Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kandy City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 71 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 71 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.9
Kandy City Hostel Located at 76 Ampitiya Road, , Kandy.
Kandy City Hostel
Sri Lanka
Kandy Kandy 20000 76 Ampitiya Road
87% 71
7.2835508 80.6503772
Kandy City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
8.0

Really nice hostel. One of the best we've stayed at in Sri Lanka so far. Staff are helpful and free breakfast and wifi both good. Only bad points are that the showers are freezing and that the road isn't very pedestrian friendly. Would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Sep 2016
8.6

The Hostel is in a good location, it's walking distance to tooth temple and lake. Very clean! You get your own fan above your bed, mosquito net and curtain on the bottom bunk. Big lockers for bags by beds. Lots of nice social spaces. You can hire a towel, pay to use the washing machine, buy water and beers from the hostel too. Great breakfast included in the price! Cool place with a lovely owner and dog who run the place on trust and respect. Really loved it. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
7.7

Hostel was nice, people were friendly, the rooftop was a really good place to chill out! Location isn't very good though, not really walkable to anywhere DO NOT WALK FROM THE TRAIN STATION!! if you don't mind thing tuktuks into town though it's a really nice place to stay 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mazen89
  • Saudi Arabia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
10th Sep 2016
8.3

Nice hostel lovely staff bed and facility are in good condition. You have your own plug and fan. When I checked in they checked me in 8 beds dorm while I booked on 4 bed. They sell beer onsite.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
10.0

Loved this hostel! Met so many great people in the amazing social spaces :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
8.3

Staffs are helpful. Local style breakfast. Nice place to stay. Will recommend . Actually I have recommended to other travelers I met.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
9.7

What can I say. Quite possible one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Has a really good atmosphere, quirky in its own way. Melanie the manager couldn't of helped me enough in planning my trip! I can't recommend this place enough! Fantastic... So good we booked to go to the Dambulla city hostel! Thank you!!!!! If your staying in Kandy this is a Must!!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2016
9.4

Wonderful hostel. Melanie was so helpful with booking everything, and I met amazing travelers here. Great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Aug 2016
8.3

Hostels in Colombo are expensive but at least here it was in a nice part of town, it was safe and the breakfast buffet was fab!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.3

Great location with great staff who are willing to help with everything (trips, laundry, suggestions for the rest of your time in Sri Lanka). The atmosphere was great and the rooftop makes a great place to chill and meet people. The bathrooms are nothing special, however, there are enough of them. Would stay here again and would recommend for any travellers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.