X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Journeys Greenwich West Hostel Reviews

86 Tanner's Hill, Deptford, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
699 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 63%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I really liked the Journey Hostel. Friendly guests, good staff and a good breakfast (which was included). Overall very nice and also pretty close to Deptford Bridge and New Cross train station which takes you to London Bridge in less than 10 minutes)

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, I am glad you've like and appreciate our hostel. We look forward to see you again next time.

26%

worst hostel i have ever stayed!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for booking with, we appreciate your comment, unfortunately you did not specify what is wrong wit our hostel but at the same time we appreciate your comment. We hope next time you will have a better stay with us. Once again thanks for the comment

80%

Nice people, very helpful. The hotel was a bit out of the centre, but very good connection by train. Everything was clean and looked very well maintained. Only wifi was a bit difficult to get on. In the end we didn't bother because it was already so late.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taken time to leave a comment, we do appreciate the positive words, and we are thriving to improve on all our services to al of our guests. We hope to see you next time you are in London!! Enjoy

63%

The hostel is decent, not great. The location is far from the center and not near a tube station, but near a rail station, generally means you have to switch trains to get where you need to. Staff are nice but not overly helpful. The wifi was very spotty and I wasn't the only one who mentioned it but most times they will say it is your device. (It's not. They need to reset the router because when they do it works). Not the cleanest, no real common room so hard to meet other travellers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment, the issue with WiFi has been reported to our Internet provider (British Telecom) and they have assure us that all is now resolved. Next time you are I London, we can surely give you a discount on your first night to compensate for your inconveniences. Please always remember to take free maps in the reception and our staff are always available to help in directing you to right way to travel. I hope we shall see you next time you are in London. thanks

54%

Bunk beds in three levels, can't even seat properly.. Super small bathroom, staff at reception wasn't really looking friendly, they had no idea how to get to the airport ... Breakfast was alright but that's about it. Value for money? Yes, if you're a bacpacker who doesn't mind a bit of dust and filthy shower just to save a little, but if you're looking for a good hostel, this is not it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment and for staying at our hostel. We are sorry that you have not been satisfactory. We will try to improve in all aspects. Thanks again for your opinion.

60%

I cancelled my booking because my plans changed so didn't stay there on this occasion. I've received 8 emails asking me to leave a review so here it is. I didn't stay there, and it sucks to get that many emails!

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Staff is curt and makes you carry your own linens up to the room & make your own bed. Bar closes pretty early. I didn't mind having to share facilities with all genders. Loud music playing on all floors & there are some really...colourful characters living there. Some were nice, some were batshit crazy. The common room was excellent & made some good friends. The kitchen is a horrifyingly small cubby. People steal food even with names on them. Decent Wi-Fi. Nearish Greenwich but v close to DLR


29%

Receptionist [young male] can destroy you all day. Explain 10 min that i don't need ref number, you can find my booking by Name surname from passport - impossible. Location: only overground and buses :: [ Fawele ] of London Shower: Wery wery wery Hot water, stinking Music in corridors to 11pm Loude hand dryers, so if you had room near showers you will be wekup every hour by night Somtimes they move you to another room, put all you staff in weat plastic bag. Waste your time and money !!!!!!!


100%

Exactly what it says on the tin , good transport links close to decent pubs


100%

Fantastic stay, will come back once again

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

IT IS AN OK HOSTEL TO BE IN THEY GIVE JUICE AS PART OF BREAKFAST


80%

Reasonably priced and helpful staff. Would use again.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic stay and good staff. Will come to visit again

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

The bathroom facilities are inadequate, extremely cramped and dirty. Same can be said about the dorms.




View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback