Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Junohall YHA Hostel Waitomo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
Junohall YHA Hostel Waitomo Located at 600,Waitomo caves road, RD5 Te Kuiti, Waitomo.
Junohall YHA Hostel Waitomo
New Zealand
Waitomo Waitomo 600,Waitomo caves road, RD5 Te Kuiti
89% 315
-38.2643330 175.1225790
Junohall YHA Hostel Waitomo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Sep 2016
9.7

We got there and were immediately welcomed by a friendly face and shown to a clean spacious room. The location is very close to all the caves where the staff called and had us picked up for our expedition. We were also shown to a great place for dinner for $10! You can pay $5 for a basic breakfast that will feed two people. The lounge was inviting and warm and had lots of games to choose from. Overall we would stay here again and definitely recommend it to fellow travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
5.7

We stayed here for one night. We found the place very basic but very clean. It lacked atmosphere and modern facitities considering its was priced similarly to other hostels. We found the host very rude, with many insulting and derogative comments.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
9.1

i love the host dave! very entertaining. and i love the guest lounge too as it is very homey and we felt very welcomed. definitely recommend it to other backpackers. (during our stay, he told us about a nz10 all you can eat beef casserole buffet and it was great because it is hard to find dinner at NZ at nights. there was a shuttle bus which picked us up and returned to the hostel). and i love the fact it is located at a farm too. we had the chance to get some pretty pictures of the nightsky.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Sep 2016
8.9

Landing at this hostel made me want to stay longer. Lovely building, beautiful location, reasonably conversational livestock (if a bit drooly and snorty, but that's their gig as livestock, I suppose), and the most welcoming weirdosthat I had encountered. Ink-sketching, head-shaving, helpful folks. (And hi, Max!) Now, it was off-season, so my 4-room was completely for myself, but any experience I would have had with fellow travelers would have been separate from what the hostel was, so, yeah.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Aug 2016
8.9

Not just a place to stop off for the caves. Visited during a less busy period and the owner put my girlfriend and I in our own dorm which was incredibly generous of him. If we weren't on a tight schedule would've stayed a couple of more nights. Also found out that the owner supports Brighton so feel sorry for him!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
10.0

Great place to stay Well appointed kitchen TV and Common Areas Only real downside is no free WiFi, cafe in town has free WiFi as does the Legendary Black Water Rafting across the road

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
10.0

Amazing! Friendly staff, great lounge, good location for tours or just to hike.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
9.4

Wonderful hostel, beautiful location and amazing generous staff (thanks Steph and Dave!). Loved the scenery, and the hostel animals were fun to play with. Dorm and common room were really cozy and nice to hang out in. I felt it would've been the perfect place to stay with someone you really like and share this place and its surroundings with. But, still I enjoyed it and wouldn't have mind staying a couple of extra days if it weren't for my tight travelling schedule in NZ.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
8.6

Good location for black water rafting and glow worm caves as its just over the road and they do a free transfer to the local restraint but not much else around if you don't have a car. Amazing atmosphere and great movies the staff are very helpful and always happy. Rooms nice and warm in winter!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2016
8.0

Nice hostel near the caves. There is nothing else nearby though, so it is really quiet at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.