X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jolly Swagman Backpackers Reviews

27 Orwell Street, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
642 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

very helpful staff, couldnt have asked for a nicer start to my trip

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Twin room was really nice. Fridge and TV was very handy. Location was very close to the city and to the main street of kings cross. Better than expected if i am honest!!!

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Pros included in this hostel was the TV room, free breakfast and wifi. But the rooms have a funky smell to them, it was in a weird part of Town and you had to take the train to see anything interesting, staff were a little unwelcoming as well.


100%

free wifi, breakfast and bbq :)

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

The kitchen is too small and it closes at 9:30 which I think is a bit too early. The shower is hot enough but very weak. And it is difficult to have the perfect temperature. It is either too hot or too cold.


91%

I was very impressed with the showers. There was always plenty of hot water at all times of the day. The breakfast was nothing special. Cereal and toast but at least it was provided. My only complaint was that the light at my bed didnt work and the room light didnt provide enough light to read by. Another plus for me is that there was no age restriction. I am 56 and I really enjoyed chatting with the young people who agreed it was silly to not allow older people.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

The internet was too slow. I know it seems like a whiny complaint, but I went to the library everyday instead. Frankly, I'd rather have fast internet than running water.


49%

nice that they had the free shuttle pick up from the airport. staff was okay, but wish they were more welcoming and at least pretended to like their jobs. wifi was by far the worst part of the stay. had a lot of stuff to book and it would never work so had to keep going to McDonald's to use theirs. kitchen is pretty bad, slow stove tops and no pots and few dishes. you have to leave your key as a "deposit" for a pot, which is an awful way of doing that. none of the events they had happened


86%

Old showers that are less than powerful with temperature problems. Friendly staff with several security measures in place, amazing people there with a great vibe. This is a family. Would recommend. Great location and value for money.


100%

Loved it! Friendly staff, nice room, pretty close to the city and lots of free food. Will be back

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. JSB

71%

Jolly is in a good location Kings cross slightly away from the main street which is great if your looking for a nights sleep. The hostel is close enough to nightlife so don't let this discourage you. There were boards up with information from the entertainment team each day, although you had to sign up for events prior (not very accommodating) They had a strict no visitor policy and I paid full price for a room of 6 even though I was alone in the room, feel like they should have discounted this

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. The only thing you have to sign up for are the $5 meal deals that we provide. This is simply because we need to know how many people we need to order for, im sure this is understandable. We pride ourselves on the security that we provide our guests. Unfortunately part of providing this service, is having a guest only policy, a policy that is industry wide. Thanks again and hopefully see you soon. JSB

57%

Good location that's about it. The place smells, it's really damp. We saw coachroaches in the showers as well. Honestly toilets are just really dirty, they clean every day but seeing as there aren't so many toilets and showers in the first place, it gets dirty quickly (2 showers for all the girls, 2 showers toilets for guys. Sorry guys no impressed it was pricy as well... Beds are clean though and they have a nice collection of movies

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We have checked the showers and there is no traces of cockroaches being there or that they have been there. We have a contract with a company that guarantees no cockroaches/insects. We have bathrooms on every floor and there are never queues We offer free breakfast, free wifi, free bbqs and free airport shuttles we believe we provide excellent value for money. We have a 24hr reception, did you report any off the issues? Thanks again JSB

100%

Ryan and Joe we're very helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Hope you got to see everything on your trip up the coast. Hopefully we will see you again. JSB

100%

very enjoy

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Hopefully we will see you again. JSB

100%

Only here for a short stay, but made a booking for my return trip in June :) :)

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. See you in June. JSB

100%

I am a bit older than the average backpacker but felt very much at home

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Hopefully we see you again JSB

80%

One of the better hostels in Kings cross.Good atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Hopefully we will see you again. JSB

54%

Dirty Showers, Dirty plates, bowels and knifes. Breakfast only includes Cereals and Toast. No Fruits, No Cheese ext. Coffe Cup needs to be brought by yourself or can be bought at the Hostel vor 1 Dollar. All in all very loud, not really clean : To expensive for what you get.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. The showers are cleaned every day and the kitchen is cleaned twice a day. We try & ensure guests clean up after themselves, but unfortunately some will be lazy & leave their plates unwashed. As well as toast and cereal we also provide, muesli, jam, marmalade, tea and coffee. We ask for a $1 deposit for cups, this is simply to ensure guests can access when required, as they have a tendency to go missing from the kitchen. Thanks. Hopefully see you again JSB



View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback