Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

KEX Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2768 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2768 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Apr 2017
8.3

Unique environment. Live shows, good restaurant (expensive though) and nice facilities. People at the reception were very supportive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
8.0

Kex is set up as a restaurant/ music venue first, and hostel last. I felt like a 2nd class citizen. $5 for bullshit coffee? Very uncomfortable atmosphere...You're sharing the common area with paying customers. Pretentious...No love there. Staff was great though, and very accommodating. Clean with a decent kitchen area. Spotty WiFi in the room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bermuda, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
10.0

Great place to stay! Awesome location! Very cool atmosphere. Love my stay there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2017
9.7

Staff were amazing, always helpful and I received prompt service every time. Value for money rated 4/5 purely because I don't think you can rate ANYTHING in RVK a 5/5 for this, place is so damn expensive for everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2017
8.9

Kex is definetly a cool hostel to check out, close to downtown Rekyavik and has a lot of character. I loved the fact that it used to be an old bread factory, very cool. I only stayed on night and arrived very late so I didn't get a chance to hang out in the common area but they seemed very fun! Had a jazz night the night I stayed which would've been cool to check out. Definetly recommend this hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • evmiller1
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
10.0

This has to be one of the best hostels I have stayed in! The staff are very friendly and helpful, location is good with just a short distance to supermarket and Reykjavik sights. The kitchen is pretty well equipped, the beds are comfy, the showers are amazing, as is the wifi. Plus it's very social which is great for the solo traveller. There's also a great bar/restaurant downstairs which is convenient if you want to buy meals. I would highly recommend it and definitely stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
7.7

The location is absolutely great. There is a key card entry to the rooms and lockers in the rooms. The breakfast is expensive and just okay. There are no private stalls in the showers although there are few private bathrooms/showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
5.1

security very low pretty much anyone that goes to the Kex restaurant/bar can get into the rooms. There are keys to scan but the doors don't shut well and people just let you in and out.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
9.1

As a solo female traveler, Kex was ideal. I loved the atmosphere and the multiple kitchens, couches and even the bar to chill with people. I did the Kex Golden Circle tour as well, great decision, meeting people to rent a car and do our own trips the rest of my time there. One point of criticism is the kitchens could your a few more utensils, hand towels and paper towels! Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Mar 2017
9.1

I met some nice people in the hostel, the hostel is clean and beautiful but slightly overpriced. Overall, it is a very good experience!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.