X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Journeys King's Cross Hostel Reviews

54-58 Caledonian Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
616 Total Reviews
  • 62%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 54%Cleanliness
  • 55%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I stayed in 17-bed dorm so as expected it was crammed! You get what you pay for though, it's very cheap for London! The staff was very friendly, the location is perfect (especially if you're wanting to catch a train near St Pancras as I did) and the common areas are cozy. On the negative side, it just feels very tiny everywhere because of the low walls and feels kinda crammed. However, it is not something they can fix, it's lack of space! I would go again for short stays.

  • 2nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment. Our hostel is located in central London and in order to keep our prices as low as possible we need to make the most of the little space that we have. We always advise our guests to come to reception and report any problem you might have to our shift managers, they will be happy to make your experience as nice as possible. Journeys Kings Cross Staff

89%

It was a very good hostel, the staff is very nice and helpful, we only stayed for one night but we were able to leave our stuff there for a few days for a cheap price in securized lockers. It's good to have breakfast included, and tea and coffee offered all day, which is brilliant! The dorms are quite big but well organized so it makes it ok. The bathroom could have been better but everything was ok and still very good. I would definitely stay there again!


83%

Everithing was great, but there wasn't hot or warm or tepid water in the bathroom!

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Kitchen was disgusting and the lack of storage in rooms meant getting in and out with a suitcase was a nightmare of tripping over 16 other people's stuff all spread over the middle of the room. Privacy curtains were a tatty bit of fabric essentially hanging over a bit of string tied from one end of the bed to the other. Light and plug socket by the bed didn't work either!

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we regret that you were not completely satisfied with your stay.We service the kitchen twice daily,but it is up also to our customers to make sure that they clean up after themselves,and unfortunately this is not always the case.We also invite customers with a lot of baggage to utilise our luggage room and to keep in the room just the essential things for their stay.Had any problem with light and plug been reported to reception it would of been addressed immediately

37%

The toilets are just impossible! I've never been to such dirty toilet in my entire life! The staff at the kitchen is really impolite! At the breakfast my friend put the dish at the sink and a guy from the staff came to him and said foreigners do not respect the rules! It was the first time of my friend in a hostel and some hostels clean the dishes from the costumers! He just did not know! If foreigners have problems with rules, natives have problems with RESPECT! The staff at the desk is ok!


57%

The only great thing about the hostel is the location. The common room is very dark and smelly due to being in the basement/kitchen. Furthermore the room was very chilly (windows not closing properly) and the mattress was old and uncomfortable. The room was in no good condition as were the shower facilities. there was also a very penetrating smell of cleaning supplies everywhere (smelling like a toilet - lemony cleaning agent).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we regret to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay.Due to high costs of properties in London,we have to make full use of all the space available including the basement,to keep our rates low.Had any problem of the window been brought to our attention we would had our maintenance staff address it immediately.We have full time cleaning staff servicing bathrooms and rooms on a daily basis to ensure they are in good conditions.

60%

Security was great and the bedroom was clean spacious and very handy having a plug socket in every bed space but the communal area was dirty the showers were dirty and only had cold water and there was just no atmosphere in this hostel.


49%

This hostel is well located but that s all for it. The shower where not well clean, the water was more cold than warm. There were a lot of robering and people smoking mari-juana all day. And half of the personal weren't good. Puting loud music while changing bed in the morning and keeping that music in rooms even when people were sleeping. No locker in the room, only paid one in the corridor...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our showers can drop in temperature at peak times - we recommend showering at odd hours for a clean, warm shower with good pressure. As well as lockers, we have a free luggage room, and sell padlocks for your suitcase. Shared dorms can get loud during waking hours, such as when our housekeepers are working after 10am. We offer free earplugs for light sleepers. Any drug use should be reported at once, as we have a zero tolerance policy on this. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay.

80%

Very good deal. Cheap and clean, close to St Pancras international train station so very convenient. However very noisy, the building isn't soundproofed at all so basically you can clearly hear people's conversations in the next room or in the corridor, and excessive street noise. Bathrooms are rather small. OK for one or two nights though.


40%

Beds are like cages, rooms are too small ! Have travelled over Europe and stayed in many hostels but rarely saw so many people in so little spaces. There is definitely room for improvement in the facilities (showers……..). Cleanliness (kitchen included) should also be a focus. Rates per room are above what is actually delivered. Especially compared to neighboring hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We try to make the most out of our space here, as there is not much to go around this close to central London. We do have dorms with small numbers of beds, such as triple dorms and double private rooms for those who desire more space for themselves. We have cleaning staff on hand 12 hours of every day, and the kitchen is cleaned before and after breakfast and at night. Thank you for leaving your feedback. We appreciate reviews and hope that you enjoyed your trip to London.

69%

Its a nice atmosphere, and possible to let your hair. just too cramped to be worth the price. Staff were all great, just one of them let them down in one instance of discourtesy, should have known better but still nice. Nice change from the hell hole hostels that give London a bad name.


57%

I hope they can have larger space

  • 22nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We try to make the most out of our space here, as there is not much to go around this close to central London. We do have dorms with small numbers of beds, such as triple dorms and double private rooms for those who desire more space for themselves. Thank you for leaving your feedback. We appreciate reviews and hope that you enjoyed your trip to London.

71%

All of staffs very nice and good location to stay at London center


69%

Good atmosphere, I guess in a "edgier" part of town but cheap supermarket across the road, close to Kings Cross


97%

We really liked our stay at journeys! It is quite small but its nice and cosy. The staff are really friendly and very helpful! It's in a great location and very close to the station! Would definitely recommend to others :)


37%

This is an expensive hostel,a dark gloomy place with bunks three high and no storage facilities in your room..... In the 40 or so hostels I have stayed at this is the worst one that i have been too.......Unlesss you are desperate DON,T stay here......

Owner Comment (Hide)
We aim to be one of the least expensive hostels that is this close to the centre of London. We offer a luggage storage room for free during your stay with 24/7 access, we sell padlocks for luggage and many of our rooms have luggage racks. We also rent lockers for secure storage of valuables, and these are kept in common areas where they can be monitored. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay and hope the rest of your trip was good.

54%

Wifi kept dying. So many fire doors it was basically a maze. Wifi only available in the basement. The bed I had was almost impossible to get into, it was a middle bunk with a stepladder into it, but then -another- stepladder was superimposed over it to the higher bunk. Some dodgy people in the hostel. Friendly and polite staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our free wifi can become slower when there are lots of people signed in. It works much more quickly at off-peak times. Thank you for leaving your feedback. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay at Journeys.

57%

The rooms are very crow, bed are to close, no space to put your things, no lookers.


69%

Having the location next to kings cross station was nice. The security for baggage is a bit of a concern since everyone's bag gets locked into one room, as opposed to individual lockers. Showers were abit rough but overall it was a pleasant visit.


69%

Good for somewhere to sleep, but I wouldn't want to spend much more time there. Very cramped and noisy, many of the doors slam whenever they're let to close, so all I could hear all night was constant slamming from people around the hostel.

  • 25th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(266 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback