Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kandy City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 119 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 119 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2017
8.9

Great atmosphere with the common area upstairs-very sociable! Staff were super friendly and helpful with planning the next part of our trip!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2017
9.4

Good value hostel with everything you need. Easy walking distance to town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
10.0

The hostel is a short 2min tuk tuk ride from the lake in the centre of Kandy. Up a hill and gives a good view of the town below. The staff are extremely friendly, honest and willing to go out of their way to help you use the local busses and get the local price. Anthony is a legend. Very relaxed, generous, and helpful man. Ali keeps the place very clean and tidy. It was a pleasure to stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
10.0

I had the best time here. Alex, the manager, and Sam went above and beyond to make sure I was happy and comfortable, they are wonderful hosts. They took me out for the day to the river, and i spent the next day shopping with Alex; they are happy to do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable. They even provided lifts into town, and sam accompanied me to the hospital when I didn't feel well. The roof terrace and garden are lovely, too :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
9.7

I had a great time there, the hostel was super clean, very safe, close enough from the city center and restaurantes, and the manager Alex was a legend. I totally recomend to stay there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Apr 2017
9.1

Alex and Mohan were great hosts and helped organize some of my travels around. Most important was using their driver to drop me at the bus station to work out which bus i needed to be on as Kandy bus station is chaos on wheels. Price was good. Rooms are nice with power points in your locker. The upstairs relax area is great. Sit on the swing and look through the wall to see the Big buddha on the top of the mountain! It is a little walk from town, but that means it a quiet location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.0

Good place to stay, very big with lots to offer in community space. Rooftop hangout with city views. A little difficult to find at first but staff were willing to help find the hostel and they have a private tuk-Tuk driver to take you on any tour you want. It is about a 15 minute walk away from the lake. Free breakfast in the morning and coffee/tea all day. Stayed in the private room with a/c and two big lockers. Can be a little loud at night sleeping by traffic. Overall a great place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2017
7.7

Spent 2 nights here to visit the Lake and Temple in Kandy, and a day trip to climb Sigiriya/Pidurangala rock. Friendly and helpful staff, met some lovely people who we were able to split transport costs to Sigiriya with. Mixed dorm has large lockers for your bags. Each bed has a fan and mosquito net. Hostel is close to a busy road which can be noisy but generally good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
10.0

Staff were awesome

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
2.3

Rude staff that made us sit around for ages and didn't help, location is inconvenient. You also don't even get a key to the room as they just stay unlocked. The beds are rubbish and shake a lot when anyone moves at all. Location was not central and it cost us a fair bit in Tuk Tuks to get around.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.