Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

KEX Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2822 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2822 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd May 2017
8.3

Trendy hostel with large bar/restaurant area. Great facilities. Would have appreciated a bit more info on check in such as where the laundry was, that there are kitchens on each level and lockers available with a deposit. Could have been cleaner - the kitchen was left in a bit of a state at times. Couldn't find a single mug for a cup of coffee/tea in level 3 kitchen. Pillows are terrible - even when you fold them over they are still thinner than a regular pillow. Great having 24hr reception.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2017
10.0

Incredible hostel. Perfect location and very helpful staff. The atmosphere is incredible, during my short stay they put on a free jazz concert and incredible karaoke in the main area. So much fun and great people I met there,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gabbygirl
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
10.0

Such a cool place! Atmosphere was awesome, great place for young travelers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
8.9

This hostel is in good location, near the city center with beautiful view of the bay. The staff members were very helpful , they even offered to help me when I couldn't carry the luggage up the staircase since I have a back problem. Each guest has a keycard to enter the hallway and the bedroom with individual private locker. No doubt for security. Restaurant and bar are available until very late . Plenty of bathrooms and toilets on every floor. safe for solo travellers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nicky_mcmahon7603
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th May 2017
7.4

Not my favourite place, but not bad either. I stayed 2 nights in a 16 bed dorm. The beds were fine, room was spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms were fine however there was a big shared shower for women, not really my idea of a good shower to be honest. I like my privacy. The staff were pleasent enough. The breakfast was good, but cost a fortune like everything else in iceland! For the money we paid, I stayed at better shared air B and Bs throughout Iceland.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
7.7

I've stayed at KEX before, so I knew what it was like already. It was clean, and the staff were nice. The bed wasn't that comfortable, and having to pay extra for linen and a towel on an already expensive room isn't really great. It's a quick walk to the main shopping street, and right on the waterfront, and the back patio is a nice place to sit and chill out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
8.3

The hostel has a very good location. They provide you with a kitchen with freezer which resulted very helpful considering the high costs of restaurants. The people and the staff are very friendly. My friend and I just had an inconvenient with one of the guys at the front desk: He booked our trip back to the airport with the wrong company! This is not to say that the staff service is bad; just make sure they book you in the right company and everything will be fine. I'd definitely stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
11th May 2017
8.3

Pros: - cool bar area downstairs with happy hour, good food and lots of locals go to it as well - good location - good security - cool decor Cons: - have to rent duvets in 16 bed dorm rooms (but there are free fitted sheets and pillow cases). If I would have known it was only in the 16 bed dorms I would have got a smaller room with free duvets - bathrooms aren't very clean - no electrical outlets in each bunk - one small mirror in room which was all rusty and you couldn't see

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
8.3

This was a fun place to stay. The main floor with the restaurant/bar was very cool and an entertaining place to hang out. The entryway and stairwells really needed a good cleaning and this lead to a pretty bad first impression. However the beds were comfortable and the bedding was clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ANNtastic9
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
10.0

I stayed at KEX Hostel twice during my trip to Iceland and would highly recommend it. The facilities are nice. Towels and hair dryers are free. Many attractions, like the old harbor and the Hallgrímskirkja church, are within walking distance. The lobby is also a great spot to hang out as well. There's a bar and a lounge area where events are held on some nights. One night I was there, Reykjavik Kabarett put on a performance ... It was incredibly entertaining, and free!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.