Hostelworld.com

Journeys King's Cross Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 828 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 828 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.8
Journeys King's Cross Hostel Located at 54-58 Caledonian Road, Kings Cross, London.
Journeys King's Cross Hostel
England
London N1 9DP 54-58 Caledonian Road, Kings Cross
74% 828
51.5323482 -0.1199913
Journeys King's Cross Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
8.9

The staff were courteous, witty and kind. Upon check in clear instructions were given and upon leaving receiving deposits of key, towels etc was straightforward. The staff especially to be commended are Karl, Mortan and Siobbhan. breakfast was plentiful so all in all a very good though different experience

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
9.7

Great time staying here over the weekend. Lovely people, good staff, clean and tidy plus great location. Cheers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Apr 2016
8.3

Friendly staff, cute cat, excellent location. Rooms are tiny and there is hardly any space to put your luggage in the room, I stayed in a 6 bed dorm. Beds are very squeaky and loud. The room was clean but the toilet was a bit gross. Good place to stay if you are backpacking, don't expect anything amazing though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
10.0

5UPERB!!! Really!! Clean!, Very!! Friendly!! and Helpful! Staff!!, 5 mins from kings cross, Cool!! part of town, close to other cool places, great breakfast, AMAZING!! price for Accomodation in London for the price, good showers, handy iron, money back when for locker key, store belongings in locker on day of departure until evening. Lockers have cctv. Information/tickets for things in London, I would Definently stay again and Well! Worth The Price! Thank you Guys!! All The Best!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! thanks so much for leaving such a great review. We can wait to se you next time you're in London! :)

  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 40 reviews
29th Mar 2016
7.1

good mattress, cool and ventilated rooms, bit stuffy for 6 people, luckily it was just 3 people there. Not much atmosphere or space to sit down there but has its own kitchen which is a big plus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We have a lounge, kitchen and smoking area for socialising. Hope to see you again next time you're in London.

27th Mar 2016
4.6

What is really good about this hostel is the price. Only this. The entire hostel has a really dark environment. Everything is badly illuminated. Location is perfect: really close to Kings Cross St Pancras, so you can get a tube to everywhere from there. I didnt see any staff. About sleep time: you probably wont get any sleep because of the noise. Noisy place at all. Facilities are really bad. I wanted to have a glass of water and they ran out of cups. No soup to wash the cup either. For 9,99£ ok

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. we try to keep the hostel as quiet as possible during the night by doing things like closing the smoking area at 9:30pm and the common areas at 2am. We also sell earplugs at reception and do regular building checks during the night to make sure the hostel is clean and quiet. Unfortunately noise and some dirty dishes is something that comes with communal living, but we try our best and have a housekeeper working through the busy dinner times to help keep the kitchen as clean as possible and the glasses washed.

  • obwardle9503
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
7.4

Legitimately good hostel. Hugely crowded and security was a bit questionable, but more than understandable considering the location. Same goes with the price. For where it was, I can't imagine much better quality within a small budget. Most staff were totally affable, but a few lacking social interaction skills. Hilarious crowd, close in proximity via the tube to a bunch of the major attractions, and a generally pleasant experience. Would recommend!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
19th Mar 2016
3.7

The hostel was probably the most unpleasant one I ever stayed in. The rooms were dirty and way too small and so hot that with the window open all night you couldn't sleep because of the traffic. Bathrooms were way too small and there was almost no space to get changed. Lockers had to be paid for as well as lugagge storage after check-out. The kitchen was not clean at any time. The only positive thing about this place was breakfast.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We know that the hostel can feel a little cosy at times but in order to keep our prices so low (especially considering our fantastic location) we need to do the best we can with the space we have. We also have housekeepers and cleaners working throughout the day, a housekeeper on during the busy dinner times to help out in the kitchen and we also do regular building checks through the night to make sure the hostel is clean and tidy.

  • alextran1993
  • Vietnam, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Mar 2016
7.7

Firts of all, I have to said that the staffs are extremely helpful and funny. They answer all of my questions and suggest all the good things. Secondly, the location is very convenience since it's close to the supermarket (opens until 11pm) and King's Cross Station that can take you to almost everywhere. However, the kitchen is really dirty at night and people there don't know how to clean their stuffs so if you want to cook, be prepared!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2016
8.0

Hostel is very close to the metro which makes transportation to all sight-seeing stuff convenient. Staff was very friendly and lively. The wifi had some issues which they tried to fix as fast as possible. The rooms could be a bit cleaner, but it was fine. It's kind of a hippy hostel, which made it interesting. Overall it was a good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.