X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Johannesburg Backpackers Reviews

No 14 Umgwezi road, Ext 1, Emmarentia, Johannesburg, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
72 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

The room was not furnitured exept the beds., no cold water available. We were very polite, but all questions were answered with I dont know. TV running in the lodge all days. No shopping food neraby. We found out, how to reach things and to go by gautrain. No help from the staff. They always put taxi as the only possibillity.. Only the lady for cleaning was very busy all the day.. Very unfriendly atmosphere from the staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we are truly sorry that you have had such a negative experience here with us. Our standard room consist of 2 twin beds, bedside tables, and some art on the wall. The tv is running in the lodge, for some guests to use, as it is there for entertainment. The Shopping center is within a 7 min walk. Our guests that were here at the time were drinking early in the morning, and ask the staff member to join the game of cards they were playing, but I assure you she was drinking coca cola.

46%

I had three days to kill in joburg and didn't want to move around much, so from your site i made my choice on the facilities offered. The 3 top reasons were a bar, wifi, and cafe inhouse neither of which were made available. As for the super cleanliness they boast my bathroom ceiling was covered in mould and grime hope i can attatch the photo i have. The place is not a bad place to stay if you go not expecting much, but it wasn't what i was expecting. Beauty was good efficient and friendly but t

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


29%

Sorry this was the worst accomodation we ever had in safrica

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guests, we are truly sorry that you feel we did not meet your expectations. We seem to be having a bad spell. If you find yourself in South Africa again, please do not hesitate to contact us, as we are putting in work to make sure that all our guests have the most comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Please again accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused. Traveling Greetings Semantha

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
71%

Friendly staff. The 8 person dorm was very clean with good beds. The bathroom was a bit old with a loose sink and the toilet didn't have a seat. One of us forgot her watch and a necklace, and someone of the staff emailed me about that!

  • 13th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

There were no power outlets in the room, there were dogs barking in the courtyard all night long, there were no towels or soap in the bathroom, and there was no wifi available.


60%

Good enough hostel but was empty! When I arrived the place had no other lodgers so was lonely. The staff were friendly enough and location good with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. A mini bus on the next street took you straight into town for just 10 rands. My stay was fine but very somber due to a lack of people and thus no atmosphere. And there was no WiFi or breakfast provided either.

  • 17th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel is like a lodge or a good hotel.

  • 6th Dec 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Michael, Merry Christmas to you and your family!! Cheers Joburgbackpackers Team

57%

The eight-bed doorm we lived in had a mouldy ceiling, especially in the bathroom where the shower was disgusting and looked highly contagious. Bugs were also a problem, they should've had a mosquito net on the windows. The shared kitchen was dirty, and did not invite to cook any meals. The hostel is in a safe neighbourhood, but far from the city centre. Will not stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Alexander We do apologize for any inconvenience caused. As it's a dorm room that you stayed in, we had no mosquito covering, we do apologise. The communal kitchen is available to all geusts, and we are unfortunately not available to monitor the cleansiness of the kitchen all the time, we do ask the geusts to clean there own dishes, but as they do not always comply we have no control after we do the initial clean. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope that you have a more pleasant trip next time around. Regards Semantha

97%

Pretty chilled out, great area and friendly staff.


80%

They went out of their way to be helpful when we needed to directions, which was highly appreciated.

  • 4th Oct 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The guy at reception was terribly unhelpful, rude, and was constantly drunk or stoned. I don't know what he is doing working in a place like that - he created a terrible vibe.

  • 2nd Oct 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

This hostel was good overall... Pros: Very safe area (able to walk around at night), casual and relaxed atmosphere, nice rooms, pretty clean. Cons: No shuttle to/from the airport (taxi is about R350), no breakfast in the morning.

  • 1st Oct 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


90%

Staff were fantastic and very accomodating. As not many there at the time upgrade us from a twin room, shared bathroom to twin room with own bathroom. As we were having difficulties initially with GPS for rental vehicle they loaned us a road map book for South Africa to help us get out to the Kruger National Park. Were also happy to store things for us in a locked room until we came back.


83%

Perfectly welcoming and esay going staff, felt at home at Joburg Backpackers.

  • 5th Jul 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


67%

I visited in June, so it was out of season and the place was very quiet. The hostel also had no record of my booking (made through hostelworld) but luckily they had space to find me a room (better than the one I had originally booked) which was very nice. I was disappointed in the staff - while they were well-meaning, they just seemed a bit spaced out and not that bothered.


70%

No breakfast menu in the morning was a bit of a let down seeing as though i think the website advetised that,no communal fridge either for our own food.Too much music in the bar at the crack of dawn in the morning.No-one at the bar at times.Drinks quite expensive(R16 for appletizer!).TV not very good.Ants all over the bar. But as a place to stay for the night, nothing really wrong with it at all.


27%

complete dive, but then again it is joburg - what do u expect? kitchen 4 guests is disgusting, bathrooms not much better. do yourself a favour and go straight to kruger from the airport. don't stay in joburg unless you either want to stay in the hostel all night behind razor wire or go out and get stabbed.


50%

no power points int he dorm, couldnt recharge phones etc, no hooks in the bathroom, clothes had to be put on floor when showering, jumping bugs all over the sheets. my worst backpackers hostel in sth africa. would not recommend.

  • 9th Oct 2010
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow. What can we say, SORRY, we clearly dropped the ball on this one. No excuses. We'll look in to your issues and get them sorted out. All the bathrooms should have hooks, if this one has gone missing it will be put back, there are power points in all the dorms, our fault ,we just didn't show you where, and the dorm will be cleaned to remove the bugs. They are all cleaned and the sheets changed every day but as its now spring in South Africa all the little critters are waking up and if one window is open they can pop in uninvited. If you are ever back in Joburg we'd love you to come and visit us again and hopefully we can change your mind about us! Thanks for the feedback, Joburg backpackers team.

97%

It was the perfect place for me to idle away a few days make plans for my onward journey - with great help from the staff at Jo'burg Backpackers. I'll be back for sure!

  • 29th Sep 2010
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Nick from the staff was really nice and helpful!The place is definitely in a safe area but you don't actually feel like being in the city (at least the interesting parts of the city are quite far away!! There is lots of party going on - so if you like that, that's good. The room was very clean but there were only cold showers!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all Johannesburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback