X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Journeys Brighton Hostel Reviews

33 Richmond Place, Brighton, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
570 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 64%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

The shower facilities are appalling. Water swimming all over the bathroom floor and the cubicle itself overflowing due to a blocked plug hole. Also not very clean as there was knots of hair all over the place.

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

I didn't like bed at the bottom and the hostel can't change it to me to get top bed i have been dispointed no breakfast late i were late due to long night

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

No idea how anyone can say anything negative about this place. Fantastic clean cheap comfy great location. Exactly what I'd want in a hostel.


77%

Location was perfect. The heater in the room (Room no. 9) didn't function. Also the bathrooms could have been cleaner with a hand wash kept inside. The staff was kind enough to let us keep our luggage even after the check out.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

i stayed in a many hostel before and this one had the biggest chillout lounge i had seen, with people playing games and generally sociallising. i felt at home.

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Upon arrival I was extremely disappointed as it was nothing like the description. I was very unhappy with the arrangements and was awake the whole night scared for my safety as I was sharing a room the 3 older men (I am 20 and female) who were all depressed and one asked if he could come with me back home (as a serious suggestion) then followed me to the bathroom in the morning to ask again. Having one ladder in the room so if I wanted to get down I had to ask or jump only scared me more.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

The only positive about this hostel is the location, other than that everything was disgusting. The room was awful, it smelt like no fresh air or daylight had passed through it in months. The shower room was disgusting, only 1 shower worked, there was yellow water all over the floor leaking from the broken showers, the shower had a random plastic chair in it. I wouldn't wish this place on my worst enemy. I really cannot understand how the staff can just ignore the filthy, smelly rooms.


34%

The hostel was terribly dirty and the 18 person dormitory i slept in only had one really small room. It smelled awefully inside. The facilities were horrible, dirty and two of the three bathrooms were closed because they were broken. This hostel is embarrising and i dont understand that they dare to ask money for this.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I was really impressed with the welcoming atmosphere. Staff were really friendly, and i felt very safe during my stay. The only thing that was needing attention was the showers. Some of them weren't working, and the ones i used on the 1st floor were quite hard to wash under as the head was so high on the wall. That being said, i would definitely come back!

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Was ok but not really quite a kitchen. Expected something a bit more. Toilets/ showers were dirty. Common room facilities were good but not big enough for the number of people staying there. Location best thing!

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback