Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

KEX Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kevingpals6585
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Aug 2017
8.9

Great central location in town. I only stayed one night when I arrived but it was great for what I needed. They have hot food available but I'm cheap so I just cooked in the kitchen. Staff were very to the point, not overly friendly, but that is just sorta the Iceland way. I would recommend it to a friend coming to Reykjavik.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • FireyRedFox
  • Australia, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
12th Aug 2017
9.7

This hostel has bags of character and personality! Friendly and helpful staff. Great location close to sights, water and parking. Very clean. Comfortable beds. A word of warning- paying for linen includes a bottom sheet and a pillow, no doona!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2017
8.0

Showers are not great, everything else is fine

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2017
6.0

Why have such an expensive restaurant in budget accommodation? Dirty, unkept kitchens and very noisy common area. Pleasant and helpful staff.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • johnldavieiii7996
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Aug 2017
8.3

It's a bit pricey for what they offered, but the location and view are great for seeing Reykjavik. Staff was overall very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
7.4

In general, KEX hostel was great particularly the quirky atmosphere and the great central location. I found that the main issue was that the staff at the check-in desk were often either: missing or engaged in conversation without acknowledging me. The rooms could have also benefitted by having a shelf and powerpoint for each bunk bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2017
8.9

My boyfriend & I had a very quick stay at Kex Hostel, but it was overall positive. We arrived late in the evening, took the shuttle we booked through Kex, checked in, and went to sleep. We had to wake up early to leave, so we really only slept while we were there. Some things that would have been nicer are having bed curtains for some privacy while sleeping and to block light, larger lockers for big bags, and in general, the price was a bit high (though this is a general issue in Iceland).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2017
8.9

Expensive but the facilities are good. The location is central to the main drag in downtown. The in house bar is good. It's also a quick walk to all the other bars. The bed was comfortable and the showers were good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2017
9.4

Clean facilities, good location and fun events (like concerts) almost every night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2017
8.9

This hostel is marketed as a "social hostel" and it is just that. I stayed there at the end of my trip, when I was tired and ready to head home, but will definitely look to spend more time when I return to Iceland. The location and atmosphere allow for a unique mix of locals and travellers. Gastro pub on site is great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.