Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jolly Swagman Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 784 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 784 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
7.4

Staff are excellent and the place is clean. Good size kitchen with eating area and tv area with beanbags. They also have an Xbox too. My biggest annoyance was the lack of air con. It was almost unbearably hot in our room. The cleaner also came in whilst we were out and didn't shut our door properly which isn't good for security. Decor is a bit bright but the beds were comfy and the wifi was free!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
5.4

Older hostel so rooms/bathrooms/everything was v used. Bathroom was clean enough for how hard it'd clearly been used. Carpet could use a good deep clean. Good location next to train and if looking for clubs, they take trips every day to city. Overall vibe was weird/hard to make friends. But okay for money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
7.7

A goo hostel in Kings x.Would stop there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2017
8.6

Perfectly fine place, close to Kings Cross station so it's easy to get around Sydney. Beds were nice and bathrooms clean. A little bit too large if you're traveling alone and looking to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
10th Jan 2017
8.6

Nice hostel. Helpful staff. Quiet at night. Lots of long-term residents which can be difficult for travellers passing through. A very unfriendly long term resident in my dorm who told me she did not wish to talk when I introduced myself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jan 2017
6.0

Stayed there for 4 days and it was ok, it's a very quiet hostel and the atmosphere isn't that great and if you leave your food out for two seconds in the kitchen there will be cockroaches all over it. It's a good hostel for someone who's looking for a working hostel just to sleep in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Dec 2016
8.9

I was impressed by the guy on the front desk. He was very helpful. The Nepali lad who did the cleaning was very thorough. Thank you

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Nov 2016
7.1

The welcome was awesome big smiles and loads of info (may depend who you get). The vibe seemed fairly chilled out which suited us, we're not massive drinkers. But if you want to go and party just ask around and you'll find people are more than happy to go out for a drink. Kitchen was farely good, it's just other back packer's that make it dirty. The hostel could do with a lick of new paint and an 'airing' a few rooms a little stagnant. The free WiFi is a little slow but I guess it's free.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Nov 2016
8.9

Hostel was great, good position, close to the city center, bars and restaurants, great staff (especially Chris he helped us a lot with our staying), clean. I recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Oct 2016
8.6

Interesting people staying in this hostel. We were in a double room, bathrooms were hostel standard. Cleaned everyday. I would say that others staying in he hostel were a little unfriendly, all knew each other using tables for laptops and chatting when people needed to sit and eat food. Would stay here again as the hostel it's self was excellent. Staff were also excellent. Sam welcomed us at reception and was very memorable. Great guy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.