Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jorplace Reviews

Keizerstraat 296, The Hague, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained


660 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Excellent welcome with a big, friendly smile. All my needs taken care of. Low season, so a bit empty, but I still had a nice few days in Haag/Scheveningen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Frederik, Thank you for leaving a review, it alwasy helps us and in your case makes our work worthwhile, thanks! We hope to see you some other time again at Jorplace and if so, send us an email with this message and you'll get a nice discount ;). Wish you all the best! Jorcrew


The hostel has easy access to public transportation. However, the room really has too many travellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Meng Li, Thank you for leaving a review. It always helps. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not to your satisfaction. Maybe you could have come to reception to request for a smaller room. It might have made your stay a way better one ;). Kind regards, Jorcrew


Its pretty patheticif a place can't get the basics of running a hostel together and I cant think of anything more fundamental than an operational keycard system to access the room. After almost an hour of trying to get the keycard machine to work, we were given the universal keycard so we could actually access the room - mainly to placate us. But only one, between 3 people. The staff can't be faulted too much, for trying with broken equipment. The "fine" system used is also ridiculous.

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ryan, Thank you for leaving a review, it helps. Unfortunately an error in the keys and locks is something out of our leag and from which we are depending on the keycompany. Thank god it has been taken care of as this is out of our hands and we are not able to do something about it. Conercening the 'fine' or 'deposit' we call it, is there for a reason. If you keep the regulations into mind there is really nothing to worry about ;). Wish you all the best and regards, Jorcrew


This is one of the best hostel I've ever been. The place is such close to the beach and the street was fool of places to go out in the morning/afternoon. There was a laundry close to it and 2 super markets. Due to a conference the bus stop was moved out but besides that all was good, there is a kitchen, internet and other facilities., Nice stuff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Teftali, Thank you for leaving such an awesome review, it makes us smile and our work worthwhile! We hope to might see you some day again and if so, send us an email with this message and you will get a nice discount ;). Cheers, Jorcrew


The place itself is decent for the money, but still don't expect to get what you paid for. We rented room 1 which was supposed to be an ensuite (and paid the ensuite price). But the shower was broken so they locked the door to it (and the sink and mirror were in the same room, working fine). So all we had was a toilet. The nearest sink with mirror was upstairs and clear across the property. The bikes are not well kept, do not rent from them. Also the staff were high. Will not be going back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Aubrey, Thank you for leaving a review. It always helps us. We have taken your review into account and as you might understand the shower is fixed again as well as the bikes. Unfortunately people have to tell us before something can really be fixed. We're sorry to hear that you will not be coming back as we will always inprove out business thanks to reviews like yours. Kind regards, Jorcrew


all was great, very kind people and an great atmosphere - especially the fire place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Arne, Thank you for leaving such an awesome review, this is what makes our work worthwile! We hope to see you some other time @ Jorplace. And in case you do.. send us an email with this message and you will get a 10% discount ;). Cheers, Jorcrew


My friend and I were very impressed by the hostel when we arrived and loved that they had an outside area. But we sure weren't as impressed by the staff which was very unfriendly and incompetent. There were security cameras everywhere and we were kicked out of the area downstairs at 10pm because they were 'closing'. In the end we were very happy that we only booked two nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Louisa, Thank you for leaving a review. As you might understand it always helps us. Indeed in the low season we close down the common areas earlier. And security cameras are of course for your own safety and for others ;). Nontheless we hoped you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Jorcrew


It is a little bit more costy than hostels in Germany/Austria, the rooms have much more beds (although only few guests, what is ok), location is actually pretty good, although a little bit distant from The Hague center. The rooms have not been painted for years.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Nikola, Thank you for leaving a review! The rooms are being updated as week speak so the hostel should be in full shining armor again soon ;). We hope you enjoyed your stay and maybe till a next time! Cheers, Jorcrew


I stayed in Room 1. The showers didn't work and it flooded one night. Staff got on it right away next morning, but if I hadn't have woken during night and told everyone, everybody's gear would have been soaked. Lockers are a long way from Room 1, not many of them. Weird, differing hours in community room. Wifi is about the speed of dialup and only worked in Community Room. Great and helpful staff made up for the few deficiencies. Very close to bus/tram stop.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ronald, Thank you for leaving a review, it always helps us as we can learn a lot from it! We also want to thank you for warning everyone about the floading. The problem of course has been taken care of, as well as the WIFI. We hoped you enjoyed your stay and maybe we'll see you another time! Cheers, Jorcrew


Great place, good for when the weather is warm and nice. It reminded me of the beachtown I grew up in in Florida. But not as warm in January. If you are staying for more than a night, it might be wise to not take the room with the most people. The rest of the building seems renovated execpt for the room with 17 beds.


So friendly. My friend and I had a good time in Jorplace. But is not elevator here...so.......(cause my luggage is big & heavy..)


I had a very nice and quiet stay here in January. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was great and I will come back in the summer months if I get the chance.


Nice hostel. I had a problem with someone who took my food for itself, but besides this the stay was ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Lorena, Thank you for your review it really helps us! We are very sorry to hear that somebody took your food. Because of that we advice people to write their names on their food and it really helps. We hope to see you again @ Jorplace. Cheeeers, Jorcrew


All in all its a nice hostel. I didn't like the rooms as the dorms have a triple loft bunk beds and are thus a bit crowded. On the other hand, I really liked their common area and the staff, which is nice and helpful.


Very Nice people there You are very welcome at Jor Place

  • 20th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey John! Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you had an awesome stay! This makes our job worthwhile! We hope to see you again! If so... email us a copy of this text and you will get a 10% discount! Cheers, Jorcrew Jorcrew


Really friendly staff behind the front desk and a good atmosphere in the downstairs bar. Nice room overlooking the city in the twin room with comfortable mattresses on the floor. The location is out by the beach only a few minutes walk away, so its a great location if that's what you want, but its a 20 minute/3 euro tram ride into the city centre. Wish we could have stayed longer and in summer this place would be amazing.


Very good hostel but very quiet in winter close enough to the beach and transport


This hostel is beyond underrated. When you first walk in you don't even feel as if your in Holland anymore. It has a really good vibe, super clean, and the staff is phenominal. I'd definitely go back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Kendall, Thank you for your review! It was awesome to have you over! We hope to see you again @ Jorplace :) If so.. send us an email with a copy of this text and you'll get a 10% discount! Wish you all the best!! Cheers Jorcrew


The place is not bad, but the rooms and the toilets are designed to keep people there as short as possible. Really not welcoming... Smallest sink ever, the mirror is too small and too high, there are triple berths in the dorm and space between the levels are too low so you can't even sit on the bed. 20 euro deposit is too much. There is no 24h receptionist, so if you have to leave early, there is nobody to help you check out and your deposit can only be paid back by bank transfer later.


Great location to beach- the best, But far away from everything else (10 stops on the tram to get anywhere relatively populated). Winter is not the time to visit this place. Staff are friendly, Wifi is frustrating at the best of times, must be good at climbing- bunk beds are stacked three up with no ladder.

(377 results)

View all The Hague Hostels

Please give us your feedback