Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jollyboys Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,347 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,347 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
Jollyboys Backpackers Located at 34 Kanyanta Road, PO Box 61088, Livingstone.
Jollyboys Backpackers
Zambia
Livingstone 34 Kanyanta Road, PO Box 61088
89% 1347
-17.8478570 25.8543919
Jollyboys Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
9.7

Thanks for the fun stay! I scored slightly less for security because the lockers are not in the rooms, and are not big enough to fit a laptop/iPad, just a small handbag and camera. I stayed in the 8 bed dorm. It was great - individual power points and night lights. Great welcoming and friendly staff. I didn't find the mosquitoes to be a problem in the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
9.4

Almost everything great: localisation, atmosphere (free dinners which enhances sociability!), cleaniness, free transfer to falls entrance. One thing I found not secure: no keys to large dorm - everybody can enter it at any time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
8.9

Jollyboys was a great place to stay in Livingstone! The common spaces were super comfy and cozy to hang out in and the pool was a great addition. The front desk was very helpful with organizing trips and activities in Victoria Falls. There was air conditioning in my room which was great since it was summer and very hot. I would definitely suggest this location to anyone coming to Livingstone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
9.7

Nice clean hostel in Livingstone. Had a free dinner on as the kitchen was undergoing renovations. Would stay here again. Thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Oct 2016
10.0

I've stayed at hostels across Africa, Europe, Asia, and the US, and Jolly's is one of the very best.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Oct 2016
10.0

There isn't much to do in Livingstone but this hostel was great. Awesome vibe, decor, communal area, pool, dorm... very nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Oct 2016
6.9

Good location and facilities. Rooms are pretty average for the price you pay. Shower pressure was pathetic.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly take our reviews to heart and aim to learn from each and everyone of them. We are a backpackers lodge, and have a wide variety of room types to suit different types of guests and their budgets. We are sorry if you feel that our service was not to our usual high standards. We are currently working on improving the water pressure in our en-suite rooms.

13th Oct 2016
7.4

The place is definitely the place in Livingstone. It's super chill with lots of public space. The kitchen is under construction right now so they serve free dinner every night. We are happy about everything but the staffs. Some of them couldn't care less about our questions and asks. They were inattentive and unfriendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Our apologies you felt the staff were not attentive and friendly. That is not according to our normal standards and we'll make sure to improve on this, thank you for your feedback. Our bar/restaurant is indeed currently being renocated and we are looking forward to it being done! We are happy you enjoyed our space, the food and your overall stay with us. Happy travels, The Jollyboys Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Oct 2016
9.1

The hostel was overall good. My only complaint is the lack of mosquito nets. You get swarmed at night. My bed was also heavily caved in and it hurt my back. Otherwise, the facility was well equipped and staff was very helpful. I would recommend staying here. Make sure to bring lots of mosquito repellant and your own net.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks so much for your review. We routinely spray all our rooms against mosquitoes and our 8 bed dorms have air conditioning. All dorm beds have hooks, so you can hang up your own mosquito net. We recently replaced some of our mattresses, so no more cave ins. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your overall stay with us and thank you so much for complementing our staff. We will pass the message on. Thank you for recommending us! Happy travels, Hester

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2016
9.1

This was an absolute gem! We were welcomed into a small oasis in the middle of a hot town. Complete with pool, bar and restaurant. The staff were great, the patrons were all laid back and friendly, and with it being in the middle of town, it was close enough to most things to walk. I will definitely be staying here each time a pass through Livingstone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you so much for your kind words! We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Returning guest is one of the best compliments! Happy travels, The Jollyboys Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.