Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Junohall YHA Hostel Waitomo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 416 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 416 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Apr 2017
9.7

Absolutely fabulous hostel. Wonderful, friendly host with an adorable dog in tow! Beautiful location with a deer, goat, a pig and her piglets nearby! The atmosphere were very easygoing and relaxed. Big, well equipped and clean kitchen. The bathrooms could do with a coat of paint but otherwise I was very happy here and would gladly have stayed longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.0

Was a really lovely stay here! The lounge area was amazing with loads of sofas and a tv with a massive DVD wall to choose from! Kitchen was big and well equipped. The bedrooms was clean and So was the bathrooms! Overall a good stay and we got to see the piglets that was next to the hostel! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Mar 2017
9.7

Staff is amazing. Picked me up from the bus stop, dropped what she was doin to drop me back off when I was leaving. Very comfortable stay, can't recommend it enough. =D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
4.3

I cannot remember if this was the only option left or the only hostel in Waitomo. Wasn't fond of it. Felt grody. I'm sure the atmosphere changes based on who is staying there, but my room was dead silent. Super bizarre. Would not recommend this place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
8.9

Great deal for the price. The surrounding don't have much but within 15min walk you can find somewhere to grab a bite. The place is clean and well maintained, just wished there was a locker in the room and more plug sockets in the room. A good thing is that you can buy a "spoon" of coffee or sugar and even a single egg straight from the reception, which is great if you are staying for a short period, like I was. Stephany was great the whole time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
8.3

Nice hostel - good location for Waitomo Caves activities. Very in the middle of nowhere so if you want to cook, make sure you shop before going!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.0

A little bit in the middle of nowhere sp bring groceries but Dave (the owner) was so lovely and accommodating! Also his dog is super cute! Only other thing would be that for me it wasn't the easiest place to meet people but it may have just been my luck!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
10.0

Junohall was an absolutely incredible experience. Not only were the facilities more than we had hoped for, but Steph, Dave, and Juno were so kind and amazing. We especially loved the animals on the farm next to the hostel! We will definitely be staying there again on our next trip through New Zealand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Mar 2017
7.4

The main & back doors to the hostel are usually left wide open allowing a cold breeze to flow throughout the hostel. The weather was chilly while I was there. They have a salt water pool outside and offer free shuttles to Roselands Restaurant where you can get an all you can eat buffet for NZ $10 which I think is a deal just for Juno's. There are instant noodles and instant pasta for sale as well as bread by slice or shop/ cafe 10 mins walk small selection. I booked as it is next to my activity.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
9.1

Fun place to stay if your looking at going to the caves the next day. 2 min drive to the caves, has a pool, and fun staff. Will definitely recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.