Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

KEX Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2855 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2855 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • vegita1920002492
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
9.4

Just wish they provided Towels!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
9.4

Good hostel, great location with a good view, nice bar, stuffs are kind, had great time in kex!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
9.1

Only complaint is that the workers at the front desk were kind of short and unwelcoming. Other than that it was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2017
7.1

Was excited because of so many good reviews, but was ultimately unimpressed. There was a problem with my booking before I even got there, and then another one when I did. However, the staff was very helpful about it, and upgraded me from a 16 bed dorm to a 6 bed one without additional charge, which was very nice, even if they were not necessarily the friendliest. The facilities were subpar thowith pretty abysmal bathrooms In particular. There weren't enough outlets in the room, and wifi was bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
6.3

Lots of hipster flair, but the cool factor didn't quite make up for the constantly wet bathroom floors, giant communal showers (just one big shower with 6 shower heads), and creepy clown paraphernalia (made even creepier by the dim vintage lighting).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Jun 2017
6.3

Location is good and the common area is cool. Rooms where pretty small, and the showers where odd. There is a few private showers on each level but then there is a big communal female/male shower room with like 6 showers in the one room. I probably would choose elsewhere to stay I'd I went to Reykjavik again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2017
9.4

Great spot to stay in central Reykjavík. Is a bit pricier than I've come to expect from Hostels. The food onsite is quite tasty, but also expensive as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • pinktangent
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
13th Jun 2017
8.6

They made it really easy for me to check-in late night so that was really helpful. My dorm and the bathrooms were clean and I really appreciated the biggg locker! Security was great as well, although it sucks that you have to pay for a duvet. Luckily, I had my own sleeping bag so I skipped out on that fee. Wi-fi is crazy slow though. It barely worked in the evening when everyone was on it. Other than that, met awesome people there and enjoyed my stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • robinlee
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2017
10.0

Absolutely one of the best place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
9.1

Stayed here for 4 nights on a 2 week backtracking trip throughout Europe. KEX was an awesome social atmosphere. Nothing in Iceland is inexpensive, but staying in the 16 bed dorm was definitely the best value you could find. Really good deals during happy hour and convenient location to get around downtown Reykjavik.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.