X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jollyboys Backpackers Reviews

34 Kanyanta Road, PO Box 61088, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
978 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Awesome place, right in the centre of Livingstone. They can help arrange any of the activities you wish to do and some have great discounts. Wifi works in communal areas and bar, it gets a little overloaded in and morning and evening when everyone is trying to log on but still the best wifi we had in Africa! Noisy generator/water pump by double rooms at back of hostel.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The only downside for us was there was no dinner availability and after a long day out it is best to come back to an easy meal rather than go out again

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Thank you I had a good time and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Management was very pushy about paying multiple days in advance for our room and made us uncomfortable.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The WiFi never worked.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a lovely stay at the Jollyboys Backpackers in Livingstone! We slept in one of the private rooms. There was only one minor problem; the musquito net didn't fit around our double bed. But apart from that we enjoyed ourselves very much.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

We spend a very nice week end. Thank you very much

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

An amazing stay with excellent customer services, will be sure to recommend Jolly Boys Backpackers to friends or anyone thinking of staying in Livingstone I truly hope to see you again soon.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Hostel was okay, very lively atmosphere, lots of travelers from all over.


80%

The room was clean, the guesthouse very enjoyable, the food we ordered was good and they were very helpful about trips we wanted to make.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Shame the pool was so dirty most people wouldn't use it - would have been good on the hot days


89%

We prefer the Jolly Boys out of town. We were not able to get a room there as it as full to capacity. It is just quieter and has an open kitchen which can be access at all times. We had to leave a 5am and the kitchen was locked at this Jolly Boys. We were not able to have coffee before leaving! The staff was very nice and the rooms were perfect. They were clean and we had everything we needed except for the morning we had to leave. We will definitely be back! Thanks for a good stay.


97%

Sweet hostel, had all the right things, very decent rooms, nice pool/sunbathing area, really cool chill out place, decent bar and plenty of options whether you wanted food or activities. Free airport pickup and shuttle to the falls was a bonus too. Had African WIFI, but was better than most the other hostels WIFI while in Africa.


60%

we were in a double ensuite bedroom and the toilet was really dirty Soe members of the staff are really nice, but others are not helpfull and agreable

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hostel that's very central and close to restaurants, grocery stores, banks, etc. Tours can also be booked at the reception which is very convenient. The guests are mostly young but families and couples are also present. I really enjoyed my stay but one thing which I think needs improvement is their wif connectivity. You won't be able to access their wifi if there's 10 people connected to it. Perhaps they should add extra wifi boxes to accommodate their high number of guests. Will b back!

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I was very pleased with the services and accommodations at Jollyboys Backpackers.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I think the water especially hot water should closely be monitored and attended to

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location, nice common areas, low prices! The rooms are very small, so don't plan on spending any time there during the day. The hot water facilities could also be much better (as most places in Africa). We were lucky to be three friends travelling together, but if you want to get to know other travelers I think you might have some difficulties at this hostel. At least during our stay, a lot of the guests seemed to be permanent guests and spent their time sitting in the wifi-area.


60%

It was way too cold in dormitory and the blanket they offered wasn't a blanket, it was like a big towel. And the people at the reception was rude and not really polite. Don't want to recommend to others....


97%

Even we slept in the biggest dorm, we had a peaceful sleep. In generel it is a wonderful place to stay. Good lunch, good beer (prices) and nice people. I would recommend it highly!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback