Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

KEX Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3146 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3146 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Sep 2017
7.4

Staff were very nice and helpful. The only problem I had was the total atmosphere of the place and my lack of wifi. If creepy mental institution is what you want then this is the place. I honestly dont know who planned the decor of the place. Its like I'm in a horror film. I dont get it. AND I didnt have wifi. My bed was situated in a place where I had 1 bar and wasnt able to connect at all. I should have asked the staff to resolve this problem but I was too tired.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2017
10.0

This hostel was the coolest, most industrial, hidden gem of Reykjavik! Clean dorms and a cool bar/restaurant bar at night downstairs that is very popular on Friday and Saturday nights!! Clean showers, friendly staff- awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2017
8.3

Fantastic location and the hostel's bar is popular with locals as well as folks staying there, making it pretty easy to meet people, especially on a Saturday night, which was convenient for me as a solo traveler. Nothing is value for money in Iceland, so it was probably more expensive than it should've been, but that's par for the course. Place is enormous, but facilities are meh. Kitchens were surprisingly clean, considering a lot of folks do a fair amount of self catering.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
9.1

Very cool hostel right in the central Reykjavik with views of the mountains across the bay. The decor is quirky and cool and the bar is well stocked with local beers. Very busy in the evenings as the bar is also popular with locals. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The only downsides were that it's expensive (as is everything in Reykjavik) and can be noisy in the early evening.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
9.1

The Kex bar was a lot of fun with a great Happy Hour special of wines and beers. The common areas were fun, well decorated and clean. The rooms/beds themselves were small but worked for what we were looking for. There were free which was nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2017
9.4

Great location, walking distance to downtown and nearby bus stops. Good atmosphere, the bottom level is a bar which brings in sizable crowds. Facilities are clean but often run out of basic necessities (no soap, toilet paper, etc.). With certain rooms you have to pay extra for linens. Staff can also be a bit cold although they're very helpful. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2017
9.7

My girlfriend was very ill and ended up in hospital. The team there were extremely helpful and supportive in making sure she was safe and the ambulance was on its was. Cannot thank them enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2017
6.0

Pretentious decor, staff were inconsistent (some front desk staff did not seem interested in doing their job). Room was clean, location was awesome. Could have used more lighting in the room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2017
9.4

Excellent and cosy hostel to stay with lots of charisma, great ambient and if you have luck: some nice live concerts!!! Comfortable beds, clean dorms, toilets/showers could be better but they were clean. The decoration of the place is top notch and the staff were friendly and helpful all the time. My only let down were the expensive prices of the bar but i'm definitely returning to KEX on my next Iceland visit! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2017
6.9

The wifi was awful and barely worked. While I was there my charger was stolen and my friend's sleeping bag was stolen. Luckily everything else was in my locker but I've never experienced a hostel where you should feel the need to lock away a phone charger and a sleeping bag. Also it's the only hostel I've ever stayed in where you have to pay extra for bedding which is very strange. However, most of the people were friendly and the kitchen and bathrooms were kept very clean.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×