Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Junohall YHA Hostel Waitomo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 341 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
Junohall YHA Hostel Waitomo Located at 600,Waitomo caves road, RD5 Te Kuiti, Waitomo.
Junohall YHA Hostel Waitomo
New Zealand
Waitomo Waitomo 600,Waitomo caves road, RD5 Te Kuiti
88% 341
-38.2643330 175.1225790
Junohall YHA Hostel Waitomo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Dec 2016
8.9

Had a one night stay here! Few positives and negatives! Positives: - apsolutely lovely lovely friendly just awesome hostess! Staff made my trip so good! Recommended a better tour than the standard glowworm cafe trip! Had the best time on the 3hr spellbound tour! The tour guide was so nice and informed! Free hot choc and biscuits during the tour! - location ideal only a 15 minute walk from main waitomo town/I site! -clean and comfortable facilities Negatives: - no lockers or free wifi

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Dec 2016
9.7

Easily one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The staff truly make this place! The owners have done a fine job at hiring. Cabin'esque feeling about the place made it very warm and welcoming. Huge lounge and kitchen areas! Made for good movie viewing at night. The staff are very accommodating in regards to information and dropping/pickup people up to either to the caves or bus stop. I'll be back one day, maybe in the winter to experience that remarkable fire.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Nov 2016
9.4

Great place to stay if you are doing the caves. Its on the same road, just a few km drive. Internet is not free and is very slow. Bathrooms and rooms are clean. Dorms have bunk beds. Large kitchen, but I did not use it. There is an old TV with a lot of movies you can watch.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
18th Nov 2016
9.1

This hostel is really lovely. The staff is what makes it really great. They were both really nice and went out of their way to help. I stayed here for two nights to do the black water rafting which was right across the street so it was a perfect location. Would 100% stay here again. The doggie was also super cute.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Nov 2016
8.9

Really nice place to stay, highlight was definitely the staff. Both were incredibly helpful not only to myself but to all guests. Booking tours for us and even giving us lifts to where we need to go. Hostel has great facilities and a really nice kitchen with plenty of space to cook.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2016
9.4

Staff was absolutely amazing. Very knowledgeable about area - even gave me a lift to a local hiking area. Hostel was a wonderfully relaxed country environment. Would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
8.0

Great location if doing the Legendary Blackwater Rafting (directly across the street). Very laid back vibe. Staff is nice. People tended to congregate in the common areas and socialize.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
9.4

Awesome place to stay in Waitomo. Blackwater Rafting Co. is just across the street and the walk into the township is only about 10 mins. There is a little bush walk that you can do nearby at night as well to see more glow worms in the bush.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • leannie100
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
7.7

Lots of character, big kitchen and great communal area. Staff very helpful and friendly - even picked me up from the bus stop. Location - it's in the middle of nowhere but close to Waitomo caves and stars were great at night. Decent shower. Bad: bed/pillow was not that comfy! Wifi is only free for 30 mins but at least people actually talked to each other!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Oct 2016
9.7

I really enjoyed my stay here. Alot of that was to do with the people that I was lucky enough to meet there bit also the staff. The guy working (I'm sorry I forgot your name) was a character and a half. He always had a joke ready and made people feel at ease. He went out of his way to help travelers and even shuttled me to an awesome walk down the road. He also had lots of good info on the different ways to see the Caves and was able to get me a nice discount!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.