Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

KEX Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2,412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2,412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
KEX Hostel Located at Skúlagata 28, , Reykjavik.
KEX Hostel
Iceland
Reykjavik 101 Skúlagata 28
89% 2412
64.1455132 -21.9194304
KEX Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
8.6

Very nicely decorated hostel with loads of atmosphere. If you're planning on staying in the weekends, be aware that there are lots of people staying there who are enjoying Reykjavik's nightlife. The hostel itself has a bar that's well tended to, which is why there's loads of people :) So it can get loud late at night. If you're that type, best hostel to go to, but if not, I'd advise going to a hostel a bit further out of the center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel in the middle of Reykjavik. Helpful staff and great facilities. Sweet fit out. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Sep 2016
9.7

The staff at Kex was super friendly and helpful! The rooms are a decent size and there are lockers in the room if need be. Kex hostel has a really chill vibe and there was live music. The only thing that could have improved was the appliances in the kitchen. Also it's located near the city center and a grocery store.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
9.4

Hostel had nice sized rooms with lockers. Kitchens could have used some newer appliances (hot water kettle and microwave broke on our last day). Fun hostel but very dark and dimly lit. Staff was helpful and knowledgeable. Definitely would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Sep 2016
9.1

Kex is a great hostel with live music, food, drinks, and lots of great people; the first night I was there, I was even lucky enough to hear some jazz music. My only complaint is that the bathrooms constantly smelled of mold and mildew, even after they had just been cleaned due to poor ventilation. But, it's still worth it to stay here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jessigars
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Sep 2016
9.7

Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Reykjavik! It has a really quirky, cool vibe with a great mix of people and one of the best in-hostel bars I've been to. The staff are really helpful and friendly. It's super close to lots of shops, restaurants/ bars, and one of the bus stations. Excellent place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Sep 2016
9.1

Great atmosphere. Minimal laundry services. Open communal shower (which I know isn't for everyone) Would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Sep 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel. After 9 days of camping it was nice to stay in a clean and warm place. This hostel is centrally located one block from the center. Super easy access to a road that goes to the airport about 45-50 min. Very spacious, cool character with a lot of lounging areas to relax. The only thing i didn't like was the food in a restaurant- very small portion for a lot of $.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2016
8.3

Kex was a really nice stay. Cool venue and great breakfast. My biggest complaint is that it is not very well lit in any room except the kitchen and bar areas. Outside of that I think it's a pretty good spot!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
9.4

Had a wondeful stay here, even on the main floor when it gets pretty loud at the bar (it's one of the beat bars in the city to start the night). Be aware if you are planning on using the kitchen there are two burners to cook on, so waiting is inevitable. Each room is picturesque with it's own style. Staff is also very friendly and accommodating, loved it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.