X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Journeys Greenwich West Hostel Reviews

86 Tanner's Hill, Deptford, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
668 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 66%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

IT IS AN OK HOSTEL TO BE IN THEY GIVE JUICE AS PART OF BREAKFAST


80%

Reasonably priced and helpful staff. Would use again.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic stay and good staff. Will come to visit again

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

The bathroom facilities are inadequate, extremely cramped and dirty. Same can be said about the dorms.


43%

They putted pillow blanket and bedsheets on the reception desk, on my hands coming from outside touching things in the tube etc... they where no ironised looking as if they where used !!! Asking them to get me better stuff a blackguy starts to get nervous and asking to the other girl receptionist about my stay in that Hostal ! She called me and I asked if was all ok and the Black guy starts to watch me like if he wanted to fight! Then I left, breakfast time he was there continuing watchingmebad


100%

fantastic stay! will definitely return, I had a good stay, breakfast was great, even though is free, in some hostel you have to pay extra for same thing, everybody was very chilled and the staff was awsome


100%

I really enjoy my stay, I felt welcome, I am sure I will go back

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

really dirty and the atmosphere downstairs was terrible. not social at all. the bathroom had grime everywhere and it smelled like urine.... you can't fit more than maybe four people in the kitchen it is tiny!! terrible location too..


54%

I stayed at the 9 bed mixed dorm.There were only 8 lockers.Someone used 2 lockers.Most of the keys to locker were broken.The guest who stayed for a long time used the locker with the key which was not broken.So new guests scrambled for the locker. Though I wrote my name on my food,it was eaten as if a mouse bit it. There were the guests who badly used the toilet;who urinated with opening the door and didn't flush excrement..

  • 17th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

I don't recommend Journeys!! First hostel I've ever stayed in that I've disliked. Wifi didn't work at all. The staff were unfriendly. This hostel was made up of an older, male crowd. Absolutely no social atmosphere!! Do not expect to meet people at this hostel. Showers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, unfortunately we don't control who makes booking, guest makes booking from online agency but we do appreciate your comments. In respect of the wi fi, we have the fastest broadband in UK provided by British telecommunication called fibre broadband, we will endeavour we report this to our provider and definitely improve on this. We hope to see you again

60%

Yea not a bad place to stay I just didn't feel very safe in that area at all nothing to with hostel though but not great area

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

I didn't like the place, the bed was so terrible. There wasn't space inside the refrigerator to keep the food. The kitchen was so small


49%

Staff never smiled. At all. Ever. Is your job really that bad? And on our flier when we checked in it said "no downloading on wifi or you will be banned from using" but was perfectly fine for a male staff member to live stream an entire soccer match and make the paying guests internet lag for over an hour, pretty bad since 1) you totally contradicted your rules and 2) most guests in the hostel were using internet to find jobs, find houses, or do homework and 3) he could've watched it on the TV.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for booking with us, we never stop any guest downloading anything on the internet, and if that rules was ever used, we have removed that. but we hope you come back again

91%

if people stay in more than one room during the stay then they have the key code and can enter rooms that they are not staying in. it would be nice to have curtains around the bed and hooks to hang coats and wet towels.

  • 20th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bermuda
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, we appreciate them, we will continue to improve

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
43%

Wi-fi was a bit better than in other hostels but still far from perfection. Rooms were kept clean - cleaning almost every day, but toilets and showers were unacceptable. Staff - unhelpful not to say RUDE! Kitchen opening times - catastrophy - early in the morning when you want to eat something and go - the kitchen was locked. The hostel adverises the lockers in every room - in 4 bed room there were only two lockers one of which was broken... So only 25% of guests had an access to a locker!


69%

Some of the staff weren't as friendly considering many guests were in London for the first time (with the exception of Andy, Sergil and Shenya, hope I spelt your names right!) Kitchen, showers and toilets could do with some improvement, especially the ones upstairs! Also, Kitchen timings should be extended as its too tiny for the amount of people staying at the hostel.. hope this helps :) tip for guests: Quite far from central london so think twice if you wanna go there frequently!

  • 29th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience, we have addressed the issue with all the staff in order to remind them of our always friendly attitude and environment. We are working on renovating our shower areas to make the area more convenient for our guest. We strive to make our hostel a second home to our guest and we appreciate your feedback. thank you for your stay,, regards Rodolfo

46%

Showers are dirty, toilets are dirty, wifi does not work properly and in the same time a hostel stuff is sitting in the reception doing NOTHING. As a response to any need of customers is arrogant and unhelpful. As an example wifi doesn't work properly, after few days I asked them to inform manager, after another 2 days they said they couldn't do it because he was not in the hostel. WHAT! Staff need to be trained how to use mobile phones/email. I have never seen something like that.

  • 14th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologize for the inconvenience with the issues you had. We have corrected the internet issue with a faster service and have trained the staff on the use of the same. We appreciate your feedback and we thank you for your stay, regards Rodolfo

63%

Second stay here...Any hostel's minimum requirement is an adequate service when you arrive,a good night sleep during your stay and a hot shower in the morning to set you up for the day.Unfortunately I did not get a good night sleep due to other room mates being noisy upon entering over and over. Only cold showers and the showers were dirty. Service was ok and breakfast was...FREE (you wouldn't have paid for it).A Good Hostel service shouldn't rely on the luck of their guests this one does...

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologize for the inconvenience with the issues you had. We strive to make our hostel a second home to our guess and we thank you for your stay,, regards Rodolfo

26%

They do not give us enough bread. Toilet is always dirty. I waited for check-in for two hours because they did not finish clearning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologize for the inconvenience with the issues you had. I apologize for the situation with the bread, we have corrected the issue, also, we have added extra staff hours during the day in order to keep the toilet and shower area cleaner. We are currently renovating our shower facilities to make your stay better. We strive to make our hostel a second home to our guest and we appreciate your feedback. thank you for your stay,, regards Rodolfo

77%

I was quite happy with everything. No complaints. The staff was very nice plus the rooms were clean.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(497 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback