Hostelworld.com

KEX Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2,114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2,114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
KEX Hostel Located at Skúlagata 28, , Reykjavik.
KEX Hostel
Iceland
Reykjavik 101 Skúlagata 28
89% 2114
64.1455647 -21.9193768
KEX Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Apr 2016
9.7

Can't beat the location and unique style of this place. The bar was perfect for meeting travelers. I would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2016
7.4

I liked this very secure, cute hostel. It was a tad out of the way of downtown but nothing too extraordinarily far. A 4-5 block walk to the shopping centre and another 5 or so blocks to the downtown bar district. The hostel was clean and the rooms very well organized. Only issue with me was the lighting: both in the rooms and the bathrooms had terrible lighting!! There were nice, big lockers for storage. Also, there needs to be a plug at every bedside: 3 for the whole room is not enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
7.7

Location was a bit further out of the downtown area than I had realized, but everything is close so it was only about a 15 minute walk or so to the heart of the city (and you pass by shops and cafes and the like on the way). Right across the street from the water which is beautiful. Rooms were clean and a-ok, I was worried about this whole "prison shower" thing but there were actually plenty of single shower/toilet combos in the hall so always used that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
9.4

Kex was in a great location - you could walk to the main street in about 5 minutes. The rooms were clean and the lockers were large. The female showers were five shower heads in one large room (no privacy), so I went to the single bathroom down the hall and usually didn't have to wait.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • emilymarotta4060
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Apr 2016
10.0

My favorite hostel in Iceland. Loved the bar in the lobby, food was delicious. Comfy, clean beds. Spacious rooms. Great bathroom/shower situation. Definitely recommend. Going back some day for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
10.0

Really cool place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
9.1

Really great hostel in a great location. Staff are happy to help and the communal area is very welcoming. The locals even come and hang out there

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
10.0

Absolutely amazing place to stay! Top hostel all round.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Mar 2016
9.1

The hostel was really nice, had a cool theme with all of the vintage decor. Some of the beds were creaky but they were comfortable and the sheets were nice and fluffy. Location was great and close to a lot of bars, shops, and restaurants...and as a bonus I was able to see the northern lights from right across the street !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Mar 2016
9.1

I really enjoyed my stay at kex hostel. Wonderful atmosphere, delicious breakfast and good night sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.