Hostelworld.com

Jolly Swagman Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 705 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 705 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
Jolly Swagman Backpackers Located at 27 Orwell Street, Kings Cross, Sydney.
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2011 27 Orwell Street, Kings Cross
84% 705
-33.8722684 151.2240600
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
9.1

This is probably the best hostel I have stayed in while in Australia. Totally recommend it, it is CLEAN, like really clean and all the staff cares for the place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
10.0

Has a good balance of activities. Not a party Hostel, yes you can drink alcohol until 10pm, but after that things are tonned down in respect to other guests and neighbors, thought that was a nice touch as its pretty unusual to see :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
10.0

central to everything, good activities, friendlt staff and free breakfast. will come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
10.0

Close to everything. booked some of my trip at their travel desk also. cool and friendly staff with free breakfast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ciarachiz
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Mar 2016
6.6

Very dated but beds were comfy and was fine for a few nights, very close to station to get any where around the city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
9.7

The Jolly is like a big family. When you arrive at first, you feel a little alone since everybody seems to know each other, but it takes no time to feel at home. A lot of people actually chose to stay there for months. Big TV room with a ton of movies, big kitchen with all the necessary stuff, nice rooms with fridges, Xbox, board games, tons of deals for traveling around, tons of activities, nights out, pizza or fish and chips night. The atmosphere is just great. Wifi could be better...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Mar 2016
6.3

The place was nice to stay in for a few nights but location was awful! It was literally right in crack head central! I did not feel safe walking around with just my friend, you need a big group or pepper spray... However the staff were absolutely lovely, really friendly and the rooms were a good size and nice and clean 👍🏻 Also free wifi is rubbish you can't connect anywhere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2016
8.0

The property could use a face-lift in terms of the rooms and walls.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2016
7.4

It's quite near the metro station and all the other hostels and bars. My room was a bit smelly and hot and there are only two showers and toilets, but I had no problem with them being in use. Didn't really experience a great atmosphere but I also didn't really bother as I knew someone in Sydney. Staff was funny nice an helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2016
3.1

We were promised available parking, there was only street parking. Had to risk a ticket and park in a 1 hour spot. Staff were rude about it when I questioned them. Room was way too hot and stuffy. 9am checkout and breakfast is ridiculous. Had to strip our own sheets- not told about this at check in. Only good thing was the location.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.