Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kandy City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Sep 2017
10.0

Could not have asked for a better place to stay in Kandy. I arrived extremely early after flying in which wasn't an issues at all. Alex and the staff were super friendly and helpful! Would definitely come back and stay here :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Sep 2017
10.0

Very nice hostel, in a very nice building. Make sure to see the roof with the beautiful view.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2017
9.7

Really enjoyed my stay here, Alex and the guys there are so nice and helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • melissarosalind8807
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Aug 2017
4.0

Staff always out or far away from desk. Always seemed as if we were disturbing them and helping was an inconvenience to them. When checking in, was a porter but he didn't speak a word of English (no exaggeration). Girl was sick from food poisoning on our dorm room floor, when finally found member of staff to help, she handed me a mop and bucket with no soap or water in it. Other travellers nice-not welcoming because of lack of management. loved dambulla city hostel so we were very disappointed

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2017
9.7

It was a great place to stay n meet fellow travellers. Good common place to hangout and socialize. Also the manager 'sandra was very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Aug 2017
8.0

Overall stay was enjoyable and I met a lot of really cool people as the atmosphere is what you want for a backpacking holiday. The breakfast was reasonable and free tea and coffee anytime. We did not get any keys which seems to be normal in Sri Lanka but I felt security was safe. 6 bed dorm was very small with no AC. Good location and good place to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Aug 2017
9.7

Classy joint. Really clean, bright and cool. The staff are brilliant! Breakfast included and just a great atmosphere. Would have loved to stay longer!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2017
7.4

Okay hostel. Decent atmosphere with a nice rooftop chill area. The location is a good walk outside of town and they have very little plugs to charge your electronics.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Aug 2017
8.0

the place is awesome and pretty laid back. Loved the reception lady. couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly! thanks for the good times

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2017
9.4

Great staff and a great hostel. A fantastic place to stay whilst in Kandy. I stayed during the Perehera festival and all the information I needed was on a board in the hostel. The staff are friendly and helpful and super nice. Alex took me to get some lunch I'm my first day and booked the day tour with their own tuk tuk driver the next day at a good price The atmosphere is fabulous and it was easy to make friends here as a solo traveller. Thanks team Kandy for a lovely stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×