Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

KEX Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2674 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2674 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
9.1

Great hostel. Meals were a bit pricey, but I guess that's to be expected in Iceland! I always felt safe at this hostel and they provided lockers for locking up my suitcases for a refundable deposit which I appreciated. They also offered very convenient luggage storage since my flight arrived several hours prior to check in time. Overall I would recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
6.3

The lounge is lovely looking, very unique decor etc. But, wasn't a fan of a few things. Felt that it was so loud all the time. Lobby had bands playing, and from the rooms, there was the constant sound of doors slamming. Showers weren't clean, and first one I tried, water sprayed everywhere from pipes, second one I tried, the cold water tap was broken and had to shower in scorching hot water. Good location, and good view but not my best hostel experience, that's for sure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
8.6

So far one of the best Hostels I've being to. Staff were very helpful and nice in any situation. The atmosphere is astonishing and we and the location was not too far from town center (15/20 mins walking max). Will surely go back to Kex if I'm back to Reyjkavík.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
6.9

I stayed on the second floor where the bar is and there was no card swipe to get inside our hallway from the bar away. Location was okay. Hard to stay anywhere in Reykjavik and not be walkable distance from the city center but KEX was a good 15 minute walk. Staff was very good. The guy at the front desk help sort some confusion with my tour. The facilities were not very clean. Lockers were outside and all taken so i had to just hope no one stole from me while i was away but everyone was cool

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
6.0

For a hostel not too bad, but a few very clear and obvious flaws. To start, the fact you need to pay for a blanket and it's not stated anywhere is absolutely ridiculous. Like shouldn't that be included in the cost to stay in the hostel? Then of course all flights to the US get in at around 6:30am but they for some reason dont allow check in until 2:00. I mean really that's so poorly thought out. Also they kept the doors open all day and all night, like okay it's February in Iceland. Not cool.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
6.3

No respect for other guests , showers all broken, even the door of the room was broken

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Absolutly amazing staf who went the extra mile in my case with letting me in 2 hours before to have a Skype interview in a quiet room. Been to 3 hostels in the city and this one is by far the best one.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
9.1

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the overall atmosphere was fantastic! The food was great and there was entertainment in the evening one night during my stay. Great location; walking distance to many great attractions, restaurants and parks. I would absolutely stay here again if I return to Iceland!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
8.6

The location is awesome! Close to the water and near bars and restaurants. It's huge so there are lots of places to hang out. Make sure to bring your own sleeping bag or prepare to pay for linens if you stay in the bigger dorms. We would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Feb 2017
9.4

Love this hostel ! Great atmosphere, so much space. This would be my first choice when I come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.