X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jolly Swagman Backpackers Reviews

27 Orwell Street, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
625 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Room was good. There's a locker provided for each bed. The wifi isn't great, but when you could connected it just about managed emails and skype at a push. It's close to the Kings cross area for a good night out. Rooms have fans, but no AC.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Hopefully we see you again. JSB

91%

Great place to stay especially for young backpackers. The staff will walk you to a bar every night and help you find things to do during the day. Only a few minutes walk from the kings cross train station which will get you anywhere you need to go in the city. Only problem we had was that we stayed in two different rooms and the second room would not connect to the free wifi at all.

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Hopefully we see you again. JSB

100%

We enjoyed the stay. close to everything, helpful staff and lots of suggestions on what to do. Sydney is not too big, can do alot by not using public transport.

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Hopefully we will see you again. JSB

100%

Really good stay. restaurants, bars are close. lots of culture in the city 15 minutes walk

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Hopefully we will see you again. JSB

100%

No complaints. Had a room to myself after a long trip and it had everything I needed. Nice double bed, fridge, tv and fan. Would stay again. Ideally would have like an ensuite, but the shared bathroom was fine.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Really good and clean hostel. Only drawback is if you book online for under 30$ and want to stay longer they charge you 38$. Cool free activities every day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We do provide weekly specials that reduce the cost to under $28. From time to time, we do offer online promotions but this is not the regular cost. $38 is a very competitive rate for summer. Hopefully we will see you again. JSB

89%

Cool location...Between the 24/7 staff to help you out and the cameras, it's a very safe place.

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


1 2 Next » last »
(27 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback