X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Jolly Swagman Backpackers Reviews

27 Orwell Street, Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
510 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

I spent my Christmas and New Year at Jolly Swagman and thoroughly enjoyed it. The people, the place, the atmosphere, everything was top notch. The place has everything you need and compared to other hostels in the area (which I did visit), it's super clean. Kings Cross is always lively and always has something going on, as well as that the hostel provides you with excursions and things to do almost every day. It almost has an 18-30s holiday feel to it!

  • 21st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

i have stayed in 15 hostels up the east coast and around Sydney and the Jolly Swagman has got to be the best yet, staff so friendly and everything about the hostel is just GREAT i would recommend this hostel to everyone

  • 20th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Jollyswagman is the best backpacker in king cross. this is a clean area. There are so many things to do everyday. Every night you can see different places in Sydney. This backpacker has a friendly staff. this is the good place to have fun.

  • 19th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Only here for 1 night, really enjoyed it

  • 19th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great backpackers. Staff were very helpful and friendly and helped book the rest of my trip. good location, close to nightlife and trains. 5 mins on the train to city or bondi

  • 18th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

really nice hostel - friendly staff and entertainments. free breakfast and bbq.

  • 18th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Wasnt good. Always loud and the staff wasnt that friendly.

  • 10th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

i can definitely recommend this hostel!


89%

Clean double room. Good cooking facilities. Joe on the staff was extremely helpful. Really enjoyed our stay (28year old couple). Nice 15 min walk into cbd/places of interest and good transport links.


49%

The only good thing about this location is the train station is close so you can get out of this area!! The hostel was okay but had problems trying to cook and eat as there are too many people/area is too small.


100%

Traveled alone as i was meeting my friend here. Receptionist made a joke saying my friend had checked out when he was checking me in, i panicked as i hadnt spoken to her in 2 days as i was traveling. she then popped up behind me, i was so happy - a great ice breaker/introduction to the hostel. i laughed so much as this place, great way to start my aussie adventure.

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good hostel, lots of people travelling lonely like me, so making friends was good. close to train station and bondi.

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

great time here - free breakfast and 1 hr free internet. will come back again :)

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Only stayed for a couple of days, nothing bad about this place. If you needed anything the staff were very helpful. Bigger pillows needed would be a very minor issue. Other than that, i'll be back :)


66%

I really liked the hostel's location, it's near from the subway and its neighborhood has a incredible night life. But the breakfast is not this good.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel, friendly staff, good facilities and great welcome package. I'd stay again!

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


1 2 Next » last »
(36 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback