Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kandy City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 89 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 89 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.7
Kandy City Hostel Located at 76 Ampitiya Road, , Kandy.
Kandy City Hostel
Sri Lanka
Kandy Kandy 20000 76 Ampitiya Road
86% 89
7.2835508 80.6503772
Kandy City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • louiseblair264
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.6

Great hostel in an easy to find location. Comfy beds, nice staff, but to be honest nothing spectacular

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Dec 2016
8.9

Cool hostel with excellent facilities. Location isn't great and the road outside isn't the safest to walk on. Quite a walk away (15 mins) from food or shops. Don't walk here from the train station. Atmosphere was very quiet when I was here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2016
9.4

Great place to meet new people, especially as a solo traveler! Clean common areas and awesome rooftop where we had a huge bbq. Decent location about a 20min walk to anywhere in town. Comfortable beds with mosquito nets and fans. Highly recommend while in Kandy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Dec 2016
9.4

Amazing atmosphere, really easy to meet people. The rooftop is a fantastic place to hang out. It's a couple kilometers outside of town (though walking distance from a few good restaurants) and the showers could have been hotter, but overall I would absolutely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Dec 2016
8.6

Great hostel, a bit out of the center which made for a nice break. The staff are super friendly and so helpful, especially when I was ill. Great atmosphere too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Nov 2016
9.1

Great hostel totally worth the money! I felt very safe there been a 23 year old female all on my own. The staff were very helpful, everything was very clean and lockers with pad locks were perfect. Free breakfast too :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Oct 2016
8.0

Location sucked and rooms were tiny but pretty good other than that

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
9.7

Awesome place to stay with a good vibe. Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
8.0

Really nice hostel. One of the best we've stayed at in Sri Lanka so far. Staff are helpful and free breakfast and wifi both good. Only bad points are that the showers are freezing and that the road isn't very pedestrian friendly. Would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
20th Sep 2016
8.6

The Hostel is in a good location, it's walking distance to tooth temple and lake. Very clean! You get your own fan above your bed, mosquito net and curtain on the bottom bunk. Big lockers for bags by beds. Lots of nice social spaces. You can hire a towel, pay to use the washing machine, buy water and beers from the hostel too. Great breakfast included in the price! Cool place with a lovely owner and dog who run the place on trust and respect. Really loved it. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.