Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jiyujin

  • 524,Izumi-cho,gojo-sagaru,, higashidouindori,shimogyou-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 651 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 651 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kelly_05015639
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2017
8.9

Staff is super nice! Our room is ok, clean enough. Shower is good. It's a quiet hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2017
9.1

A nice hostel just a few minutes walk from the main station, quite easy to find with very enthusiastic staff, well positioned for all the sights to visit in Kyoto. The hostel has everything it takes, but not more - there is just one small group room, the sleeping rooms have four beds each, simply because a fifth bed would physically not fit in. Dont come with more than a backpack, there is no space to put your baggage. Same goes for the facilities, good and clean but I've seen it better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2017
10.0

I love to stay in Jiyujin. The staff is friendly and speak good English. They are very informative and eager to inform us the main tourist attractions in Kyoto and how to get there. Definitely would stay again in here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Aug 2017
8.9

A well kept guest house. Good price for a single room, which is reasonably large by Japanese standards. Just note that there is no one at the front desk until 16:00. So if you'd like to have them keep your luggage after checkout you cannot come to fetch it earlier. Not the best location, but conveniently close to subway and bus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Aug 2017
8.0

Nothing bad to say but there are much better choices in Kyoto if you're organized.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
9.7

I have no idea why you would stay anywhere else! The location is amazing, the facilities are great/clean, and the price is unbelievable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
10.0

I loved everything about Kyoto, the city, the weather, the mountains, the people, and of course Jiyujin! The location is great, close to convenient stores, subway station, and JR station. 20-min walk from downtown, but very quiet. I loved the staff! They are truly the sweetest! The room and bathrooms are very clean. Jiyujin is another piece of the puzzle of my perfect Kyoto trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th May 2017
10.0

The staff were absolutely lovely. The hostel was nice and close to the station, good quality bars and historical sites.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Eric_Gilroy
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th May 2017
9.4

Extremely clean. Staff very helpful. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
9.7

Great place to stay in Kyoto. Prime location and great value for what you're paying. Staff is very accommodating and place is tidy and clean. If you're goal is to meet people this may not be the place but if you want a place to rest after a long day of Shrine hopping Kyoto, there is no place better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×