Hostelworld.com

Kaminu

  • Bajada de Baos 342 - Barranco, Lima, Peru
Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 111 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 111 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • niamhfk
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Feb 2017
8.6

Great location and rooftop terrace, the bathrooms/showers are located right at reception which isn't ideal but overall a good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
4.6

Good: the location- fantastic! Close to beaches, great restaurants, street art, parks & awesome sunset views. Bad: the staff. One person was very helpful & friendly (Kafe? Not sure of spelling) but others were less than friendly. Particularly the morning we left- it was clear they were NOT happy that we were a gay couple staying there. Ugly: zero chance to sleep. No A/C, fan doesn't work, & SO LOUD! The main pedestrian path & clubs are literally outside the window, loud until 4am daily, Mon-Wed

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
8.9

Overall awesome hostel. Pretty tight quarters inside but walk up the stairs onto the rooftop bar and lounge area and it's a great area to socialize and get reasonably priced drinks. They also brew around a dozen of their own Piscos in large jars sitting at their bar for you to choose. Very friendly employees, only problem I had with them was a miscount on my bill which led to an extra 15 soles to be paid at the end of our stay. If you're planning on staying in Barranco Kaminu is your place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • katiemattera
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jan 2017
7.1

meh. location is great, but the hostel itself is mediocre at best. staff was friendly but i'm pretty sure it's a requirement to have only half a brain if you want to work or volunteer here. there were 5 of us total, and they screwed up our reservation/prices etc literally every time we had to discuss them. impressively bad actually. MEHHHHHH

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Dec 2016
10.0

The hostel is placed in an old building in a very nice Bohemian quarter of Lima. It has those problems of an old building, but nothing that could interfere in my staying. I liked it very much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
28th Nov 2016
7.1

Mix up with room booking meant we couldn't get a private room in the main hostel. Dorms were pretty dark and airless, some lockers were broken. Showers sucked. Not much atmosphere in the common areas and sometimes hard to get a beer during the day... Nice rooftop area though. Would probably not stay again : /

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
13th Oct 2016
7.7

It's quite a small hostel and rooms are basic. Had a cool rooftop and cheap dinner and drinks available, atmosphere can be hit and miss due to small size.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Sep 2016
7.7

Nice location. Nice rooftop bar. Flush didn't work in the ladies toilet and the showers were right behind reception (a bit public). Sounded like the bar was buzzing at night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.