X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jollyboys Backpackers Reviews

34 Kanyanta Road, PO Box 61088, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
989 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

I stayed at the Vic Falls Restcamp in Zimbabwe instead of the Jollyboys Backpacker in Zambia because it was in walking distance of the falls. I paid $30 US per night for a private chalet with a double bed and shared bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We cancelled your reservation with us as you mentioned that you were flying into Victoria Falls ZIMBABWE and thus staying on that side of the border post. Thanks for making a review and we trust that we were very helpful via email and hopefully next time you will be able to see our facilities.

91%

The staff was absolutely fantastic and helpful every step of the way. The place was clean and beautiful. Overall I was very impressed and would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in this area. I was very happy to see all the security in place at this site although it would have been nice to have a closing window on the rooms for additional security. The only other issue was the paint quality as the red paint on the floor came off easily on my feet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Livingstone! Most places in Africa use a coloured wax polish on the floors which is what would have come off slightly on your bare feet :) All windows have permanent mosi mesh in them to enable air ventilation.

97%

Awesome place, right in the centre of Livingstone. They can help arrange any of the activities you wish to do and some have great discounts. Wifi works in communal areas and bar, it gets a little overloaded in and morning and evening when everyone is trying to log on but still the best wifi we had in Africa! Noisy generator/water pump by double rooms at back of hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us in Livingstone and then services and facilities at Jollyboys Backpackers! We LOVE Livingstone and very much enjoy showing people what a great place this is!

83%

The only downside for us was there was no dinner availability and after a long day out it is best to come back to an easy meal rather than go out again

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The restaurant is open daily from 630am-4pm and after this time, there is a variety of take away/delivery menus available or many restaurants within walking distance of the lodge. We are happy to see from your ratings that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. All the best with your travels.

69%

all right but the activities are too expensive!!

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are happy that you enjoyed the services of Jollyboys. The activity prices are not set by ourselves so we are not able to change this but do try to offer the best value for money products available. We also have a wide range of free activities and walks available for guests on a budget.

86%

Thank you I had a good time and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very happy to hear that you had a great time with us in Livingstone! We hope to see you and your friends again in the future! Happy travels!

71%

Kitchen is very poorly equipped and food menu from the bar is very limited.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Management was very pushy about paying multiple days in advance for our room and made us uncomfortable.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is our policy to have payment made for your entire intended length of stay upon arrival - this is communicated in your confirmation email and by the reservation which was made online by yourself. We are sorry if you felt that this was pushy; however, it is normal practice for most accommodate providers.

89%

The WiFi never worked.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we can see by your ratings that you enjoyed your time with us very much. Sorry that the WiFi was not working for your device. There is a communal free computer in the common area for guest use as well if required.

86%

We had a lovely stay at the Jollyboys Backpackers in Livingstone! We slept in one of the private rooms. There was only one minor problem; the musquito net didn't fit around our double bed. But apart from that we enjoyed ourselves very much.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Livingstone! We have checked the room which you were in and dropped the mosi net slightly lower so that it fits perfectly around the bed now :)

80%

We spend a very nice week end. Thank you very much

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're very welcome - we love being able to host guests from all parts of the world and show them our beautiful destination! Livingstone really is very special!

100%

An amazing stay with excellent customer services, will be sure to recommend Jolly Boys Backpackers to friends or anyone thinking of staying in Livingstone I truly hope to see you again soon.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We hope to see you again soon too! Thanks for the wonderful compliment that you would recommend us - that really is the highest accolade that we could ask for! Happy travels and see you on your return!

80%

Hostel was okay, very lively atmosphere, lots of travelers from all over.

Owner Comment (Hide)
August is a very busy month of the year in Livingstone and we hope that you enjoyed the lively atmosphere and the many places at Jollyboys Backpackers to escape and chill a bit. Happy travels!

80%

The room was clean, the guesthouse very enjoyable, the food we ordered was good and they were very helpful about trips we wanted to make.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we are happy to hear that you enjoyed both our facilities and services and hope to see you and your friends back in the future! Happy travels!

80%

Shame the pool was so dirty most people wouldn't use it - would have been good on the hot days

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we see from your ratings that you had a great time with us in Livingstone! Sorry that you were not happy with the state of the swimming pool - it is crystal clear now :)

89%

We prefer the Jolly Boys out of town. We were not able to get a room there as it as full to capacity. It is just quieter and has an open kitchen which can be access at all times. We had to leave a 5am and the kitchen was locked at this Jolly Boys. We were not able to have coffee before leaving! The staff was very nice and the rooms were perfect. They were clean and we had everything we needed except for the morning we had to leave. We will definitely be back! Thanks for a good stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Returning guests really are the highest compliment we feel so that you very much! We are happy to hear that you enjoy both of our locations in Livingstone! Please be sure to ask our night supervisor to open the self catering kitchen next time as it is possible - we just keep it locked overnight so that those that have had a bit too much to drink don't try cooking/taking food ;)

97%

Sweet hostel, had all the right things, very decent rooms, nice pool/sunbathing area, really cool chill out place, decent bar and plenty of options whether you wanted food or activities. Free airport pickup and shuttle to the falls was a bonus too. Had African WIFI, but was better than most the other hostels WIFI while in Africa.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for writing a review and we are very happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us in Livingstone and our facilities and services. We really do love our destination and enjoy showing our guests the many wonderful things to do. Happy travels!

60%

we were in a double ensuite bedroom and the toilet was really dirty Soe members of the staff are really nice, but others are not helpfull and agreable

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review as we do take these comments to heart. We are sorry that you felt your toilet was dirty and hope that you requested to have the room recleaned or moved to another room so that you felt more comfortable. Each room is thoroughly cleaned between guests. We hope that you enjoyed your time in our beautiful destination!

83%

Nice hostel that's very central and close to restaurants, grocery stores, banks, etc. Tours can also be booked at the reception which is very convenient. The guests are mostly young but families and couples are also present. I really enjoyed my stay but one thing which I think needs improvement is their wif connectivity. You won't be able to access their wifi if there's 10 people connected to it. Perhaps they should add extra wifi boxes to accommodate their high number of guests. Will b back!

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I was very pleased with the services and accommodations at Jollyboys Backpackers.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(60 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback