X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jolly Swagman Backpackers Reviews

27 Orwell Street, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
610 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

very enjoy

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Only here for a short stay, but made a booking for my return trip in June :) :)

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. See you in June. JSB

100%

I am a bit older than the average backpacker but felt very much at home

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Hopefully we see you again JSB

54%

Dirty Showers, Dirty plates, bowels and knifes. Breakfast only includes Cereals and Toast. No Fruits, No Cheese ext. Coffe Cup needs to be brought by yourself or can be bought at the Hostel vor 1 Dollar. All in all very loud, not really clean : To expensive for what you get.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. The showers are cleaned every day and the kitchen is cleaned twice a day. We try & ensure guests clean up after themselves, but unfortunately some will be lazy & leave their plates unwashed. As well as toast and cereal we also provide, muesli, jam, marmalade, tea and coffee. We ask for a $1 deposit for cups, this is simply to ensure guests can access when required, as they have a tendency to go missing from the kitchen. Thanks. Hopefully see you again JSB

69%

The dorm was clean and comfortable and the bathrooms were also clean. The breakfast was your standard toast and cereal fare and not presented well (it was not very appetizing). It was really strange that you had to buy your own mug.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. The renting of cups ($1) is just to ensure they don't disappear and if they do then we can replace them easily. Hopefully we see you again JSB

80%

The fan was more like a heater, the room was clear and the hostel very quiet.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Hopefully we see you again. JSB

80%

Good hostel, the only thing I did not like walk the breakfast. I need to ignore it and buy my own.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Hopefully we see you again JSB

66%

Jolly Swagman is well located near the CBD. Lots of restaurants, cafes & supermarkets nearby. Close to all the major sights. Well connected by transit. You can find overnight parking on the streets between 10pm & 8am. Security is quite good. Guest area is by key access and there are computerized electronically secured lockers, which are pay per use (only downside). Bathrooms are basic. There is a cockroach problem but that's Sydney apparently. Reception provides roach spray.

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It looks like you enjoyed your stay. Just to clarify, we do not have a cockroach problem. We have a contract with a pest control company that ensures we have no insect problems. Thanks again and hopefully we will see you again. JSB

57%

Let me start of by saying for the price, this place worked. However, overall it was underwhelming to say the least. Pros: - Had my own room to myself that included a twin bunk bed, mini-fridge, sink, fan, and mini-TV (about the size of my laptop). -Location was good, close to King's Cross Cons: -No AC -No free return shuttle -WIFI was free, but had to re sign in every 2-3 minutes; and one night it didn't work at all -Free breakfast = cereal & toast -Staff was not friendly

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. When you stay more than 1 night you receive a free shuttle from the airport to the hostel. As it is a different service going back to the airport, it is no possible to offer this as a free service, however, as discussed, we can certainly offer to organize the return shuttle for our guests. Like most wifi, when lots of people are logged on, it does reduce performance. Did you raise the issues with staff? Hopefully we see you again. JSB

60%

Not much to say about this hostel. It seemed very dis organized. Rooms weren't ready on time and the kitchen was dirty.


54%

We booked into jolly swagmans for 4 nights in a 3 bed dorm. The dorm room was not like shown on the pictures it was small and cramped and should have only been used as a double or twin. I found the bathrooms very dirty with only 2 showers and 2 toilets on each floor so at busy periods you had to wait around. The kitchen was dirty and did not have enough pans etc for everyone to use. I would not stay here again.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We do find that the pictures on the website do indeed reflect the rooms that we sell. Obviously the lesser amounts of beds in a dorm will mean the actual room is smaller, however, this we have not received feedback like this before. We do clean our bathrooms daily and if there is ever a queue on your floor you just have to go up or downstairs to the next bathroom. We clean the kitchen 3 times daily. Hopefully we see you again. JSB

51%

Not a fan; no AC, messy rooms, the wifi never worked, had to go to the Macca's if I needed to message anyone. Staff were rude and not helpful.


83%

It was a nice place to stay in Sydney, very secure and 24/7 reception which we really liked. We got a room to ourselves but it always smelt really damp every time we got back to our room. Other than that I would recommend it to others. More for people who like to party and meet a lot of young people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to write your review. With regards to the room, did you report this to reception? We take things like this very seriously and would have switched you rooms or fixed the problem asap. Hopefully we see you again. JSB

77%

Room was good. There's a locker provided for each bed. The wifi isn't great, but when you could connected it just about managed emails and skype at a push. It's close to the Kings cross area for a good night out. Rooms have fans, but no AC.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Hopefully we see you again. JSB

91%

Great place to stay especially for young backpackers. The staff will walk you to a bar every night and help you find things to do during the day. Only a few minutes walk from the kings cross train station which will get you anywhere you need to go in the city. Only problem we had was that we stayed in two different rooms and the second room would not connect to the free wifi at all.

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Hopefully we see you again. JSB

100%

We enjoyed the stay. close to everything, helpful staff and lots of suggestions on what to do. Sydney is not too big, can do alot by not using public transport.

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Hopefully we will see you again. JSB

100%

Really good stay. restaurants, bars are close. lots of culture in the city 15 minutes walk

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Hopefully we will see you again. JSB

100%

No complaints. Had a room to myself after a long trip and it had everything I needed. Nice double bed, fridge, tv and fan. Would stay again. Ideally would have like an ensuite, but the shared bathroom was fine.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Really good and clean hostel. Only drawback is if you book online for under 30$ and want to stay longer they charge you 38$. Cool free activities every day.


89%

Cool location...Between the 24/7 staff to help you out and the cameras, it's a very safe place.

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback