Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jiyujin

  • 524,Izumi-cho,gojo-sagaru,, higashidouindori,shimogyou-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9
Jiyujin Located at 524,Izumi-cho,gojo-sagaru, higashidouindori,shimogyou-ku, Kyoto.
Jiyujin
Japan
Kyoto 600-8188 524,Izumi-cho,gojo-sagaru,, higashidouindori,shimogyou-ku
92% 544
34.9949705 135.7611787
Jiyujin
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • estefito3752
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Sep 2016
7.7

Not so far from the Kyoto Station (15 min walk) the area is very quiet, not so much to do around there. The staff (the lady we talked to in the evening and the afternoon) was very kind. Everything was very clean and all looked brand new. The only problem I had was that I booked a 4 bunk beds room and when I got there they told me they only had the "Japanese" room left, that means no regular bed but just 4 futon beds. This was not expected at all and the futon bed was really unconfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
9.4

1.near gojo st.&familimart 3min. 2.nice staff 3.weak wifi in room , but in meeting room ok. 4.some room have smell 5.have share 4 toilet 3 shower Love this hostel / very good for backpack

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
4.6

The place doesn't really foster an atmosphere for solo travelers. On the day we checked out, we left our luggage there and went out and when we came back we got kicked out. The staff there knows we were trying to figure out how to get to our next stop instead of helping us, the property manager asked us to leave or stand outside outside of hostel to search. September is mosquito season in Japan. We got bite all over our body. There is no lobby at the reception desk.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

These story you mentioned is the occurrence of the day after three of you checked out.When you came back to pick up your luggage, then all of you just tried to open it and do other thing in the lobby at the reception. And this was without any asking.We were so surprised of this. At that time, there were fully booked and of course we were afraid that some guests come back/go out and come to check in. It is rare to find here such unique guests like three of you.Thank you.

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Sep 2016
10.0

I manage a hostel myself and always take pride in our service. After visiting this hostel i think I've found an even more hospitable place than ours. After asking some nice places to eat ramen or tzukemen they not only recommended us several nice places to eat they also looked up extra info on the Web, directions and a short story about the origins of ramen. I've never seen hosts as energetic and eager to help as the two ladies of this hostel. Next to that it is clean, and on a good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
9.7

Anyone thinking of staying here is bound to have a good and confortable stay. Me and brother stayed here and we had a really comfortable and awesome experience. Everything was clean and the facilities are easy to use. The best part is the staff, the girl at the front was amazing! She helped us with everything, and got us settled in in no time, and helped us navigate around the area. I highly recommend staying here as it is affordable and an all round comfortable and clean place. I will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
9.1

I stayed in a 4-person bunk room. Each bunk had curtains and its own light, so there was lots of privacy. Beds are traditional Japanese (i.e. very firm), but comfortable. A/C in bedroom and common room worked well, but bathroom area/hallway got pretty stuffy. It's very very clean, no shoes allowed and the staff cleans several times a day. However, the only common space is a small room with a wooden table and benches. Nowhere to lounge/relax other than on your bed. Good location, helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Aug 2016
7.4

Good location near to Kyoto station, about 30 mins from Gion. Well connected by bus routes. The rooms were very small (I mean tiny) with large bunk beds. Shared facilities - shower, wash area, toilets were all clean. Overall not bad but quite expensive for the size offer room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Aug 2016
10.0

This hostel is the best hostel I have been to. It is very well located, it's very clean (to the extreme), the two staff girls are great and helpful and the atmosphere is friendly. Rooms are quite spacious. The rules of the hostels and its services are very well structured and easy to understand. We suggest using bikes which you can rent at the hostel for a cheaper price than other rentals places.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
10.0

The place is really good! It's close to Kyoto st and you can get everywhere from there. The staff is really really nice and helpful. And the hostel is really clean, and the equipment is perfect! I would definitly stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Jul 2016
10.0

Best hostel i have ever been to. Very nice staff (extremely passionate, you will get what i mean when you are here). Clean modern nice price good location great common area to meet travelers and you can easily tell that huge amount of thoughts has put into this hostel by the owner. I will be back for sure :) P.s. love the tatami room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.