Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

KaBa Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 381 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 381 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Aug 2017
8.9

Very clean and quiet hostel in a good location in Gent. Not the most centrally located hostel in the city, but definitely close enough to be convenient (no need to take public transport to see the sites). Very good breakfast (make your own eggs!) and good kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2017
9.7

Great place even for two 79 year old old wrinklies like us - pity there's no lift.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • taylorjobrien1630
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
8th Jul 2017
7.4

The staff was friendly and it wasn't a bad place to stay, but it felt like a solid walk (or tram ride) away from everything. In addition, the three-level bunks, although well-constructed unlike other hostel bunks, made for an extremely uncomfortable night's sleep. It was cool outside and very hot in the top bunk (80+ F, 27 C). The small lockers (with built-in locks) provided were pointless, because the keys worked for all of them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very sorry to hear you had a bad experience at our hostel. We are aware the 3 level bunks are adventurous but we weren't aware that it could get so hot up there. We will see to install fans. About the lockers, once we heard about the problem, we have changed the locks immediately, apparently the company that built the lockers mistakenly put the same locks in all of them :-/.

7th Jul 2017
9.1

My favorite hostel so far. Lovely place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

Everything was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
9.4

The hostel is very homely and the staff is friendly and helpful. They even allowed me an early check in! The breakfast is complimentary and has a good selection of coffee tea, cheese and sweets. The rooms are well kept and ample toilets and showers for all. Only advice is that the pillows are very hard but overall, this is a highly recommended hostel! Close to the city centre by walk and even to the tram stations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • iPodLadyNoosie5050
  • Belgium, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
10.0

I had a very pleasant stay in a very interesting building. The room ( female for 6) and ensuite bathroom were very clean and fresh. The window had been left open for fresh air which is good, especially on a hot day as it was and had a screen too so no bugs in the room. Breakfast was included in the price and consisted of bread, ham, cheese, cheese spread and the usual sweet spreads too, orange juice and fresh apples as well as tea and coffee. Excellent stay, I will come back. Thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
11th Jun 2017
9.7

The staff here were very helpful and down to earth. I saw them clean pretty throughly everyday, and the free coffee was a nice touch. Breakfast had variety, and there was also a computer you could use. It was a little bit of a walk to old town ghent, but I didn't mind at all. Would return again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
9.1

Had a great stay with my friend at this hostel. The lady checked us in early and we were able to explore the city right away. Only small problem was when I checked out. I had paid for my stay upon arrival (in cash) and they had forgotten to enter in the system... I was questioned and had to wait until they could figure it out. If I were to make a suggestion, is to ask for a receipt, because they did not provide me with one. Overall however, wonderful stay (also good breakfast).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2017
9.7

Excellent hostel. Good location, kind staff, brilliant facilities including really nice breakfast buffet. Just outside the busiest area, so quiet at night. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.