Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jolly Swagman Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 801 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 801 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Mar 2017
7.4

Good hostel. Friendly and informative staff, really good to have reception open 24 hours. My only complaint would be having inconsiderate room mates who turned lights on in middle of the night etc. Also rooms could be quite hot. But overall had a great stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
9.7

Great accommodation in a central location. Staff helpful & quiet rooms overnight.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
2.0

The hostel stuffed up my booking and made it for the wrong month. They were completely booked and could not offer me anything. It was devastating to arrive in a city where I knew no one. Only to be told I have no accommodation. Unacceptable.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
8.0

Good overall - great position and very helpful profesdion staff Thanks

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
7.1

Jolly Swagman was a pretty decent place! Fairly clean room and bathroom. The carpets throughout the building slightly smelled. Service at the front desk was quite rude not knowing I have never stayed in a hostel before so I was trying to catch on to things. Overall location was decent close to Kings cross station which was nice but walking to the harbour was a ways. Lots of long termers, breakfast in the morning was nice!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Feb 2017
7.4

Staff are excellent and the place is clean. Good size kitchen with eating area and tv area with beanbags. They also have an Xbox too. My biggest annoyance was the lack of air con. It was almost unbearably hot in our room. The cleaner also came in whilst we were out and didn't shut our door properly which isn't good for security. Decor is a bit bright but the beds were comfy and the wifi was free!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
5.4

Older hostel so rooms/bathrooms/everything was v used. Bathroom was clean enough for how hard it'd clearly been used. Carpet could use a good deep clean. Good location next to train and if looking for clubs, they take trips every day to city. Overall vibe was weird/hard to make friends. But okay for money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
7.7

A goo hostel in Kings x.Would stop there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jan 2017
2.9

Guy behind the desk sooo rude and patronising we checked out a day early. Room had chewing gum on floor and stunk. Hated this hostel

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2017
8.6

Perfectly fine place, close to Kings Cross station so it's easy to get around Sydney. Beds were nice and bathrooms clean. A little bit too large if you're traveling alone and looking to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.