Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jollyboys Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,318 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,318 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
Jollyboys Backpackers Located at 34 Kanyanta Road, PO Box 61088, Livingstone.
Jollyboys Backpackers
Zambia
Livingstone 34 Kanyanta Road, PO Box 61088
90% 1318
-17.8478570 25.8543919
Jollyboys Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
9.4

Staff were great, as was the food, location and services. Had a minor bug issue but staff were extremely helpful. Beautiful pool, clean facilities, just really loved the place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
5.7

Atmosphere much more commercial and less familiar than 11 years ago. When I arrived I thought I was smelling gas in room. Asked to check, very unfriendly reaction, was feeling"difficult customer" (but was just worried). Finally they gave me another, old room. 65 USD was really expensive for this room! Out of the excursions that they offer, I have booked a cycling tour for 25 USD!, but was not with professional organisation as promised, but with local student who had no school that day. Etc etc

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
9.1

All ok, but huge commissions taken off the activities booking. They take a 7$- 10$ commission per activity day per person for a Skype chat or phone call with the organizations, which makes a massive amount in relation to the hotel fee. I don't know if it's the norm in Livingstone, but elsewhere it's normally 0$ or the tour company splits their profit with the hostels feeding them. Try to book stuff yourself by email earlier, don't let the tour know you're at this hostel until you have a price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Aug 2016
9.7

Jollyboys is really the place to be in Lusaka if you want to meet as many travellers as possible. The place is always full of people, who just sit together and you get talking really easily. The food is also nice, even though there's not that much option. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and comfortable and the whole outside-area is really nice. Basically you can go there, book all your tours there and you'll always have great people helping you out, loved it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Aug 2016
8.9

Awesome backpackers. Everything you need, good set up and fairly close too town. Slight issue with the power, which kept cutting out in the evening whilst cooking - no real explanation given, which wasn't ideal given that the rest of the place had power. Excellent security etc. Wifi only in the bar area which isn't too much of problem.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
10.0

We had an awesome stay at Jollyboys. The people are very friendly and helpful with regards to all inquiries made. The food provided is tasty and the rooms are neat and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Aug 2016
9.4

I absolutely loved my stay at Jollyboys. The staff were so welcoming and helpful - I had tons of questions every day and they answered them all. The atmosphere is fun and friendly and I felt very at home. The facilities (showers, bathrooms, rooms) were great, though the kitchen could use improvement. Overall I had a great stay and would come back anytime.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Jul 2016
8.9

Good atmosphere, pricey for tourists. Wifi is non-existent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
8.9

Great Hostel in a great setting, with a nice bar/restaurant area with a swimmingpool :). They also have an activity/travel desk and the staff is very helpfull to organize your stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
8.0

Wifi is absolutely terrible. If you're looking for a place with great, free wifi, try Livingstone Backpackers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.