Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

KEX Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2,331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2,331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
KEX Hostel Located at Skúlagata 28, , Reykjavik.
KEX Hostel
Iceland
Reykjavik 101 Skúlagata 28
89% 2331
64.1455132 -21.9194304
KEX Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • afinegan3308
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
13th Aug 2016
9.4

Not the cheapest place in town, but still worth it for atmosphere! Even after I moved on from staying here, I'd come back during a rainy day to enjoy the couches and coffee whilst looking over the grey weather on the harbour. Staff were super friendly and helpful. I'd definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2016
9.4

This is an incredible hostel. If you want somewhere social and fun, where you can meet people and be close to everything in Reykjavik this is the place. I am a solo traveller and I've just started my trip and I have a feeling Kex will be hard to top. Live music 5/7 nights of my stay with some really cool local acts. Bar shuts at 11pm so no worries to get to sleep if you're having a night in. Honestly met some amazing friends that I have a feeling I'll be meeting again in the future!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kateyfeng92
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.6

I really loved this hostel. I loved the atmosphere of this place and really enjoyed the free live music at night time. Overall, the bathrooms were very clean and there were private shower rooms too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
8.0

Come to this hostel for the interior decorating alone! I had a short but nice stay, no major issues, though I would've loved to have been able to lock my stuff up.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • prb50497971
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Aug 2016
8.3

Very nice hostel with great atmosphere! Warning, there is no elevator, so if you have a lot of luggage, be prepared to move it up and down stairs. Also, it can get loud at night, as there is a bar inside and outside. They do provide free earplugs. Lockers are skinny and tall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
7.7

Kex has really cool atmosphere and is definitely one of the "it" hostels in Iceland. If you stay in one of the bigger rooms they do not offer any sheets so you have to provide for yourself, which I think is ridiculous for the amount of money you are paying. If you are looking for a cool atmosphere, Kex is your place. Live Jazz band every Tuesday as well! Definitely worth checking out!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
7.1

everything ok with this hostel. clean, good location, friendly staff. reykjavik is not cheap but with nearly 60 dollars for a bed in a 10 bed dorm overpriced. and for that price the showers could be better.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
6.9

Weird. Front door call in doesn't work so you have to roam around into the back alley to get in. Check out is at 10am...super early, which is hard. They say they start cleaning at 10am & want you out by then. But they started cleaning at 8am, making it really hard to get ready & leave in time when you're dodging cleaning people & wet floors!! Showers are giant rooms with several heads...military style. Isn't mentioned anywhere in their description & was a disappointment. Staff just kind of ehhh

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
8.6

Good hostel. however I prefer the other two I've stayed at in Reykjavik.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
8.9

Excellent social atmosphere

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.