Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Kandy Down Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 169 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 169 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
Kandy Down Town Hostel Located at No 93, Aniwatta Road, , Kandy.
Kandy Down Town Hostel
Sri Lanka
Kandy No 93, Aniwatta Road
86% 169
7.2916175 80.6233406
Kandy Down Town Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jul 2016
9.4

A comfortable, relaxing hostel with more of a home stay atmosphere. I felt very welcome staying here. A short tuk tuk ride into town. The staff, especially the manager were really friendly and helpful. They helped me arrange transport to and from sightseeing and even brought me a meal when I was feeling too sick to get my own. Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2016
8.6

Great place, about 30min by foot from the Kandy Railway station. Only problem is that I arrived (with a booking via Hostelworld) at around 10h15 pm and the gate was closed with no ringbell. Nothing. I tried shouting, shaking the gate, nothing. I stayed there hopelessly for about 30 min, then got tired, stoped a rickshaw and asked the driver to call the place and ask the staff to come open the darn gate. Waited another 5 min be4 I could finally go in. The place is great though. Had a whole floor!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 62 reviews
14th Apr 2016
8.3

Good hostel for Sri Lanka. Provided mosquito nets, universal plugs, hot water and breakfast. Easy enough walk to town or the bus station. It's Sri Lanka so don't expect a party but there is a small kitchen and social area. Stayed here a couple of times, recommend this place for Kandy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jesselliott5585
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 50 reviews
17th Mar 2016
8.0

Really beautiful setting for the hostel. Right by the main road, easy to get around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • megakrya8888
  • Russia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
9th Mar 2016
9.7

The staff is very nice and welcoming! Ventilation of rooms is good! And the hostel is clean enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Mar 2016
6.9

Long walk to anything so have to get a tuk tuk. Very good wifi but need more bathrooms as there is only 1 shower and toilet to share between 2 dorms. Staff wernt the most welcoming but did answer any questions. Breakfast was basic but overrall its value for money hostel as it is cheap

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2016
7.7

If you're going to stay at this hostel, be sure that you're not going to change your mind. I booked the hostel for three nights and decided I only wanted to stay for one. There's a 24 hour cancellation policy. I emailed them five days before. When I got to the hostel, I confirmed my cancellation. They said that it will not be cancelled unless I receive a reply to my email. I never received a reply, so I had to stay there. Otherwise, I would've gotten charged.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Feb 2016
8.9

Nice hostel in Kandy, a bit far away (20-25min walk or 5-8min by tuk tuk) from Kandy station and town centre, but in my opinion, it's for the best ( kandy is not the nicest city). It is located ina quite and green residential area. The facilities are nice with terraces and balconies facing the hills, spacious rooms. They have hot shower though note that there's 1 bathroom between 10 people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.