X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jolly Swagman Backpackers Reviews

27 Orwell Street, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
553 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I stayed at Jolly's for my first 3 nights I arrived in Australia and I loved it - the whole vibe about the place was friendly and chilled, I met some lovely people, the staff were great and the facilities were good. It's about a 15 minute walk into the main city which was great and the hostel does something near enough every night so you're never bored. I'd definitely recommend it and come back when I'm in Sydney!

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • hansfrog
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good staff, clean and very friendly !


57%

We will never go back again! We booked a double room but the staff only inform us that they have some problem in booking system on the day we arrived and could only provide us twin room with bunk bed. The room is smelly. Shared toilet is dirty. Hostel is noisy as they are lots of people drinking and singing even after 12am.


63%

Noisy hostel

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

I wouldnt go back here - too many false promises and take backs. Their website says free airport shuttle - I had to pay for mine. They offer free wi-fi - well, only one hour for free and after you check in. They dont provide any sort of tour of the hostel, you just have to figure everything out on your own, and the staff seemed annoyed with every question I had and like they didnt want to be there. It was the wrong choice for my first hostel in a foreign country.


77%

Good but not great. Several people in my room commented a few of the staff members were a bit snippy. Free WIFI was only 1 hour received at check in. Free breakfast was as advertised. Facilities were functional but definitely not the nicest by hostel standards.


94%

The bad thing, only free wifi for one hour which barely didn't work, otherwise would def come back, nice things up every night nd easy to get to know everyone

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Linn Thank you for your review. If we had of known there was a problem with the WIFI we would have reset it. It does happen from time to time, but its a very easy fix. Hopefully see you again Jollyswagman Backpackers

71%

The room was quite good (twin room) with TV, fridge, and sink. It was quite noisy. The check was too early: 9am!!! I have been in a lot of backpackers and I have never seen that. And even when it was early, it was later for double/twin rooms. Breakfast finish at 9am also and the kitchen close at 9am for cleaning. Laundry was expensive also (6$) The girl at the reception was really nice but the guy was not. I do not think I will come back there.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Linn Thank you for your review. We did a survey and our guests indicated they preferred an early check in/out as opposed to a late check in/out, for this reason the check out is at 9am. The laundry is $3 to wash and $3 to dry, this is the standard. I hope after considering the above, if you are ever in Sydney again, we would love to have you stay with us again. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

74%

The common area was so uncomftable. Just stairs in front of the tv and some rables. There were also too less showers and toilets. When i stayed there it was okay because the hostel wad not full. But if it is high season... The staff was really nice and helpful.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Most of the people there stay to work during the day and party during the night, which creates a strange atmosphere and prevents travelers to meet and exchange experiences.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Stefan Thank you for your review. Every night at 6pm we have a welcome meeting that allows new guests meet other travelers, which helps with interaction for people just passing through, this is a great platform to share experiences. I hope if you are ever in Sydney again, we would love to have you stay with us again. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

80%

Nice hostel, 20-30 minutes walking from downtown. Breakfast consisting of cereals and toast with jam - included - nice:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again Jolly Swagman Backpackers

83%

Okay hostel.. Kind of got a family going on so none really talks to you. Wifi is a bit of a pain. Can tell they do things ie leave the breakfast bit open for people in this family past it's closing time,


94%

Stayed there over Christmas and New Year and just had to return, staff are still as friendly. Can't fault the hostel on anything other than the 9am check out! :( Definitely will be returning for a 3rd round! :)

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again Jolly Swagman Backpackers

100%

Stayed in a few hostels in Sydney, but this is one of my favs. Close to everything, but also tucked away in a quiet street away from the Kings Cross strip.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again Jolly Swagman Backpackers

100%

Really nice Hostel. Back in Sydney in 2 weeks, will def stay again

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again Jolly Swagman Backpackers

100%

2nd time staying here and again had a great time. Close to everything, supermarkets, bars, restaurants etc... Short walk to city and opera house. Friendly staff, free breakfast and nightly meal deals. Have some mates coming to Sydney soon and I have already recommended them to stay here at Jolly Swagman Backpackers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again Jolly Swagman Backpackers

100%

Really nice hostel. friend staff and close to everything. free breakfast and good organised night to the pubs. very satisfied with my stay :)

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

To noisy.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It looks like you generally enjoyed your stay with us, however, at some stage it was too noisy. We do have a 24/7 reception, so if you had let us know, we would have ensured the noise was reduced to a minimum. Hopefully we will see you again Jolly Swagman Backpackers

80%

Nice place to stay! Friendly staff, always helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

91%

Great location, excellent staff and atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback