Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jolly Swagman Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 820 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 820 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jul 2017
6.0

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay the Jolly Swagman is good. However, the mattress and pillows are the worst I have ever slept on at a hostel. Even though the rooms are frequently cleaned, the place is still dirty, this is more to do with it being an old building.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks so much for staying with us at the Jolly Swagman Backpackers. We are devastated to hear your comments about the bed and pillows not being comfortable and not to your liking. It would have been great if you could have told us about your problem at the time, we would have instantly changed them for you. FYI, we purchase very expensive high quality mattresses from Sealy Posturepedic, and all our mattresses are still under warranty, so if there is any issue with the mattress (I will be investigating in your room now), it will be replaced within 24hours. Also, our pillows are replaced on a regular basis and we just did a round of replacements recently, so if we missed your pillow, we are deeply sorry, but if you had let us know, you could have had a new one. Our ongoing policy is that we do not compromise on the comfort of our guests sleep, its our number 1 priority! Regards Joe Jolly Swagman

  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Jun 2017
9.7

I have nice stay here with nice staff, good location ^^

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
10.0

Really friendly, the same day I arrived they helped me out with everything I needed and got me a job and I am staying longer. The place is well cleaned and there are nice people staying there. I would recommend this hostel 100%.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
10.0

Jolly's was a great place to stay. It was in the middle of the city and it was a great location. My sister and I had private room and it was nice size and a great place to throw our feet up after a adventurous day in Sydney. The staff are also amazing and help if you have any questions or problems. Will def stay again when I visit Sydney again one day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review. We take pride in what we do here and are very glad you and your sister enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back in Sydney again sometime soon!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
3.7

Rude rude rude staff. Internet no existsnt, had to pay for anything extra. Bathrooms gross.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're sorry to hear of your negative feedback as we do take all criticism constructively and endeavour to make all our guests happy. If you're up for it we welcome you to come back to Jolly any time and give us another chance to impress you. Also, please feel free to email us at stay@jollyswagman.com.au more information so we can look into the issues you have raised.

  • katefoster
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th May 2017
8.3

Great location, staff were helpful/kind, rooms weren't overly clean but not too bad, though the room next to mine had a stench that filled the hallway but luckily didn't fill our room and we had a tiny balcony so could open the door and get fresh air. Rooms could really use more electrical outlets, the bathroom facilities were clean but hairdryer didn't work and one of the toilets was out of order but the hostel wasn't too busy so never had an issue using them. Hot shower and free brekky tho!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It's always much appreciated. We're very happy to hear you found our staff, location and breakfast to be great! We really do try to give the best experience possible to everyone who stays with us. In regards to some of the other things you have mentioned; We do have maintenance staff on hand to fix all issues like the toilet/hair-dryer as soon as we find out about the problem and cleaning staff to assist with a smelly room. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd May 2017
10.0

Loved this hostel. Free food or cheap food most nights and some of the most fun and informative staff! Highly recommend staying here as your right by the corner of the party district as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the kind words! We take pride in our knowledgeable staff and you probably noticed we all love to have a bit of a laugh too. Thanks again and enjoy all your future travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th Mar 2017
7.4

Good hostel. Friendly and informative staff, really good to have reception open 24 hours. My only complaint would be having inconsiderate room mates who turned lights on in middle of the night etc. Also rooms could be quite hot. But overall had a great stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're very pleased that you had a great stay with us and hope we to see you here again soon. As you stated, sometimes (unfortunately) people can be a little inconsiderate but we definitely do not condone that behaviour. We actually find that most room-mates end up becoming very good friends here!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
9.7

Great accommodation in a central location. Staff helpful & quiet rooms overnight.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
8.0

Good overall - great position and very helpful profesdion staff Thanks

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.