Hostelworld.com

Kandy Down Town Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 163 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 163 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
Kandy Down Town Hostel Located at No 93, Aniwatta Road, , Kandy.
Kandy Down Town Hostel
Sri Lanka
Kandy No 93, Aniwatta Road
86% 163
7.2916175 80.6233406
Kandy Down Town Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • megakrya8888
  • Russia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
9th Mar 2016
9.7

The staff is very nice and welcoming! Ventilation of rooms is good! And the hostel is clean enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Mar 2016
6.9

Long walk to anything so have to get a tuk tuk. Very good wifi but need more bathrooms as there is only 1 shower and toilet to share between 2 dorms. Staff wernt the most welcoming but did answer any questions. Breakfast was basic but overrall its value for money hostel as it is cheap

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2016
7.7

If you're going to stay at this hostel, be sure that you're not going to change your mind. I booked the hostel for three nights and decided I only wanted to stay for one. There's a 24 hour cancellation policy. I emailed them five days before. When I got to the hostel, I confirmed my cancellation. They said that it will not be cancelled unless I receive a reply to my email. I never received a reply, so I had to stay there. Otherwise, I would've gotten charged.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Feb 2016
8.9

Nice hostel in Kandy, a bit far away (20-25min walk or 5-8min by tuk tuk) from Kandy station and town centre, but in my opinion, it's for the best ( kandy is not the nicest city). It is located ina quite and green residential area. The facilities are nice with terraces and balconies facing the hills, spacious rooms. They have hot shower though note that there's 1 bathroom between 10 people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hakunanna8659
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jan 2016
9.1

Even though we use the mosquito tent, there are still some mosquitos in the tent. I got some bites for the next day. Aunties are really friendly and helpful. Good serving.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
28th Dec 2015
9.7

My favourite hostel in Sri Lanka. Tirly and the other staff who manage this hotel are so friendly, kind, and full of great information to help plan the rest of your travels in Sri Lanka. Facilities are great, the place is kept very clean, great wi fi, a full kitchen to use and multiple areas to hang out with other travelers. Initially stayed 1 night, but on my return to Kandy for a few nights could imagine going anywhere else.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Nov 2015
9.7

This is my second time here. Madam Tirly and madam Kanty always make me feel home going out of their way to make me feel comfortable, for example madam Tirly sharing her homecooked meals with me. Its a super clean and cozy place. Everythig we need is here, can't go wrong!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2015
7.7

A nice stay. Good value for your money. I found the staff at this hostel and ppl in this part of the country to be a bit pushy when it came to booking tours but generally they were kind and helpful and also offered us free tuk tuk shuttle to the rail and bus stations upon check out. It's a bit of a walk from the town but it's not as bad as some people have posted. There's shops and a few local restaurants near by. The free breakfast and tea was really appreciated! Definitely would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2015
9.4

Came for a night, met great people and stayed for a week. Good times ! Thanks Turly and Candi-love your Cooking!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.