X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Journeys King's Cross Hostel Reviews

54-58 Caledonian Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
600 Total Reviews
  • 61%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 54%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

The toilets are just impossible! I've never been to such dirty toilet in my entire life! The staff at the kitchen is really impolite! At the breakfast my friend put the dish at the sink and a guy from the staff came to him and said foreigners do not respect the rules! It was the first time of my friend in a hostel and some hostels clean the dishes from the costumers! He just did not know! If foreigners have problems with rules, natives have problems with RESPECT! The staff at the desk is ok!


57%

The only great thing about the hostel is the location. The common room is very dark and smelly due to being in the basement/kitchen. Furthermore the room was very chilly (windows not closing properly) and the mattress was old and uncomfortable. The room was in no good condition as were the shower facilities. there was also a very penetrating smell of cleaning supplies everywhere (smelling like a toilet - lemony cleaning agent).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we regret to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay.Due to high costs of properties in London,we have to make full use of all the space available including the basement,to keep our rates low.Had any problem of the window been brought to our attention we would had our maintenance staff address it immediately.We have full time cleaning staff servicing bathrooms and rooms on a daily basis to ensure they are in good conditions.

60%

Security was great and the bedroom was clean spacious and very handy having a plug socket in every bed space but the communal area was dirty the showers were dirty and only had cold water and there was just no atmosphere in this hostel.


49%

This hostel is well located but that s all for it. The shower where not well clean, the water was more cold than warm. There were a lot of robering and people smoking mari-juana all day. And half of the personal weren't good. Puting loud music while changing bed in the morning and keeping that music in rooms even when people were sleeping. No locker in the room, only paid one in the corridor...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our showers can drop in temperature at peak times - we recommend showering at odd hours for a clean, warm shower with good pressure. As well as lockers, we have a free luggage room, and sell padlocks for your suitcase. Shared dorms can get loud during waking hours, such as when our housekeepers are working after 10am. We offer free earplugs for light sleepers. Any drug use should be reported at once, as we have a zero tolerance policy on this. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay.

80%

Very good deal. Cheap and clean, close to St Pancras international train station so very convenient. However very noisy, the building isn't soundproofed at all so basically you can clearly hear people's conversations in the next room or in the corridor, and excessive street noise. Bathrooms are rather small. OK for one or two nights though.


40%

Beds are like cages, rooms are too small ! Have travelled over Europe and stayed in many hostels but rarely saw so many people in so little spaces. There is definitely room for improvement in the facilities (showers……..). Cleanliness (kitchen included) should also be a focus. Rates per room are above what is actually delivered. Especially compared to neighboring hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We try to make the most out of our space here, as there is not much to go around this close to central London. We do have dorms with small numbers of beds, such as triple dorms and double private rooms for those who desire more space for themselves. We have cleaning staff on hand 12 hours of every day, and the kitchen is cleaned before and after breakfast and at night. Thank you for leaving your feedback. We appreciate reviews and hope that you enjoyed your trip to London.

69%

Its a nice atmosphere, and possible to let your hair. just too cramped to be worth the price. Staff were all great, just one of them let them down in one instance of discourtesy, should have known better but still nice. Nice change from the hell hole hostels that give London a bad name.


57%

I hope they can have larger space

  • 22nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We try to make the most out of our space here, as there is not much to go around this close to central London. We do have dorms with small numbers of beds, such as triple dorms and double private rooms for those who desire more space for themselves. Thank you for leaving your feedback. We appreciate reviews and hope that you enjoyed your trip to London.

71%

All of staffs very nice and good location to stay at London center


69%

Good atmosphere, I guess in a "edgier" part of town but cheap supermarket across the road, close to Kings Cross


97%

We really liked our stay at journeys! It is quite small but its nice and cosy. The staff are really friendly and very helpful! It's in a great location and very close to the station! Would definitely recommend to others :)


37%

This is an expensive hostel,a dark gloomy place with bunks three high and no storage facilities in your room..... In the 40 or so hostels I have stayed at this is the worst one that i have been too.......Unlesss you are desperate DON,T stay here......

Owner Comment (Hide)
We aim to be one of the least expensive hostels that is this close to the centre of London. We offer a luggage storage room for free during your stay with 24/7 access, we sell padlocks for luggage and many of our rooms have luggage racks. We also rent lockers for secure storage of valuables, and these are kept in common areas where they can be monitored. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay and hope the rest of your trip was good.

54%

Wifi kept dying. So many fire doors it was basically a maze. Wifi only available in the basement. The bed I had was almost impossible to get into, it was a middle bunk with a stepladder into it, but then -another- stepladder was superimposed over it to the higher bunk. Some dodgy people in the hostel. Friendly and polite staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our free wifi can become slower when there are lots of people signed in. It works much more quickly at off-peak times. Thank you for leaving your feedback. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay at Journeys.

57%

The rooms are very crow, bed are to close, no space to put your things, no lookers.


69%

Having the location next to kings cross station was nice. The security for baggage is a bit of a concern since everyone's bag gets locked into one room, as opposed to individual lockers. Showers were abit rough but overall it was a pleasant visit.


69%

Good for somewhere to sleep, but I wouldn't want to spend much more time there. Very cramped and noisy, many of the doors slam whenever they're let to close, so all I could hear all night was constant slamming from people around the hostel.

  • 25th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location next to Kings Cross station


54%

Very small! showers didn't work. No atmosphere, okay for a night if you're passing through but wouldn't recommend if you're on holiday.


83%

Never seen triple decker bunk beds before. Other than that is a decent enough placw to stay cheaply with good tube links


83%

Very secure location, need to be buzzed in. Location was right down the street from St. Pancras. Staff was helpful and inclusive. The problem I had: my room had a big leak in the ceiling and since it was "staff picnic" no one was around to fix it until the next day. Other than that an alright place to stay.


(262 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback