Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jugendherberge Hamburg-Auf dem Stintfang

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jun 2017
7.1

It's a great hostel for kids and teenagers. But it's fine for a short stay, even if I had to pay a "tax" due my age .... The location, the breakfast and the bar is really good. The staff are professional and know what they are doing. I just don't like to give bad review, but I have to say the wi-fi is terrible. It was very slow everyday, mainlly in the morning and night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
8.0

It is a very clean facility and pretty much a hotel! With that said, this hostel is catered more towards families rather than solo travelers and thus I did not meet any other fellow backpackers during my stay here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st May 2017
6.0

This hostel isn't the sort of place you would want to stay if you want to make new friends. It's so large and spread out that you don't really get the chance to meet people. There were also loads of very young 13-17 year old kids running around screaming after hours which was incredibly annoying especially because the walls are paper thin. Some of the staff were helpful, there were 2 who were really unhelpful. The people in our room were much older and surprisingly very disrespectful/loud.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th May 2017
7.7

Seemed to be mainly a place for school groups and older travellers, so the atmosphere wasn't great. The staff were lovely though, and the rooms were quiet and clean. The main downside was the kitchen, which is windowless and in the basement, as well as being very poorly stocked. The do have a reasonably priced dinner on everyday, and breakfast is free and extensive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
10.0

Very good location......very near to railway station and port. We could see port through the windows of our room. Nice staff and facilities. The dorm was spacious and had attached basin, washroom and lockers. Although I felt that if washroom could be outside the room, it would be better. As we had to leave the hostel early and using washroom make sound which annoyed a co-traveler.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Mar 2017
7.7

It was an ok hostel. Got a room in the basement which was not that great. Staff is nice, locations is close to Reeperbahn and the Harbour.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
24th Feb 2017
8.6

Location is great if you want to be close to the ferry terminals, and also the train that goes direct to/from airport. There is good view over the river, they have a bar, and the free breakfast was a nice touch. There seemed to be more of a family vibe going on when I was there on a solo trip, but it felt safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2017
7.4

I was only here for one night between staying at a fancy hotel for work and leaving Hamburg. Felt very secure because there were card keys to access each room. The rooms themselves weren't too bad, but there wasn't even hand soap in the bathroom, which to me is pretty standard even for hostels. Very large, lots of diversity in guests, if you are older or have children traveling with you, you won't feel out of place. Staff were friendly and helpful, but if I were in Hamburg again I'd go elsewhere

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
8.6

My friend and I slept in a 6 bed female dorm with an ensuite. Everything was very clean and there was plenty of space in the room itself. Large lockers, a big table with chairs, and wide window ledges gave everyone enough space to spread out their things. Another great feature is 2 extra sinks and mirrors in the room itself, in addition to the ones with the toilet and shower. Breakfast spread was basic, but adequate. Hostel does not have a party atmosphere, but is more family oriented.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.6

Great location, helpful staff. Surprising amount of fees on top of the base cost (Tourist tax, non-hostel club taxes, additional over 26 tax). These were all stated on the site, but the fact that the non-hostel and over 26 taxes compound did not. Overall a great stay and a very friendly safe feeling environment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.