Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

KEX Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3126 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3126 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
9.1

Very cool hostel right in the central Reykjavik with views of the mountains across the bay. The decor is quirky and cool and the bar is well stocked with local beers. Very busy in the evenings as the bar is also popular with locals. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The only downsides were that it's expensive (as is everything in Reykjavik) and can be noisy in the early evening.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
9.1

The Kex bar was a lot of fun with a great Happy Hour special of wines and beers. The common areas were fun, well decorated and clean. The rooms/beds themselves were small but worked for what we were looking for. There were free which was nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2017
9.4

Great location, walking distance to downtown and nearby bus stops. Good atmosphere, the bottom level is a bar which brings in sizable crowds. Facilities are clean but often run out of basic necessities (no soap, toilet paper, etc.). With certain rooms you have to pay extra for linens. Staff can also be a bit cold although they're very helpful. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2017
6.0

Pretentious decor, staff were inconsistent (some front desk staff did not seem interested in doing their job). Room was clean, location was awesome. Could have used more lighting in the room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2017
6.9

The wifi was awful and barely worked. While I was there my charger was stolen and my friend's sleeping bag was stolen. Luckily everything else was in my locker but I've never experienced a hostel where you should feel the need to lock away a phone charger and a sleeping bag. Also it's the only hostel I've ever stayed in where you have to pay extra for bedding which is very strange. However, most of the people were friendly and the kitchen and bathrooms were kept very clean.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2017
9.1

One of the nicest hostels ive been at. Near to many bars in reykjavik. Only complaint is that a couple of the large bathrooms smelled badly, and the bar closed very early. Other than that it was wonderful and a very nice atmosphere. The staff was very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2017
7.7

The outside looked a bit rough: shabby door, weeds growing, broken tiles ect. luckily once we got to the first floor this all changed. The interior was lovely. Ear plugs were offered at reception (which was unnerving, luckily we didn't need them) The receptionist was very welcoming (A girl from Latvia). We had booked a 10 bed dorm but got a 6 bed for no additional cost which was welcome. Bedroom was basic and showers offered no privacy. Got the cheapest pint in Iceland here thanks to Happy hour!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2017
9.7

KEX really is awesome. It was recommended to me by some who had stayed here previously, and it did not disappoint. Wonderful atmosphere, great for solo travelers to meet people. Looking forward to staying here again in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2017
8.6

Kex hostel is an awesome place to stay. Staff are really friendly, always live music at night but doesn't go to late so if you have to be up early it's still fine. Only about 10-15min walk to city center and down town is right behind. Overall really great place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2017
8.3

Good location. Rooms are a little dark, but it may be intentional. Showers are hot, however there seemed to be a lack of them (sometimes there were lines in the morning).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×