areas. I expect it's a good place to meet people, but I wouldn't call it a party hostel.


We really liked the staff. They were friendly and very helpful. The rooms were okay - not much personality. The toilets and showers are outside, in some kind of extension. The kitchen is clean - which was very nice! But we believe that the hostel needs some new pots and pans. If you are in a car, you can only park on the street. So no secure parking. The new owner that is coming has big plans for the hostel. We heard some of her ideas and liked it a lot. Looking forward to se changes.


Our room was cold and being next to the bar area, it was very loud.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Elizabeth Thank you for staying with us, one of our guest had a birthday party that night, but we did shut off the loud music. Unfortunately we could not control their talking voice. The rooms have extra blanket and a heater for this winter, perhaps you did not notice. We are sorry if you had unpleasant stay with us or if we didn't meet your expectations. Thank you


very quiet, close to the city center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for staying with us, hope you enjoyed. We are sorry if you had unpleasent experience with us. Thank you

View all Port Elizabeth Hostels

Please give us your feedback