Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Journeys Brighton Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.0
Good 624 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
6.0
Good 624 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 5.5
Journeys Brighton Hostel Located at 33 Richmond Place, Brighton, Brighton.
Journeys Brighton Hostel
England
Brighton East Sussex BN2 9NA 33 Richmond Place, Brighton
60% 624
50.8271922 -0.1343250
Journeys Brighton Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
3.7

This hostel SUCKS! It is soooo poorly maintained. We had a 4 room and the room was literally the old kitchen. Still had metal splash backs. They just put 4 beds in a kitchen and called it a room. No air flow, no window, no aircon. Just an old fan that pushed hot musty air around the room. Showers where disgusting, you are ankle deep in murky water, no drainage & share with boys & girls with only a curtain for privacy. The hostel is also called Home not Journeys. Will never be staying here again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
6.3

This hostel was well located, good value and the beds were comfortable. The room was cramped though, the showers flooded and some of the staff were a bit rude (most were fine). The room next to ours was robbed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
6.9

The one bathroom on the first floor didn't have a proper seat, which was very strange. They don't cost a lot so a new seat would be very handy and everyone would appreciate it! I stayed in a room with 11 other people, so we naturally had the window open, which let the street traffic noise in in the mornings. It was super loud, but there can't be anything done about that. The breakfast was very minimal, but ok for this stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
10.0

I went over there with a group of friends to celebrate a birthday. The place is well located, accessible and easy to find. The staff was really nice and was very welcoming. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and everyone we met was great. I would definitely recommend this place that is value for money to spend a good time with friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2016
9.1

Place spotlessly clean staff amazing looking forward to returning soon

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.3

I read some terrible reviews about Journeys, but thankfully overall had a great experience. Quirky place, attracting overseas visitors, students etc. We went for the Brighton Marathon. +ves, great value, fun staff, superb location, comfy bed -ves, no where to put belongings, floor space very cramped, bed space also cramped

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Feb 2016
2.9

This hostel is more of a homeless hostel rather than a backpacker hostel which is fine and I respect that but I wish this had been made clearer. I booked a room with a toilet and shower on hostel world but when I arrived there was no toilet in my ensuite. The toilet on my floor was broken and the ones on the next floor very dirty. The kitchen was in a tiny cupboard so not great. The lounge was full all day and night with dodgy men which I found intimidating. The staff were not experienced.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2016
2.0

The worst hotel I ever slept

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Feb 2016
3.7

Extremely dirty, hair on my pillow, a used tissue in my bed, I'm sure the linnen was not changed. Disgusting. Three bunk beds, old, structure so noisy that it woke me up with every turn. No curtains on the beds like it shows in the pictures, no privacy. The shower was flooded, hair everywhere. Hair in the sink. Toilettes so disgusting, I rather turned around and walked away. Difficulties with checking in due refurbishment works. No alcohol licence, but own brought drinks not allowed either

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.