X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jorplace Reviews

Keizerstraat 296, The Hague, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
632 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The hostel was very clean, good environment, staff was nice and helpful. It's also close to the beach, but there are not that many offers of "cheap" restaurants around, but good quality ones. The only thing is that is far from the centre of the city, but tram is really close. A good place to chill out.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Marta, Thank you so much for leaving a review, it always helps us and in your case makes us smile! It is great ot hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you some other time @ Jorplace and if so, just send us an email with message and you'll get an awesome discount. Wish you all the best and kind regards, Jorcrew

66%

A nice atmosphere and good location, however not a single possibilty to hang up clothes in the twin dorms and unfortunately not 100%ly free of bed bugs....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Philip, Thank you for your review, it always helps us. We also want to thank you for sending an email. If guests do not inform us or tell their wishes then we are not able to improve our services and deal with problems. As you might understand, in your case, everything has been taken care off. Kind regards and wish you all the best, Jocrew

94%

Great Hostel, we really enjoyed our time there! The staff was really nice and very helpful, the atmosphere in the wintergarden with the fire on and a freshly drawn beer: perfekt! The other guests were really cool and outgoing, so you always had someone to chat with, the kitchen in combination with the supermarket so close by is great when you want to cook your own dinner, and it was really nice to be able to stroll down to the beach in such a short time! We'll definitely be back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Linda, Thank you so much for leaving such a nice review, it makes us smile and our work worthwhile. We hope to see you some other time @ Jorplace and if so, just send us an email with this message and you'll get an awesome discount. Wish you all the best and kind regards, Jorcrew

49%

Atmosphere is really mediocre. The messy decoration may be favorable to some people but we didn't really feel comfortable in it. Facilities are old, shower doesn't have shower head, beds extremely narrow, and one wall in my room is covered with stains... If these are still tolerable and you want to live there despite the low value for money, remember to CHECK OUT IN TIME!! We checked out like 20 minutes late and they took 10 Euros from our deposit... Oh was that a grin on the staff's face?

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Jiawen, Thank you for leaving a review. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as much. At the moment our hostel is going through some renovation wherefore the room you stayed in is going to be painted as well ;). The showerheads are special watersaving showers, it's there for a reason as you might understand. Conerning the check-out it is informed at check-in but we of course do apologize the situation with the staff, this is unacceptable. Kind regards, Jorcrew

54%

It was normal to me. Just so so.


89%

Excellent welcome with a big, friendly smile. All my needs taken care of. Low season, so a bit empty, but I still had a nice few days in Haag/Scheveningen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Frederik, Thank you for leaving a review, it alwasy helps us and in your case makes our work worthwhile, thanks! We hope to see you some other time again at Jorplace and if so, send us an email with this message and you'll get a nice discount ;). Wish you all the best! Jorcrew

71%

The hostel has easy access to public transportation. However, the room really has too many travellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Meng Li, Thank you for leaving a review. It always helps. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not to your satisfaction. Maybe you could have come to reception to request for a smaller room. It might have made your stay a way better one ;). Kind regards, Jorcrew

37%

Its pretty patheticif a place can't get the basics of running a hostel together and I cant think of anything more fundamental than an operational keycard system to access the room. After almost an hour of trying to get the keycard machine to work, we were given the universal keycard so we could actually access the room - mainly to placate us. But only one, between 3 people. The staff can't be faulted too much, for trying with broken equipment. The "fine" system used is also ridiculous.

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ryan, Thank you for leaving a review, it helps. Unfortunately an error in the keys and locks is something out of our leag and from which we are depending on the keycompany. Thank god it has been taken care of as this is out of our hands and we are not able to do something about it. Conercening the 'fine' or 'deposit' we call it, is there for a reason. If you keep the regulations into mind there is really nothing to worry about ;). Wish you all the best and regards, Jorcrew

100%

This is one of the best hostel I've ever been. The place is such close to the beach and the street was fool of places to go out in the morning/afternoon. There was a laundry close to it and 2 super markets. Due to a conference the bus stop was moved out but besides that all was good, there is a kitchen, internet and other facilities., Nice stuff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Teftali, Thank you for leaving such an awesome review, it makes us smile and our work worthwhile! We hope to might see you some day again and if so, send us an email with this message and you will get a nice discount ;). Cheers, Jorcrew

46%

The place itself is decent for the money, but still don't expect to get what you paid for. We rented room 1 which was supposed to be an ensuite (and paid the ensuite price). But the shower was broken so they locked the door to it (and the sink and mirror were in the same room, working fine). So all we had was a toilet. The nearest sink with mirror was upstairs and clear across the property. The bikes are not well kept, do not rent from them. Also the staff were high. Will not be going back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Aubrey, Thank you for leaving a review. It always helps us. We have taken your review into account and as you might understand the shower is fixed again as well as the bikes. Unfortunately people have to tell us before something can really be fixed. We're sorry to hear that you will not be coming back as we will always inprove out business thanks to reviews like yours. Kind regards, Jorcrew

100%

all was great, very kind people and an great atmosphere - especially the fire place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Arne, Thank you for leaving such an awesome review, this is what makes our work worthwile! We hope to see you some other time @ Jorplace. And in case you do.. send us an email with this message and you will get a 10% discount ;). Cheers, Jorcrew

54%

My friend and I were very impressed by the hostel when we arrived and loved that they had an outside area. But we sure weren't as impressed by the staff which was very unfriendly and incompetent. There were security cameras everywhere and we were kicked out of the area downstairs at 10pm because they were 'closing'. In the end we were very happy that we only booked two nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Louisa, Thank you for leaving a review. As you might understand it always helps us. Indeed in the low season we close down the common areas earlier. And security cameras are of course for your own safety and for others ;). Nontheless we hoped you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Jorcrew

71%

It is a little bit more costy than hostels in Germany/Austria, the rooms have much more beds (although only few guests, what is ok), location is actually pretty good, although a little bit distant from The Hague center. The rooms have not been painted for years.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Nikola, Thank you for leaving a review! The rooms are being updated as week speak so the hostel should be in full shining armor again soon ;). We hope you enjoyed your stay and maybe till a next time! Cheers, Jorcrew

83%

I stayed in Room 1. The showers didn't work and it flooded one night. Staff got on it right away next morning, but if I hadn't have woken during night and told everyone, everybody's gear would have been soaked. Lockers are a long way from Room 1, not many of them. Weird, differing hours in community room. Wifi is about the speed of dialup and only worked in Community Room. Great and helpful staff made up for the few deficiencies. Very close to bus/tram stop.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ronald, Thank you for leaving a review, it always helps us as we can learn a lot from it! We also want to thank you for warning everyone about the floading. The problem of course has been taken care of, as well as the WIFI. We hoped you enjoyed your stay and maybe we'll see you another time! Cheers, Jorcrew

86%

Great place, good for when the weather is warm and nice. It reminded me of the beachtown I grew up in in Florida. But not as warm in January. If you are staying for more than a night, it might be wise to not take the room with the most people. The rest of the building seems renovated execpt for the room with 17 beds.


91%

So friendly. My friend and I had a good time in Jorplace. But is not elevator here...so.......(cause my luggage is big & heavy..)


86%

I had a very nice and quiet stay here in January. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was great and I will come back in the summer months if I get the chance.


80%

Nice hostel. I had a problem with someone who took my food for itself, but besides this the stay was ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Lorena, Thank you for your review it really helps us! We are very sorry to hear that somebody took your food. Because of that we advice people to write their names on their food and it really helps. We hope to see you again @ Jorplace. Cheeeers, Jorcrew

83%

All in all its a nice hostel. I didn't like the rooms as the dorms have a triple loft bunk beds and are thus a bit crowded. On the other hand, I really liked their common area and the staff, which is nice and helpful.


91%

Very Nice people there You are very welcome at Jor Place

  • 20th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey John! Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you had an awesome stay! This makes our job worthwhile! We hope to see you again! If so... email us a copy of this text and you will get a 10% discount! Cheers, Jorcrew Jorcrew

(362 results)


View all The Hague Hostels

Please give us your feedback