X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jollyboys Backpackers Reviews

34 Kanyanta Road, PO Box 61088, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1031 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Whomever I met at the reception, the staff was friendly and helpful, e.g. in organizing excursions to the Vic Falls or to Zimbabwe or to game drives.


89%

Excellent options for booking activities at Victoria Falls. Staff were very helpful and they offered a drop off at the falls every morning.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

very cool place, liked the lounge. staff was not very friendly, one morning almost rude when we were asking for activities.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Moyo and Daniel were fantastic!!

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Staff lacking in knowledge and hospitality. Every time we asked simple questions to the staff, the only answer received was "I don't know." Very unhelpful and made no effort to provide information. Also, any trip or activity booked with Jollyboys, the price did not include transportation and we were told to find our own ride. Including the orphanage visit, we were dropped off by Jollyboys and told to find our own ride back. The flies at the hostel are TERRIBLE. FLIES EVERYWHERE.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

We went on the one day excurstion to Chobe National Park offered through JollyBoys and highly recommend it! All of their guides were spot on and knowledgeable. I think the common kitchen could use some better utensils.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

We booked our team of carpentry artisans into the en-suite 4-sleeper rooms at Jolly Boys - they had to complete a shopfitting installation at the Royal Livingston Sun. They loved staying there, enjoyed the vibe and fell in love with Zambia. Only complaint was smelly feet of a roommate - lol.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

From Clive who picked me up at the airport to Faith the weverpresent manager and all the staff including the new massuse, They were all lovely, good natured, sweet, helpful and accommodating. When I left, I felt I was leaving my friends. Yes of course I would go back and recommend it too.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Overall, it was a great experience! It is a fun and relaxed place, with everything you need. I will most certainly stay there again. But there are few things you need to fix. 1) Staff when checking in providing no information at all. ZERO. No information about what's happening in Livingstone, how to get to the falls, the Wi Fi password, lockers, where to get sheets etc 2) Air Con in rooms is needed at night 3) It is not 150m from bus, as stated on website. It is about 1500m

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to hear that you had a great time with us in our beautiful destination. We will certainly ensure that the reception staff are communicating all of the information about our range of facilities - thank you for noting this. Air con is available in our higher priced rooms. The bus station is in a temporary place right now until the permanent structure (closer to Jollyboys) is finished being built for the new international bus stop. Travel well

57%

Poor experience. Even being a budget guesthouse. Instalations in very bad shape. The girl who received us at the reception was kind of unfriendly.

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

I was looking forward to go back after two years. The place is stil great with a nice atmosphere, but the staff has changed. They aren't very helpfull and they several times gave wrong info about their trips. The kitchen fatilities was desipointing because it was not even possible to find a bowl or plate and a spoon for our breakfast. Maybe it's because the guest don't return the things, but if u plan on a cheep stay with our food u must expect at least a minimum of things in the kitchen.

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Really nice place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review - we enjoying having you with us in Livingstone!

100%

Amazing stay at Jollyboys. The staff go above and beyond to make sure your trip is fantastic. Great selection of accommodations which attract a great variety of visitors.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Livingstone and hope to see you back again in the future to paddle the mighty waves of the Zambezi River! Travel well!

60%

Kim and staff were awesome. But, couldn't see the bottom of pool, roaches in room and all over poorly equipped kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We take our reviews very seriously. We remember your party well and would like to acknowledge about your comments - 1 room noted about critters in their room and, though we found no evidence, we quickly got the room exterminated and offered an equal alternative room though your guests choose to not move. The large pool and kitchen are spotlessly clean and we take pride in this. You mentioned yourself that your party are more suited to a hotel/resort and this may be preferential in future.

77%

Unfortunately, when you want a room with bathroom it is not that cheap, compared to other lodges. The atmosphere en location are fantastic. In my room the air conditioning was not working, the pillow was way too thick and the bed was uncomfortable. Didn't sleep all night. When I mentioned this the next morning, the staff did not seem to care.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to see that you gave us top marks for Character, Security, Staff, and Atmosphere and Cleanliness. We pride ourselves on having a wide variety of rooms to suit different budgets. Certainly the rooms with air con and bathroom are the most expensive choice. We hope to host you again so that we can show you our normal excellent hospitality.

77%

Some of Jollyboys is very good, some less so. This place gives me the feeling of having lost the genuine smiling charm you will find so widespread in Zambia - perhaps too used to foreign tourists? Perhaps its too comfortable in being the go-to place in Livingstone. The first night the bar the tender was angry and expressionless when serving me. This also happened in some other occasions with other staff. The internet was unreliable. The place is lovely, the food is good, many activity choices.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation - the Zambian people are certainly very happy, friendly and welcoming and we hope to always exceed guest's expectations. We hope to be able to make this up to you in the future - the Victoria Falls are well worth a visit during both low and high water seasons.

91%

I would have really appreciated if it had an option to eat after 4 PM. And the option as well to settle the bar/food tab along with the room or at the end of everyday if you are a guest at the establishment.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to see that you had a great time with us and enjoyed the many facilities of Jollyboys Backpackers. In the quieter months, we offer restaurant services until 4pm but we do also have a self catering kitchen and numerous restaurants within a short walk (or delivery service). All the best with your travels through Africa and beyond!

83%

everything worked & gave access to activities.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Excellent to hear that you had a great time in Livingstone with us! Happy traveling and we hope to see you on your next trip around the globe!

89%

We had a really nice stay at Jollyboys. They offer a lot of oppurtunities for daytrips ans other safaris. The atmosphere is really nice.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and we are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time on safari. Returning guests really are considered the best compliment! Travel well!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(56 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback