Hostelworld.com

KEX Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2,144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2,144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
KEX Hostel Located at Skúlagata 28, , Reykjavik.
KEX Hostel
Iceland
Reykjavik 101 Skúlagata 28
89% 2144
64.1455647 -21.9193768
KEX Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th May 2016
9.7

The beds were squeaky when I moved or others moved. Besides this, the place was very spacious and kind people all around. Great place to stay in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th May 2016
10.0

Great hostel, good social atmosphere. Front desk staff was amazing, hope they see this because they really work hard at trying to help! Only 2 blocks from the center of town and directly across the street from the ocean. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th May 2016
8.3

The kitchen is not great. It is too small for the amount of people staying at this hostel. The staff were really nice and the atmosphere here was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
15th May 2016
8.9

This hostel is very "hip". The bar downstairs is cool, popular with local people, and the free gigs are awesome. However I think the actual hostel itself could do with some improvement - the lighting in the kitchen and bathrooms is really, really poor, for example. I get that the dimness is part of the *aesthetic* but when you're chopping vegetables you'd rather see what you're doing. Also two hot plates is not enough for an entire floor, and there's no can opener etc. still a very n

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
8.0

Great place to stay, would go back! I loved the common area/bar. Within walking distance to everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th May 2016
8.0

Loved the bar, great restaurant. When bands play they soundcheck during the day which is very loud through the whole hostel, but bands and the bar always close before midnight, so it's easy to sleep at night. Kitchen on every floor is nice, and many bathrooms, but the common shower area is a little prison-like. Always opted to wait in line for a private shower room. Very easy location to get to, walkable to downtown and great food and drinks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th May 2016
8.3

KEX is a beautiful hostel! It's located in an okay-enough spot in Reykjavik, but is a little bit away from the main area. The only thing that really grossed me out was the private bathroom/shower in the hallway near my room. It just didn't look like it was cleaned very much and the lighting was horrible. The other shower option was basically just a giant shower room with like 10 shower heads and no privacy. I wasn't expecting that. Clean your private bathrooms, KEX! Otherwise, great place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
10.0

Best hostel I've ever stayed in. All staff were very happy to help with our million questions, was very clean and the general atmosphere was brilliant. Great place, would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • seandesouza
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
4th May 2016
9.7

I can't really fault this hostel. It has all you could want. Rating speaks for itself.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
9.4

I thought I might be too old to stay in a hostel but there were people from all walks of life and from all over the world. The life music nights were wonderful also. And the staff is super helpful. Will stay there again next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.