X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Journeys King's Cross Hostel Reviews

54-58 Caledonian Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
587 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Not the place to go if you want somewhere a little quieter. A lot of noise and people getting drunk later at night. Most other aspects of the hostel were fine though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to read that you had an unpleasant stay. Our night shift manager always tries to keep the noise level to a minimum after a certain hour but of course it is up to our guests to be considerate about other guest's sleep. We always advise our guests to come to reception and report any problem you might have to our shift managers, they will be happy to make your experience as nice as possible. Journeys Kings Cross Staff

60%

very loud, and not even because of the people who were staying in but because of the staff. we had a room downstairs next to reception and we could hear the staff having very loud conversations in the middle of the night, the hoover at 7am and the guy in the kitchen putting his music very loud at 8am while having breakfast. You litteraly hear every single noise in the building as well.

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our night shift manager always tries to keep the noise level to a minimum after a certain hour but of course it is up to our guests to be considerate about other guest's sleep. Our hostel is located inside and old historical building, in central London so we cannot avoid all the noise we would like to. We always advise our guests to come to reception and report any problem you might have to our shift managers, they will be happy to make your experience as nice as possible. Journeys Kings Cross

77%

An issue when you have a 17-beds room is that people are almost constantly coming in and out.... so if you plan to sleep, better going somewhere else!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

Well placed, lovely staff

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I was pleasantly surprised here! After believing London is the worst for hostels in the world (And most expensive!) This was cheap and good! Not fantastic but excellent value for money. The beds were a little scary (I was on the third foor) but really good that they had powerpoints and curtains. Very good!


91%

The only bad thing about this hostel was that we couldn't connect the wifi in the room.


74%

This is a good and clean short stay place if you use a private room and are not piled into one of the dorms with their three tier bunks. The staff were very helpful and the location excellent for tourists. The food provided for breakfast was another plus. However, the showers were often cold or took a while to warm up. The seating in the small cubby hole of a loungue was so soft that it nearly made my back giveway ( it needs replacing). It mainly attracts young people from all over the world.


83%

I stayed in 17-bed dorm so as expected it was crammed! You get what you pay for though, it's very cheap for London! The staff was very friendly, the location is perfect (especially if you're wanting to catch a train near St Pancras as I did) and the common areas are cozy. On the negative side, it just feels very tiny everywhere because of the low walls and feels kinda crammed. However, it is not something they can fix, it's lack of space! I would go again for short stays.

  • 2nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment. Our hostel is located in central London and in order to keep our prices as low as possible we need to make the most of the little space that we have. We always advise our guests to come to reception and report any problem you might have to our shift managers, they will be happy to make your experience as nice as possible. Journeys Kings Cross Staff

89%

It was a very good hostel, the staff is very nice and helpful, we only stayed for one night but we were able to leave our stuff there for a few days for a cheap price in securized lockers. It's good to have breakfast included, and tea and coffee offered all day, which is brilliant! The dorms are quite big but well organized so it makes it ok. The bathroom could have been better but everything was ok and still very good. I would definitely stay there again!


83%

Everithing was great, but there wasn't hot or warm or tepid water in the bathroom!

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Kitchen was disgusting and the lack of storage in rooms meant getting in and out with a suitcase was a nightmare of tripping over 16 other people's stuff all spread over the middle of the room. Privacy curtains were a tatty bit of fabric essentially hanging over a bit of string tied from one end of the bed to the other. Light and plug socket by the bed didn't work either!

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we regret that you were not completely satisfied with your stay.We service the kitchen twice daily,but it is up also to our customers to make sure that they clean up after themselves,and unfortunately this is not always the case.We also invite customers with a lot of baggage to utilise our luggage room and to keep in the room just the essential things for their stay.Had any problem with light and plug been reported to reception it would of been addressed immediately

57%

The only great thing about the hostel is the location. The common room is very dark and smelly due to being in the basement/kitchen. Furthermore the room was very chilly (windows not closing properly) and the mattress was old and uncomfortable. The room was in no good condition as were the shower facilities. there was also a very penetrating smell of cleaning supplies everywhere (smelling like a toilet - lemony cleaning agent).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we regret to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay.Due to high costs of properties in London,we have to make full use of all the space available including the basement,to keep our rates low.Had any problem of the window been brought to our attention we would had our maintenance staff address it immediately.We have full time cleaning staff servicing bathrooms and rooms on a daily basis to ensure they are in good conditions.

60%

Security was great and the bedroom was clean spacious and very handy having a plug socket in every bed space but the communal area was dirty the showers were dirty and only had cold water and there was just no atmosphere in this hostel.


49%

This hostel is well located but that s all for it. The shower where not well clean, the water was more cold than warm. There were a lot of robering and people smoking mari-juana all day. And half of the personal weren't good. Puting loud music while changing bed in the morning and keeping that music in rooms even when people were sleeping. No locker in the room, only paid one in the corridor...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our showers can drop in temperature at peak times - we recommend showering at odd hours for a clean, warm shower with good pressure. As well as lockers, we have a free luggage room, and sell padlocks for your suitcase. Shared dorms can get loud during waking hours, such as when our housekeepers are working after 10am. We offer free earplugs for light sleepers. Any drug use should be reported at once, as we have a zero tolerance policy on this. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay.

80%

Very good deal. Cheap and clean, close to St Pancras international train station so very convenient. However very noisy, the building isn't soundproofed at all so basically you can clearly hear people's conversations in the next room or in the corridor, and excessive street noise. Bathrooms are rather small. OK for one or two nights though.


40%

Beds are like cages, rooms are too small ! Have travelled over Europe and stayed in many hostels but rarely saw so many people in so little spaces. There is definitely room for improvement in the facilities (showers……..). Cleanliness (kitchen included) should also be a focus. Rates per room are above what is actually delivered. Especially compared to neighboring hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We try to make the most out of our space here, as there is not much to go around this close to central London. We do have dorms with small numbers of beds, such as triple dorms and double private rooms for those who desire more space for themselves. We have cleaning staff on hand 12 hours of every day, and the kitchen is cleaned before and after breakfast and at night. Thank you for leaving your feedback. We appreciate reviews and hope that you enjoyed your trip to London.

69%

Its a nice atmosphere, and possible to let your hair. just too cramped to be worth the price. Staff were all great, just one of them let them down in one instance of discourtesy, should have known better but still nice. Nice change from the hell hole hostels that give London a bad name.


57%

I hope they can have larger space

  • 22nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We try to make the most out of our space here, as there is not much to go around this close to central London. We do have dorms with small numbers of beds, such as triple dorms and double private rooms for those who desire more space for themselves. Thank you for leaving your feedback. We appreciate reviews and hope that you enjoyed your trip to London.

71%

All of staffs very nice and good location to stay at London center


69%

Good atmosphere, I guess in a "edgier" part of town but cheap supermarket across the road, close to Kings Cross


(252 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback