X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Journeys King's Cross Hostel Reviews

54-58 Caledonian Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
794 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great and affordable place to stay, you will meet many fellow backpackers, perfect for lone travellers.


97%

Hostel muy céntrico y agradable. Perfecto para jóvenes que vienen a Londres para visitar la ciudad o buscar trabajo. Tanto el personal como los residentes muy simpáticos y familiares.

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

We loved our stay at this hostel! The staff were amazing, especially the young lass who checked us in at 01.30 in the morning she was so very welcoming and friendly, she made us very happy to be there even with the time we were arriving . So thank you so much!

  • 25th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

An excellent experience, staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable and it's minutes away from kings cross station! This is the best hostel I have been to and I would 100% recommend staying here and will be doing so myself in future!

  • 24th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good location, a little bit loud during the night.


100%

Has a great atmosphere, staff were very friendly and helpful. I was in a 12 bed room but still felt like i had mt privacy with the bed curtains, facikities were good, all clean and included breakfast was great. I travelled alone but was made to feel very welcome and very reasonably priced. I will be going here again .

  • 13th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving such a great review! Looking forward to see you next time!

66%

Bien ubicado, pero co, dos contras. El primero, tener que lavar la loza después del desayuno, y lo que es peor comer en la loza que alguien más lavó, posiblemente sin mucho entusiasmo. Segundo, el sonido de las puertas. Al cerrarse la puerta del pasillo vibraban y sonabas las puertas de todas las piezas. Muy desagradable.


77%

The hostel is very clean. Staff is nice too. If you don't mind the kitchen too small and don't eat breakfast. This hostel is good. I will book again as I don't used kitchen and don't eat breakfast.


20%

Je suis très en colère contre cette auberge. J'ai effectué ma réservation en septembre, Ils m'ont retiré un accompte de 50€ et lors de ma présentation à l'accueil ils m'ont annoncé avoir annulé ma réservation car je n'avais pas régler en ligne ma réservation, hors sur mon mail de réservation il été indiqué que la somme totale devrait etre réglée à l'auberge à mon arrivée et pas avant. J'ai failli dormir dehors le 31 décembre, je suis très déçu et en colère contre cette auberge !

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Salut Margot , nous comprenons votre frustration face à cette situation , mais lors de notre Nouvel An période, nous avons eu des conditions qui vous avez accepté de lors de la réservation spéciaux . nous avons également essayé de vous contacter à plusieurs reprises mené à la réservation et vous informions que ce serait annulée si vous ne respectait pas ces conditions .

69%

Accueil très sympathique, auberge bien située et très calme. Juste quelques remarques : pas d'eau chaude dans les douches le matin après 9h et les chambres sont correctes mais pas immenses...

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci de nous laissant un commentaire. Nous vivions quelques problèmes avec l'eau chaude, mais le problème est maintenant corrigé. Nous savons qu'il peut se sentir un peu à l'étroit dans cette pièce par moments, mais nous essayons de faire le meilleur avec l'espace que nous avons.

77%

Good time for good price

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

This place is fine if you don't plan on spending any time at the hostel. You cannot sit up in the triple bunks, and the common room is pretty small and generally dark. The whole place has a damp smell and the showers have the auto shutoff button which doesn't last long enough and needs to be pressed multiple times over the course of a shower. They have a nice free breakfast (peanut butter!), a good value luggage storage option for after you check out, and are in a VERY convenient location.


80%

Good hostel for a long stay, there are a complete kitchen, a good sized bathroom with showers. Very good the staff.


77%

I liked the hostel but as we stayed in room 1.. its such a tiny room and smells like human. Its too tiny for that amount of people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a review. Unfortunately the human smell is something that comes hand in hand with shared living. If it bothers you again next time you stay please come and see us at reception and we will see what we can do about it. We know that it can feel a little cramped in that room at times but we try to do the best with the space we have.

77%

Hemos estado muy a gusto, repetiríamos.

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Too Little Space for 12 people in the Dorms. Make it an 8 people room..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a review. due to our fantastic location and in order to keep our prices so low we need to use the space available as economically as possible. we are aware that it can be a little cosy at times but we try to do the best with the space we have. Hopefully we will see you again next time you're in London.

46%

absolutely rubbish. don't stay here unless you enjoy the smell of a rubbish bin

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay here at our hostel. If you have any problems next time you stay please come and see us at reception and we will try and sort them out for you.

100%

Great! EBS students galore, great fun. Tightly packed rooms but quite ok for the money. Nice breakfast.


66%

The hostel is cramped and smelly, there was noise in the common areas until night, the noise insulation is very poor, if existent, at all, the bathroom didn't look clean, with pools of water around the basin and the shower floor getting flooded easily. The staff was nice and helpful but, unfortunately, for all the above and the fact that we could not start sleeping until 2 (!) am due to the noise, we would not recomend this hostel and will tell our friends to stay away from it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time at Journeys. We try to keep the noise down by doing things like closing the smoking area at 9:30pm and the common areas at 2am but unfortunately this is something that comes with hostel living. If you feel that people are being too loud or have any other issues feel free to come and see us at reception and we will do our best to sort out the problem.

60%

great location, terrible showers and horrible smell in storage space.


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback