X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jolly Swagman Backpackers Reviews

27 Orwell Street, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
540 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Good but not great. Several people in my room commented a few of the staff members were a bit snippy. Free WIFI was only 1 hour received at check in. Free breakfast was as advertised. Facilities were functional but definitely not the nicest by hostel standards.


94%

The bad thing, only free wifi for one hour which barely didn't work, otherwise would def come back, nice things up every night nd easy to get to know everyone

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The room was quite good (twin room) with TV, fridge, and sink. It was quite noisy. The check was too early: 9am!!! I have been in a lot of backpackers and I have never seen that. And even when it was early, it was later for double/twin rooms. Breakfast finish at 9am also and the kitchen close at 9am for cleaning. Laundry was expensive also (6$) The girl at the reception was really nice but the guy was not. I do not think I will come back there.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Most of the people there stay to work during the day and party during the night, which creates a strange atmosphere and prevents travelers to meet and exchange experiences.


80%

Nice hostel, 20-30 minutes walking from downtown. Breakfast consisting of cereals and toast with jam - included - nice:)


94%

Stayed there over Christmas and New Year and just had to return, staff are still as friendly. Can't fault the hostel on anything other than the 9am check out! :( Definitely will be returning for a 3rd round! :)

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed in a few hostels in Sydney, but this is one of my favs. Close to everything, but also tucked away in a quiet street away from the Kings Cross strip.


100%

Really nice Hostel. Back in Sydney in 2 weeks, will def stay again

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

2nd time staying here and again had a great time. Close to everything, supermarkets, bars, restaurants etc... Short walk to city and opera house. Friendly staff, free breakfast and nightly meal deals. Have some mates coming to Sydney soon and I have already recommended them to stay here at Jolly Swagman Backpackers


100%

Really nice hostel. friend staff and close to everything. free breakfast and good organised night to the pubs. very satisfied with my stay :)

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

To noisy.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It looks like you generally enjoyed your stay with us, however, at some stage it was too noisy. We do have a 24/7 reception, so if you had let us know, we would have ensured the noise was reduced to a minimum. Hopefully we will see you again Jolly Swagman Backpackers

80%

Nice place to stay! Friendly staff, always helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

91%

Great location, excellent staff and atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

97%

Great hostel with excellent staff in a perfect location. Although the floors creak and showers are weak, the overall atmosphere and welcoming staff more than make up for any of that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

83%

Free breakfast. Good location and the best thing- free airport pick up if u stay there for 2 nights. It's worth the price !


83%

easy to find, great reception services, all good...had to leave unfortunately, We did not like Sydney in general, it has an attitude not relevant to my current state of mind, nice bridge etc, but the people seemed lost in the contours of an ailment for how the taxi driver described Sydney as, "she is beautiful", however she seems confused and still an adolescent swimming in greed...as the initial penal state has the character not of a convict any-longer, more of a confused bad sparkling wine...

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully it makes up for your general Sydney experience. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

91%

Free breakfast & very nice staff, calm and clean. All that for one of the lower prices around :-)

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are really happy that you enjoyed it and hopefully we will see you again. Thanks Jolly Swagman Backpackers

80%

Joe was very charming and welcoming, cant say the same for the guy on night shift who couldn't even get a word out just grunted. Hostel was fine for my shorts stay and offers everything that you need. For the young at heart who are travelling and want to socialise as well then its the place to be.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Joe is very charming, he knows it also :) Regarding our night shift manager, I think the night shifts got the better of him, but we will let him know. Hopefully see you again Jolly Swagman Backpackers

89%

Great if your on a budget. Free breakfast and events daily. Had a great time!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Hopefully we will see you again. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

63%

nothing to do.. only slept

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Hopefully next time you can stay a little longer and see the beauty that Sydney has to offer. Thanks again. Jolly Swagman Backpackers

« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback