Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

KEX Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2976 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2976 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
24th Jul 2017
9.7

Fantastic place to stay. Fun atmosphere, clean comfy beds. A bit expensive but that is Iceland in general. Wish we would have spent more time at the bar but we're so tired.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
10.0

Great hostel located within walking distance of the city centre. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is great: Icelanders also enjoy the bar area especially on nights where there are shows!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
8.6

Really cool hostel, Brooklyn vibes all around, great bar and staff. An Icelandic rap artist performed in the hostel when we were there which was an absolutely amazing show. I would stay there again. However, it's a bit expensive and for $50 for a dorm bed I would expect a blanket and a top sheet (they provide a fitted sheet and pillow case).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2017
7.7

I've stayed in a larger number of hostels and I would call this one, fine. It was not amazing and it wasn't horrible. I was with a group of 4 and our money would have probably been better spent in an airbnb. The hostel was good enough but did not exceed my hopes. I had to pay extra for bed sheets/pillow which most certainly could have been stated on the site when I purchased but I did not notice it and neither did the other 3 who booked when they all booked their stays.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2017
8.6

We only stayed for a short night, so we didn't spend much time at the hostel. The 24-hour reception was very convenient. The hostel is very large with nice facilities. The showers are not individual, but they worked well. The hostel wasn't very clean, but it didn't really bother us. The hostel is quite expensive, but then again; everything in Reykjavik is.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2017
8.9

I liked the interior. Very nice and cool hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2017
5.1

A case of style without substance. Nobody seems to have thought about how things would work in practice - cool metal school lockers, but too small to fit a rucksack and too noisy when people leave early in the morning; tiny ill lit kitchen with only 2 tables; was supposed to offer luggage storage but told unable to do so, due to building work next door - right next door, no chance of lie in after 9am. In the bar area everyone seemed too cool to actually want to chat to anyone else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jul 2017
9.7

The place was great. I loved the ambience and the decoration. It was clean and well located. The only negative aspects: you have to pay for your linen and for breakfast ( which is quite expensive like everything in Iceland).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
8.9

Great place with a amazing decor!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
7.7

Don't go here if you want to sleep before 1 am, they have live music until late at night and it's outdoor live music right outside the rooms. The bathrooms had some sort of patchwork on the floors, I forgot my flip flops so i kept looking at this stuff wondering if it's tar or asphalt or what, pasted over the tiles. Bathrooms were clean, but half the sinks didn't work. Very social place, unfortunately my buddy and I were too tired to take advantage of this. Wouldn't stay again, because loud.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.