X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jollyboys Backpackers Reviews

34 Kanyanta Road, PO Box 61088, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1063 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

our short weekend visit was well worth it as it was the first time we had experience Zambia, the people/ staff were fantastic, very helpful. location ideal for tourists.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Good atmosphere for those looking to have a good time. The staff was awesome, very friendly and personable. The self-catering kitchen was a bit lackluster, but beggars cant be choosers. Really enjoyed the people I met and my hassle-free time at Jollyboys. The one little comlaint was there were a lot of long-term traveling groups, staying there while doing school/volunteer work. They took up much of the common room space and internet usage as they lazed about.


94%

friendly staff, nice atmosphere, good place to meet people.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

I really liked the set up of the hostel with the pool, seating and cushions. I think the bar area could be more lively, maybe I was there at a quiet time but it felt like there was not much atmosphere at night. Maybe if a more extensive dinner menu was offered people would be more inclined to hang around and eat there. All the staff were really nice and helpful, it's also great being able to book all the tours through Jolly Boys. The book exchange was good and also the area for washing clothes.


97%

Really great Hostel with a fantastic atmosphere and location. Not the best restaurant it only had a few different things but the kitchen facilities were good and easy to make your own cheap food :) Would really recommend this place to everyone


80%

Okay Hostel for Livingstone, centrally located close to supermarket and ATMs. Good wifi. Very nice hangout area and garden, pool was not so clean however. Bathrooms clean and new, dorms a bit run down. Free pickup from airport didn't show up.


89%

I don't think this has much to do with the hostel in general -- and the staff and accomodations were definitely NOT the problem -- but the prices being charged for excursions is completely unacceptable. I know this is a tourist destination -- but I was shocked to see prices over 100 USD for activities in Zambia. You don't even pay that much in the US. My main critique of this area is that it is far too expensive for what it is...which is a shame.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything about this hostel was perfect! I really enjoyed my stay and will go back for sure. Thanks:)

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

We spent very good days there, and we enjoyed the atmosphere and the staff.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

I was a great stay. The staff was nice

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Livingstone - we hope to see you back again one day! The Victoria Falls are amazingly different, with very different qualities, in both wet and dry season. All the best with your onward travels!

100%

Clean place, convenient location, good staff. Didn't always get hot water in the shower

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tanzania
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to hear that you loved our facilities and services at Jollyboys Backpackers -we really do aim to give each and every one of our guests and welcoming experience in this beautiful location! Sorry to hear about not having hot water sometimes - we are working on current solar hot water technology and perhaps during the busy New Year's day rush, this just wasn't enough. Have a wonderful 2015!

40%

After seeing the tiny, dark and generally crappy room, and communal areas draped with comatose travellers, we were staggered that this place was actually one of the most expensive in Livingston! So, we walked away from a 10% deposit, to stay in Olga's for 10% cheaper, plus an awesome free fried breakfast included, and a room 3 times the size and 10 times as nice. Even Faulty Towers is $10 a night cheaper and nicer. Recommended only for those who like to pay over the odds for a dingy hole.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry that you were not able to stay with us and did not enjoy the look of the first room that you were shown. Perhaps it it then unfair to rate our services and staff when you didn't get a chance to know us. Olga's is a lovely place for those preferring a B&B environment though the rates are actually slightly higher. Reviews are excellent ways for fellow travelers to get a feel for a place in advance, but best if guest reviews are at the very least honest and from people that have stayed.

89%

Staff are seriusly good - helpful, responsive and competent.

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for mentioning that our staff were above your expectations - we really do love showing our beautiful destination to the world. Enjoy your onward travels!

71%

Jolly Boys is really great for booking activities and are knowledgable about programs. (I would suggest cultural cooking activity and lion encounter) The only thing is in some of the rooms they had bed bugs. Not in mine but many people who we were with got bit

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time on the cultural cooking tour which we mentored a local company to establish. It is great to see our fellow Zambians able to show this beautiful destination to the tourists! We are sorry to hear about the rumour of bugs in other rooms - we do routinely fumigate for mosquitoes and other critters and shall do a further inspection for peace of mind.

91%

By far the best backpackers to stay in in livingstone. Food and drinks slightly pricey but it's very close to shops and the food palace to be able to get things much cheaper.

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so happy to hear that you had an awesome time with us - we hope to see you back again! It really is great that we are located so close to the town centre so guests are within an easy walk to fast food (food palace), Zambian cuisine, Chinese, Indian, Italian, pub grub and even sushi at Ocean Basket!

83%

Nice place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! It was nice having you stay with us too! We hope to see you back again in Livingstone in the future - happy travels in 2015!

100%

Pleasant laid back atmosphere but professional courteous knowledgeable staff. Most helpful with bookings for game drive and Victoria Falls experience.

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed not only our facilities, but also our knowledgeable staff - there are SO many things to do in the area (for every budget) that we really do aim to give every guest the best experience they can hope for based on their interests. Best wishes for an amazing 2015!

97%

An oasis in the middle of a noisy city

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's wonderful that you felt like Jollyboys was an oasis - a calm and welcoming stop over! We hope that you were able to get some fresh mangoes from the trees in the garden while enjoying the break from Livingstone.

94%

Whomever I met at the reception, the staff was friendly and helpful, e.g. in organizing excursions to the Vic Falls or to Zimbabwe or to game drives.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We all work together as a team to provide our guests with excellent and welcoming service so it's great to hear that whomever you met was helpful at organizing your wonderful Livingstone memories.

89%

Excellent options for booking activities at Victoria Falls. Staff were very helpful and they offered a drop off at the falls every morning.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are SO happy to hear that you had a great time with us in Livingstone. Victoria Falls really is a special place! All the best with your travels!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback