Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Junohall YHA Hostel Waitomo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 379 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 379 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Feb 2017
9.1

The only complaint I have is that there are no lockers for bags. This results in a bit of mistrust and paranoia about leaving stuff in the room which are rarely locked (dorm rooms). Luckily nothing of mine got stolen, nor did I hear about anyone else having the problem. A nice crowd effort on keeping each others belongings safe! Other than that, suuuuper friendly staff! Very cool place :D Pool was awesome to use by myself!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
10.0

A very pleasant hostel experience, lots of comfy outdoor seating on the wraparound deck, directly across from the main attraction of the town, and adorable piglets as an unexpected bonus. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
10.0

I absolutely loved my stay here! Staff is so friendly and helpful, Dave (?) picked me up from the i-SITE and dropped me off the next morning to catch my bus. Atmosphere is very open, an amazing place to stay for solo travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Feb 2017
10.0

Awesome place, had a very mountain lodge feel to it. Great big windows with beautiful views and super comfortable beds. Hammocks out back and the token pet dog are nice touches.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Feb 2017
9.7

The area was absolutley beautiful and the hostel is in an amazing location. It's very peaceful and I loved visiting the animals that live on the hostel property! It is a short walk from the Glow Worm caves and a bunch of lovely walks in the area. The staff are really nice and accommodating and drove me and my partner to the town when we had our packs. Stephanie at the front desk was super bubbly and friendly and a joy to be around! Thank you for having us stay at your hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
8.9

Steph behind the reception was really lovely, and so helpful with everything! It was really clean as well. No lockers, but had a pool, and was close to the glow worm caves. Nice chilled atmosphere in the evenings, and a farm next door with baby piglets and a dear! Really enjoyed my stay here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gemmajolly
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
4th Feb 2017
9.4

This is a great hostel. Stephanie is an amazing host and is super lovely. The hostel itself is clean and had everything you need. It's not far from waitomo village. It also has the cutest baby pigs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Comfy bed, friendly people, clean facilities and helpful staff. Will definitely stay again if I go back to that area!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
8.0

Really nice homely hostel with plenty of DVDs to choose from which is great as there's not all that much going on in Waitomo at night! Only down side was that as campers stay here as well the hostel is left open all night and there's no way to lock dorm rooms from the inside so I worried a little about my important belongings. But all good apart from that and I would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
7.7

This hostel was in a beautiful location with lovely views over the valley. It was clean, tidy and well organized. There were animals nearby and a lovely little dog called Max. The salt water pool was a bonus. Our only compliant was the male staff member who followed us into the bathroom which was labelled "ladies". This is totally unacceptable, and what he had to say had already been said so there was no need for him to be there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.