Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jiyujin

  • 524,Izumi-cho,gojo-sagaru,, higashidouindori,shimogyou-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 586 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 586 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2
Jiyujin Located at 524,Izumi-cho,gojo-sagaru, higashidouindori,shimogyou-ku, Kyoto.
Jiyujin
Japan
Kyoto 600-8188 524,Izumi-cho,gojo-sagaru,, higashidouindori,shimogyou-ku
93% 586
34.9949705 135.7611787
Jiyujin
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Dec 2016
9.4

Nice, small hostel! Good location, very friendly staff. Nice common room for meeting people and talking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Nov 2016
8.9

Great location and great facilities, although their luggage storage policy was a bit troublesome and lame.. The dorm rooms leave very little space for you to lay your suitcase out, but for a few nights it's fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We clealy mention our rule of tempoarily luggage storage on our website and our page of Howtel World. Thus, there is no doubt that you had understood our rule and policy when you made your reservation. Also we explained same thing when you asked us to leave your luggage on the date of cheking-out that we could accept your luggage only if you pick it up between opening hours. On the date of your checking-out, you confirmed us the checking-out time. After that, you went out without saying anything. We supposed thath you would come back to checking-out by 11am. However, you did not come back by 11am. And we found that we had not gotten the room key back and your luggage still had remained in the room. After checking-out time, we need to clean up and prepare the rooms and beds for new guests.We were so surprised of this. Regards.

17th Nov 2016
9.7

This place is great. The owners were so nice and helpful. It's really close to a couple bus stops that you take to get to most of the main tourist attractions in Kyoto. It's also relatively close to the station. The owners offered advice on where to go and how to get there. You can buy bus passes at the hostel which made everything even more convenient. The hostel is small enough that you never had to wait long for a shower or bathroom. Very clean and comfortable beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2016
9.1

The staff was the best part of here. They're very nice and helpful. They drew me a map and circled places to visit. When I asked generic hard abstract questions (where's the best place to go, etc) they seemed to really think about it rather than give a standard answer. Rooms are always musty and I'm not sure why.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Nov 2016
10.0

Made my stay in Kyoto even more enjoyable. Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were quiet, bedding was soft and comfortable, bathrooms were clean, nice and close to public transport too so getting around was a breeze. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
8.9

We had a nice stay at Jiyujin hostel. I can't really say anything bad about the place - the staff were friendly and helpful, it was quiet at night and the beds were clean and comfortable. Large dining table and a small kitchen area. I think the place was fine but to be honest it was a little too "dormitory-ish" for my liking, there are a lot of more traditional Japanese guesthouses that I would prefer to stay at in Kyoto for close to the same price. But again, nothing really wrong with Jiyujin!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2016
9.4

Nice friendly staff being very helpful. The guest house in a quiet location. Spacious and clean room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Oct 2016
9.4

We booked Jiyujin in a pinch and it worked out famously. Reception was great, location is good. Full sized showers, a bonus, washing/drying machine, giant fridge and cooking space. Bed was comfortable enough. I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Oct 2016
9.4

The location is near a subway stop, but the area around the hostel is well boring. That staff is really nice, wish they would have someone at the front available all day instead of only round check in and check out time. Each room automatically locks by itself require a key. Make sure you have the key on you at all times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Oct 2016
10.0

lovely people very helpful staff good location. convenient kitchen clean bathroom

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.