Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jolly Swagman Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 727 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 727 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
Jolly Swagman Backpackers Located at 27 Orwell Street, Kings Cross, Sydney.
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2011 27 Orwell Street, Kings Cross
83% 727
-33.8722684 151.2240600
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
8.6

Good hostel, stayed in a private room which had a small TV :) Potts point is a great area for partying or relaxing plenty of facilities etc. Was a pretty good stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aileen_tlavelle5571
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2016
8.3

I was there as a solo traveller. Really easy to get to the coach station from Kings Cross and all sights such as Harbour, Opera House, Manly and Bondi all easily accessible via public transport. Decoration is a bit 1970s, but don't let that put you off, sheets were clean as were bathrooms! I had a double room so can't speak for dorms. Free brekkie of cereal and toast which you get yourself and wash up. Would be good if breakfast was extended by 30 mins.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
6.6

It's a little grungy, but the location is good. Of course, given all the other choices in the Kings Cross area, that is not saying a lot. Lots of international young people on work/travel visas looking for work and/or lying around. Announcements about activities and party buses may appeal to some, but not me. Still, inexpensive.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
21st Jul 2016
9.7

If you want a nice place, nice people and superb friendly staff that will go out of their way to make you feel at home / plan your days or get you great discounts then this is the place to go. I've never felt more welcomed or at home in a hostel, so thanks Joe and Co your all fab 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
6.3

The hostel is pretty close to the King's Cross train station so that's nice, only a 40 or so minute walk to Sydney Harbor. The internet was REALLY annoying, it logs you off after 3 minutes of inactivity and after 60 minutes no matter what. You can log back on again afterwards, but it's pretty inconvenient. My room also smelled pretty bad, enough that I didn't want to spend much time in there. Lots of long term stayers here as well, made it harder to meet people to do things with.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2016
7.1

Decent clean accommodation for a few days. The hostel only had workers which made it tough to meet people as they were in their own groups. Although there were nightly social things organised so you do meet people, just a little harder to make a connection. This is the case for hostels all over Sydney thoigh

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
8.6

V v happy with my stay here! Just a wee bit cold at night could do with more blankets

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow! It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your very fun group! just to let you know we have HEAPS of blankets, and we would gladly have given you as many extras as you needed. In fact, remember reception is open 24 hours a day for blankets or anything else we can possibly help you with! have a great time on your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jun 2016
7.1

It was quiet in the evenings and breakfast was available in the morning. The staff were very helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2016
7.4

It was alright

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
7.4

Most of the staff were helpful, professional, kind, and respectful. One man, however, was smoking weed some non-residents of the hostel. Needs more detailed cleaning and some updates to the hostel itself. Other than these, it was a pleasure staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.