Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kandy City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 56 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 56 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7
Kandy City Hostel Located at 76 Ampitiya Road, , Kandy.
Kandy City Hostel
Sri Lanka
Kandy Kandy 20000 76 Ampitiya Road
88% 56
7.2835508 80.6503772
Kandy City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.3

Great location with great staff who are willing to help with everything (trips, laundry, suggestions for the rest of your time in Sri Lanka). The atmosphere was great and the rooftop makes a great place to chill and meet people. The bathrooms are nothing special, however, there are enough of them. Would stay here again and would recommend for any travellers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jul 2016
9.4

Melanie, the manager is the most helpful person in the world! She gave me great advice on how best to spend my time in Sri Lanka. This hostel is a great place to meet people. The rooms are comfortable with secure lockers. It's easy to get to town from here. Overall, a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
9.1

I stayed here for two nights. The atmosphere was very good, easy to make friends. The hostel manager is super sweet and will help you with what ever you need. The hostel has their own tuk tuk driver, who is really cool and drives around in his own pimped up tuk tuk and plays loud party music. I will strongly recommend to stay here when you are in Kandy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2016
10.0

Best place I stayed in Sri Lanka, great hostess' (both chiara and Melanie). Definitely book here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
9.4

We stayed in kandy for 3 nights and had a great time. Melanie is helpful and welcoming and she even organised a home cooked rice and curry dinner for us one night. The hostel is a great place to meet people, really good hanging out areas. Bedrooms a bit cramped when there is a lot of people but comfortable anyway. The tuktuk driver is awesome and we spent two days with him taking us around kandy and then on a day trip to sigirya. He went out of his way to show us cool and local things and food.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
9.4

Great hostel. The manager Melani was super helpful and fun. We will be returning. The only negative I found was that our room had a cold shower but it's so warm it doesn't even matter.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
8.9

Great modern hostel with amazing rooftop hangout area and really helpful staff. Included breakfast was just bananas and bread but was acceptable. 6 bed dorm would be a bit cramped when full but good having big lockers provided.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th May 2016
7.7

Hostel, clean & well equiped with everything you need. The Stuff is friendly and helpfull . The location is not the best, its 10-15 min walking distance to the kandy lake. tuk tuk is a good option but cost you every time 300 Rupies. The dog is amazing :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.