X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Jolly Swagman Backpackers Reviews

27 Orwell Street, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
528 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

To noisy.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice place to stay! Friendly staff, always helpful.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location, excellent staff and atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

97%

Great hostel with excellent staff in a perfect location. Although the floors creak and showers are weak, the overall atmosphere and welcoming staff more than make up for any of that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

83%

Free breakfast. Good location and the best thing- free airport pick up if u stay there for 2 nights. It's worth the price !


83%

easy to find, great reception services, all good...had to leave unfortunately, We did not like Sydney in general, it has an attitude not relevant to my current state of mind, nice bridge etc, but the people seemed lost in the contours of an ailment for how the taxi driver described Sydney as, "she is beautiful", however she seems confused and still an adolescent swimming in greed...as the initial penal state has the character not of a convict any-longer, more of a confused bad sparkling wine...

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully it makes up for your general Sydney experience. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

91%

Free breakfast & very nice staff, calm and clean. All that for one of the lower prices around :-)

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are really happy that you enjoyed it and hopefully we will see you again. Thanks Jolly Swagman Backpackers

80%

Joe was very charming and welcoming, cant say the same for the guy on night shift who couldn't even get a word out just grunted. Hostel was fine for my shorts stay and offers everything that you need. For the young at heart who are travelling and want to socialise as well then its the place to be.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Joe is very charming, he knows it also :) Regarding our night shift manager, I think the night shifts got the better of him, but we will let him know. Hopefully see you again Jolly Swagman Backpackers

89%

Great if your on a budget. Free breakfast and events daily. Had a great time!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Hopefully we will see you again. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

63%

nothing to do.. only slept

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Hopefully next time you can stay a little longer and see the beauty that Sydney has to offer. Thanks again. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

49%

So many rules and deposits to vive for anything. Pretty small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. There is only one mandatory deposit that all guests pay and that is the key deposit. This is standard across the industry. The only other deposit (optional) is if you want to hire a towel, again, this is standard across the industry. Both deposits are 100% refundable. We do have rules in place, again, these would not be too different from other hostels and are designed to maximize your enjoyment. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

63%

Rooms stink of smoke!

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Did you inform reception? We have a zero tolerance on smoking anywhere in the building. We take this as a very serious breach of the rules and if we were informed of this I assure you we would have rectified this problem. If you can remember what room number it was I will investigate this? Thanks Jolly Swagman Backpackers

97%

Staff where very welcoming and helpfull. Kept very clean. Only a small hostel so the people staying there are generally more welcoming and easy to talk to. Hostel puts stuff on almost every night so it is very easy to meet people through they're own nights as well. Would definitely recommend and would stay they're again

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks so much for the positive review. Hopefully we will see you again. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

100%

Couldnt have asked for a better hostel. Very sociable with the nights out organised and cheap dinners to help those on a budget. Free breakfast and free bbq during the week (shame i wasnt there for them)

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review Ashleen. Enjoy the rest of your trip. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

46%

This is the worst hostel I've ever stayed in! It’s very filthy. This is a place where you wake up in the middle of the night by a cockroach running over you. I know cockroaches are normal in Sydney, but this hostel does nothing to keep them away. Food is stored in the dorm rooms and they even have food bins in the hallway - this is a cockroach disaster waiting to happen! On top of that cleaning is so rare that they need a sign on the dorm door when it happens. Avoid this hostel at all cost!

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying at the Jolly Swagman, we are very sorry you didn't love your time with us, and wish we knew the problem AT THE TIME so we could fix it. We have checked your room and cannot see any problem now. Cockroaches - we have a guaranteed no cockroach" contract with an exceptionally good (and expensive) pest control company. Cleaning of dorm rooms happens daily and some people even complain that the dorms are cleaned too often. If there is a problem - tell us PLEASE we'll fix it

100%

After a long flight I arrived and was told at check in that I had been upgraded to a private room, was so happy. Everything was excellent from staff to facilities. The Jolly Swagman's location was hale between the bondi and the city so you have the best of both worlds. If I ever come back I will stay here

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review Kim. Enjoy the rest of your trip. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

100%

Jolly Swagman Backpackers is a great hostel. Not too big not too small, I'll be back again :)

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review John. Enjoy the rest of your trip. Hopefully see you soon. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

54%

The facility is run down and old. Needs a good renovation. There were also numerous cockroach sightings and not enough bathrooms ....Staff was ok, but nothing great compared to other places I've been. They promote free internet but it's only for an hour, & then They rape you on internet charges. $5 for a few hours & $8 for 5 hours is a lot for a traveler! Just wasn't my type of hostel. I wouldn't recommend my friends to stay here. There are other, better places in Sydney.

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, sorry you were not happy here as is always our aim. We pride ourselves on our building and updating our facilities regularly so would LOVE your suggestion for renovation (and we would probably do it, if valid). We have a guaranteed no cockroach contract so any sightings just need to be reported. After your free time, Internet starts from only $1.60 per hour for unlimited bandwidth / download which is actually cheaper than anywhere else around. Enjoy your travels!

37%

You need a key to enter the building which is great however before we had checked in I had managed to enter both the backpackers and the area need the rooms without a key due to people just holding doors open for everyone. Location great on one side however we planned a game called spot the prostitute near our hostel. Staff were not extremely helpful especially when trying to check in early and I asked for toilet paper to be put in the toilet and 12 hours later there was still no paper.

Owner Comment (Hide)
All our guests are super friendly and do hold doors for each other - we wish they would not do that with the security door, but they mean no harm. You arrived at 7am the morning after the awesome Mardi Gras Parade, so we had a full hostel of people still to check out - sorry you had to wait till they had checked out, but sure you can understand why. Apologies for the toilet paper, the cleaner was so busy doing rooms she forgot - we do have 15 other toilets to use though. Thankyou for staying.

100%

Awsome hostel. had a good time met lots of good people cheers guys

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review Kane, hopefully we will see you again.

« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback