X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Johannesburg Backpackers Reviews

No 14 Umgwezi road, Ext 1, Emmarentia, Johannesburg, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
79 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

clean, quiet, safe neighborhood,helpful staff, no internet

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Samantha who runs this is lovely and so helpful.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Friendly & helpful staff.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

Very plain decor - even in a 'deluxe' double en suite we had only a bed so all our stuff had to lie on the floor, which is a problem anyway but especially when ants are so quick to appear! Our bathroom was pretty grimy, but the communal kitchen was always spotless; however the oven didn't work properly which spoiled our dinner. No bar, no meals or even snacks offered, zero atmosphere... literally nothing to do. The service was fine but there is a very obvious lack of management presence here.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

Was a fine place to stay. Unfortunately the Internet access wasn't working while we were there, which was an annoyance. The staff were generally helpful and friendly, but not overly so.

  • 22nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

The room was not furnitured exept the beds., no cold water available. We were very polite, but all questions were answered with I dont know. TV running in the lodge all days. No shopping food neraby. We found out, how to reach things and to go by gautrain. No help from the staff. They always put taxi as the only possibillity.. Only the lady for cleaning was very busy all the day.. Very unfriendly atmosphere from the staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we are truly sorry that you have had such a negative experience here with us. Our standard room consist of 2 twin beds, bedside tables, and some art on the wall. The tv is running in the lodge, for some guests to use, as it is there for entertainment. The Shopping center is within a 7 min walk. Our guests that were here at the time were drinking early in the morning, and ask the staff member to join the game of cards they were playing, but I assure you she was drinking coca cola.

46%

I had three days to kill in joburg and didn't want to move around much, so from your site i made my choice on the facilities offered. The 3 top reasons were a bar, wifi, and cafe inhouse neither of which were made available. As for the super cleanliness they boast my bathroom ceiling was covered in mould and grime hope i can attatch the photo i have. The place is not a bad place to stay if you go not expecting much, but it wasn't what i was expecting. Beauty was good efficient and friendly but t

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


29%

Sorry this was the worst accomodation we ever had in safrica

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guests, we are truly sorry that you feel we did not meet your expectations. We seem to be having a bad spell. If you find yourself in South Africa again, please do not hesitate to contact us, as we are putting in work to make sure that all our guests have the most comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Please again accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused. Traveling Greetings Semantha

71%

Friendly staff. The 8 person dorm was very clean with good beds. The bathroom was a bit old with a loose sink and the toilet didn't have a seat. One of us forgot her watch and a necklace, and someone of the staff emailed me about that!

  • 13th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

There were no power outlets in the room, there were dogs barking in the courtyard all night long, there were no towels or soap in the bathroom, and there was no wifi available.


60%

Good enough hostel but was empty! When I arrived the place had no other lodgers so was lonely. The staff were friendly enough and location good with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. A mini bus on the next street took you straight into town for just 10 rands. My stay was fine but very somber due to a lack of people and thus no atmosphere. And there was no WiFi or breakfast provided either.

  • 17th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel is like a lodge or a good hotel.

  • 6th Dec 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Michael, Merry Christmas to you and your family!! Cheers Joburgbackpackers Team

57%

The eight-bed doorm we lived in had a mouldy ceiling, especially in the bathroom where the shower was disgusting and looked highly contagious. Bugs were also a problem, they should've had a mosquito net on the windows. The shared kitchen was dirty, and did not invite to cook any meals. The hostel is in a safe neighbourhood, but far from the city centre. Will not stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Alexander We do apologize for any inconvenience caused. As it's a dorm room that you stayed in, we had no mosquito covering, we do apologise. The communal kitchen is available to all geusts, and we are unfortunately not available to monitor the cleansiness of the kitchen all the time, we do ask the geusts to clean there own dishes, but as they do not always comply we have no control after we do the initial clean. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope that you have a more pleasant trip next time around. Regards Semantha

97%

Pretty chilled out, great area and friendly staff.


80%

They went out of their way to be helpful when we needed to directions, which was highly appreciated.

  • 4th Oct 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The guy at reception was terribly unhelpful, rude, and was constantly drunk or stoned. I don't know what he is doing working in a place like that - he created a terrible vibe.

  • 2nd Oct 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

This hostel was good overall... Pros: Very safe area (able to walk around at night), casual and relaxed atmosphere, nice rooms, pretty clean. Cons: No shuttle to/from the airport (taxi is about R350), no breakfast in the morning.

  • 1st Oct 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


90%

Staff were fantastic and very accomodating. As not many there at the time upgrade us from a twin room, shared bathroom to twin room with own bathroom. As we were having difficulties initially with GPS for rental vehicle they loaned us a road map book for South Africa to help us get out to the Kruger National Park. Were also happy to store things for us in a locked room until we came back.


83%

Perfectly welcoming and esay going staff, felt at home at Joburg Backpackers.

  • 5th Jul 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


67%

I visited in June, so it was out of season and the place was very quiet. The hostel also had no record of my booking (made through hostelworld) but luckily they had space to find me a room (better than the one I had originally booked) which was very nice. I was disappointed in the staff - while they were well-meaning, they just seemed a bit spaced out and not that bothered.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Johannesburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback