Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

KEX Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2,611 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2,611 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
KEX Hostel Located at Skúlagata 28, , Reykjavik.
KEX Hostel
Iceland
Reykjavik 101 Skúlagata 28
88% 2611
64.1455132 -21.9194304
KEX Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jan 2017
9.7

Kex was everything I thought a hostel would be and more. The dorms were down one side of the corridor and wash rooms on the other. The bathrooms were a bit dated and musty but still clean. Fun environment with friendly and helpful staff. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
10.0

Highly recommend staying at Kex it was the best experience in a hostel I've had while travelling. :) thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jan 2017
10.0

I liked it a lot! it was awesome! I stayed in the 16 bed dorm & have nothing to complain about. They had enough toilets and showers so you never had to wait. Both were cleaned at least once per day. They also provide two fridges where you can store your groceries. One thing you have to know before you go to the store : there is no oven. But since I didn't need it, I didn't miss it. It was very nice that they had a dish washer =) They give you also a padlock for their lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
7.7

It was ok

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
9.4

Great little hostel with that wonderful vintage flair. Staff was friendly , room was clean breakfast was great. The location couldn't be better. I'd staff there for my next visit to reykjavik anytime.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

Despit being large it has a lovely cosy feel. There were three of us and we stayed in a four bed mixed dorm. The beds were fine. Linen was included and there were good lockers for belongings ( key available with a refundable deposit). The bar is large but has a cosy feel and has views across the bay, lots of space to just chill out. The breakfast buffet has lots of choice including home baked bread and oatmeal porridge. Kitchen facilities looked good. Staff were helpful. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

Really cool vibes and a great place to meet people. Very convenient location and the check in and check out process was extremely easy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
6.6

Stayed overnight on New Years. Staff were great, the place looked great. I would have liked somewhere quiet and warm to sit down in though. Also, £13 for breakfast?!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Dec 2016
10.0

My finest hostel experience in any country.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
7.1

The hostel is well located 3 minutes by foot from the main street laugavegur. The facilities are okay although the showers and toilet are quite old. The kitchen is not well equipped but you can cook basic metals there. The bar downstairs is expensive, and the entire hostel is very dark,which isn't very good during the Icelandic winter. I would try elsewhere

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.