X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

KEX Hostel Reviews

Skúlagata 28, Reykjavik, Iceland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1701 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

A busy hostel with lots going on. Live music many nights, a good location and affordable option in Reykjavik. I would definitely stay here again if i come back.


77%

Although cleanliness was quite good in the room and common area some bathrooms were not good. Especially the mixed bathroom that had toilet by the shower.


100%

Great atmosphere and eclectic mix of people staying there. Couldn't have enjoyed it more.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is awesome!! Great vibe and knows what travellers need


100%

I thought the Kex hostel was awesome! Great services and got to meet so many people. The atmosphere was excellent, live music performances and beer that is way too easy to drink! Right in the heart of reykjavic, all beautiful scenery and places within walking distance. Highly recommend this place!!!

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

KEX was one of the coolest hostels I've ever stayed at. This place is a backpackers dream! I met so many cool people because of the commons and bar on the second floor. The beds were nice and showers kept really clean. The bar staff in the evenings seemed rude to me always but i think its because they don't know who's a patron or who's a guest... Overall, I will be staying there when i come back to Iceland. Very cool!!


97%

Definitely one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Wonderfully decorated, clean, great breakfast and spacious rooms. All a bit expensive, but that's according to the prices in Iceland.


86%

Had a great time here. It's extremely close to the Main Street, so if you're looking for a 5 minute walk to the major bars and shops, this hostel is for you. The bar/lounge was bustling and busy in the evenings, and the atmosphere was amazing. I'd definitely stay again here.


94%

Shower wasnt very good, temperature hard to control

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

They were very accommodating, and I had 0 problems during my stay at Kex. The hostel had a great mix of people from across the world, and it is very well-situated in Reykjavik. I would definitely recommend Kex to anyone visiting Iceland.


80%

super cozy bed , have a nice stay here


94%

Great hostel, friendly atmosphere and staff. We stayed up all night in the main lobby with no comments from the staff. One thing to work on - the wifi on the 4th floor room 421 was really poor. There is nothing worse than when I can't rest in my bed on the wifi after a long day travelling. Other than that everything was perfect. Thanks!

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Not the cleanest, but clearly an old building so that's expected. Great atmosphere! Breakfast is pretty expensive so worth checking out other options. Staff is super helpful.


100%

Very worthy for the money you pay. Just 2 blocks from the main street which many bars and stores are located.


63%

Really pretentious. Staff often cold and unhelpful. Poor lighting everywhere. Thought we were saving $ by booking bigger, mixed dorm, but ended up paying for pillow, linens and towels on top of bed price, which was not evident anywhere on the website or hostel world when making reservation. Otherwise breakfast was good, facilities were fine, location good.


100%

The staff was incredibly friendly. One of the staff members left me use the phone to contact a local tour agency. The atmosphere is cozy and open. It extends a fun and friendly vibe from the staff, other fellow travelers, rad bar and lounge.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall good experience at Kex. Only concern would be the noise level after the lights out time of 11pm. It can be a bit loud sometimes.


100%

I had an excellent time in Iceland. The staff at Kex were all very welcoming and friendly, also the hostel was a very nice and comfortable place to stay. I would definitely recommend Kex to others planning on visiting Reykjavik! Many thanks!

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Not the place to stay if you want to sleep. Walls are thin so you hear everything from the hallway and doors slam loudly. Staff were nice. Common area felt more like a bar (it is a bar) than a place to meet other travelers.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • travelingt0m5022
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff is always friendly and helpful.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(100 results)


View all Reykjavik Hostels

Please give us your feedback