Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

KEX Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2722 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2722 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • annnndkim
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2017
8.3

This was a great place to stay in expensive Reykjavik. The bar is a popular hot spot among locals and tourists alike, which makes for an interesting vibe, though most seem to keep to themselves. Private shower rooms were nice to have, WiFi was reliable in the bar and rooms, beautiful views of Mt. Esja. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
9.4

Okay, so now maybe this was a bit too 'hip' for me, but I liked it. I forgot I booked the breakfast so did not have it until the last day. Duh. My room was awesome, became friends with most of my room mates ( had a female only dorm) It is a short walk to the city, there is a take away just across the road. Most tour places pick you up at Kex which was good. Showers were amazing! Hot and strong. Just like I like my men ha!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
9.7

Great stay at Kex! Safe, welcoming, and filled with guests from all over the world. The location can't be beat! The view from the windows of the mountains made me smile each morning. Close proximity to the main shopping street, downtown, and an awesome local pool (with 2 rooftop hot tubs and a steam room!) called Sundhollin. Great kitchen facilities on each floor and plenty of toilets/showers (never had to wait in the mornings). Cozy rooms with comfortable beds and lockers. Enjoy your stay :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Mar 2017
9.4

I loved KEX, great vibes and ideal for meeting other travellers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
10.0

You can't get any better than this for the price. Cool hostel, amazing country.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
8.6

As expensive as everything in Iceland, so I probably should've given it a greater value for its money... Would be nice if they could include the breakfast somehow, instead of charging an extra $22 USD. The location, decor, and atmosphere are all fantastic. The bar is cool and has a well-priced happy hour. Beds are comfy and warm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
10.0

You should not miss KEX when coming to Reykjavik... it is THE spot for young people and everyone is so cool and nice! Also, beautiful place and great bar!!! Not even a question of whether or not you should stay at KEX.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
8.0

Great place to stay while in Reykjavik 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
8.9

My friends and I only stayed one night, but kex hostel was just what we needed. It's in a good area, within walking distance to the harbor, restaurants and bars. There's a cool vibe on the main floor where the bar/cafe is, and the dorms and showers were clean. All in all a good, quick stay, and i'd recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Mar 2017
8.3

Great Hostel with a great atmosphere for meeting other people! Good price considering Iceland is so expensive!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.