Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kamakura Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 220 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 220 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 8.9
Kamakura Guesthouse Located at 273-3,Tokiwa,Kamakura-city, , Kamakura.
Kamakura Guesthouse
Japan
Kamakura 248-0022 273-3,Tokiwa,Kamakura-city
91% 220
35.3283610 139.5230734
Kamakura Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2016
9.4

Would thoroughly recommend this to anyone staying in Kamakura. The kitchen facilities definitely stand out as being some of the best I have used, and the atmosphere in the common area was amazing every night I was there; the lovely staff would also join in with the fun which was really nice to see!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Sep 2016
9.1

Was quite far out from the centre of town, but there was a bus that made it easily accessible. Lovely guesthouse, and staff were very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
9.7

Very clean, good atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd May 2016
9.4

It's located in a nice little neighbourhood where families come out with bunches of kids to see the fireflies on summer evenings. The peaceful feeling of the area makes up for the slight distance from most of Kamakura's attractions (which are still easily accessible by train or bus). The staff are AMAZING and really make everyone feel welcome! I don't usually spend a lot of time in hostel common rooms, but I wished I had more nights here to do exactly that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th May 2016
9.1

This is a very authentic Japanese guest house. You sleep on a pad and eat at small tables sitting on the ground. They've got an open kitchen and are across from a grocery, which is great. Location isn't the best because it's up the hill and far from kamakura beach and town. Very cute and clean place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
7.1

I really wanted to love this hostel. It's a beautiful traditional old building with tatami rooms, and a bar/restaurant (unrelated) directly downstairs. Unfortunately, several things were a problem. For one, the place was very cramped and having too many staff using the facilities (cooking/eating/playing games in the common space) made it difficult to find space. They were very friendly and always tried to help but allowed people to party until 2am disturbing the boys dorm in the next room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Mar 2016
7.4

No negatives about the property, it's a little way out of town but buses are regular. You can also hire bikes. Loved the traditional vibe. Staff are there all the time it almost feels like a family home.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2016
9.1

The place was great and all. My only comments would be that it was a bit hard to find, and then, although they mention that the bedroom curfew is at 10 pm, the "social room" curfew is not until 12:00 p.m. I would have no problem with that if it weren't because the men's dorm and the social room is only separated by a paper wall, so, basically, even though the lights are out, you can hear the party going until midnight. If you are a light sleeper like me, you won't get much sleep until t

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2016
10.0

I loved everything about my stay in this hostel. The outside of the house looked breathtakingly picturesque, and the staff was kind enough to hold my luggage until check-in time. They took plenty of time to make me feel at home, and I really appreciated that. The staff invited me and other guests to participate in multiple activities, which for me added an enormous amount of value to my stay. The inside of the guesthouse is nicely preserved and it felt like I was staying in a high-class lodge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.