X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jollyboys Backpackers Reviews

34 Kanyanta Road, PO Box 61088, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1006 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

We had a lovely stay at the Jollyboys Backpackers in Livingstone! We slept in one of the private rooms. There was only one minor problem; the musquito net didn't fit around our double bed. But apart from that we enjoyed ourselves very much.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Livingstone! We have checked the room which you were in and dropped the mosi net slightly lower so that it fits perfectly around the bed now :)

80%

We spend a very nice week end. Thank you very much

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're very welcome - we love being able to host guests from all parts of the world and show them our beautiful destination! Livingstone really is very special!

100%

An amazing stay with excellent customer services, will be sure to recommend Jolly Boys Backpackers to friends or anyone thinking of staying in Livingstone I truly hope to see you again soon.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We hope to see you again soon too! Thanks for the wonderful compliment that you would recommend us - that really is the highest accolade that we could ask for! Happy travels and see you on your return!

80%

Hostel was okay, very lively atmosphere, lots of travelers from all over.

Owner Comment (Hide)
August is a very busy month of the year in Livingstone and we hope that you enjoyed the lively atmosphere and the many places at Jollyboys Backpackers to escape and chill a bit. Happy travels!

80%

The room was clean, the guesthouse very enjoyable, the food we ordered was good and they were very helpful about trips we wanted to make.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we are happy to hear that you enjoyed both our facilities and services and hope to see you and your friends back in the future! Happy travels!

80%

Shame the pool was so dirty most people wouldn't use it - would have been good on the hot days

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we see from your ratings that you had a great time with us in Livingstone! Sorry that you were not happy with the state of the swimming pool - it is crystal clear now :)

89%

We prefer the Jolly Boys out of town. We were not able to get a room there as it as full to capacity. It is just quieter and has an open kitchen which can be access at all times. We had to leave a 5am and the kitchen was locked at this Jolly Boys. We were not able to have coffee before leaving! The staff was very nice and the rooms were perfect. They were clean and we had everything we needed except for the morning we had to leave. We will definitely be back! Thanks for a good stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Returning guests really are the highest compliment we feel so that you very much! We are happy to hear that you enjoy both of our locations in Livingstone! Please be sure to ask our night supervisor to open the self catering kitchen next time as it is possible - we just keep it locked overnight so that those that have had a bit too much to drink don't try cooking/taking food ;)

97%

Sweet hostel, had all the right things, very decent rooms, nice pool/sunbathing area, really cool chill out place, decent bar and plenty of options whether you wanted food or activities. Free airport pickup and shuttle to the falls was a bonus too. Had African WIFI, but was better than most the other hostels WIFI while in Africa.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for writing a review and we are very happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us in Livingstone and our facilities and services. We really do love our destination and enjoy showing our guests the many wonderful things to do. Happy travels!

60%

we were in a double ensuite bedroom and the toilet was really dirty Soe members of the staff are really nice, but others are not helpfull and agreable

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review as we do take these comments to heart. We are sorry that you felt your toilet was dirty and hope that you requested to have the room recleaned or moved to another room so that you felt more comfortable. Each room is thoroughly cleaned between guests. We hope that you enjoyed your time in our beautiful destination!

83%

Nice hostel that's very central and close to restaurants, grocery stores, banks, etc. Tours can also be booked at the reception which is very convenient. The guests are mostly young but families and couples are also present. I really enjoyed my stay but one thing which I think needs improvement is their wif connectivity. You won't be able to access their wifi if there's 10 people connected to it. Perhaps they should add extra wifi boxes to accommodate their high number of guests. Will b back!

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I was very pleased with the services and accommodations at Jollyboys Backpackers.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I think the water especially hot water should closely be monitored and attended to

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location, nice common areas, low prices! The rooms are very small, so don't plan on spending any time there during the day. The hot water facilities could also be much better (as most places in Africa). We were lucky to be three friends travelling together, but if you want to get to know other travelers I think you might have some difficulties at this hostel. At least during our stay, a lot of the guests seemed to be permanent guests and spent their time sitting in the wifi-area.


60%

It was way too cold in dormitory and the blanket they offered wasn't a blanket, it was like a big towel. And the people at the reception was rude and not really polite. Don't want to recommend to others....


97%

Even we slept in the biggest dorm, we had a peaceful sleep. In generel it is a wonderful place to stay. Good lunch, good beer (prices) and nice people. I would recommend it highly!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Jolly Boys remains a really great option while staying in Livingstone. My only complaints would be the water pressure and temperature in the showers. Just as a heads up for the cooler months (ex: July): If its chilly outside, it will be chilly in the rooms, because they are heavily ventilated. However, there are heavy blankets that keep you warm.


89%

We were thrown between the two locations of the hostel (camp and backpackers), they didn't have room available so they transported us out to the camp which they said would be close by and it was really off. There was no wifi. And the staff just kept us hanging there without informing us wether we had a room or not. Also when promising us a room at the first location, they almost gave it away to two other girls in front of us while we were deciding. This was very rude.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The atmosphere was great... very chilled, with a pillow pit to relax in after walking around the falls. The staff was available to answer questions, but I didn't find them overly friendly or enthusiastic. It was the clients job to actively pursue information. The week I was there, there weren't many solo travelers, but a lot of big groups.


86%

a great place to stay especially catering to a big group of volunteers. lovely place to relax with a huge bar and lounge area and they do food as well. slight mix up with out booking on arrival but accommodating and fit us all into rooms.


83%

Great athmosphere, lovely pool, great bar aand other places to hang, definitely recommend! The private room was good value for money.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(60 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback