Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

KEX Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2,539 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2,539 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
KEX Hostel Located at Skúlagata 28, , Reykjavik.
KEX Hostel
Iceland
Reykjavik 101 Skúlagata 28
88% 2539
64.1455132 -21.9194304
KEX Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
30th Nov 2016
8.6

Not bad considering the price for Iceland. Very noisy in the evenings, so if you want a chilled stay go somewhere else, they do provide earplugs. They don't provide towel or bedding for free so plan ahead. Hostel was very warm. Location is perfect, so central and all tours and excursions pick up from hostel. 10min walk to bus station.Staff weren't helpful, in most hostels I stay in they show you a map of the area and give a recommendation - not here. mark your food in fridge, they threw mine

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Nov 2016
5.7

It is an industry style hostel, but not my cup of tea

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
8.0

My stay was fantastic. The bathrooms had somewhat of a mildew smell to them. As a heads up I pre-booked my breakfast for 1850 ISK per day vs 2200 ISK once I got there. It ended up being very convenient since not a lot of places were open at 0730. If you bring your own sleeping bag you won't have to pay for linens, otherwise 1100 ISK per person. The transfer I set up went really smooth and hassle free. I will be back to KEX and would recommend it to everyone. Downtown was only about 5 min walk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2016
8.3

Loved by stay at Kex! It did not have the backpacker feel I was hoping for - the bar/restaurant is public so it's not quite as social/friendly for travelers - but the hostel put solo travellers together in the same room so it was easy to meet people! Expect to have to pay quite a lot throughout the stay (breakfast, tours, food, etc.), but overall it was worth it for my short stay. Definitely get groceries and hang out in the kitchen if you're looking for a cheaper stay. Very clean & secure!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rhyandonnelly
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
8.0

Great hostel, very clean and one block away from the main streets of Reykjavik. Some staff were great, some staff were not. The bar was bloody expensive, but really love the fact they keep the massive common room open all night, which you don't get at other hostels in Iceland. There's shops and hire car opposite the hostel, and had no trouble sleeping (no noise). It's a bit expensive for a hostel, but will be staying here again!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
8.3

Enjoyable stay. Nice bathrooms. 16 bed dorm was as expected! Could do with more charge sockets and better wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
9.4

I do not regret staying at the KEX hostel. It was very central. Not far from the pool (one was 5 minutes away and two others were around 20-25 mins away walking). The staff was helpful. I did a tour with the hostel (Golden Circle) and it was worth it. The guide/host was wonderful. I would not mind staying there again if/when I come back to Reykjavik. Thanks a lot. I almost forgot: the food at the bar is really good! I loved the fish (I think it was cod) with almonds and mashed potatoes. Yum!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
9.4

Really friendly, helpful staff. Great location and atmosphere. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
2.9

Thoroughly disappointed by my stay here. The male receptionist was beyond unhelpful. Bathrooms were filthy and every bathroom/shower on the floor was closed at 9am for cleaning... right at peak time. No one was able to shower or use the toilets. Many lights not working in the room. None of the lockers in my room could be locked. The cost of linen is a rip off. Only one cup in the kitchen and three or four plates. The only thing going for this place was the bar area was lovely and it's location.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
8.6

Very nice hostel, a few minute walk to the center area. Lots of decorated hangout spaces that were great to meet fellow travelers in. One thing to be aware of is the linen charge, which was about 1200 isk extra to have a duvet and towel! This is the first hostel I have been to where you are charged more for bedding!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.