Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kandy City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 95 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 95 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • catherineanna94
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
29th Jan 2017
6.6

It was a fine hostel, bit of a walk into town but not too bad. Not over clean but bearable. We stayed at the Colombo city hostel before here and were told we'd get 10% discount at any of the others, when I asked the guy at reception about this he wouldn't give it to us because we had pre booked or something? He could've been friendlier as well and the roof top could be so much better, but other than that it was fine for a few nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • georgeklim
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
10th Jan 2017
8.6

Room was a bit small for 6 beds but overall comfortable enough for our 1 night stay there. Could have had more power plugs in the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • louiseblair264
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.6

Great hostel in an easy to find location. Comfy beds, nice staff, but to be honest nothing spectacular

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Dec 2016
8.9

Cool hostel with excellent facilities. Location isn't great and the road outside isn't the safest to walk on. Quite a walk away (15 mins) from food or shops. Don't walk here from the train station. Atmosphere was very quiet when I was here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2016
9.4

Great place to meet new people, especially as a solo traveler! Clean common areas and awesome rooftop where we had a huge bbq. Decent location about a 20min walk to anywhere in town. Comfortable beds with mosquito nets and fans. Highly recommend while in Kandy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Dec 2016
9.4

Amazing atmosphere, really easy to meet people. The rooftop is a fantastic place to hang out. It's a couple kilometers outside of town (though walking distance from a few good restaurants) and the showers could have been hotter, but overall I would absolutely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Dec 2016
8.6

Great hostel, a bit out of the center which made for a nice break. The staff are super friendly and so helpful, especially when I was ill. Great atmosphere too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Nov 2016
9.1

Great hostel totally worth the money! I felt very safe there been a 23 year old female all on my own. The staff were very helpful, everything was very clean and lockers with pad locks were perfect. Free breakfast too :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Oct 2016
8.0

Location sucked and rooms were tiny but pretty good other than that

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
9.7

Awesome place to stay with a good vibe. Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.