Hostelworld.com

KEX Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2,214 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2,214 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
KEX Hostel Located at Skúlagata 28, , Reykjavik.
KEX Hostel
Iceland
Reykjavik 101 Skúlagata 28
90% 2214
64.1455132 -21.9194304
KEX Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
8.9

Great place! Would stay there again. Rally cool atmosphere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
6.3

Like everything in Iceland this hostel was waaaaay overpriced for what it was. I have never seen such a small room for 6 beds. The bathrooms were clean but the main bathroom has 8 shower heads with no divider between them. When I enquired about the washing machines I was told washing was only open for 2 hours a day but the machines were "always broken". This sums up most of the staff - reluctant to help and uninterested - there was one nice and helpful man however. Will NOT be going back.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Jun 2016
8.0

Stayed in the 16 bed room and the overall stay was okay. The people in our room were so messy and that dampened our stay. There was clothes everywhere and one bed there was coke stains all over it. Postives- There are a lot of showers and washrooms, laundry and a cool lounge and restaurant area. The breakfast buffet is also very good and has a large selection but make sure to go early. Overall would stay again just in a smaller room next time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
9.1

This is one of the coolest hostels I have ever stayed in, however the price was very expensive compared to hostels in Western Europe which might be due to the Secret Solace Festival that weeken. The atmosphere of the hostel was amazing and the decorations were very cool, however the walls in the dorm were very thin and if you are a light sleeper, you definitely could here other walking in the hallway, closing and opening their room doors etc. Definitely recommend staying!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2016
8.6

It is well located, and the staff are friendly and helpful. It was a bit noisy, but they do have complimentary earplugs. Overall I liked it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
10.0

Super cozy, social and very central! A lot of locals meet up here and you will meet a lot of travelers passing through. Great setup for meeting people. Really cool bar/lobby area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
9.1

Very good hostel. The atmosphere was amazing and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There was live music some nights and also a screen to watch the euro cup on. Sometimes you didn't even want to leave the hostel because it was good times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2016
9.7

Amazing hostel, by far the trendiest and cleanest I've stayed in. The atmosphere is awesome; there is a giant bar downstairs and plenty of places to hang out and meet people. The beds and linens provided are super comfy, and even in a 16-bed dorm we felt very safe. It's right by the water and a short walk from Reykjavik's main touristy street; perfect. Loved it here, HIGHLY recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jun 2016
8.6

Too cool for school

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
8.6

So hipster it hurts

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.