Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kandy City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 103 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 103 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Mar 2017
7.7

Spent 2 nights here to visit the Lake and Temple in Kandy, and a day trip to climb Sigiriya/Pidurangala rock. Friendly and helpful staff, met some lovely people who we were able to split transport costs to Sigiriya with. Mixed dorm has large lockers for your bags. Each bed has a fan and mosquito net. Hostel is close to a busy road which can be noisy but generally good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
10.0

Staff were awesome

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
2.3

Rude staff that made us sit around for ages and didn't help, location is inconvenient. You also don't even get a key to the room as they just stay unlocked. The beds are rubbish and shake a lot when anyone moves at all. Location was not central and it cost us a fair bit in Tuk Tuks to get around.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Feb 2017
8.0

Had a great stay at Kandy City Hostel. The staff is very helpful and Calvin was always answering my questions. It's not directly in the city but it's not to far away with a tuk tuk. It was so good that we decided to stay one more night. They have a rooftop where we could hang out and have some drinks. Would recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • catherineanna94
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
29th Jan 2017
6.6

It was a fine hostel, bit of a walk into town but not too bad. Not over clean but bearable. We stayed at the Colombo city hostel before here and were told we'd get 10% discount at any of the others, when I asked the guy at reception about this he wouldn't give it to us because we had pre booked or something? He could've been friendlier as well and the roof top could be so much better, but other than that it was fine for a few nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • georgeklim
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
10th Jan 2017
8.6

Room was a bit small for 6 beds but overall comfortable enough for our 1 night stay there. Could have had more power plugs in the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • louiseblair264
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.6

Great hostel in an easy to find location. Comfy beds, nice staff, but to be honest nothing spectacular

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Dec 2016
8.9

Cool hostel with excellent facilities. Location isn't great and the road outside isn't the safest to walk on. Quite a walk away (15 mins) from food or shops. Don't walk here from the train station. Atmosphere was very quiet when I was here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2016
9.4

Great place to meet new people, especially as a solo traveler! Clean common areas and awesome rooftop where we had a huge bbq. Decent location about a 20min walk to anywhere in town. Comfortable beds with mosquito nets and fans. Highly recommend while in Kandy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Dec 2016
9.4

Amazing atmosphere, really easy to meet people. The rooftop is a fantastic place to hang out. It's a couple kilometers outside of town (though walking distance from a few good restaurants) and the showers could have been hotter, but overall I would absolutely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.