X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jollyboys Backpackers Reviews

34 Kanyanta Road, PO Box 61088, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1006 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Really nice place to stay.


100%

Amazing stay at Jollyboys. The staff go above and beyond to make sure your trip is fantastic. Great selection of accommodations which attract a great variety of visitors.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Kim and staff were awesome. But, couldn't see the bottom of pool, roaches in room and all over poorly equipped kitchen.


77%

Unfortunately, when you want a room with bathroom it is not that cheap, compared to other lodges. The atmosphere en location are fantastic. In my room the air conditioning was not working, the pillow was way too thick and the bed was uncomfortable. Didn't sleep all night. When I mentioned this the next morning, the staff did not seem to care.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Some of Jollyboys is very good, some less so. This place gives me the feeling of having lost the genuine smiling charm you will find so widespread in Zambia - perhaps too used to foreign tourists? Perhaps its too comfortable in being the go-to place in Livingstone. The first night the bar the tender was angry and expressionless when serving me. This also happened in some other occasions with other staff. The internet was unreliable. The place is lovely, the food is good, many activity choices.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I would have really appreciated if it had an option to eat after 4 PM. And the option as well to settle the bar/food tab along with the room or at the end of everyday if you are a guest at the establishment.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

everything worked & gave access to activities.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

We had a really nice stay at Jollyboys. They offer a lot of oppurtunities for daytrips ans other safaris. The atmosphere is really nice.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I have stayed there before and would definitely stay there again. It is ideally located and the staff helps and gives good advice for local activities.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Jollyboys is great and very knowledgeable on everything to do in the area. We are also extremely grateful to them for giving us all the info we needed for flying into Zambia. We would not have made it to Zambia without them since we didn't realize we needed yellow fever vaccines going between SA and Zambia (the US does not require it for either country). But thanks to Jollyboy's email, we were able to go get it the day before we left the States!


74%

Really liked the place. Impressed by the quality of the free WiFi. Free airport pickup is really useful (especially for single traveler), mozzie net in A-frame (Mopane?) could do with a wash and a couple of holes fixing though.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

I stayed at the Vic Falls Restcamp in Zimbabwe instead of the Jollyboys Backpacker in Zambia because it was in walking distance of the falls. I paid $30 US per night for a private chalet with a double bed and shared bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We cancelled your reservation with us as you mentioned that you were flying into Victoria Falls ZIMBABWE and thus staying on that side of the border post. Thanks for making a review and we trust that we were very helpful via email and hopefully next time you will be able to see our facilities.

91%

The staff was absolutely fantastic and helpful every step of the way. The place was clean and beautiful. Overall I was very impressed and would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in this area. I was very happy to see all the security in place at this site although it would have been nice to have a closing window on the rooms for additional security. The only other issue was the paint quality as the red paint on the floor came off easily on my feet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Livingstone! Most places in Africa use a coloured wax polish on the floors which is what would have come off slightly on your bare feet :) All windows have permanent mosi mesh in them to enable air ventilation.

97%

Awesome place, right in the centre of Livingstone. They can help arrange any of the activities you wish to do and some have great discounts. Wifi works in communal areas and bar, it gets a little overloaded in and morning and evening when everyone is trying to log on but still the best wifi we had in Africa! Noisy generator/water pump by double rooms at back of hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us in Livingstone and then services and facilities at Jollyboys Backpackers! We LOVE Livingstone and very much enjoy showing people what a great place this is!

83%

The only downside for us was there was no dinner availability and after a long day out it is best to come back to an easy meal rather than go out again

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The restaurant is open daily from 630am-4pm and after this time, there is a variety of take away/delivery menus available or many restaurants within walking distance of the lodge. We are happy to see from your ratings that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. All the best with your travels.

69%

all right but the activities are too expensive!!

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are happy that you enjoyed the services of Jollyboys. The activity prices are not set by ourselves so we are not able to change this but do try to offer the best value for money products available. We also have a wide range of free activities and walks available for guests on a budget.

86%

Thank you I had a good time and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very happy to hear that you had a great time with us in Livingstone! We hope to see you and your friends again in the future! Happy travels!

71%

Kitchen is very poorly equipped and food menu from the bar is very limited.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Management was very pushy about paying multiple days in advance for our room and made us uncomfortable.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is our policy to have payment made for your entire intended length of stay upon arrival - this is communicated in your confirmation email and by the reservation which was made online by yourself. We are sorry if you felt that this was pushy; however, it is normal practice for most accommodate providers.

89%

The WiFi never worked.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we can see by your ratings that you enjoyed your time with us very much. Sorry that the WiFi was not working for your device. There is a communal free computer in the common area for guest use as well if required.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(60 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback