Hostelworld.com

Jiyujin

  • 524,Izumi-cho,gojo-sagaru,, higashidouindori,shimogyou-ku, Kyoto, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 497 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 497 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
Jiyujin Located at 524,Izumi-cho,gojo-sagaru, higashidouindori,shimogyou-ku, Kyoto.
Jiyujin
Japan
Kyoto 600-8188 524,Izumi-cho,gojo-sagaru,, higashidouindori,shimogyou-ku
93% 497
34.9949705 135.7611787
Jiyujin
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd May 2016
9.4

Really nice place to stay, near the central station in a quiet area. The staff are very nice and helpful too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st May 2016
9.1

Our stay at jiyujin was fantastic the staff were amazing and very helpful, would recommend this place on the staff alone. The location made it very easy to get around Kyoto which helped as we had a few days trips during our stay. It is quite small but this didn't matter for us as we spent most of our time exploring Kyoto. There are some great places to eat only a short walk from the hostel, would definitely recommend Ippudo Ramen & Katsukura!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th May 2016
7.1

A nice hostel, great staff, but unexpectedly our private room for 2 was bunk beds! Novel, but not what we were expecting. Also there was no lounge area, except a couple of seats in the kitchen and the smoking area. So unless your a smoker you don't get to mix with the other guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
10.0

Wonderful, wonderful staff; thanks for an awesome 3 days!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th May 2016
8.9

Only one washer and dryer which made doing laundry in a timely matter difficult. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Had no problems dropping our luggage off before check in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th May 2016
10.0

Out of all the places we stayed in Japan (Tokyo, Kyoto, and Osaka), Jiyujin in Kyoto was definitely our favorite! The location was convenient and close to a 7-eleven and the train station. Our favorite part was the kind and welcoming staff! Rie was so cute she even made us a card and drew us all. I will cherish that card. If I ever visit Kyoto again, I will stay at Jiyujin again without hesitation!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd May 2016
9.7

Jiyujin was everything that I could have wanted in a hostel. For my first trip to Kyoto I am really glad that I chose this place based on the great reviews, and I can see why people are consistently impressed. Jiyujin is clean, secure, and a run very efficiently. I came straight from a hostel in Osaka that was the opposite, and the contrast made me feel very comfortable at Jiyujin. With the security code for the front door you can come and go as you please with no curfew, and you can feel safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st May 2016
8.6

We stayed here one night. The rooms where very clean and the bed was pre-made (a rarity in Japanese hostels). The staff spoke very good English and were very helpful. The rooms were a little small and the kitchen/common room is fairly small. It would be difficult to cook a meal in the kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
9.7

Had such a great stay at Jiyujin! The staff were incredibly nice and helpful, the bathrooms and facilities were always clean. The hostel is about 15-20 minutes from the Gion district, so its a pretty decent location. Rooms are a little tight, but will do the trick for a short stay. Couldn't recommend this hostel enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • siddyo4559
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
9.7

The staff were so thoughtful and helpful. Vey near the station. Good amenities nearby. Comfy rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.