Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

KEX Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2,270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2,270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
KEX Hostel Located at Skúlagata 28, , Reykjavik.
KEX Hostel
Iceland
Reykjavik 101 Skúlagata 28
90% 2270
64.1455132 -21.9194304
KEX Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
20th Jul 2016
9.4

Kex was a sweet hostel. Really cool vibe and the staff were really helpful. Its expensive.. but everything is expensive here...(30 bucks for a sanger, say what?!) Did the kex golden circle tour which was great and it gives you a chance to meet some really cool people.. but your best bet if your going solo is to make some pals and hire a car.. its really easy to drive around and you can see some of the most spectacular scenery of your life without a bunch of tour buses in the way!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
16th Jul 2016
8.0

KEX hostel is a good place to stay in Rejykavik. Definitely very cool/hipster hostel but with good facilities and decent space in the dorm rooms. The bar/breakfast area is pretty nice to have a drink and the staff are friendly. A downside is the price; this is expensive by hostel terms (e.g breakfast is 1800ISK) and if you are on a bit of a budget I would sacrifice a bit of style and stay elsewhere! None the less, we had a good time and I would recommend it to others.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2016
7.7

The atmosphere is amazing, I recommend this place if you are looking for a nice place to stay and in the center. Though I found people working at the bar a little bit rude, completely the opposite to the nice people I found at the reception and who were really helpful. I was a little bit disappointed for the really late in the night noise, you have free earplugs,but I couldn't use them though I would miss the alarm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
9.7

Great location, great staff. Very accommodating place. Very popular.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
9.1

Lovely atmosphere, very young kind of hipster vibe. Huge common area with a bar that was really nice. Helpful staff. Plenty of facilities on every floor. Storage available as well. Pretty close to the main street. Breakfast buffet offered but is a bit pricey. Also, my room did not have good lockers, there were only the loud narrow tin lockers (like gym lockers) and you could not use your own padlock on them, you would have to rent a key (so basically useless). Other than that, a pleasant stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
10.0

Loved my stay at Kex. Really cool layout, beds are comfortable, it's close to the Main Street, staff are nice, food it great. Can't fault it really. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • SanderPhoelich
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
7th Jul 2016
8.3

Good hostel. The kitchen has a lot of free food. The staff was helpful. There were also enough power sockets in the room. Good black curtains, so it will get dark in the room with the midnight sun. Earplugs were provided for free, but I didn't need them. The location very good, because the view is perfect. It is also close to a bonus supermarket and the shopping street. The showers look like prison showers , however there was one shower where you could lock the door and have som privacy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
9.4

Really nice hostel, but still expensive compared to other parts of Europe. Rooms were nice and clean, linen (extra cost) was clean, lockers in he rooms are available, and people keep the noise levels down in the mixed dorms. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Jul 2016
8.6

Was a great stay they were very accommodating when we arrived at 3:30am to check in. Wasn't able to explore around enough to figure out if this was a great location to be in, in Iceland. The only issue that I had was most of the showers were locker room style showers, which for some may be uncomfortable. They did have private showers but there was only one that I could find on my floor. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
10.0

Great amenities and friendly staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.