Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

KEX Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2956 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2956 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
8.9

Great place with a amazing decor!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
7.7

Don't go here if you want to sleep before 1 am, they have live music until late at night and it's outdoor live music right outside the rooms. The bathrooms had some sort of patchwork on the floors, I forgot my flip flops so i kept looking at this stuff wondering if it's tar or asphalt or what, pasted over the tiles. Bathrooms were clean, but half the sinks didn't work. Very social place, unfortunately my buddy and I were too tired to take advantage of this. Wouldn't stay again, because loud.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
9.4

Excellent overall

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2017
9.7

Our stay at KEX was great! The staff was super helpful. Room was clean and so were the bathrooms. The best part was the bar / events they have going on every night! It was a rainy and cold night, and there was nothing better than watching live music right in the hostel. 100% recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jul 2017
9.1

Great place amazingly decorated, big rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
6.9

The outlets were across the room, so when charging your phone or ipad overnight you had to leave it on the floor and trust that the other people in the dorm weren't going to steal them. Within the dorm rooms themselves there was no where to lock up your bag, there were tiny school sized lockers, but there was no way my 55 litre bag was going to fit in one; while I was out during the day anyone in my dorm could have walked out with my bag. I'm also not a huge fan of communal showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2017
10.0

superb staff, extremely patient and helpful all around. Answered all my questions and felt comfortable at all times. Also thank you for setting up my transportation for my next adventure. MUCHAS GRACIAS!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
9.4

Great hostel. Perfect location. Bar with top views. Clean. Overpriced, but everything is in Iceland. Only one working PowerPoint for a room of 6 people. Other than that, ideal!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
9.1

Really enjoyed my time at KEX! Had everything you want from a hostel and more. Great location, walking distance to everywhere but not surrounded by the noise of the city centre. Very helpful staff, offered lots of information on what to do in and around Reykjavik. The style of the building and atmosphere is definitely the highlight of KEX, which is great as a solo traveler. One of the best hostel breakfasts I've experienced!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jul 2017
6.6

Sooooo loud! Way too hard to sleep. Room near the kitchen sucked there was no quiet hour people could be in the kitchen laughing drinking and yelling all night. The lockers are pure metal and rattle so loud when someone goes to unlock them it was awful. The doors self lock and are super heavy they slam anytime someone comes in or out of the room add that to the fact you can hear the doors slam near your room as well and good luck getting any sleep. I know I got none in the 3 nights I spent there

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.