X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Journeys King's Cross Hostel Reviews

54-58 Caledonian Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
554 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 54%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

It's the perfect place to stay for young people. The staff is friendly and the hostel is near King's cross station

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We booked a private three person room for me and my two friends and it was great. Three beds bunked on top of each other, a full length mirror and an extra mirror for make up. Rather than keys we had an access code, which came in handy since I'm great at losing my keys. Staff was friendly, the hostel was quiet and the less-than-5-min walk to Kings Cross was perfect for our 7:30 a.m. train. Definitely worth it.

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

all was perfect for my short stay

  • 31st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The staff is amazing, very friendly and helpfull. The location it's the best thing about it, very near King's Cross-St. Pancras. The showers where disapointing, the water way too hot with now way of regulating the temperature. The room service was very poor, they would only take out our trash but not actually clean it or change the linens. Breakfest and Wifi were bad, but I didn't care much, Would totally recoment for people staying for a longer time and that don't want to spend much money.

  • 24th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We stayed for 5 days and it was perfect ! I strongly recommend it !

  • 17th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

amazing time, lots of laughs with the guys

  • 15th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The room was ok but very noisy from the street below. The breakfast was good. The showers were blocked with hairs and you had to go out naked from it because tou can't keep clothes inside the shower. Plus the toilets in our floor was out of order during the hole journey.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for taking time to leave your feedback, we value it a lot! King's Cross is very busy area that is why there is no way to avoid noise from the street, especially in the summer. We have two kinds of showers, one kind has a cubicle where you can change without going anywhere. We had some pipes problems and probably you visited us during that time. Now everything has been fixed! We hope otherwise your stay was nice and you will consider staying with us again!

57%

Bunk beds were very screaky. It was noisy from the street and people in the hostel. You need to pay extra for the luggage storage. Breakfast room looks a bit like prison...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for leaving your comment, we appreciate it a lot! King's Cross is very busy area therefore it is difficult to avoid the noise. You only have to pay for luggage storage after check-out time and the fee is much smaller than anywhere else so we believe it is reasonable, We cannot argue with your opinion about breakfast room because everybody has a different taste, we believe it is nice and we love it! We hope your stay was nice and you will consider staying with us again!

89%

Because the reason i chose this hostel was the location and cleanliness, i was satisfied to stay here. Also there was a minor problem(which is too long to explain here), but after i talked to the staff, it was clearly solved. Thanks for her kindness! :)

  • 24th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24


51%

It is clear that one can find better hostels for the same prices or even cheaper. Rooms of 20 m2 with 15 beds. Needless to say low security and high noise. Especially a bunch of drunk people talking in the middle of the room like in a pub... at 4am! Breakfast average for this standard of hotel but was out of supplies 15 minutes before the official closure time. The male one is unacceptable. I thought I'd choose above the lowest price to get an acceptable comfort, this wasn't.

  • 21st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you had a problem with other guests - if we are aware of such problems we always try and resolve them and get rid of inconsiderate guests. Central london by nature is quite tight for space, but we hope your stay was otherwise ok.

51%

The rooms are tiny, there is barely enough space to put suitcases in a 6 bedroom dorm. There are also triple bunks which are clustrophobic and are difficult to climb in to. The common rooms are in the basement and have no windows so they feel like a dungeon. The "garden area" is small, maybe fitting 3 people comfortably and is usually taken up by smokers, There are few toilets and the showers have no shelf or even a hook to hang your clothes. The staircases are narrow.

  • 20th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

I understand they are not responsible for the actions of other people staying at the hostel, however, when I'm being dosed in beer from other drunk people having a beer throwing fight I would have maybe like to see something being done...also their free wifi was something we never did actually get on to, and the rooms and hallways were super tiny

  • 20th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you had such an issue with other guests - we do try our hardest to resolve such issues when they are brought to our attention, as it is not fair for guests to be disrespectful and make things uncomfortable for others. Unfortunately the very centre of london is cramped by nature, but we hope your stay was otherwise ok and we may see you again :)

60%

Good location. Close to kings cross but when we were there the station was undergoing some renovation so the place was a maze to travel around. The nearer entrance to kings cross station is closed on weekends and everyday after 10 (I think). You will have to walk some 400m to the next entrance. The people at the counter either were spaced out or continually on the phone. Basically distracted. But sure, they get the job done if you ask it of them enough.


80%

breakfast was good,rooms nice and cool for sleeping.


80%

Excellent location right next to Kings Cross station. Bathrooms were cleaned regularly but often were closed and you had to wait for a shower. Free basic cereal and toast breakfast was welcome but the larger of the 2 toasters was broken creating queues. Free WiFi was sporadic at best and atmosphere was lacking in the bunkerlike lounge. Beds were clean and comfortable with a personal light and power point for each (5 bed dorms). Recommended for location and price but not great for meeting people.


66%

The location is really good! 5 min walk from the tube station and close to bars and supermarkets (Tesco is across the street). Very friendly staff.


40%

Well, - They nearly dont have wifi in the hostel. Its amazingly slow. I asked them to fix this issue several times didn't work. - I checked out before my reservation ends in 3 days. The dont refunded my money back! - None of the showers they have on the second flour is working. Its dirty always. Same in toilets. - They dont have a quite common space to sit. They only have a room in the kitchen with lots of noise.

  • 29th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for leaving feedback. You may have missed but we also do have a TV lounge with sofas and books as a common area to sit and read in addition to the kitchen. I can assure you that the cleaners are around from 6am until 10pm every day and so it is quite untrue that that place is always dirty, we do our best to keep ontop of daily mess from guests. Our cancellation policy is clearly stated and not unusual for any hostel. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay

60%

The location is good, right near kings cross station. Apart from that it is not worth it, the lockers are tiny and won't fit a backpackers bag, the shower pressure is a joke, the beds are tiny, uncomfortable and cramped. The staff are laid back but not very professional. Your better off finding somewhere else.

  • 29th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for feedback. The lockers available for guests to keep their valuables (laptops, ipads) in but not for all of everyones luggage. Our showers do have problems during peak times when everyone in the building is using them all, but that is something we have very little ability to change unfortunately. We do the best to accomodate backpackers who are usually happy with the beds for such a low price in the centre of london. We hope you may consider staying with us again.

49%

This hostel smelled bad, it was quite dirty (almost filthy). Dank. The wifi didn't really work that well but the atmosphere was pretty nice.


57%

It's not worth for the money paid actually. The room is very small and the hostel is not clean enough.

  • 23rd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(238 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback